Course Hero Reviews

Course Hero
Based on 117  Reviews



Review It

About Course Hero

Students are often reluctant to ask their teacher for clarification of class material. There are some teachers who don’t make themselves available for help outside of the classroom. Course Hero is a website that offers help to students spanning over an array of subjects, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

On Course Hero there is an array of information to search through. There is general information on hundreds of school subjects as well as a collection of college course documents. This collection of documents includes class notes, syllabi, study guides, practice quizzes, flashcards and much more. It is even possible that you will be able to locate materials from the course at the school you are attending.

CourseHero.com also offers full course lessons in a variety of subjects. While some of these courses have been developed by its members, there are others which have been submitted by college professors.

There are two memberships for Course Hero. The first option is a free membership which is limited to the flashcards and the tutor help desk. However, payment is required when using the tutor help desk. Students determine the price they are willing to pay for an answer to a question. As soon as the question is replied to, the payment transaction is completed.

The premier paid membership gives members full access to all of the platforms on the site including flashcards, documents, and are even granted $100.00 of credits for the tutor help desk. Each submitted question or reply back to a tutor will deduct $5.00 in credits. The cost for one year of the premier membership is $95.40. They also offer a three month package for $59.85 or a one month subscription for $39.95.

Since so many students are tight on cash, Course Hero created an exchange program; they will give you a month of their premier membership in exchange for documents. After uploading 40 course documents, all of which have to be approved by their team, you will be awarded with one free month of complete access to the site.

Professors who discovered their course materials could be accessed through CourseHero were very upset. Besides the fact that they hadn’t approved it, they felt that they were being exploited because the company was making money off of the materials they created and the time it took to do so.

These professors also believe that the site was taking away from the overall learning process. Not only were their students not learning the material but they were also being deprived of the intrinsic rewards that accompany a successful learning experience. 

Students who used the tutor help desk were disappointed with the tutors’ lack of effort and ability to provide them with a response in a timely manner. Not only did the tutors barely meet the deadline, but they also did not provide valid answers. Some of them even responded with a question instead of an answer.

Overall, online reviews displayed negative feedback on the services provided by Course Hero. If you are paying for an education it is probably best just to do the work yourself or join a study group.

Related Articles

117 ‘Course Hero’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Course Hero a rip off



August23, 2016

I have to say that the material on the site is not great material. I followed the information on the site to use for my classes and got terrible grades for using it. The students are posting fake information and by the time you realize it its too late!I ended up going to a site for my psychology course which has a doctorate graduate who has the right information. I followed her guide and only paid 99 cent to get the essays a piece. I had to actually google it though to find the essays . For anyone who needs psychology work, go to this site.
https://drjaquettastevens.wordpress.com/ stay away from course hero the prices are outrages for bad homework answers!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 09, 2016

They reaped us our hard earned money. Imagine working for 35% of the totally earning while course hero take 65% and they closed your account with all the money u have made. Avoid the platform all cost. You loose nearly %700

Your Comment
review author image
4 Reviews

Bloody cheaters



July31, 2016

They are yet to pay me $500. I strongly recommend if people can join together and complain to the appropriate authority.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
August 23, 2016

Such a shame! They are a rip off company.

August 23, 2016

Such a shame! They are a rip off company.

Your Comment

review author image
2 Reviews

Huge SCAM. stay away! Zero stars



July14, 2016

STAY AWAY FROM THIS SITE AT ALL COSTS. They will shake you down for money if they have any of your credit card information, and will keep charging to your account long after you have closed it. This situation deserves legal action. These sneaky SOBs have charged 59.99 to my credit card account every 3 months, under my nose, for two years! When I tried to call their customer service line, I tried multiple extensions that would end in them saying something like "ext 002 does not exist" and the line being cut. Basically, it's a bogus phone line to nowhere, where no one answers. Google should not allow their site to come up in searches. These Course Hero people are nothing but hackers and criminals. I had to cut up a credit card because of them. You have been warned.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 31, 2016

they have cheated me $500.

Your Comment
review author image
4 Reviews

Bloody fake company



June27, 2016

I was made to work like a dog. When time came to withdraw money, they suspended my account. Never trust this sites.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
September 29, 2016

Having the same issue. My account has over $400 pending on COURSE HERO. What is really going on!!!!!!

