GoFundMe.com Reviews

GoFundMe.com
( 61  Reviews )



Write a Review

About GoFundMe.com

GoFundMe.com is a crowdfunding website which says they offer anyone the ability to create their own donation page as a safe, legit way to collect donations for life events, projects, and special causes.

To get started with GoFundMe.com, you simply need to create your donation page to tell the story of what you are collecting money for and why, then share it with your friends and family to start collecting donations.

The page you create will have all the tools necessary to collect donations from either debit or credit cards, and you will be able to track visits to your page and review donor information.

You can crowfund through this website in three different ways. First, if you are collecting money for a charity, you can select Charity Fundraising and the donations received by your site will automatically be deducted on a monthly basis and sent to the charity.

Or you can simply make a personal page where the project or event of your choice can be funded. Though you create a deadline and a goal amount of money that you are trying to raise, your page can exist beyond these limits and allow you to collect as much money as people are willing to donate.

Finally, they offer the All or Nothing option, which functions like popular crowdfunding site Kickstarter. This means that if you do not reach the funding amount you designate by the time your deadline rolls around, all donations will result in a refund; or rather, your donors will never be charged.

GoFundMe.com will automatically deduct a 5% fee from each donation you receive. In addition, when you register your donation page, a WePay payment processing account will be set up for you.

When you withdraw your money through the WePay account, a fee of 2.9% plus 30 cents will be administered. It is important to keep the cost of these fees in mind when setting your goal amount.

If you have any experience with this website, please leave your GoFundMe.com reviews below.

You May Also Be Interested In

61 ‘GoFundMe.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

NO matter how hard you try you will never see your money deposited!

April 27, 2020

NO matter how much you provide and how much or lil you raise the withdrawal to your account will not happen. Providing all the bills, lease, business reg, bank info and certifications yet still they want to phish people govt ID and even or those who gave them DL, passport and all still they are awaiting money over 2 yrs.

AND, they expect us to provide government ID which in Canada it is illegal, it's even written on the ID and passport: NOT to be used as ID, property of Canadian government. The privacy act is clear on that, and keeping the money hostage in return for govt ID is a federal offence here,yet they still do business here and impose these rules. I have reported them to RCMP fraud dept. They know about them, not the first person to be scammed by them.

They keep replying that it's their terms, who cares, if the terms are illegal doesn't make them ok!

People with positive experience are 3yrs and before, looks like mostly all negative after that. Don't try to email back and forth to explain you will not win any argument even if they know you are right. AVOID AT ALL COST! It's quite disturbing using people in need urgently and scam them like this.. I read that they use the funds to invest hence why they keep you in a loop of 'security verification' all bogus claim. Be very wary if you have money in donations, best you ask to send back to people and get them to send you directly with PP or FB donations, which I knew that before!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Better if you just write a check

September 24, 2019

When raising money for someone who needs help, it's nice to know that all involved have an interest in helping. When someone profits from another's misfortune, society calls this "greed."

I twice sent a $50. donation through Go Fund Me, only to find I had been billed an extra $7.50 each time. That's quite a large commission!

I wish I'd simply mailed a check, instead!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

They closed my account-not sure why???

January 23, 2019

I'm very confused about this? I Don’t know what happened but they dropped my account! Good thing the refunded all donors money back. There is no way to contact anyone to find out why. If anyone knows how, please let me know! Much appreciated!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Go Fund Me

December 26, 2018

I wish I had done more investigating about the Go Fund Me. Doing an effective Go Fund Me is a lot of work. I think I may have bit off more than I can chew.

Go Fund Me takes 5% of donations and they are not tax deductible.

Basically, my problem is not with Go Fund Me. I found it hard to ask friends and family for money. (And those are the people who have contributed.) It wasn't well received with a few members of the extended family. I don't have a tough enough skin.

I was trying to raise money for a handicapped van for my Dad. I have raised about 1/3. Thankfully, Co Fund Me does not require you to refund the money. If I end the campaign, I will give donors the option of a refund or allow them to contribute to the older van's repair fees.

