Hayneedle.com Reviews

Hayneedle.com
( 14  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Hayneedle.com

Hayneedle.com is an online furniture and home décor retailer who says that since their nationwide establishment in 2009 they have become one of the nation’s largest online retailers with almost 2 million home products. 

How Does It Work?

Like any other online retailer, customers are invited to come to their website and either use their search feature to locate a specific item or product they are interested in, or they can search through their current inventory by category.

Dividing their inventory into categories gives customers the ability to search by department, like Outdoor, Decor, Baby & Kids, Kitchen & Dining, Lighting, Storage & Organization, and many more. You can also search by room, like Living Room, Bedroom, Dining Room, Home Office, Entryway, Playroom, and so on, as well as search through their Style Gallery for featured items or through their Sale category for discounted items.

Regardless of how you choose to shop through their offerings, Hayneedle.com promises that their website is “driven by unrivaled product selection…outstanding team talent, and superior customer service” all with the ultimate goal of helping customers fulfill their desired vision of their home.   

Cost/Price Plans

With such a wide range of products to choose from, there is really no way to quote a single price range or a static price range. It will change depending on the types of products you are looking for, as well as whether or not a sale or promotion is takin place at the time you are shopping.

They do, however, offer their customers a Best Price Guarantee, which states that they will attempt to match the lower price offered by any competitor, as long as you follow their requirements.

First, make sure that the item is the exact brand and model. Also make sure you are comparing the total price, which means including the price of the item, the cost of shipping, and all applicable taxes, as well as the amount of processing time, which means that out-of-stock or backordered products will not be eligible.

Unfortunately, the guarantee will not cover items found on clearance or closeout, non-retail items, private sales, membership clubs, and auction websites.   

Refund Policy

Customers are welcome to return purchases that are still in new, unused, and resalable condition for either a refund or an exchange, depending on your needs. You will need to make sure that the item is returned in its original packaging within 30 days of the date of delivery, and once your return is received, you will be refunded the purchase price to the original form of payment if you have chosen to be refunded.

Customers who made their purchase with a gift certificate or received an item as a gift can only receive in-store credit as their refund.   

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to contact Customer Service with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 888-880-4884 or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link.

Reputation

Unfortunately there does seem to be quite a bit of negative reviews online regarding this company. Though there are some complaints here and there about disliking the quality of the product they received, it seems that there is a bigger problem which appears to be repeated far more often. 

This problem appears to be with shipping and arranging returns. Many customers have various complaints regarding items being shipped to them later than they were told, and then having products arrive without all the right pieces or having items that are actually incorrect arrive. 

In addition, when they attempted to have Customer Service address these problems, most people felt that these issues were not addressed well at all. Some complained that they were offered partial refunds if they just kept the incorrect item, while others stated that they were told they could return the item and have the correct one shipped, but with all shipping charges being the responsibility of the customers. Since the customers weren’t at fault for these mistakes, it’s understandable they didn’t feel this was a beneficial arrangement.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many, many different online retailers which focus on providing people with items for their home, including Casa.com, Wayfair.com, Flexsteel, Joss & Main, Madison Seating, and many more. 

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your Hayneedle.com reviews below.

14 ‘Hayneedle.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Heres the real deal

October 6, 2019

The customers who have complaints here have misunderstood the hayneedle process possibly by misunderstanding the customer service agent or misreading their email.

The customer service Hayneedle provides is some of the best around. They offer options where other companies do not. Options are keeping the item for a very nice discount, Exchanging it for a new item, or sending it back for a full refund. All return shipping cost for damaged returns are picked up by Hayneedle, customers are never charged for damaged items.