Your Comment

review author image
3 Reviews

Not As Bad As It May Sound



June25, 2016

Honestly speaking, course hero is not a scam as some of you seem to believe. I have worked with the company as a tutor and I think they charge fairly regarding the use of their learning materials. I won't comment much about how they treat students because that part is beyond my knowledge, however as a tutor I believe they pay fair prices. The decision on the amount a student pays solely depends on their agreement with a particular tutor. For instance, if you had a 4 page nursing paper a tutor may request you to pay maybe $80 for the work, another tutor may request more and likewise others may request less. I do not know about the monthly or yearly plan that most of you seem to be complaining about but I will do my research on that and see if the claims are legit or not. Any how hehe if any of you would love to have a private tutor to handle your online classes, assignments, projects, etcetera look no further. Please email me at [email protected] My prices are quite fair compared to the outstanding quality of any of my works. Please don't ask me about my fields because I am good in almost everything, haha, j.k Bye :)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 8 Comments
August 23, 2016

From my experience they are rip offs and the homework answers are not correct either. I have gotten too many bad grades using this site.

September 21, 2016

Dear sir,

Thank you for closing my account. I want to tell you one most
important thing that I m the only person in my family lived with old
parents. I worked hard and spent almost 2 months to earn aprox.
$200.00 money from CourseHero and you closed my account for a just
silly reason.I really worked very hard to helping students and
provided quality answer.
At last, I ant to tell you that I earned that money for bringing food
to my old parents.
Great Business strategy sir. May god bless you with these $200.00.
Long live and run the organization like this.
You are the real hero who gobbled-up money of a poor person, who
worked hard for you.

Thank you so much
Keep it up.

September 27, 2016

Jeremy??? this is a moderator at a course hero

September 27, 2016

Jeremy??? this is a moderator at a course hero

September 29, 2016

My account has over $400 pending on COURSE HERO and was closed 3 days ago. What is really going on!!!!!!

September 29, 2016

bloody fake. ....they did not pay me $500.

October 06, 2016

Jeremy we know your name very well you are a moderator at Course Hero !1 This man cant be serious, after raping us at course hero(villain actually) he is here to justify it and give it a five star rating. Well you are the only one but the readers know you are nothing but scammers.

October 11, 2016

COURSEHERO ARE THIEVES AND PEOPLE ARE NOW AWARE!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

GUILE TRASH!



June21, 2016

Everyone should stay away from this guile trash. I build my account for a year, and have earned some money (not transfer yet). Then they send me email said that I am violated without warning (actually I am not violated, the material I used I bought for my study) When I asked how I can transfer the money I earned before, they said that they will not give me anything. Especially, they block me to logging my account, but still use my account and my material to make money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
August 23, 2016

I Agree with you 100%

September 29, 2016

Having the same issue. My account has over $400 pending on COURSE HERO. What is really going on!!!!!!

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

course hero are thieves



June17, 2016

I have been a tutor on this site for two weeks and i had earn slightly over $60 which i was waiting to withdraw after the two week which i don't know why tutors should wait that long since students always pay first to access their services. After i was unable to log in, i checked my email and i was surprised to know that my account is closed without even one warning of violation of their terms. After i conducted my research i found out that they steal from both tutors and students.
This is the message i got after working for them

Hi [email protected],
Our records show that your account has been closed due to activity that violates our
Terms of Use policies. As a result, you will no longer have access to your Course Hero account.

Regards,
Course Hero Moderators

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
August 23, 2016

They never pay you what you deserve and they always hold your funds! I am completely livid!

September 29, 2016

Having the same issue. My account has over $400 pending on COURSE HERO. What is really going on!!!!!!

October 05, 2016

I also wonder Julius..i have same issue

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Beware of it, They dont pay even their tutors who works hard for the company!



May31, 2016

I worked as tutor with course hero. The company gobble-up my all hardest earned money. They are really a big scammer. Chegg is much better than course hero. Course Hero is a Biggest Scam, Beware of this. they don't pay to their tutors, who works hard for their student to provide value answer. The company sudden block the tutors who works well and answer more with accuracy. How the company CEO is?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
June 17, 2016

i have been working as a tutor for the last one and the half weeks but i was surprised to find out that i have been kicked out of their system. i had done some work worth over $60 but after reading your review, i believe this people are scam since they are even avoiding to pay their tutors who merely earn 35% of the cost of the project.

June 17, 2016

They run away with my money also beware of these thugs.

June 21, 2016

I built my account for more than a year, and have not transfer the money I earned, they closed my account and said that will not give me anything. Now they still use my material to earn money. I can easy search my account on Google, and it still work

June 21, 2016

I built my account for more than a year, and have not transfer the money I earned, they closed my account and said that will not give me anything. Now they still use my material to earn money. I can easy search my account on Google, and it still work

August 23, 2016

This is just sad!!! Those bastards are scam artist!

September 29, 2016

Having the same issue. My account has over $400 pending on COURSE HERO. What is really going on!!!!!!

Your Comment

Leave a Review