Course Hero Reviews

Course Hero
Based on 117  Reviews



Review It

About Course Hero

Students are often reluctant to ask their teacher for clarification of class material. There are some teachers who don’t make themselves available for help outside of the classroom. Course Hero is a website that offers help to students spanning over an array of subjects, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

On Course Hero there is an array of information to search through. There is general information on hundreds of school subjects as well as a collection of college course documents. This collection of documents includes class notes, syllabi, study guides, practice quizzes, flashcards and much more. It is even possible that you will be able to locate materials from the course at the school you are attending.

CourseHero.com also offers full course lessons in a variety of subjects. While some of these courses have been developed by its members, there are others which have been submitted by college professors.

There are two memberships for Course Hero. The first option is a free membership which is limited to the flashcards and the tutor help desk. However, payment is required when using the tutor help desk. Students determine the price they are willing to pay for an answer to a question. As soon as the question is replied to, the payment transaction is completed.

The premier paid membership gives members full access to all of the platforms on the site including flashcards, documents, and are even granted $100.00 of credits for the tutor help desk. Each submitted question or reply back to a tutor will deduct $5.00 in credits. The cost for one year of the premier membership is $95.40. They also offer a three month package for $59.85 or a one month subscription for $39.95.

Since so many students are tight on cash, Course Hero created an exchange program; they will give you a month of their premier membership in exchange for documents. After uploading 40 course documents, all of which have to be approved by their team, you will be awarded with one free month of complete access to the site.

Professors who discovered their course materials could be accessed through CourseHero were very upset. Besides the fact that they hadn’t approved it, they felt that they were being exploited because the company was making money off of the materials they created and the time it took to do so.

These professors also believe that the site was taking away from the overall learning process. Not only were their students not learning the material but they were also being deprived of the intrinsic rewards that accompany a successful learning experience. 

Students who used the tutor help desk were disappointed with the tutors’ lack of effort and ability to provide them with a response in a timely manner. Not only did the tutors barely meet the deadline, but they also did not provide valid answers. Some of them even responded with a question instead of an answer.

Overall, online reviews displayed negative feedback on the services provided by Course Hero. If you are paying for an education it is probably best just to do the work yourself or join a study group.

Related Articles

117 ‘Course Hero’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

NOT a SCAM - You didn't actually LOOK!



May8, 2016

WORTH THE TIME TO READ!!!!

First of all, let me start by saying that I am a REAL student, who is graduating from college, an accredited business school, with a Bachelor of Science degree in Business, with a concentration in Finance, in just under 2 weeks. I am not paid by Course Hero, although I wish I was with as many documents as I uploaded. With that being said, let us move on, shall we?

How can anyone sit here and complain about a website for supposedly being a scam or faulty, when you only think this because YOU DID NOT GET THE GRADE YOU WANTED WHEN YOU PAID TO HAVE YOUR WORK DONE BY SOMEONE ELSE??? Go be responsible and do your own work, or do not complain. That is the same as asking for a refund on a downloaded bootlegged DVD movie! It is not legal, nor is it ethical, so you look STUPID complaining about anything YOU DID WRONG in the first place. Its called PLAGIARISM - Look it up, will you?!

So, for anyone who is saying that Course Hero is a SCAM, because you paid for a service when you could have gotten it for FREE, I should tell you now that you were NOT scammed out of your money. In fact, each one of you claiming to be scammed by Course Hero, willingly entered credit card information into the website payment form and clicked on the "Agree" or "Submit" button, clearly agreeing to the "Terms" of which, I can almost guarantee, none of you read. So, you have no right to inaccurately accuse a website, company, computer, or anyone else, for your ignorance in choosing to skip reading over the "Terms of Service" for a contract in which you paid. I have held a PREMIUM MEMBERSHIP with Course Hero for more than 2 YEARS, never once entering credit card information, or paying a single penny to Course Hero. I chose to upload documents for access. Within a 3 month period, I had uploaded so many documents, that I was granted FREE access to Course Hero as a premium member until the beginning of 2016. That was before the current service setup of unlocks that the website uses today. I receive monthly unlocks in the new service setup, and bonus unlocks every time someone else unlocks my documents, or when I review a document I have unlocked, or some other way. I usually cannot use all my unlocks before they expire.

