Defender Razor Reviews

About Defender Razor

Defender Razor, found online at DefenderRazor.com, is a new razor which claims that they are the first completely redesigned razor available in more than 50 years and which offers “the world’s closest, most comfortable shave.” 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the large shaving and razor companies have “a 100-year razor monopoly” on the shaving industry, which has resulted in prices going up while innovation is purposely being kept down. DefenderRazor.com says that the only real innovations made to razors in recent years is simply a decision to pack more blades onto a crowded razor cartridge. 

The makers of the Defender Razor felt this simply wasn’t good enough. So, over the course of the last 8 years, the company decided to re-engineer a razor design from the ground up. 

What they came up with is the Defender Razor, which uses a handle made from the ideal polymer which offers a soft, comfortable grip that won’t slip under any circumstances, as well as five reference holes along the handle for “an unprecedented level of control.” 

 

The razor cartridge that fits onto this handle is designed with three blades that each have their own independent suspension. This means that each blade moves independently from one another, so that they can remain in contact with your skin at all times, which allows them to follow curves with maximum closeness.  

Cost/Price Plans

Each option for the Defender Razor is available to purchase separately. The traditional long handled razor is comprised of two pieces, the Defender Handle priced at $4.95 and the Defender Blade, priced at $7.95, for a total of $12.90 when purchased together. 

The Defender Dual Head razor is a special item which has two razors facing in opposite directions to facilitate a fast shave with maximum control and is priced at $14.95. All products purchased directly from this website are offered free shipping.   

Refund Policy

This website offers the simplest possible Refund Policy, saying only that it is important to them to make returns easy and convenient for their customers. To do so, all purchases are eligible for return within the first 30 days of purchase for either a refund or replacement. To initiate the return process, they ask that all customers contact them in order to receive their full set of return instructions.    

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, which is at the bottom of their website.

Reputation

Unfortunately this product is so new that there simply aren’t many reviews available for them quite yet. That being said, of the very few reviews that are available, they all seem positive and enthusiastic about what this company is claiming to offer in terms of innovation and quality. In addition, since this company offers free shipping and a reasonable Return Policy, customers should feel comfortable ordering this product and trying it for themselves.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

The shaving and razor market has actually grown in many interesting ways and has become extremely competitive, with many different manufacturers and companies offering their customers new options to traditional shaving products, including Dollar Shave Club, Harry's Razors, Dorco, Shave Mob, eShave, The Art of Shaving, Bevel Shaving System, and more.

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your Defender Razor reviews below.

You may also be interested in

6 ‘Defender Razor ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

least number of nicks with a new razor ever, best at not having to make multiple passes
August 7, 2019
Was shocked I had no nicks with first few shaves. Don't know when if ever I had a razor that required so few passes; night and day difference than with Harry's. Where I see the big difference is where the blade attaches to the handle. It attaches to the middle of the blade so it pivots much better.

Awesome razor tha lasts!...as of 2018
June 25, 2018
I love this razor! It doesnt "glide" across like the closely spaced 5 blade razors but it gives a significant'tly closer shave with fewer passes and less razor bumps and nicks. Blades also last twice as long. My wife keeps borrowing it for her legs...lol. I have read previous reviews and was confused. Then i noticed they were from 2016. They must have made improvements since then. The 2018 razor is awesome!

Luke W April 27, 2020

Ok so it's the end of April 2020, I have been using these razors for the better part of 3 years now and I swear by them!

The razors last SO SOOO long! and they cut close and never leave bumps.

I use it for my neck, beard, and Head. I love how smooth the shave is and how I rairly need to make many passes to get the closeness I want, and I want it close. So trust me when I say these blades are amazing!

I use Sensitive skin ones and they have never let me down. After about 3-6 months I find I need to replace a blade. and I order a single pack every 6 months, You just don't need more than that!

These are seriously my favorite blades and so affordable. I won't use another brand again, these just don't fall apart or dull like the other brands I have tried.

Give them a try, it'll be the best $12-15 bucks you have spent in a long while.

Review after a full year of use.. don't just try it..
August 14, 2017

It has been a year now with a Defender Razor.. And to be brutally honest when I first got it, it felt cheap in contrast to other brands. The shave wasn't as good as the company seamed to have promised. I was left with some stubble and was left going over it a couple times to achieve the same results as the previous brands I used, (Gillette, Dollar Shave Club..) and it didn't seam to bend the way they had advertised..

