Course Hero Reviews

Course Hero
( 120  Reviews )


We care deeply about the planet and giving back to nature. Trees clean our air and water, create habitats for biodiversity, contribute to our health and wellbeing, and create jobs for social impact.

That’s why we’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you're not only helping other customers, but our planet too!

About Course Hero

Students are often reluctant to ask their teacher for clarification of class material. There are some teachers who don’t make themselves available for help outside of the classroom. Course Hero is a website that offers help to students spanning over an array of subjects, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

On Course Hero there is an array of information to search through. There is general information on hundreds of school subjects as well as a collection of college course documents. This collection of documents includes class notes, syllabi, study guides, practice quizzes, flashcards and much more. It is even possible that you will be able to locate materials from the course at the school you are attending.

CourseHero.com also offers full course lessons in a variety of subjects. While some of these courses have been developed by its members, there are others which have been submitted by college professors.

There are two memberships for Course Hero. The first option is a free membership which is limited to the flashcards and the tutor help desk. However, payment is required when using the tutor help desk. Students determine the price they are willing to pay for an answer to a question. As soon as the question is replied to, the payment transaction is completed.

The premier paid membership gives members full access to all of the platforms on the site including flashcards, documents, and are even granted $100.00 of credits for the tutor help desk. Each submitted question or reply back to a tutor will deduct $5.00 in credits. The cost for one year of the premier membership is $95.40. They also offer a three month package for $59.85 or a one month subscription for $39.95.

Since so many students are tight on cash, Course Hero created an exchange program; they will give you a month of their premier membership in exchange for documents. After uploading 40 course documents, all of which have to be approved by their team, you will be awarded with one free month of complete access to the site.

Professors who discovered their course materials could be accessed through CourseHero were very upset. Besides the fact that they hadn’t approved it, they felt that they were being exploited because the company was making money off of the materials they created and the time it took to do so.

These professors also believe that the site was taking away from the overall learning process. Not only were their students not learning the material but they were also being deprived of the intrinsic rewards that accompany a successful learning experience. 

Students who used the tutor help desk were disappointed with the tutors’ lack of effort and ability to provide them with a response in a timely manner. Not only did the tutors barely meet the deadline, but they also did not provide valid answers. Some of them even responded with a question instead of an answer.

Overall, online reviews displayed negative feedback on the services provided by Course Hero. If you are paying for an education it is probably best just to do the work yourself or join a study group.

You May Also Be Interested In

120 ‘Course Hero’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

This place sucks

May 4, 2021

These people are scammers who lie and say you only need to register to waste your time and get money! Don't use this stupid site, would give -0 stars if I could...

Comment on this review...

This indeed is a useless service, on top of being very expensive and a scam

April 26, 2021

Hahaha, they have a very lame algo checking your uploads, I loaded a lot of crap, and got uploads which I used for my purposes. Not worth paying for this. Randomly alter the contents a bit of what you load every time and you are fine. I built a prog which does that and all I have to do is upload. Not all the materials are worthy and recent...

Comment on this review...

FRUSTRATING!!!! NOT WORTH IT

December 17, 2020

I uploaded files 3 days ago and still have not received my unlocks. I wanted to review the material for my exam tomorrow! The contact us option does not work and they won't let me take down my posts. So Frustrating!!!!!!!

Comment on this review...

helpful

March 29, 2020

you can easily access the information in this site, though it asks for being a member by sharing the file they help to unlock the documents

Comment on this review...

frustrations

March 24, 2020

It was working well for me till i subscribed and failed to unlock when i needed it mostly. Hope you understand what i mean

Comment on this review...

Amazing Platform

March 9, 2020

I have been using this platform and this is the most easiest and full of material i have never been disappointed i really really appreciate them.

Comment on this review...

Don't bother with it

December 25, 2019

I thought the same as others on here that you could unlock documents if needed well your limited to so many and then you have to upload documents in order to unlock more, sounds easy right will not so easy I am not a student I am a parent that purchase this for my child who does online schooling and it has helped some but not that much. You can only unlock so many documents and then you have to upload well we have uploaded over 100 to get access to 5 documents. You may ask why bother will I think that might have imformation on this one assignment that my child doesn't understand thought it would be worth checkng out how easy or hard it would be to upload we haven't had much luck. I would not recommend b/c I thought that it would be more organzied it is hard sometimes to even found what you need. When I called about a refund didn't even have it two weeks that did granted me 20 dollars which is better then nothing. There is a free site that I have found that has helped us It is free but students answers question can't always depend on the correct answers but more right answers then not. Hope this information helps. Good Luck with your studies.

