Handybook.com Reviews

Handybook.com
( 16  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Handybook.com

Handybook.com is the online home of Handybook, a company that says their goal is to make finding and booking home service professionals quick, easy, and reliable for homeowners, businesses, and renters.

According to their website, Handybook.com is "the easiest way to get stuff done around the house" giving their users the ability to instantly book a qualified cleaner, handyman, electrician, plumber, or more.

They say that before, if something happened around your home and you needed a professional, it would take you a long time to go through classifieds or websites to find a professional in your area, and then actually finding a time for them to come to your home could be difficult.

Handybook.com solves this problem by acting as a one stop shop. You simply visit their website, tell them what you need to have done, where you live, the time of day that works best for you, and the website will "do the rest."

They promise that they will confirm your booking within 90 seconds, and you will have a reservation made with a professional that has gone through an extensive screening process, including background checks, reference checks and in person interviews for all professionals.

Once your professional has been booked, you will be quoted a payment price and be required to pay right then. The payment will be held by Handybook.com and not released to the professional until after the service is performed and you are happy with it.

Any customer who is not 100% satisfied with their service is eligible to get a 100% refund, according to their website, though you will likely have to call customer service to discuss this policy in more detail. 

Currently new users of Handybook.com can receive a $20 off coupon just by sharing their website on their Facebook page with friends and users.

If you have any experience with this company or their services, please leave your Handybook.com reviews below.

16 ‘Handybook.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
3 Reviews

Absolute Scam

September 24, 2018

I wish I could give this 0 stars. It's an absolute scam that locks you into a recurring contract even though it's illegal. Also, even after I cancelled, they kept charging me.

Additionally, they don't pay their contractors on time as I've spoken with every cleaner they have sent me and it's the same nightmarish story

Comment on this review...

horrible and a scam

April 21, 2017

They changed the cleaner 4 times and I tried various ways to contact them to no avail! I signed up for the min of 3 months - BUT WHEN I WANT TO CANCEL AFTER THE FINAL horrible service, 3 months - they changed the terms to 9 months! I did not feel safe having who knows who enter my home so I decided to cancel. I will advise the credit card company to deal with the "cancellation' of $150! This is a total scam and I will be reporting them.

THE LAST PERSON TO ARRIVE ENDED UP NOT CLEANING 2 bedrooms and failed to make the bed. Her 4hrs was up so she had to leave! Consider yourself warned!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Scam!

January 4, 2016

The worst company I have ever dealt with. They have cancelled 5 of my appointments due to "unexpected last minute call off" just 5 minutes prior to the cleaning time. 5 times! Just today,, they cancelled literally minutes before the schedule booking and rescheduled to tomorrow 11 am (never asked it this was convenient for me) so I had no time to cancel on time!! This is beyond ridiculous as this time does not work for me and I now have to pay $25 cancellation fee!!!! They have the worst customer service and keep scamming their customers. Penalizing me with $25 fee for them cancelling last minute?

I am gonna file for a chargeback and file a complaint with BBB.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Terrible customer service

August 4, 2015

Zero way to cancel a recurring booking, and good luck getting a refund if you wait longer than 3 days to report a problem. Three days? That's insane.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Total and complete scam!!!

March 2, 2015

They send cleaners to your house without permission, not even checking if you're home, and then charge you for it!!! When you call, nobody at Handy will help you and they have so much attitude after they've stolen from YOU!!! It's such an obvious scam..NEVER, EVER do business with them! Don't give them your CC info for any reason.

Comment on this review...
review author image
2 Reviews

Bad customer service

February 11, 2015

I had a couple of coupons that weren't working when I punched in the codes. When I inquired with them, they said the coupons had expired. I told them there was no expiration date and had I known they were going to expire, I'd have used them sooner. They requested a pic of the coupons so I sent it to them. That was the last I heard from them.

I'm glad I didn't spend money on them because this experience would've foreshadowed any future dealings.

Comment on this review...
review author image
2 Reviews

Bad company

February 11, 2015

I had some coupons that I was hoping to use on my first try with them but when I entered the codes, they didn't work. After inquiring, they told me they were expired. I explained there was no expiration date listed on the coupons and had I known they would expire, I would've used them sooner. They asked me to send them a pic of the coupons, so I did. No response ever again.

Thankfully I never booked with them because this experience would've foreshadowed my experience had I actually spent money.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Do not deal with these scammers

December 10, 2014

This is classic bait and switch nonsense. I signed up on a promotional offer to have my house cleaned for $29. The cleaner did a poor job. Then, after cancelling all future bookings, I get zapped $25 and $54 for another cleaning. I contacted the company and they said they're keeping my $25. Why? Because it's non-refundable. Scam, plain and simple.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Before you use Handybook.