Furthermore, for those of you leaving negative comments, complaining about the quality of the "answers" you received, the wrong answers, poor English grammar comprised in the document, or any other issues with the services, not pertaining to the cost of the membership, those answers were much better than anything any of you had come up with yourselves, otherwise you would not have been so desperate to purchase a member to a TUTORIAL website at a monthly cost, that directly under the monthly price, clearly states "Billed in one installment..." The fact that any of you were shocked that you were charged more than the monthly price for the commitment period you chose, further displays you ignorance and lack of attention. I, myself, have never been charged for something I did not agree to, nor have I ever been shocked by a charge because I refused to read all the details. By clicking "Agree" or "Submit" you are saying that you fully understand the contract you are being charged for, and that you completely agree to its terms. If you do not agree or understand, do not click the button. Your fault you did not read, or understand, when you knowingly claim to understand and agree, by clicking Agree or Submit and allowing credit card information to be transmitted to the company for the purpose of making a membership purchase. As for the expertise of the experts, how do any of you complainers know whether the tutor was an expert or not? Are you an expert? I seriously doubt it if you are paying a tutor for doing your assignment. I highly doubt you "thought" you would be receiving an explanation on how to solve your answer, and not the actual answer itself.

Would you sign a paper contract to purchase a car using a recurring payment system, then call the dealer the next month and demand a refund because the color is not the one you wanted? Or the radio does not offer an AUX input? Or the payment was SUPPOSEDLY stolen from your account? Or you THOUGHT the price was something much lower? Or the car Of course not! Every single person who wrote those scam reviews would CAREFULLY READ the contract, not signing and AGREEING to anything, until the contract terms were FULLY UNDERSTOOD.

James Olson - Chegg, just so you know, offers a lot of the exact SAME content as Course Hero, since the contributors are allowed to join both websites as a contributor, and upload the same document onto both sites. That way the contributor can get paid for the use of their documents from the users of both sites. In fact, a little research on your part, and you would find that many of the documents on Chegg and Course Hero, can be found on multiple other sites as well. All of which require a payment for the viewing of the documents entirety. But, because you are complaining about Course Hero and Praising Chegg, I can assume one of two things: either you hold some sort of affiliation with Chegg, or you simply do not complete your own coursework and require someone else to do it for you. The latter, suggests that the research on the other course tutorial sites, most likely will not happen.

AshamedOfPeople - This is for you directly. You have some nerve to say that any review of Course Hero that is not negative is a paid employee, because the contributors or not identified, yet AshamedOfPeople cannot possibly be the true and exact name on your birth certificate, is it? That sure is a case of the pot calling the kettle black. Why do you hide your identity? You are a contributor right? Just wondering why you would hide your identity if you were not PAID by a Course Hero COMPETITOR.

I just do not have the time to address each of your stupidity and ignorance. I simply wanted to address some of the LIES told by the reviewers on here. Glad to have gotten that off my mind! Not sure why people think ignorance is bliss. All ignorance seems to get anyone is even more ignorance due to the added time and hassle it requires to fix the mistakes ignorance has caused. Open your eyes people....

KNOWLEDGE IS POWER! AND YOU ARE NOTHING WITHOUT IT!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
June 27, 2016

are you an agent of course hero?

July 14, 2016

What a biased review. It completely denies the very real credit card fraud that this site frequently commits. Fraud is fraud, it doesn't matter how many paragraphs you write to defend it. So go shove that manifesto where the sun doesn't shine.

August 23, 2016

You clearly were paid to lie for this company I cannot believe anyone who does not work for the company writing about two pages on why they are a great company. Tell course hero to stop scamming people!

September 21, 2016

@Shari : because you are the bloody employee of coursehero. You... #$^$#&

October 03, 2016

in fact course hero is a good site for students but they treat their tutors like shhhhht they are closing tutors accounts without paying them while the site reputation was built by the tutors

Your Comment
review author image
6 Reviews

Review of Course her0



May6, 2016

Hello everyone. The reviews are quite true. This company charges extremely high prices and claim that they are helping students while in real they are robbing you. I know this because i did some research about the company and found that they ask for extremely high prices, for instance, I know of a student who was asked to pay over $700 for a 5 page assignment. Anyway, I am a tutor but I do prefer to handle my clients directly rather than through a third party agent. If any of requires help with your assignments or online classes, do not hesitate to contact me via [email protected]

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
May 08, 2016

You do not have to pay more than what you offer, if you do not want to. Just because a tutor asked you to increase your offer, does not mean Course Hero has high prices. It means that the tutor wants you to increase your offer. Nothing more! What sort of research into the company did you actually do, if it only led you to a story of a tutor's typing error? I would say that with that kind of research taken, and the fact that you have not verified the source of the negative information you are spreading around the world, which is SLANDER, by the way, there is no way in HELL, I would ever use your tutoring services. I will take my chances and stick with Course Hero. Thanks but no thanks!!!