I have only used Go Fund Me. I just found that it's easy to set up but it takes a lot of work to make it successful.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

End this please

December 12, 2017

I'm beginning to see that go fund me is a scam used by anyone to get money from honest people. Just give to legitimate charities and stop go fund me for good!!!!

July 10, 2018

You're just hurt because you were busted for pocketing money that was supposed to go to help someone else. Go climb back in your troll hole and leave people the hell alone!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

First hand GFM experience

September 17, 2016

I cannot speak to anything about GoFundMe.com other than my personal experience. Early last week I learned of a good friiend that had just had a medical emergency that resulted in my desire to assist him. I had only heard of GoFundMe but had no experience or know anyone that had. I read their information along with some good and bad reviews. I was skeptical but knew the clock was ticking on getting something done. I followed the prompts on the GFM site and very easily established a campaign to help raise money. I set the goal at $5,000 and started to promote on Facebook and my personnel email list. In just two days we had reached our goal. Knowing that they were going to charge 5% plus the credit card processor was going to access 2.9%, I let the campaign stay live for two more days in hopes of getting enough added donations to cover the roughly 8% in fees. The total raised during those four days was $5255. The amount of money that was transferred to our friend was $4800. It could not have been any smoother and I am 100% satisfied with the entire process. The service and systems that are provided by GFM is well worth the 5% they charge. I started on Tuesday morning and was done with the entire deal by Satuday off the same week. That is how well it worked for me.
I wish I knew more about all the horror stories I read about. I would like to hear an explanation from GFM regarding the many bad reviews out there.

July 19, 2019

Ok im glad your happy but how could you be happy with a fund that takes 5% of the money that is contributed but charge people a percentage just to send the money to the account and not to mention they dont tell you that it takes 2-5 days to post to the account when the clock is ticking so thank god your happly though

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

No Help

September 4, 2016

I tried to get help with my back rent because I got about 3 months behind due to being laid off. No one even tried to help me.

View all 5 Comments
October 06, 2016

There is no guarantee anyone will help you....most of the cases that do will well are very sick children, and sometimes adults..while you do see people asking for money for cruises and other absurd things , they generally dont get far. Asking complete strangers to pay for your vacations, cosmetic surgery, car repair, ect ect just isnt going to go well and I can understand why-generally things that most people personally experience themselves-broken down cars,losing a job, ect ect will garner less sympathy because most people deal with these issues themselves and expect you to also..Yes they can be trying and difficult, but Ive been through them by finding another job-even one that doesnt pay what Id like, or selling a expensive car and getting a cheaper one, moving to a less expensive home ect ect...I would have never thought to ask strangers to pay for these issues. But children dying of cancer, a dying person needing a transplant, ect all things that people could experience and fear happening to themselves...it generally results in in at least some help. Yes there are things like vacations and business start ups ect ect that occasionally do very well...But these are generally well connected people with huge face book followings...And this what generally prevents most people- even those in real need from using GFM-they start by soliciting your friends and family on FB for money. This is very embarrassing for most people, and most would rather . LITERALLY-die than go there. its a deterrent yes to most scammers., but its also a deterrent to most in legit need who could really benefit. You can argue that you should start with family and friends, but there is argument to be made that if family were able to help they already would have, and many people would want the last people they ask for money to be friends, because friends have the added element of feeling obligated to help. Strangers simply donate or not, and have no pressure to do so. Pressuring FB friends and family is something GFM users should be able to opt out of. But yes there are many many absurd requests ..but they are not "scams"-you dont have to give the person money. If it looks like a dishonest story I wouldnt give to it. There are in fact very, very few on GFM that I would give to, but its always a choice.

January 02, 2018

That's Because GOfundme does not promote the ads fairly , if its not going to make money for them they don't promote the ad , your ad is not seen ,in
the back , that's the Scam . when you go on their site you see old ads that
have made them money .