How do I know all this? I work in customer service for Hayneedle and daily have customers saying we have the best customer service they have experienced.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Expecting item NOT delivered 3/13/19 per Order Tracking Hayneedle

March 15, 2019

I ordered a Keter Tall Storage Cabinet from Hayneedle on March 1st. The web site showed the order in stock and I received an email with the order number and an arrival delivery date of Arrives by 03-13-2019. March 13th came and went and on March 14th, I contacted Hayneedle via their chat window. The agent checked and said the order had not even shipped from the supplier. I asked for the order to be cancelled and I was told a cancellation would be submitted to the supplier and I would have to wait for the supplier to "approve" the cancellation but it would take 72 hours to do this. Also, my payment would be held for up to 4 days. I feel lied to by Hayneedle and given the run around on how they are handling my order. If they can't deliver an item, they collected the money so they should refund the money. The cancellation should be a no-brainer guarantee rather than we will ask for a cancellation and see what happens. I will NEVER shop this vendor again and I urge anyone else to look for items from a different seller.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Disretuable Company - They have my $$$ and I have nothing

January 6, 2019

I ordered this couch on 12/12 with a guaranteed delivery date between 12/25 and 1/4. It was shipped on 12/14 and I was sent a tracking number on 12/18 telling me it had shipped on 12/14. I started trying to track down the sofa on 12/24. The tracking number didn't work, and I called the company twice to get information as to where the sofa was at this point. During the phone calls, I was told there was no answer from the shipper (while I was on hold) and that it might be lost. Finally on 12/28, I received an email with a different tracking number saying the sofa was now in California (about 150 miles from my house) and would be delivered by January 4th. On January 4th, I got another email stating "it seems that you can expect a call to set up delivery by 01/10/19 at the latest" They acknowledged that "This item has experienced various backorder delays, unfortunately". In response to that email, I told them I wanted to cancel the order. Today I received an email that I can't cancel the order. I "CAN" refuse delivery, and then once it is returned to them, they will issue a refund! If it is taking over a month to get to me (AND IT STILL HASNT GOTTEN TO ME), how long will it take to be returned???????? So, 4 weeks after ordering, I MAY get a call to schedule delivery. In the meantime, they have my money, and I have nothing!!!!!!!! AND I may never get my money back, because if the sofa can't get to me, how will it get back to them??????? I am a senior citizen (in my 70s) and I consider this treatment as elder abuse and manipulation.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

They just lost a long time customer

September 11, 2018

I'll start off with the packing and quality of their items. I received a dining table with the box dented, and unsurprising damage to the table itself. It wasn't just a chip off the paint, it was a chops off the wood!

I contact customer service regarding the damage. I was reassured I would receive a FULL refund, since the fault was on Hayneedle's end. Moreover, the chairs I had ordered to accompany the damaged table would no longer be needed, so the representative reassured me the chairs would be canceled and my card would not be charged.

Disappointingly, my card was indeed charged for the chairs and it was shipped after all. It gets WORSE.

They receive my return of the table, however, did not issue a FULL refund as promised. They claim to have withheld my reward points accumulated. But I also returned the chairs which I used the reward points on, hence forfeiting my reward points. Yet a full refund remains to be unissued. Moreover, the representatives who reassured me of a "Full Refund" failed to disclose any information that any amount would be deducted from my "full refund." I'm not going to hold my breath for a full refund on the chairs which they also reassured a full refund for, but you bet I will be taking these matters to my credit card company.

Not only does Hayneedle fall short on delivering quality in products, but they also lack customer service. Surely in the mishap of "miscommunication" they could offer a remedy, but failed to even make the effort. As a long time customer, I will no longer be purchasing anything else from them in the future. Perhaps my absence will not impact their profit logistics, but I hope that my review will make a difference to those who are considering on doing business with them. Heed my warning and save yourself the frustration, stress, and utter disappointment in this deceptive company.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Shattered

August 12, 2018

We ordered a 48-inch glass-top outdoor dining table for our deck from Hayneedle, price $216 including tax. The table was shipped to us via Fedex. The glass top was shattered in shipment. The metal hardware was well protected, but the glass top was not protected at all. The only thing between the glass and the hardware was a thin piece of cardboard. The only good thing I can say about this experience is that a Hayneedle agent accepted our word that the table was irreparably damaged and said he would reverse the charges. He told us not to bother with returning it; he said just throw it out.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

