Course Hero Reviews

117 ‘Course Hero’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

SCAM, TRASH ,fooling ppl to upload their files into the garbage collector for no return

October 5, 2014

Big Scam...
Garbage, don't waste time uploading files thinking you get any access . they steal your files and say sorry we denied 99% of your files, upload more ...
fooling ppl to upload their files into the garbage collector for no return

Comment on this review...

Don't waste your money

September 5, 2014

Course hero does a bait and switch. I signed up thinking I would have material relevant to the class I am taking. Turns out the best material was a series of class notes that were from the actual course I was taking. In addition, when I requested a refund I was told since I accessed a document they could not give me a refund. The one document I accessed was a syllabus from a similar course at another university. Stay Away!!! There are other online resources that are better.

View all 2 Comments
April 13, 2016

Can you tell me those better online resources that you mentioned? Thank you for your help.

May 05, 2016

I want to know too

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Stay Away From CourseHero

July 29, 2014

I wish I could give zero stars to this company... First of all most of their material comes from amateurs. It doesn't get reviewed, it just gets uploaded, so basically anyone could write anything and I upload it as a document. I have found so many mistakes in documents that others have uploaded. I needed this website not to copy anything but just to guide me if I needed help with my classes. I signed up for a month of membership and turns out they kept charging my card every month $40.00 . I called them and they said that it is MY RESPONSIBILITY to cancel the service and they cannot refund me the money. Basically I signed up for one month of the service and I have to cancel it myself. I told them I will dispute the charge they said go ahead. Some ghetto customer service agent went psycho on me, I did not get to talk to a supervisor or a manager. This is first and last time I am ever using this s**t service, there are so many other websites I have used that have much better information than Course Hero. For your own sake stay the hell away.

April 13, 2016

I signed up for membership and was not useful at all.
Can you give me recommendation of other better websites that you mentioned?

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Course Hero is a scam.

April 7, 2014

A true scam. Not just a lousy website with bad content scam; but a pyramid scheme-like scam.

The content is not moderated at all. It gets uploaded with no human intervention or computer scanning of content. There are no peer reviews (for contributors), since the "contributor" is always anonymous. There are no ratings on the content.

Those facts should flash warning signals all over the place. Why would a company that specializes in providing "useful" data, not WANT to attribute their contributors? It's good for them, it's good for you, the customer. Well, because it's a scam. It's not good content. It's not coming from reputable "note takers"... it's garbage (or randomness at best). When you pay money... you become a victim and never return.

But, that is the business model:
+ Catch a student in a moment of desperation, where the he/she decides "hey, 50 bucks for months of answers?... sure."

+ Student is unhappy, and never returns, telling the true experience to his/her friends. CourseHero coaxes students, pays students, or straight-up invents "students" to scour the Internet for any talk AGAINST the company (about being a scam) and populating good reviews/comments to confuse potential victims. Yes, EVERY comment you see that says Course Hero is good, worked for them, etc... is working for the company and lying to you.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Andres Caicedo
Guest

This place is garbage. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

November 24, 2013

I was looking for documents for a research. There was literally nothing useful. Besides half the documents were already deleted or empty. They are very good at not answering questions or claims though. I tried to get rid of the charge through my American Express credit card but they were really good at proving that yes in fact I was able to open documents, that were good for nothing or just empty.

Comment on this review...
review author image
san
Guest

scam straight up

November 19, 2013

Please just stay away thief i dont know allow business like these to go on sign up for 7.95 a month they took 95.75 i call thwm no answer file a dispute with my bank instantly coursehero call and say we can give yoy 50 bucks i said hell to the no i need my money cause your site aint help me she said cancel the dispute witb the bank and we will refund you i said no i cant trust you straight up scam stay away my last money tthey took

Comment on this review...
review author image
gunxxx
Guest

this website is scam

September 24, 2013

i agreed with every peoples above, this is scam website, they cheated you to make misunderstand about payment, when i think i just need to pay 7 dollar for 1 years but actually it is 100 dollar !!! and they never ever refund your payment by any reasons. i don't know how this kind of BS scam website still survive. f!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Arrin
Guest

Scam, avoid at all costs.