October 22, 2014

Before you use Handy/Handybook, read this article first. They treat people like shit:
http://valleywag.gawker.com/handys-nightmare-tryout-process-is-a-startup-stereotype-1649016476

View all 2 Comments
November 14, 2014

They stress there employees about some damn ratings, if you lose your phone they give you a hard time they take money out of your account or dont pay what you are suppose to do. Charly is so unprofessional and ghetto. People are only interested in making money. Handybook is a big scam. All there staff is white and maybe one or two blacks

November 14, 2014

I worked for handy worse experience ever... Is a big scam

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

How does one review a company that doesn't care ?

September 29, 2014

A no show appointment and a horrible "inconvenience" as they called it for me. My emails to customer service have been ignored. After waiting for 4.5 hours for the cleaner to show up I called customer service =, received profuse apologies but I felt rushed off the phone . Once they made the suggestion to reschedule with I declined *until* the promised return call from corporate was received with an explanation as to why the cleaner never showed nor called. Of course, no one from Handy got back to me. Apparently ,this is the way business is conducted by this 'organization' as has been exhibited by Groupon's immediate willingness to refund my voucher purchase ,in full, rarely done by Groupon. If a voucher is refunded it's after a big fight with Groupon, lots of delays and all the while making the customer jump thru hoops. .

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

dont !!!!!!!!!

September 12, 2014

Scam !!!!!!! the cleaner never showed up !!!! i called 3 times !! Never got a check

September 29, 2014

I had a no show as well. No call, no returned calls, no returned emails. Luckily, unlike you :-( , I was refunded .because I purchased my booking thru Groupon. Typically it's next to impossible to have a service voucher refunded by Groupon Yet I was immediately refunded Which tells me one thing: Groupon did not do their homework on this group who apparently had one goal which was to get their hands on credit card accounts , info. forced to supply in order to finalize a booking.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Charged for Nothing

September 8, 2014

I signed up thru Groupon for cleaning and was "given" one hour of free Handyman service. So I scheduled installation of a ceiling fan into an already wired ceiling - minimum charge is 2 hours so I have to pay $85 for the second hour. OK, well then I went ahead and scheduled and the young man that showed up says my wiring won't support the fan so he can't do it. I give him $15 cash for gas money 'cause I think I'm getting a refund. Oh no - I still get charged the $85 cause its my fault they can't do the job.

As for the cleaning, they sent a young girl that spent 4 hours cleaning my 1500 SQFT home and she didn't dust two bedrooms or dust mop the floors, used window cleaner on my TV screens and overall did a poor job.

September 29, 2014

From reading about your terrible two experiences I am grateful for the first no show ---as it would be their last. Luckily I was able to receive a refund through Groupon. However, the point of the purchase wasn't to procure a refund but to have my house cleaned for which I prepared 5 hours to get it ready for them. I am disabled and it was painful to prepare only to have to put it all back where it had been but additionally painful because it was so disappointing and ruined not only my week, but two others schedules were completely disrupted by Handy's lack of professionalism.
Scam? Scam.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Felon

August 10, 2014

Do not use Handybook! I booked a cleaner using Handybook and they sent me a felon to clean my house!!! I had to contact the authorities and everything because the guy stole from me!!! These guys are crooks!

September 29, 2014

where are you located ? I'm just grateful that they were a no-show for me after having read what happened to you. So sorry :-(.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Terrible

July 18, 2014

No show/no call
I had two appointments scheduled, the first they sent me An email no one was avIailable the day of the appointment. The second was scheduled w/time and phone number. I called 45 minutes past the appointment time no answer. I called Scott from customer service for a refund and two weeks later nothing yet! Terrible customer service and reliability.

September 29, 2014

Ditto.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

DO NOT WORK WITH THEM

May 20, 2014

If I could give 0 stars I would. I purchased this cleaning service through Groupon. I scheduled a house cleaning for May 14, 2014 at 7:00pm in anticipation for a college reunion party and the company never showed up, nor called us to apologize or reschedule. When we called to see what happened, we were given excuses. Someone said they attempted to send a text to reschedule. That is incredibly unprofessional, and we did not give them any cellphone information. We only gave a landline number to avoid any issues with missed phone calls, etc, and as you are aware, you cannot send text messages to a landline; you will receive an error message back letting you know it was a land line. After calling the company, we were promised a refund check sent in the mail, but don't feel comfortable believing that given the circumstances. A few days later I noticed a $50 charge to my credit card and kept getting emails about a reoccurring service that will occur every two weeks. I NEVER signed up for it!! I tried to cancel and saw there was a $5 fee for canceling. I've been emailing and calling this business with NO response. I had to call my bank to attempt to block them from charging. NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!

September 29, 2014

I hope you contacted your credit card service immediately to report this as Fraud. If you have a good credit card company they will refund you every penny paid provided that you used your card for the charges. Evidently, this is a national scam and their goal was to procure credit card numbers and have no interest in providing any services other than disservice.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review