Ecosia Reviews

Ecosia
( 89 reviews )
Website: www.Ecosia.org

Ecosia Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

chrome is making money?
September 28, 2019
So firefox and build a search engine with tons of porn advertisements that builds houses for the victims of porn.

jacobpowers November 12, 2019

true i agree

Gayatri November 17, 2019

Woah... I haven't seen a single ad for porn. That might be your particular web algorithm buddy.

GREAT
September 11, 2019
I always want to save the world, and this is great, and it is just as good as google

VerityJVH September 20, 2019

Have had it installed for a few days and I think it's great too, quick, simple, unintrusive and seems like a really good idea. Have also bought a nice organic cotton Tee shirt from their online and it came well packaged in two days!

LillianLiebermensch September 24, 2019

Do you know how to add favorites/bookmarks on Ecosia while on a Mac. I can only figure it out in the mobile app.

KillianNichilo October 14, 2019

on my laptop its the same as it always has been. i cant speak personally on mac but maybe a google search is a better avenue then here?

TOTALLY WORTH IT, I CAN ONLY RECOMMEND IT!
August 31, 2019
In a world, where climate change is a crisis, it's crucial to take care of the environment, we're the Earth's last chance, and it's completely free! You don't need to pay for it, you can just do your everyday job on the internet. The design is clean, and your privacy is protected!

What the earth needs
August 27, 2019
Ecosia are very transparent, read their budget break down on their website.

ill take it
August 26, 2019
i cant't give a star rating, I HAVENT used it yet.. and i don't care how many searches it takes to plant a tree; something betters than nothing if you ask me. I'm just looking for any PROOF that its a highjacker. Rumors and accusations with no proof is all i have found online. So far all these claims are coming from people who don't seem trustworthy at all; faceless people making claims online? ill have to pass on that type of "warning" so I'm spending a few hours trying to find proof. If its not a threat to my computer, its staying on my computer. simple as that.

angle September 25, 2019

How does one know your review is trustworthy if it fails to meet the standards of grammar?

AriadneShrubsole October 09, 2019

Just because someone is not as well-educated as you, or maybe is just typing too fast and fails to proofread, does not mean what they are saying is not legit. A lot of people use perfect grammar to spread lies and hate. Good grammar seems an unreliable way to judge truth. Unless we are just trying to insult people we don't agree with.

Gayatri November 17, 2019

Thank you for actually having common sense about a decision instead of letting everyone's opinions on the internet sway you. I always say research for yourself and have proof before you spread nonsense. I haven't used it yet either and am looking for evidence which is how I ended up here but wow. Every comment section online is twitter now haha amazing.

disappointing i tried it
August 25, 2019

Seems as there is no proof, just a German Berlin guy saying they do some popular stuff.

No Proof.

DanMcShane August 26, 2019

B certified means that an unbiased company has investigated them thoroughly enough to declare that they do what they are promising. I call that enough undeniable proof. Next time before you leave an angry review on something, please spare us all and do a little research, Robert.

DanMcShane August 26, 2019

It is a B-certified organisation, meaning they have been thoroughly investigated and declared to be keeping all their promises by an unbiased company. They also publish their monthly finance reports on their homepage. I would call that extensive proof. Do us all a favour Robert, and next time your going to leave a derogatory comment, at least have the decency to do your research and make sure you are, in fact, right.

robert August 27, 2019

Sure prove what a B org. is by whom, by what standards? Why not a A org.? And I can publish any numbers on my website as well.

Who are you? What real agency or bureau made you an Information source.

To me you proved NOTHING.

DAN wake up ...GET A GRIP, FOOLISH FRAUD UNTIL PROVEN IN A REALITY OF FACTS. Your worst nightmare ...if you care Robert

JovanTatić September 17, 2019

And if this is not enough, contact the organizations they mention as partners and ask them about Ecosia.

LeikiDragon September 28, 2019

Google makes money by me searching the web using chrome no matter where I go because of those extensions.. wow. wait?

i should make a web browser and just cater to porn advertising and building houses for the victims of porn.

Gayatri November 17, 2019

Well dude if you have evidence that they aren't legit, it would be great if you could share it with the class. Anyone can say there's no proof without looking for both Evidence that they are legit and evidence they aren't. Until then, I wouldn't go around spouting accusations like porn addict Leiki Dragon over here.

