Curio Kennel Reviews

Curio Kennel
Based on 12  Reviews



Review It
12 ‘Curio Kennel’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Shiba Inu



September23, 2017

For what it's worth - we bought a Shiba Inu from Liz in June 2015. It is fairly obvious now he is not a pure bred Shiba - larger than most and a black spot on his tongue which is indicative of maybe being bred with a Hokkaido Ken. I thought it strange when the AKC paperwork listed Carolyn L. Goad as the breeder. This was after we brought him home. No issues and we love our dog but I hope they can be shut down. At the time we got our dog she was living in Cocoa, Florida.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Terrible Business



October10, 2014

I would also recommend finding another breeder. Liz is very tentative while showing interest in her puppies, but does a fine job of dancing around any important questions regarding the pups health before she received payment and books the dog's flight. Once the dog's paid for/shipped and in your hands, you won't get her 10 minute e-mail response time, but instead, you'll have a sick pup in hand with questions going unanswered for 24-48 hours. She also refuses to help with any vet bill that may come with getting the sick pup she sent to you, healthy. My specific review of this breeder is because of our story that follows -

On August 16th, 2014, I had purchased a miniature shar pei puppy from Curio Kennel, and my sister and I were picking her up from the airport. When we pulled her out of the crate she was shipped in, her eyes were caked over with mucous/dried eye boogers. Her flight from Florida to Los Angeles had been delayed 2 hours, so she spent a 12 hours sedated. She also had a VERY nasally sound to her breathing, but again, I thought she probably had a lot of snot/boogers from being knocked out for so long; I figured because she had such a long trip, it was probably very hard on a little pup at just 10 weeks old.

We kept a close eye on her through the night, and into the next day. That next evening, I noticed an "eye booger" looking thing on her butt, and figured it was from our other male shar pei (who's 3 years old) playing with her. I wiped the "eye booger" off with a piece of toilet paper, and I realized it was MOVING on the toilet paper. It was very obvious it was some kind of worm, most likely tapeworm after googling it. Not a huge deal, as a lot of puppies tend to get tapeworm once or twice, but we figured we'd take her to the vet to just do a complete checkup on our new puppy (even though we hadn't, and STILL HAVEN'T, received her papers from Liz). After her vet visit, she was diagnosed with a very severe respiratory infection, eye infections in both eyes, and an open wound/lump on her front right leg. Obviously we had to move forward with treating our pup, who's name is now Pumpkin :), sooner than later, as a respiratory infection can easily turn into pneumonia very quickly in a puppy. She was prescribed a high dosage of antibiotics, eye "drops" (more like a vaseline), Panacur for tapeworm (which Liz had stated she was on as a puppy in order to rid of any tapeworm-like viruses), a small circular pill that was to take care of her "hookworm" parasite, and they drained the lump on her front right leg. Our vet told my sister and I, not to get our hopes up, but we had some work to do, as her respiratory infection is very severe and will likely turn into pneumonia (often a puppy killer). Total Cost: $511

After her first appointment, I contacted Liz asking for her papers, per our vet's request. Liz stated she had mailed the papers already, and wasn't able to scan a copy to our vet's office because she doesn't keep a copy of them for herself. At this point, I started to feel really uncomfortable dealing with this lady. She wouldn't answer the phone, wouldn't respond to my emails but every other day, and refused to help with our cost at the vet's office JUST 2 DAYS AFTER RECEIVING THE PUPPY. Our vet recommended re-vaccinating her and giving her all the necessary shots a puppy's supposed to get. We agreed and ended up covering the cost.

Pumpkin ended up having 2 follow up appointments, and had to continue antibiotic treatment for almost a month. She has another appointment next week for a check up, but seems to be doing a lot better; I think she's going to make it. :)

I normally don't like to submit poor reviews in lieu of a poor purchase/sale on any type of website, and I probably wouldn't have wrote one if our puppy hadn't made it through all of this, but Liz Cleveland and her husband are crooked. I highly recommend not buying a puppy from this breeder, unless you're looking to go through a string of emotions trying to get your puppy to good health.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
November 18, 2017

This is abuse on the part of the breeder and the purchaser. Shipping dogs in kennels on airplanes is HORRIBLE. Get a shelter dog.