March 06, 2018

Oh well you went to the wrong website... it's called "Go Find a Job", not Go Fund Me! See that was your mistake or "go save some money for a rainy day"

March 15, 2018

Mike, the workforce these days is very picky about whom they hire. Many people don't have the skills necessary or they did not make enough money to begin with in order to "save some money for a rainy day". Easy to be judgmental when you haven't been in someone's shoes, isn't it?

June 02, 2019

Janice, it's not the work force that is picky it's those looking for a job. Many are not willing to work outside of their expertise. That is understandable but when one needs money that person should take what ever job is available and at the same time continue looking for the job they are trained or educated for.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

GoFundMe is a SCAM!!!

September 2, 2016

I set up a GoFundMe account for a friend who's husband and son were killed in an airplane crash as a way to help them with their expenses. After all was said and done and funds were transferred to the widow and her 3 remaining children, GoFundMe & WePay began randomly taking money out of my bank account and was not helpful in resolving issue and continued taking money out of account. After repeatedly asking and then demanding for them to delete our account and all information contained therein, I had to dispute the charges with my bank and put a stop payment on any future payments that they may attempt to do. I finally had to have our attorney write them a letter and contact the authorities for their illegal activities before they ended up sending an email apologizing and saying that they would willing refund all of the money that they had "taken by accident".

What a bunch of BS. They are nothing but a scam company! So beware!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Got nothing

July 7, 2016

Tried to put up a GoFundMe page to help offset the cost of testing for a kidney transplant to help me get off dialysis. Just the testing, not even the transplant itself. Without knowing hot to promote the page, or how to get people to think it wasn't some sort of scam, I kept it up for two months and received absolutely NOTHING. Even the Kidney Foundation suggested GoFundMe, but even that made no difference. I am still on dialysis, have been for six years, getting weaker, and don't see how this is going to end in my favor. In about 2 years or maybe less, I will likely become even weaker, less functional, barely able to even get to my treatments, and my body will simply give out from toxin accumulation. GoFundMe? More like GoAwayAndDie.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Not Very Effective

July 3, 2016

I set up a page attempting to raise money for a project I wanted to get off of the ground, a project I felt would benefit a great number of people. People saw my page, some liked it, some commented, some shared it but no one gave me a dime. On top of that, I felt pitied as one response was “I’ll be praying for you and your family.” I was made to feel like a begging, destitute person, when in reality I was just doing some fundraising. It took a lot for me to swallow my pride and even give asking a shot, but I didn’t receive any payoff for it and ended up coming away from the experience with even less faith in humanity.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Nice Thought for ones who do need help

July 2, 2016

I find Gofundme.com is a great idea if the ones posting are really in need. But how do you know they are telling the truth, Alot of potential scammers that have been given a way to scam a lot of people. I know of this personally. I knew someone who asked for thousands of dollars, Claiming poverty and yet what they didn't tell people is that they have no money because they were living way beyond their means. Maxed out credit cards with no job to pay them and not just living expenses. Loan for a vehicle. After receiving the money they asked for felt they needed to upgrade to a brand new vehicle. So If you know the person really does need the money by all means help out, However if you don't know you may be helping someone buy things you yourself can't afford.

February 23, 2017

I just read what you said and not always the case. I am setting up my GoFundMe page today because my car is in the shop right now after just paying 1441 four weeks ago for a transfer case and 1800 a few months before for a refurbished transmission and on and on with that car GMC terrain 2010. I have heard from other people they have the same problem. My problem is I have spent all the money I have on this darn car and now GM will not help me any longer so I am stuck and haven't been to work in a week. No money coming in and we need food and pay the electric, oil etc. So I understand what these people were asking for. It's happening to me. I am not well and my son is a schizophrenic and his meds make him eat a lot and he is in a 5x now and BP is off the chart the doc said. So I need a car that is big enough for him to fit in and take him to the doctors. So mine is an emergency really. So just saying I get what they needed and not all people are scammers. I know it is hard to tell which is which but maybe you just need to take a chance. Just saying!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

No Controls

June 18, 2016

Our rescue provided the money for some surgery on a rescue dog, but the foster put in a Go Fund Me anyway, even though the money is not needed. She wants more money to do things we have been told are not needed and has ignored the difficulties she has created for our rescue. She embellished the paragraph on the dog to make it sound much worse than it is. She is taking donations from people even though the money is already provided, and becoming defiant and confrontational when questioned about it. So easy to scam the public, and there is no way for people to know.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

if i could give zero stars i would.