Comment on this review...

Extremely happy with my Subscription!

December 25, 2019

I am genuinely pleased with my subscription with Course Hero. It has not let me down yet!! My only complaint I guess is the cost for a quarterly or monthly subscription, but I guess it’s better to pay this subscription then pay back a class for failing.

Comment on this review...

Awesome

December 2, 2019

A great service if used correctly. Everyone at times sees an assignment and draw a blank on how to set it up or get stuck in the middle of it. Having all these resources at your fingertips can be used as a template to see how others have set things up. You are NOT copying, instead you are getting ideas on how to set it up. A great service

Comment on this review...

Course hero review

November 8, 2019

I found Course Hero to be very helpful assignments and testing material. It really helped me to understand the basics of what was required for my course.

Comment on this review...

Course Hero’s a life saver

October 26, 2019

This website is perfect for me because it allows me to find help when I need It and if I’m struggling I can either ask a tutor or find the answer and then figure out how to get to it.

Comment on this review...

A Waste of Time and Money

October 18, 2019

The scholarships they advertise are a scam. It is completely not worth the money, it takes away from the learning experience and is not helpful at all.

Comment on this review...

This is not WORTHY

August 6, 2019

THIS IS A TRASH! Don't subscribe it they just want to stole your money is not worthy. I payed $40 just to have access to 9 documents. But they don't put that information on the website. And those documents did not help me at all. This company only have one purpose and is to take money from the people!

Comment on this review...

Stress/Anxiety reliever

July 17, 2019

I like to get the best grades I can, having course hero as a resource helps me do the best I can and achieve the success with my class that I need. I should have subscribed sooner!

Comment on this review...

STAY AWAY! THIS IS A SCAM!

June 6, 2019

I purchased a $39.95/1 month membership in order to view the documents I thought would help me with my courses. The entire website (I have screenshots of the website and registration process) leads you to believe that once you "complete your membership for instant access", you will have "instant access to over 25 million documents". Nowhere does it state that even after you pay for a membership, you will have to earn "unlocks" to access the 25 million documents you were guaranteed to have instant access to! After discovering this "service" is completely useless, I requested a refund which they immediately denied because I already used an "unlock". WHY IS THIS NOT ADVERTISED? NONE OF THESE RESTRICTIONS ARE ADVERTISED. They are taking full-time college students hard earned money and scamming them! This service is disgusting and dishonest and needs to be SHUT DOWN!

Comment on this review...

, nothing bad

June 3, 2019

Think it’s helpful, nothing bad

View all 3 Comments
June 06, 2019

The exact same thing happened to me. RIP OFF!

July 20, 2019

Good source of information. But the montly price is too much.

September 08, 2019

Really good for everyone.

Comment on this review...

Scam

April 10, 2019

I am pursuing my accounting certification.
I was looking for a solution to a question.
CourseHero claimed that they have the solution.

And asked for payment - I paid for a month - turns out - it was just the question and not the answer.

Total SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View all 2 Comments
June 06, 2019

Yup! The exact same thing happened to me! RIP OFF!

October 21, 2019

I sought answers to a CPH question, I was given the feedback quite promptly.

Comment on this review...

Course Hero

April 8, 2019

Course Hero has been very helpful in helping me to understand the more difficult subjects I am taking in undergraduate classes. The tutors respond in a relatively quick time frame and provide the reasoning behind a particular answer. The study material and examples has been very useful and I highly recommend course hero.

Comment on this review...

Course Hero

March 4, 2019

Very disappointed with this website. I was trying to find help with a case study. Before paying. I found the assignment I needed help with but was only allowed to see a preview. Pay membership to unlock documents. I did and was only allowed to see the same pages of the document. Was then asked if I wanted to pay xxxx to review 5 documents, 10 documents etc. Which was going to cost more. I find this misleading and disgusting. From being excited to downright appalled and deflated.

Comment on this review...

Scam

December 12, 2018

This entire site including the scholarships are a complete scam and waste of anyone's time. They are crappy scammers and crappy people.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review

 
  • We care deeply about the planet and giving back to nature. Trees clean our air and water, create habitats for biodiversity, contribute to our health and wellbeing, and create jobs for social impact.

    That’s why we’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you’re not only helping other customers, but our planet too!