June 27, 2016

Shari... are you course hero moderator?

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Scam site, no material, and a RIP OFF...



April15, 2016

This site is garbage, they have very little material. You will not get your money's worth.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
May 31, 2016

I worked as tutor with course hero. The company gobble-up my all hardest earned money. They are really a big scammer. Chegg is much better than course hero. Course Hero is a Biggest Scam, Beware of this. they dont pay to their tutors, who works hard for their student to provide value answer. How the company CEO is?

June 26, 2016

Honestly speaking, course hero is not a scam as some of you seem to believe. I have worked with the company as a tutor and I think they charge fairly regarding the use of their learning materials. I won't comment much about how they treat students because that part is beyond my knowledge, however as a tutor I believe they pay fair prices. The decision on the amount a student pays solely depends on their agreement with a particular tutor. For instance, if you had a 4 page nursing paper a tutor may request you to pay maybe $80 for the work, another tutor may request more and likewise others may request less. I do not know about the monthly or yearly plan that most of you seem to be complaining about but I will do my research on that and see if the claims are legit or not. Any how hehe if any of you would love to have a private tutor to handle your online classes, assignments, projects, etcetera look no further. Please email me at [email protected] My prices are quite fair compared to the outstanding quality of any of my works. Please don't ask me about my fields because I am good in almost everything, haha, j.k Bye :)

June 27, 2016

I agree Sunil

July 14, 2016

They commit credit card fraud as well!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Omg I hate my life now!



December8, 2015

I chose the 119 USD option since it mentioned they will charge 9.99 USD per month which is NOT. They charged you 119 USD right away. That's the 1st scam. Then they don't have quality materials like they advertised. All are stupid craps & shits. I should've come to this website to read the reviews first before I made the purchase. So I just signed up here and would like to spread the word to everybody so that they will not to make the same mistake like me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
December 11, 2015

Signed up for one months service and they just kept taking money out of my bank account. This should be illegal!

May 05, 2016

Yeah, I just realized that. I signed up last month out of frustration because I am way behind in my studies and homework but I have been very ill lately due to my extremely severe painful osteoporosis. I have a rare form of dwarfism that affects my bones, joints, GI system, immune system which causes me to be anemic and have very bad migraines. My health has gotten worst this year than ever. So, it has been very difficult completing my schoolwork. I had no choice but sign up for it even though I don't have money at all and I just barely applied for disability to earn income but that would take six months to get approved, so I got no money. Stupid coursehero stole my bit of money! My parents didn't want me to fail and I didn't want to disappoint my family for not finishing my semester. Online college is so difficult. Course Hero is so expensive and many of the tutors sucks! What can I do to get my money back? Please help! They lied to me and tutors charge me too much and many hardly know English and they call themselves "professional". I had a tutor from Kenya do 3 Essays case studies for Marketing class/course that I'm currently taking and she made me get bad grades on all three essays! I asked her to correct them for me and she yes at first but then on the second day (yesterday), she told me that her laptop is having technical malfunction (she hardly speaks English) and has to take her laptop to a technician to fix the problem. She then said that she won't be able to it and I am so pissed! I paid her just to get bad grades from my instructor aargh! The technician should fix her because she's a liar! I would have to pay extra to get it fixed or corrected but no way would I do that! That's a rip off! It's like going to a mechanic whenever you have problems with your car and the mechanic says "don't worry, we'll have your car fix and it'll look and feel super new as if you just brought it at a fresh car dealer with new car parts" while having them charge you and you paying for brand new car parts or materials but instead uses or add/put old, used, worn out or uses different (takes out) car parts from other vehicles that doesn't belong or fit in your vehicle and they would keep a whole lot of money you paid for the price of new parts which is three (or more) times more than the old worn out or used stuff. They would act like nothing happen or clueless and them trying to make you feel stupid/dumb whenever you keep coming back and it repeats itself again until you realize that they were scamming you and ripping you off just because all they want is to earn quick cash (easy way out) for doing nothing. It's the same with Course Hero, they are robbing your money that you worked hard for to earn and that's a reward for being a real hard working American. A real American work hard to get something you want, rather than getting or receiving everything free which comes out of our taxes. They scammed us! It's so frustrating to realize that you wasted your money that took so much sweat and time to earn! What can I do to get a refund? Please help, email me at [email protected] It sucks because I'm supposed to finish school this Saturday but I'm still a bit behind and I don't know anyone who can do it for me since I'm in a hospital. I believe you but it sucks to know that, that's the only option for me right now. I hope you don't mind me asking, do you have any tutor money left? Yeah, I just realized that. I signed up last month out of frustration because I am way behind in my studies and homework but I have been very ill lately due to my extremely severe painful osteoporosis. I have a rare form of dwarfism that affects my bones, joints, GI system, immune system which causes me to be anemic and have very bad migraines. My health has gotten worst this year than ever. So, it has been very difficult completing my schoolwork. I had no choice but sign up for it even though I don't have money at all and I just barely applied for disability to earn income but that would take six months to get approved, so I got no money. Stupid coursehero stole my bit of money! My parents didn't want me to fail and I didn't want to disappoint my family for not finishing my semester. Online college is so difficult. Course Hero is so expensive and many of the tutors sucks! What can I do to get my money back? Please help! They lied to me and tutors charge me too much and many hardly know English and they call themselves "professional". I had a tutor from Kenya do 3 Essays case studies for Marketing class/course that I'm currently taking and she made me get bad grades on all three essays! I asked her to correct them for me and she yes at first but then on the second day (yesterday), she told me that her laptop is having technical malfunction (she hardly speaks English) and has to take her laptop to a technician to fix the problem. She then said that she won't be able to it and I am so pissed! I paid her just to get bad grades from my instructor aargh! The technician should fix her because she's a liar! I would have to pay extra to get it fixed or corrected but no way would I do that! That's a rip off! It's like going to a mechanic whenever you have problems with your car and the mechanic says "don't worry, we'll have your car fix and it'll look and feel super new as if you just brought it at a fresh car dealer with new car parts" while having them charge you and you paying for brand new car parts or materials but instead uses or add/put old, used, worn out or uses different (takes out) car parts from other vehicles that doesn't belong or fit in your vehicle and they would keep a whole lot of money you paid for the price of new parts which is three (or more) times more than the old worn out or used stuff. They would act like nothing happen or clueless and them trying to make you feel stupid/dumb whenever you keep coming back and it repeats itself again until you realize that they were scamming you and ripping you off just because all they want is to earn quick cash (easy way out) for doing nothing. It's the same with Course Hero, they are robbing your money that you worked hard for to earn and that's a reward for being a real hard working American. A real American work hard to get something you want, rather than getting or receiving everything free which comes out of our taxes. They scammed us! It's so frustrating to realize that you wasted your money that took so much sweat and time to earn! What can I do to get a refund? Please help, email me at [email protected] It sucks because I'm supposed to finish school this Saturday but I'm still a bit behind and I don't know anyone who can do it for me since I'm in a hospital. I believe you but it sucks to know that, that's the only option for me right now. I hope you don't mind me asking but uh, do you have any tutor money left? I'm about to fail on a class.

