Empire Financial Research Reviews

Empire Financial Research is headed by Whitney Tilson, a former hedge fund manager who states he grew his savings from $1 million to $200 million using very simple steps.

How Does it Work?

Empire Financial Research offers a variety of monthly and daily newsletters including the 'Empire Investment Report', 'Empire Financial Daily", & the 'Empire Elite Trader'. 

He also provides readers with access to The Empire Stock Investor, a newsletter where he offers stock recommendations, investment ideas, and recommended portfolio adjustments on a monthly basis.  

The Empire Stock Investor updates on the first Wednesday of every month and is designed to keep you up to date with exactly what’s happening in the financial markets.

He also offers a daily newsletter where he shares his top stock pick along with ideas from his large network of contacts.

Cost and Price Plans

Empire Financial Research comes at a cost of $49 for the first year, backed by a 30 day refund guarantee.

When you sign up, you’ll be enrolled in an automatic renewal program that will give you constant access to the subscription while you also hold the top retirement stocks in the United States.

It renews automatically at the end of each term so you don’t miss any alerts.  You can cancel at any time. 

In addition to the $49 standard subscription, the company also sells premium and deluxe subscriptions.

The premium subscription is $79 and provides readers with full access to Empire Stock Investor - you'll get 12 monthly issues to your inbox each year, along with a variety of bonus features like the Value Investing Bootcamp, which contains 32 video teaching modules.

The deluxe subscription comes with all the features mentioned above plus two additional special reports called “This Embattled Stock is a Potential Nine-Bagger in Waiting” and “This Revolutionary Technology Will Soon Change Life As We Know It.” This subscription is $129.

Customer Reviews & Complaints

If you visit the Empire Financial Research website, there are plenty of positive reviews published there.

Unfortunately, it seems like many of them come directly from Tilson’s good friends, who state their satisfaction with the program and the helpfulness of its tips.

Look anywhere else, though, and it’s unclear how Tilson’s advice has actually helped the common man.

Although there may be some solid, research-based evidence in Empire Financial Research to help your investments thrive, the cost of the program is high and the website is so poorly structured that it’s difficult to see whether the program actually works.

With virtually no legit customer reviews published anywhere except on the their website, you would be wise to be skeptical of this one.

Customer Service

To get in touch with customer service at Empire Financial Research, you can email at [email protected] or call (800) 961-2618.

You can also call (800) 961-2618. It’s unclear where this company is based out of, although it is mentioned on the website that Tilson has an office just a few miles from the New York Stock Exchange.

Competitors and Alternatives

If you are interested in investing but are inexperienced, your best bet may be to find a certified financial planner in your area.

This kind of professional will have the skills necessary to guide you through the investment decision that makes sense for you. 

You could also consult free or inexpensive resources, such as MoneySmart, the Motley Fool, or MarketWatch, among countless other online resources.

Is Empire Financial Research Worth It?

In our opinion, there are plenty of other free or inexpensive resources you can take advantage of while making your investment decisions. 

While it can be difficult to navigate this confusing area, working with a financial planner of your own is probably a safer bet than investing your money in an ambiguous, expensive guide like Empire Financial Research.   

Additionally, a financial planner will be able to figure out the investment steps that make the most sense for you personally.

If you have any experience with Empire Financial Research or their products, please leave your reviews below.

See Also: Should You Be Investing In Cryptocurrency Right Now?

You may also be interested in

Empire Financial Research Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Worthless
December 30, 2022

I bought a lifetime service to all his newsletters, and it was totally worthless. If a subscriber examines all his newsletters' performance since 2020 until now, his best performing portfolios have roughly matched the S&P. So why should anyone pay anything for it instead of just buying an index?

And......his worst performing portfolios (mostly by Enrique) have just been disgusting. Some of the most promoted stocks have crashed more than those meme stocks that he regularly makes fun of. It's not worth paying several hundred to several thousand dollars for every year, in fact it should be worth a negative number...

Tilson does "teach" a lot of good stuff, like investing wisdom and ethics. But obviously, he doesn't practice what he preaches, again both in investing and ethics.

Pump and dump scam
December 8, 2022
Yes most all the companies they recommend are doing terrible. I wonder if it’s a pump n dump scheme. They recommended the biotech stock DNA and I have already lost 45% of my investment since they announced it. It seems he releases a press release and the stock goes up in value then within a month or two it’s down at least 50% and sometimes 80%. I think it may be a bigger fraudulent scam than people think.

Don't Bite The Hook!
October 6, 2022

These people are doing what it takes to make money in UP or DOWN markets! SELLING JUNK NEWSLETTERS TO STUPID PEOPLE. I can't believe Igot sucked in for another TRIAL! ( "Because they said "You get it all back with a quick phone call if you are unhappy") I have seen no one happy except the writers of the letters.

Billyhendrix October 12, 2022

To whom it may concern: As my grandson said. The complainers want something handed to them where they do not have to do anything. I do not know why, but if you would take time to use all of the research information and apply analytically to the underlying stock you can not go wrong! Quit your complaining and do a little work. Billy Hendrix

Big Hat No Cattle
July 21, 2022

Tried the $49/year newsletter. I did not consider the recommendations worth the $4.08 per month it cost. They were recommending already hot tech stocks (which are now seriously down). Bought 3 of Whitney’s recommendations. They are down 35%-55%.

Wasted an hour watching their Navallier/Tilson pitch. Googled Louie and found SEC fines his company for $30m for misrepresenting one of his products performance.

Billyhendrix October 12, 2022

To you who lost money.

Shame on you. Any investor who followers Mr. Tilson's recommendations knows he advises always to place a trailing stop on each entry or order. Wake up and learn how to place your orders so you don't lose.