PLEASE BE REAL
August 24, 2019
I HOPE THIS IS REAL BECAUSE OF AMAZON NEEDS HELP

Awesome and true
August 24, 2019
Ecosia has helped so many countries rebuild they’re forests and stabilize their economy. All of the projects listed on their project page were actually done and or being worked on. Sure 45 searches is only like 5 bucks but everyone’s searches contribute to planting the trees. For one person to finance planting a tree it would take 1350 searches for a maple tree. It would be even more so to finance a tree for the Amazon around 3530 searches. But I digress this company is doing an amazing thing. They employ people who were financially struggling, help people in need, plant more trees to fight climate change and stay environmentally friendly through their use of solar and nuclear energy at all of their offices. Truly an amazing organization.

Aidan September 29, 2019

Buddy, nuclear power plants make smoke/noxious fumes. If you wanted to make a stable debate do some investigation first. And at least do a simple image search of your support. Once again NUCLEAR POWER PLANTS DO NOT HELP the ENVIRONMENT.

JaySt October 05, 2019

Not True. Nuclear Power will be very important part of solving the climate crisis.

JaySt October 05, 2019

Not True at all. The 'smoke' that sometimes comes from nuclear power plants is steam... also known as water in gas form. Nuclear power plants create almost zero carbon dioxide or other gases that cause global warming. Nuclear power will be one of the most important elements of fighting climate catastrophe.

It's annoying that a search for Google so you can use that doesn't count as a search
August 23, 2019

It's good, but it's got a lot of work to do to be as useful and as intuitive as Google.

I think they should look into doing deals with Google and maybe joing forces with them.

ZuieuChinni August 24, 2019

I HOPE THIS IS LEGIT BECAUSE OF AMAZON NEEDS HELP RN

DanMcShane August 26, 2019

You can always add it as an extension to Chrome, so as to not interrupt your browser except by changing the logo and where the funds go to.

AnuvSingh August 31, 2019

Ecosia values privacy, Google does not

HarrisonBoal-Jones September 06, 2019

Google has questionable CSR and as far as I can see Ecosia has great CSR. The reason Google seems so intuitive is because the top searches are all sponsored so they pay to be the first thing on your search list, that money then goes back into google.

ThomasPowell September 08, 2019

I mean, intuitive...as in the definition of intuitive...

You can ask Google questions, rather than just searching for words and phrases and it'll get down to the nitty gritty of what you mean and things like that.

Ecosia doesn't close.

ThomasPowell September 08, 2019

Privacy...1) How do you know and 2) I'd rather a faster, more efficient, more intuitive search engine.

I'm not bothered about provacy really. I have a very low online presence. My person details don't go online very often and I'm never logged into to Google or anything.

More and better info.
July 25, 2019

Seeing a lot of uncertainty on these reviews. Here a useful link with some background info:

https://www.spiegel.de/international/business/ecosia-start-up-aims-to-use-your-search-results-to-plant-trees-a-1278617.html

Seems to be the real deal!

LilaTobiasz August 21, 2019

(; it is even secured in it's right status that leaders can not use profits for other goals as tree plant

Worth it
July 9, 2019
In my opinion, it's totally worth it. Even if they don't plant any trees, and it's entirely a scam, if their claim of using 100% renewable energy with their business is true, I figure it's worth that alone. On the chance that it is planting trees, I might as well use it.

subscribe tome July 11, 2019

That's true

The Search Engine That's Saving The World
June 26, 2019
I love Ecosia. Even though people are saying that the rest of the money from ads is going to rich people, I think they deserve it. I mean, if they thought of the idea, and is a profit making company the money should go to them anyways. Anyways, I think that Ecosia is great. I feel better about myself knowing that I'm planting trees by doing something I already do on a daily basis. If you're thinking abuot whether or not you should download Ecosia, you absoloulty should. It makes you feel better about yourself that you're doing good for the environment.

subscribe tome July 11, 2019

That's so true though

This may be my first time
June 26, 2019
I really think it looks like they grow trees but sadly they don't grow trees each search, I think probably around 45 searches each to grow in each tree because they sometimes take so long to grow a tree I wish maybe each plant

JillianStebbins August 09, 2019

The Ad revenue generated from a single search is not nearly enough to plant a tree. Given how expensive reforestation is, 45 searches is actually not a lot. Especially seeing as Ecosia isn't a popular browser and most big companies wouldn't care to advertise on it.