February 12, 2016

I am leaving reviews everywhere I possibly can to let you know not to go through gofundme or any other website that uses wepay. Its not gofundme that is the problem directly, but wepay in itself. But if you use gofundme you are stuck going through this crap company that will rip you off and try and steal your money. I have lost $200 to this crappy company and their shady practices. they are fraudulent and take advantage of people with no regard to how it may or may not affect them. So don't use this company if you don't want your money stolen and a big fat migraine.

March 02, 2016

Never use GoFundMe. In there bylaws they state false truths. Say we can and will help u. If someone falsely state or use site wrong.WE BELIEVED IN WHAT THEY HAVE IN THERE RULES, WE WILL BE THERE FOR ANY FALSE RULES BREAKAGE. BACK & FORTH, NOTHING BUT GENERIC B.S. FROM THEM THEN THEY SHUT U DOWN (no access to site) they are as bad as the people that steal. They just reword it..

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

THANK YOU!!!!

January 18, 2016

My son was killed on the road,his friend set up a fund me for my grandsons college fund...the donations did not go to waste my grandson graduated a year early from high school the year my son died went to a good college makes top grades,all without parents in his life.
I am eternally grateful to all who donated I only wished there was a way I could say thank you and the money was served well.

It's a shame people take advantage of this site but for some of us it is pure honesty and gratitude to the site and it's donors

A HUGE THANK YOU !!

View all 5 Comments
February 05, 2016

So how much were the taxes on the money? Did you pay both federal and state? Was your 1099 received in a timely manner? Did it effect the Social Security payments for your grandson?

February 05, 2016

How much were the taxes? Did you receive your 1099 in a timely manner? Did the money effect your grandson's eligibility for Social Security survivor benefits?

February 07, 2016

You are assuming I started the fundraiser ,..it was a lawyer friend of my sons..most of the people who donated were my sons friends ..I personally would never ask for money though I donate when I see a tragedy in the newspaper,I urge everyone to make sure they are donating to genuine causes...I genuinely wanted to thank people and give my experience of a fundraiser ....I did not like your attitude please do not attack people before you know the full story,you are assuming everyone is a fraud..I am going through horrendous grief,I like to be kind no matter what......if your attitude is because you have been scammed then I am sorry. ..

March 08, 2016

Ms. Francesca, I am so happy to hear that the gofundme site worked for your grand son's. what a blessing it was I'm sure. Sounds like it made life a little more bearable for the kids, and you. I know what it is like first hand to loose my parents and any kind of support in a time like that is most certainly a blessing. Shame on anyone that has a salty thing to say when your grieving the loss of a loved one. Just shame shame on them. The only thing I know to do for someone with such an ugly heart like that is to pray for them because the law states we can't shoot them. Bless you and yours Ms. Fran. Phyllis.

March 09, 2016

Thank you for your kind words,I am very sorry you have experienced the loss of your parents,I just can't stand the thought of anyone going through loss, the pain is unbearable as you know...I just don't know why people just come out with ugly words and attack when they don't know the story, its obviously is a reflection of who they truly are..yes the money was a huge help to my grandson and hopefully because of it he will help make the world a better place...your last line was funny it made me smile..I wish you much joy on life's journey and a safe one...love and blessings france cx

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

shocked to see

January 16, 2016

shocked to see a former co-worker on go-fund me to save her house. The situation she described was so different than reality. She has been fired from her last several jobs because she was always calling off sick or was late for work. She had a windfall of money from insurance from un unrelated incident and burned through that money so quickly, with no eye on the future. This woman is asking people to enable her when actually she needs counseling and help dealing with her narcissistic personality disorder

View all 2 Comments
February 03, 2016

I think I know exactly who you are talking about

April 10, 2016

sounds like a "cat breeder: in NY I know of.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review