But I had purchased enough cartridges to last me a while so I endured..

I got more and more used to the razor as the weeks went on.. I shave daily but sometimes go 3-4 days between.. My original complaints faded as I continued to use the razor. I noticed that as I used it it seamed to break in to the shape of my face flexed more and felt a closer shave then I had when I first started using it.. I noticed I wasn't having to go back over the same patch and didn't have the stumble I had experienced before. it seamed it got better with age..

After a time of using nothing but this razor at no failing of the cartridge I felt it was time to change cartridge (sadly I didn't keep exact track of the time but it was more then a month) oh no! I found myself back to stumble and having to go over it again a couple times... I actually went back to the old cartridge for a few more weeks before braving the second cartridge again.. This is when I had the revelation of maybe it just needs to be broken in.. And behold within 2 or 3 shaves I was back to my quick smooth one pass shave stubble free... I have since gone through a few cartridges with similar results.. Far fewer cartridges then I ever had with any other brand..

The moment that brought me to write this review came when my family went on vacation for a couple weeks in June.. I hadn't packed my Defender Razor, but in my wife's travel pack was a spare DSC handle and she had packed a box of cartridges.. I grabbed the handle to begin my ritual at the hotel and was surprised by the bulky, heavy, slippery handle. It felt goofy to me.. Then came running the blade across my lathered skin. Having not shaved with anything but the defender razor for nearly a year at this point, the rigid solid cartridge was foreign to my spoiled skin.. It didn't curve to my jaw line like I had become accustomed to and I found myself having to position my hand in such a way that I hadn't realized that I never had to do with the Defender.. And then after I had finished.. Something I hadn't experienced in a while.... razor burn... What did I do wrong? Why why? I used my normal shave butter.. The only change was the razor... I though break in time.?? But no.. I suffered through vacation with the blades I had once been so fond of before my Experience with Defender..

When I got home it was like a reunion with an old friend when I shaved..it curved with my jaw line oh so nice, the grip was the familiar weightlessness and grippyness that once again almost seamed too lite in comparison.. And Ahh!!! No razor burn smooth stumble free skin....

Believe me.. This is not the experience nor review I had expected to nor would have given you after my first few times using the Defender. But now a year later I think it would be very hard to go back to any inferior product.. And yes. I ordered a spare handle for my travel pack...

Zach R.

Locomotive Engineer

Good marketing but crappy product
October 22, 2016
I must say the promotion piece for the product was superbly executed. The concept behind the product is great but the end product is crap. Blades are not sharp compared to other brands, the razor feels light and cheap in hand. The construction is also poor. I decided to write the review as this morning I was using a brand new blade set. One of the blade protection bar immediately came off. I could not lock it back into place so it was dangling. The blade release mechanism on the razor became irremediably jammed after 3 weeks of use. To switch blades, I had to use blunt force or knock the razor forcibly against the sink. Just not worth it. Next time don't make your stuff in China...Would have been worth it to have the product made in the US, an additional selling point to your brand...

Bernie G April 21, 2020

Saw the date of your review. You should try the latest model and blades. I think you will find a difference.

Worst Razor Ever
September 22, 2016
I have been testing razors for months now, everything from DE on up to Fusion ProGlide, including Harry's, DSC, and Dorco. After finally settling on Fusion ProGlide, I thought I'd go back and try Defender. It is, without a doubt, the *worst* razor I have ever tried! Not only was there significant't stubble after a 2 pass shave, I had nicks in several places. Everything about the razor is cheap. I threw it out right away.

Garbage
May 10, 2016
Defender Razor is a horrible company. They remove the bad reviews from their facebook page. Their blades wear out faster than any I have ever used and their customer support is rude!

Titanic S September 06, 2016

It is impossible for a page to remove reviews. Your review is still there, I can see it. You seem like a very confused person. I have had nothing but great success with these.

James k May 15, 2016

Chad - your review is still on their Facebook page. Facebook designed the review feature so that companies could NOT remove reviews - that's the whole point. So what are you talking about? Which competitor do you work for?

Related Reviews

No reviews yet
No reviews yet
No reviews yet