No such thing as White Glove Delivery

June 28, 2018

In May 2018, I ordered a patio furniture set from Hayneedle (table and 8 chairs). It wasn't cheap at a cost of over $2k. But the brand had a good reputation and I had ordered other things from Hayneedle and it was the cheapest price on the web I could find. As part of the product offering, I purchased the Whtie Glove delivery service at the cost of another $162. Being that my husband travels so much, and I only have 3 young boys at home, I thought that was a pretty good price to get my furniture delivered and assembled so we could start enjoying meals on the deck. The day came where I got the confirmation that the furniture was in my destination city and all I needed to do was click on a link and schedule an appointment. Fault #1. That link worked from what I could see but the info goes no where. About 3 days later, I get a call from the delivery company that I needed to schedule an appointment. Ok, I can live with this. The furniture will be here soon. So, the day of delivery comes. They sent one elderly man to deliver the very very heavy set. He could barely get it off of the truck on to the dolly. Then when I asked him about the white glove delivery, he had no idea. He called his dispatch and they said they'd call me back. Well, that was two weeks ago. After daily phone calls to both the delivery company (Estes) and Hayneedle, with never the promised returned phone call (need I say, I was promised that every day they would have everyone over...and every day, I'd call and they'd make an excuse for why it didn't happen, etc), my furniture still sits in boxes on my lawn. And then today, Hayneedle says "can you see if you can find someone to help you put it together and we'll give you the $162 back". For real? I paid for a service, expected one and never got it. Thanks for the refund (and the 10% discount for the inconvenience) but this is principal. Not once did Hayneedle own this issue. They kept calling the delivery company and telling me that someone would call me back (which they never did). And their idea of own was refunding me money. I have worked for an insurance company for years and we constantly use vendors to deliver services for our customers. And ya know what, those vendors screw up ALL of the time. But as the company that contracts with the vendor, we always took accountability for the vendors' mistakes and came up with a resolution. Granted, I got my money back but now I have to find someone that can help me put this together. Really? If you can't deliver a product, don't sell it. I will say that every person I spoke to was pleasant but none of them could resolve the problem, most likely b/c it was out of their control. However, as a company, Hayneedle needs to rethink what they are selling as their delivery services as they did not deliver with me. Sadly, I probably won't be buying from Hayneedle again as I don't know if I can trust them to deliver.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Hayneedle is a rip off

October 26, 2017

I’d like to write a review for an elevated garden I purchased this past spring. I went on the Hayneedle web page, to get the exact product name/model number, and low and behold, it’s been discontinued. Go figure!!! Nor surprised, since the bottom of mine collapsed and dumped all the soil and content of the vegetables growing in the garden in my yard. Wow, what a piece of crap. I asked for a refund, and guess what? Yep, that’s right, I don’t qualify. Humm!! So a raised garden on HayNeedle.com is not even guaranteed 6 months. My advice to anyone thinking about purchasing ANYTHING from this company, think twice. They are a fly by Night Company, and pay no attention to the reviews they have posted, and pay close attention to this one. I will save you the hardship and money I lost dealing with this company. My advice: DON’T BUIY ANYTHING FROM THEM !!!!!!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

"Cancel Order" Does Not Mean Cancel Order

September 4, 2017

I am trying to cancel an order for which I mistakenly placed to the wrong address. With any other website, this is an easy process, but apparently Hayneedle claims that the order has already been sent to the fulfillment center and it was up to their fulfillment center to see the cancellation request and "we cannot guarantee that the order can be cancelled." This is a direct quote from their email.

So under the assumption that anyone else makes a purchase that they decide they need to cancel, beware that you may not be able to cancel at all which means that their Cancel Order button is moot.

I am still waiting to hear a follow up response but I doubt they will make this an easy process for me. Buyer beware.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Read reviews - lesson learned

April 1, 2017

Bought 6 items - one area rug was wrong pattern - one of the 4 stools - the back was the wrong color! Spent entire Saturday morning putting together only to find out the stool back was wrong on the last one I was assembling! Spent $900 and 2 of the 6 things I bought are wrong - they might just as well be all wrong since I have an incomplete set of stools and 2 mismatching area rugs! My wife convinced me that this was a reputable site - don't think she read the reviews - wish I had - would never have spent this much money with such a lousy company. I wanted to use Amazon as I have bought hundreds of items from them - had one issue which was immediately resolved. Based on all the horrible reviews - I would imagine they will not be in business for long - stay away - read the reviews - and their responses on consumer affairs- no help just excuses!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Hayneedle.com IS A SCAM!