Billy Hendrixs

A complete scam!!!
May 24, 2022

I have been with these jerks for just over a year. Not the least impressed with their service. Do NOT use these crooks!

Yes they will send you their monthly letter but really it is nothing more than a stupid ad to buy additional stuff.

95% of the emails you get are just more of the same crap. Apparently my subscription renewed last month and they will not cancel it with any type of a refund!

Better yet the incompetent moron you get on the phone is all you get. You can not speak to a supervisor. No matter how hard I pushed for a supervisor, no chance.

Billyhendrix October 12, 2022

I am DUMB FOUNDED. Anyone who says that in writing is only allowing his IQ to be revealed. Because anyone who subscribes to any info letter knows that they have to tell the person, that is signing them up, to NOT RENEW. So they will not automatically renew. Which normally renews at the end of the subscription period anyway.. Thus, no need to have to remind anyone about the 30-day time-lapse rule, which is stated when you signed up, No refunds after 30 days.

Bad Investing Advice and Horrible Customer Service
April 1, 2022

I purchased a lifetime subscription to Spac Investor which is a subscription offered under Empires umbrella. I had one good trade and the rest have been horrible and I have lost a lot of money. If you look at their portfolio, 98% of their picks are in the red by a LOT. I phoned to complain and see what they could do. Even a partial refund would have helped.

Customer service would not return my call. I called again and they offered me a free year of Spac Investor. I have a lifetime subscription and a free year of bad recommendations is no help.

I then emailed them and they do not respond. Stay away from them. I have big regrets with lots of money lost on their subscription and their stocks. They don't care about their customer or building a trustworthy company.

RoyW. June 18, 2022

I'm curious to know what SynBio stock he was referring to in the LENGTHY video I sat and listened to.

Bad News-Stay Away
May 19, 2021
Bad news-they say it's a one time charge of $49 but they have been charging $49 a month and we just realized it (our fault for sure) but it's a bad scam. Stay away.

Vicky August 18, 2021

Because we did not cancel our subscription within the 30 day window (due to a death in the family), they will not refund our account. They refunded us a prorated amount, but only for use on another one of their services. While some of the newsletters were interesting, their advice was a lot of investing in FAANG stocks-which cost into the hundreds or even thousands of dollars per share. "...it’s unclear how Tilson’s advice has actually helped the common man" we find to be true.

Tilson and his Empire Financial Research website are a SCAM!!!
February 10, 2021
I called and wrote to them 3 times to cancel my subscription but they never did and never will and they never got back to me. Tilson is a scam who is making money on poor people's backs. I don't understand why they cannot be stopped from scamming people.

Garbage
February 10, 2021

This is a scam. Subscribing gives this service the permission to send you Spam. Each and every day you will have to delete and waste your time looking for something of value.

Huge mistake to subscribe. Garbage and a total waste for time.

Don’t sign up for this financial newsletter
February 6, 2021

I signed up for empire stock investor with no intention of renewing my subscription at the end of the year. It was a cheap ($49) way, I thought, of finding out what the movers and shakers were doing in the USA during the pandemic.

So I tried to cancel my subscription by going to the Empire site and clicking on “contact.” This brought up a form to send to let them know. After I clicked “send” what appeared in my “sent” folder was the link to the site I just used.

So I thought I’d forward the message to myself but all I got again was the link to the “contact” site - no sign of my message. It appears that Whitney is making it really difficult to cancel a subscription.

I’ll have to try phoning or sending a registered letter - wonder if they’d refuse to accept it?

-George

MaryMelly February 23, 2021

Thanks George..I was going to subscribe to this but now I won’t .can you tell me what are the two companies he recommends to buy in the EV he talks about..

Thanks again

Mary

MattHaynes June 10, 2021

Yes PLEASE! He had me! I was in!

Run Don't Walk Away
December 17, 2020

I would say stay away from this shameless self promoting jackass Whitney Tilson. I got hooked into this on the recommendation of his boss Porter "the used car salesman" Stansberry. Someone else to stay away from.

Tilson's research is expensive and worthless. His team gives out little if any actionable advice and when the do it's hit or miss if it's worth anything. His newsletters are full of "look at me and how rich I am" BS.

When he isn't promoting himself he is promoting his progressive Marxist ideology. Funny, a rich SOB doesn't believe in free market capitalism.

HarrisA. February 08, 2021

Thank you for protecting too many from such scammers. I was going to buy and i decided to search for reviews and i cam through your views and helped me to decide to stay away from these scammers. Thanks again.

MattHaynes June 10, 2021

Thank u. What info did he give! I'll split it with you paypal? Lol

A waste of money
November 25, 2020

I find it a financial scam. The information is not really value-adding and I tried to contact customer service to stop being charged and contacted the bank to stop the transaction. They lied and said I never contact them although I have even email proof.

Just stay away from it .

Beware!!!
November 10, 2020

If I could give it no stars I would. I have been trying over and over to unsubscribe from all email communication, yet I continue to receive daily emails from EFR and Whitney Tilson. I have also been trying to cancel my subscription, and while it said I would be reimbursed for a portion of my subscription fee, that never happened and my account remains active.

Their website doesn’t provide any clear way to cancel, so they are clearly less concerned with providing a quality product or service, and more concerned with getting peoples enrollment fees. Stay away!

Don't waste your money
August 5, 2020

I find this service a total waste of my time. I have trial subscriptions to 2 other services that provide much more valuable information and the information is updated on an ongoing basis. Empire research is virtually static, with minimal recommendations, and they use it as a platform to sell, sell, sell other services.

Don't Waste Your Money!!

MattHaynes June 10, 2021

What stocks? Were the speculative ones? Lol!

ScottC October 21, 2021

May I know which trial subscriptions of the 2 other services that provide much more valuable information? Thanks