They donate money per search anyway, so even if you're personally not planting a tree, everyone's searches certainly are. That is, if Ecosia does what it says.

ITS GREAT
June 22, 2019
The interface is amazing, much better than Google, and it makes you feel good that you are doing your part to help the environment

Anabelle June 26, 2019

I think the same way.

nice
June 22, 2019

I will say I enjoy this extension. The idea is nice and it's not anything special. People in the comments are either calling it a spam or not a spam, and I think that whatever you want to believe is if you shouldn't use the browser. I don't like how you can still use google and in order to use ecosia you have to open a new tab or click the eocsia icon in the extension section. I'd much rather have my entire computer changed to where every time I search something it uses Ecosia to search it, since I search a lot of things.

One thing I will say is that Ecosia isn't consistent with the method of planting trees it's using. First it says every thirty seconds, then it says every search, but when you click on the tree it says every forty-five searches. Makes it confusing. But if I'm planting trees I'll enjoy it.

orbit chuu July 25, 2019

you have to change settings to make ecosia your default home page to automatically open instead of google. :) also not sure where you saw thirty seconds/every search, it's made quite clear that you personally will plant one tree with 45 searches and with the number of people searching on ecosia at once it allows for one tree to be planted every thirty seconds as an encouragement to continue supporting them

Why not?
June 21, 2019
I think there is no reason for not using it. I never got any spam and it works totally as same as chrome does.

Smartest scam ever
June 17, 2019
I love the people who did this because they must be some genius entrepenuers. The whole marketing strategy is to be a free browser that supports the climate. Earning money from spam and super anying adds, but they are accepted by people so they can be a part of the climate movement. However, 80% of the surplus goes to plantaing of trees, but the surplus tells the ammount of money left after paying all the salleries, and I bet the "top people" in this business are all driving around in a huge porche cayenne driving 5 km/L and having plenty and also long holidays by plane. Furthermore, of the 80% of the surplus a lot of the money goes to "spreading the word" as they called it, which is basically just expanding their business by advertising and investing in the company.

VictorZibold June 21, 2019

You can see their financial reports for each month and as you can see the salaries are really low. They spend around 108.000 EUR on salaries in April for 41 people. That is incredible low.

Fia Rhiannon July 06, 2019

Do you have any reliable sources to back up your claims?

Great!
June 7, 2019
It's something to help the environment and I honestly, have no idea what these people are saying, I've never gotten spam. The only thing I wish they would include is the option to drag a picture up and picture search it.

acroissant June 15, 2019

I'm using it right now. So far it works just as well as chrome, no ads besides the ones you normally would see on the Internet.

It sucks
June 6, 2019
It just sends spam. I hate it. Everyday it sends me you won something it also sends "Hot girls want to meet" but I'm a girl I'm not lesbian. Although I do like the fact that they plant trees. I don't like spam

TealSoda June 07, 2019

Are you sure you downloaded from the correct place? I've had Ecosia downloaded for about a week now and I haven't gotten any of those pop ups.

TealSoda June 07, 2019

I've had this extension for about a week and I've gotten none of these pop ups.

DestinyLucille June 10, 2019

Me neither and I've had it for a couple months. Think some people have viruses from elsewhere

Hannahxox June 16, 2019

I have had it for over a month and I've never gotten any ads or emails.

Mehashandgun June 25, 2019

E-thots. I get them as well.

Kinarki June 26, 2019

This is fake. You do not have to enter your email anywhere to use Ecosia

Fia Rhiannon July 06, 2019

You might have gotten the wrong thing, then. As far as I know, it's just a chrome extension that works (from what I can see) exactly like Google. It doesn't send emails. I don't know if it even has access to your email.

wonderful
June 5, 2019
while not a replacement for voting for environmental parties, going vegan, avoiding flights etc, ecosia is a quick and easy way to help the environment that you can start implementing into your daily life today.

Ashly ecosia sucks June 06, 2019

Ecosia sends spam. I don't like it.