December 13, 2016

I purchased a 17 foot trampoline for $350 on their website. It was shipped in two boxes. First box arrived, it had only a few poles and foam in it. Second box arrived, tracking showed they needed to replace a shipping label as it was damaged, and who would of guessed the package arrived DAMAGED. It only had these plastic ties keeping it closed, and only had 2 on it! The box was open, and only a few poles were inside.

I contacted them immediately and am being told I need to basically buy a printer for a return label, but a HUGE LONG box, package it up ( I am disabled ) and go to the P.O to ship it back. I asked if there was any other way to receive a refund and I was denied. I am not rich. I live off of $800 a month in disability checks. I saved for so long for my son this trampoline for christmas. Hayneedle.com took this away from my son and there is nothing I can do about it. Please, I beg you, order else where. They do NOT care about their customers and have scammed me $350!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Horrible company

November 29, 2016

Hayneedle sent me the wrong item and now I can't seem to get my refund, they were a third party seller at Walmart-mart.com and I am filing a complaint with them and the better business bureau if my refund doesn't happen in the next day or so. This company sucks...big time.

Comment on this review...
review author image
2 Reviews

Misleading images of the product - The options given to me are lose $40 for the return or keep the unsatisfied product with you

November 11, 2016

We recently purchased this product. The website shows the image with table and chairs. There is nothing in the first page of the product which says that the chairs are not included. Only when you click the next tab product description it says that it's only the table. There are about 7 tabs in the product info. So it's not easy for shoppers to go by each and every tab to know about the product. This is very misleading. And when i try to return the product, looks like i need to pay a $40 for returning this again. At the end of the day I lost my $40 for shopping with you and I got nothing. I'm very disappointed with this. Please help to waive off the return shipping charges. The actual product cost is $100. Now the current price is $85 in website :(
And i need to pay $40 for nothing of it :(

That is why Hayneedle is getting more negative ratings than positive. Poor customer satisfaction. And Hayneedle will be keep losing current customers and after seeing the red reviews they are gradually going to lose new customers too.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Lousy Service and Returns

August 18, 2016

I ordered a fountain at just under $200 and received it broken. The box appeared in good enough condition but when opened the Styrofoam packing was busted in a dozen or so pieces. Once the fountain was removed there were a lot of broken pieces in the bottom of the packing. The fountain was literally crumbling to the touch. I contacted them via email sending pictures as well about the issue. I got a standard template apology and was told that I could send it back for a refund or replacement as long as it was sent back "new, unused and resalable" WHAT?? Was also told that "since my sending it back was a preference that I would be expected to pay for the return shipping" WHAT??
In all fairness I must add that delivery of the fountain was received in good time, actually a day or two early.
BUYER BEWARE

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Fraud

December 28, 2015

I purchased online from them and was notified of a 18-23 Dec delivery. This was important as it was a Christmas present for my wife. I checked the delivery status online some days later after the order on 14 December only to find out (they had not told me) that the items was out of stock and was backordered. They indicated an estimated delivery date of 23-31 Dec. Based on this I completed an online form and cancelled my order.
The following morning I was emailed and told that I couldn't cancel (despite being out of stock) as the manufacturer had shipped the item (despite being unshipped and out of stock and marked as back order). I insisted on a cancellation and they reluctantly agreed.
What they actually did was have their manufacturer create a fraudulent shipping code to try to force me to take the product (that was out of stock) - Obviously I refused and demanded a cancellation, they agreed.
Two weeks later I see that on my credit card statement that they took my money the day after they agreed to the cancellation. That is at best a grave mistake, probably fraud and at worst theft. I have spent an hour with a customer service rep giving me attitude and rudeness and still no refund and attitude and rudeness from customer service and now I find that there are bank charges as I used a foreign card that I would not have incurred had they correctly cancelled my transaction due to their negligence.
Still I am getting arrogance, attitude and no refund and no fees refund despite a breach of contract, fraud and theft.
I will not rest until this company is exposed for the fraud that it is - is business that tough that you have to steal now?

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review