November 18, 2017

Why would anyone ever purchase a dog that has to be shipped in a crate and even worse, by air? Stupid, stupid, stupid. There are so many horror stories about this. Get a shelter dog

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Shiba Inu are their money makers



August21, 2014

IF you are lucky, and you're picking out anything besides a Shiba, there will be a 50% chance of getting a healthy puppy. Pick a Shiba and you are forcing that over bred girl to have another litter! They won't stop breeding, until there are no suckers left to sell to!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Mini shar pei



June19, 2014

We purchased the most adorable Miniature Shar pei puppy from Curio kennel, she was shipped to California with all shots and papers. Liz has been tremendous to deal with and highly recommend the for your future purchases. We searched for the perfect puppy and believe they are truly "high class."Thanks again!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 21, 2014

Sorry, a mini Shar Pei is NOT a recognized breed of dog! She made up the breed size.

Your Comment

Using stolen pictures of dogs



February7, 2014

Before I read all of the terrible reviews (on multiple websites, including the BBB), I contacted Liz about one of her puppies. I asked for a picture of the parents, and she sent me a picture stolen from another breeder. It just so happened that I recently purchased a puppy from the breeder she stole the picture from! When I confronted her, she stopped responding to me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 21, 2014

Doesn't surprise me one bit! She never has any pictures of the puppies with their real moms! There's a picture on Pinterest, of the Dalmatian with the litter of nursing pups. The mom does not have any milk for them. You can tell, because the pup on the bottom left. It is latched onto the nipple and "momma" is not engorged with milk!

Your Comment
review author image
David Huang
Guest

Back yard breeder at best



April26, 2013

Curio Kennel may not be as bad as a puppy mill, but it for sure is a back yard breeder. Do your research on google... forums... etc before going with this place. Breeder does not do any genetic testing on her shiba dames and sires.

Breeder is a crock of shit...
"The reason why we have a cream shiba in our breeding program is because cream males produce very bright red pups with very defined white markings. Cream is a recessive gene so even with a cream male we very rarely get cream pups - it has been almost a year since we have even had one. If you use a red sesame male, or a black and tan male - even a red and white male - you will usually get a higher occurrence of red sesame pups and black and tan pups. "

I am sure the AKC would frown upon using a creme Shiba to breed... regardless of it being the dame or sire.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
Penny Ferguson
Guest

Scam



March10, 2013

I bought a shar pei from Liz she was more than ready to take my money then scam me on the akc papers she said I would recieve later. I tried to contact her for over a month she has blocked me from everything.. I will be contacting my lawyer soon anything over 300 in Flordia is grnad theft! They knew this puppy was not registerable!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
Anna Sanchez
Guest

We love Curio Kennel!



December26, 2012

We purchased a Sharpei puppy from Curio Kennel in 2008. We came across this review page when searching their name to contact them about adding another dog to our family. Our sweet Ruffles has been a wonderful additional to our family. Curio Kennel allowed us to come
out and visit the puppies to choose which one they wanted, and we were also able to interact with quite a few of their adult dogs who all seemed friendly. Our pup was and has always been very healthy. I can't recommend them enough.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
August 21, 2014

You've got to be a friend of theirs!

August 22, 2014

I had never met them until I bought my puppy from them several years back. I saw your posting above on someone else's review and I have to wonder if you have ever even met or been to their kennel. I met both of the parents of my puppy and saw their other dogs as well. They have quite a few dogs so I don't see any reason why they would "pretend" to own the parents of puppies. I don't know if you've ever been to their Facebook page but there are tons of people, including me, who have posted pictures of their dogs that they've gotten from curio and posted how happy they are with them... And these are real people tied to Facebook accounts, not just random names that can be used in an anonymous online forum. I don't know why you have such a bone to pick with them when you obviously have never met their dogs in person, but I was and still am very happy with the dog I got from them.

Your Comment

Leave a Review