September 20, 2017

^cool story bro

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

straight up scam



October28, 2015

Found my lecture slides on Coursehero, posted of course without my permission. There's no way to get them off. Their forms for filing copyright infringement are intentionally faulty. Valid email and URLs come up as "invalid" so that you can never complete the form, and there is no contact information anywhere on this site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
May 08, 2016

Maybe you did something wrong. Because I had no problems with copyright issues. Nor have I had any issues when I have CALLED them!

PAID EMPLOYEE

July 14, 2016

This is a scam. Do not pay attention to the paid employees on this site. These people don't deserve a single penny.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

ok so let me tell you about my experiance



October10, 2015

so I got the 19.95 per month subscription for 3 month just because it seemed like a better deal than the 40 dollars for one month deal they had, I went in expecting to find solutions for simple homework questions instead all I found was garbage not 1 document on their website is useful ,so I had 60 dollars worth of tutor points left to use I said to myself what the hell let me see if I can get a tutor to solve some of my assignments and homework's, so I posted an assignment and offered to pay 30 dollars for the solution , I got contacted by one "Finmaster81"trusted tutor and he asked that I need to pay 80 dollars for such an assignment ..now here is the fun part this guy could not even type correct English if you know what I mean It took me a while to understand what he was saying ,and he kept insisting on 80 dollars ,I checked out his profile turned out to be from India , with Masters in Business Administration in Finance from Institute of Management Studies, Indore , so this guy who studied at a institute with absolutely no accreditation and costs like a grand to get a degree at is requesting me to pay 80 dollars for homework?? SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM ,I would love to know where these assholes offices are located and pay them a visit for stealing my money. anyway if you read this before investing money in course hero I would highly suggest you do not spend 1 cent on this site .

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Scam



September12, 2015

The content is useless and the tutors are worthless. Don't waste your money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Scam



June26, 2015

Asks for credit card for ANYTHING, go to "Quizlet" .... Course Hero is a SCAM

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

Leave a Review