September 18, 2013

Avoid at all costs. They took my money fraudulently and refuse to return it. I have filed a case with my credit card company. When I called them to ask for a refund they did not answer. When I emailed them they came back stating that they do not issue refunds. I have never even used their god damn service and they can see that and yet they will not refund my money. They said that they would return 1/2 the money. WTF! 1/2 for what? I never used their service and they can verify this. STAY AWAY!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Leighton Cooper
Guest

Course Hero? What does the community want?

September 15, 2013

I subscribed to Questia, Safari online books and Course Hero (recently) I subscribed to it because I live in California. I expected to be able to compare it to Chegg homework help which I can't afford as a cheaper alternative. What I feel like is I am visiting an academic garage sale. I was looking for Course hero to be kind of a workbook support site where the workbook solution manuals would be online and then people could explain their various practices. I don't really see that. I do see power point presentations but that isn't the same as people going through their classes writing out their problems and posting those with their attempts than maybe someone else takes it part way and gets confused? Then someone with a larger experience can explain where that confusion fits in or why it isn't but here is an extension instead. This playing with problem solving is what I was hoping but I don't see that? but maybe that isn't a part of the university experience. I don't want to give Course Hero a rating because the community that feels like they are wasting their money needs to step in me included an help it define its soul. To be continued

View all 2 Comments
May 08, 2016

First, Chegg offers the exact same services as Course Hero. Second, you do not want the solutions of other students, but you do want the solution manuals? I am confused by that statement. Third, what you want is a study hall group! Grow up! Real life is not an episode of any TV show you are comparing it to! And what the hell does CALIFORNIA have to do with your ignorance about Course Hero? Do other states have different websites? OMG!

May 08, 2016

PAID EMPLOYEE

Comment on this review...
review author image
john r.
Guest

scam

June 18, 2013

I was going to see a copy of a quiz for one of my classes but resulted that quiz was incomplete. I signed up for annual membership, in which I wasted 100 bucks. I sent an email (lying) that my intention was to sign up for monthly membership, and I got full refund instead. I still got some answers to my quiz right.

View all 2 Comments
leah
November 25, 2013

your comment is kinda suspect.

May 08, 2016

You paid $100 to get the answers to 1 quiz? WTF!

PAID EMPLOYEE

Comment on this review...
review author image
Karen
Guest

Course Hero - INTERNET SCAM..don't WASTE your MONEY!!!!!!!

May 9, 2013

i WOULD HAVE GIVEN IT ZERO STARS, BUT THAT WASN'T AN OPTION. I was looking for insight into an accounting course I am taking, and paid the fee for a monthly membership to view the results of a Google Search I did, showing the cover of the text I am using. I assumed it was relevant information. Upon reviewing Course Hero's result of my search, I found it wasn't relevant at all. Pertained to a different subject, and was useless. When I then went to cancel my membership and get a refund of my money, I was informed via the "Privacy Policy" that refunds were not allowed.

I have subsequently filed a complaint with the BBB. I will continue to badmouth Course Hero.com every chance I get. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY on this INTERNET SCAM. They take no responsibility for anything.

May 08, 2016

Are you a PAID EMPLOYEE??????

Because the Privacy Policy would not and does not cover refunds. Refunds are covered under the Terms of Service. Furthermore, refunds are allowed depending on the reason for need. Making a wrong assumption, because most assumptions are wrong anyway, is not a valid reason for issuing a refund. That is a valid reason for issuing you a BRAIN! Get real. Your complaints and LIES are getting tiresome.

Comment on this review...
review author image
pissed of student
Guest

This is a scam

April 8, 2013

I was looking for the answer to a question. I had to pay them in order to see the answer. So i signed up and was charge 100 bucks for an annual subscription! When I went to look at the answer - there was NO ANSWER! But they promised if i paid i could see the answer. I tried to get a refund but they refused only a partial. Leaving me with a bill for 40 dollars for nothing.

That is a SCAM.

View all 2 Comments
May 08, 2016

Who the hell pays $100 for answers to 1 assignment? You deserve to have your money rightful kept by Course Hero, since you willingly entered into a contract with them for the predesignated amount of money you agreed to pay.

PAID EMPLOYEE

July 14, 2016

This is damn near an admission of guilt. Victim-blaming, as well. "You deserve to have your money rightful kept by Course Hero"? Are you freaking kidding me? Maybe you should probably take a grammar class, buddy.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review