Ecosia Reviews

Ecosia
( 89 reviews )
Website: www.Ecosia.org

Ecosia Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Great for the Planet, Pretty Good for Searching
February 3, 2020
I do a lot of internet searches for my work and art. I switched recently to Ecosia as my primary search engine. As this is my first month of using Ecosia, I'm occasionally running a search on Google just to see if I can find anything missed. I do find the results often very similar to Google, but not always. Overall I like Ecosia though, and it fits into my mission at The Art of Sustainability of exploring eco art so I'll continue using it. Funding the planting of trees as I do my everyday work just sounds like a win-win. The transparency of posting their monthly donation receipts is pretty impressive. Would love to see more of that practice in the world!

Safe, private, helps the envirnment
January 21, 2020
Comparable to Google minus the spying and plus planting trees

Its terrible, but good idea.
January 21, 2020
Ecosia, the search engine that plants trees. I don't know if they actually plant trees, I'm pretty sure they don't because they amount of trees they say they plant is a little too high to be believable. First of all, the results of searches are usually always not what you looking for, or looking for definitions is hard. The only thing I do like is the idea of planting trees from searching.

LisaCorey January 29, 2020

Ecosia claims to plant a tree every 30 seconds, which I wonder how that is feasible or where the figures came up with that math..

HenriRochefort January 30, 2020

... ok ...

they mean with the revenue they get from searches, every 30 seconds, it gives them enough revenu to plant 1 tree. They are not planting 1 every 30 seconds 24/7....

JeremySchubert March 25, 2020

THEY DO PLANT TREES

So easy my parents could use it
January 21, 2020
There’s very little difference between my search results on this vs Google browser. Google has enough of my business, might as well spread the wealth and save the world while I do.

Ecocia
January 16, 2020
it is no different than Google, but the logo.

RachaelEdmisten March 10, 2020

Yeah, but they plant trees!!!!! DUH

RachaelEdmisten March 10, 2020

Also, you spelt Ecosia wrong.

Its LEGIT!
January 6, 2020

It is legit. First of all, to get a .org, there is not much you have to do. You have to prove yourself worthy enough to get it only once, not consistently. And you can only get .org if what your doing benefits the US. So how is Ecosia real? Ecosia works like this;

Ecosia uses it's profits and sends R of them to other organizations in different countries. The other H is used for other things, such as advertising and thing like that.

If you would like to double check if Ecosia go to snopes.

:)

I'm uneasy about it
December 28, 2019
Is it real I really like Google more but I want to help the Earth. I'm not sure if it's legit or not. Please somebody tell me if is or not.

ShadeZehendner January 06, 2020

It is legit. First of all, to get a .org, there is not much you have to do. You have to prove yourself worthy enough to get it only once, not consistently. And you can only get .org if what your doing benefits the US. So how is Ecosia real? Ecosia works like this;

Ecosia uses it's profits and sends R of them to other organizations in different countries. The other H is used for other things, such as advertising and thing like that.

If you would like to double check if Ecosia go to snopes.

:)

Nightmare2Rex2 January 28, 2020

i dont trust everythign snopes says they been caught in lots of lies.... any other proofs 100s trees planted a day when i used it in past seemed a bit high.

EvelynAlonso December 06, 2020

its not 100 trees, its how many google searches you did, every 45 searches equal enough profit to plant a tree, if you click the tree counter it clearly says this

They have proved it and It works!
December 18, 2019
I started using it 2 days ago and you can literally go and see them if your so sure they're fake, Jacod powers and cole landburg stfu

Tree Good
December 6, 2019
I love how they give information about where their money goes, produce energy to be CO2 negative and don't sell your data, don't give it to 3rd party tracker and anonymize all searches so that we have a safe searching experience while saving the planet.

It's really fun
December 4, 2019
It is really fun using Ecosia, I like seeing the number of trees I have planted. I just started using it yesterday and I am already in love.

They are actually very transparent with their social business
November 29, 2019
We need more companies like that! Everybody who is doubting their motives, dig a bit yourself and you will see that this tree planting search engine is legit. E.g. check out their youtube channel for video updates on the progress in Kenia, Ghana, Nicaragua, and Burkina Faso. They also release a financial report every month, so you can see yourself where the money goes. Their concept seems to work, they have a lot to show for after almost 11 years of reforestation all over the world.

Scam or Not, It may just help our Earth
November 22, 2019
It does not matter if Ecosia is planting trees or not. It is a possibility, and it is almost as good as Google, so why not use it just in case? You may be possibly saving our planet, one search at a time.

Ecosia: The best at being okay
November 22, 2019

Ecosia does not let me personalize so that kinda sucks, but hey! Planting trees! It is kinda hard for me to believe that they are really planting trees for EVERY search, but they have to be planting SOME trees or they would be straight up lying. I prefer Google over Ecosia, but I like trees more than that.

SAVE THE PLANET. NOT JUST THE TURTLES.

J.A.M.SAnimal Jam December 07, 2019

It says that it takes about 45 searches to plant 1 tree.

Carmen O'Sullivan January 11, 2020

Well yeah, it takes time to plant trees.

Just fine
November 14, 2019
Ecosia is just a mildly worse version than chrome, and with the flimsy promise of planting trees, you might as well use a different search engine. I don't know if Ecosia is really planting trees like they say it is, which you think would be easy to prove if they really were, so why don't they prove it? I don't know, and so I am moving back to chrome.

Gayatri November 17, 2019

Just my opinion... but isn't a possible promise of planting trees better than nothing at all? It doesn't hurt me to use it, so I will, and if I want different search results for something I'll use chrome. So far though, I don't see the harm in Ecosia.

EvelynAlonso December 06, 2020

I mean have you looked into it? They have a sound business model and Chrome promises you nothing but selling your info if you are using Google

Trees good
November 11, 2019

There's almost no reason not to use Ecosia.

Sure, you may not get the best results when it comes to things that aren't searched very often, but every search helps plant a tree! Why *not* use it?

It's nothing special but ok boomer
November 6, 2019
It's fine I guess, It's just another way to help us breathe in the future..

A great search engine
November 5, 2019
I use it both on my PC and phone, and it works like a charm. A great additional way to help the world.

I use it for most everything
November 3, 2019

But not all. The algorithm they use is different than google and doesn’t provide the same quality results. In most cases what I’m searching for is popular enough to find what I need and so ecosia works well. It’s in my computer browser and on my phone. Downside you do have to specifically add the app because you can’t set it as a default engine.

Sometimes the results I get aren’t giving me what I need in which case I almost always can find it on google. I rather give my business to a company providing a service to the benefit of the earth. So I use ecosia as much as I can.

Their site is pretty transparent with their financial info available to any who wish to read. They say it’s approx 45 searches to one tree so the counter is # of searches toward tree plantings but it isn't a direct measure of it. Different searches generate various revenue so it’s not a tidy figure to report.

I’m up to 502 searches or about 11 trees.

It’s an easy way to contribute to the environment with almost no trouble for you. Why not?

Amazing Ecosia
November 2, 2019
It helps plant trees which we need for oxygen so it is not a scam. Use it, it helps us stay alive for years to come, so we can breathe

WELL DUH
October 10, 2019

Finding what you search planting trees

=SAVING THE EARTH!!!