Card Cash Reviews

Card Cash
( 22 reviews )

Card Cash is a company which aims to give people the ability to unleash the power of gift cards, by allowing customers a safe and trustworthy place to buy and sell unused gift cards.   

How Does Card Cash Work?

According to their website, it is a very common experience for people to receive a gift card to a retailer that they may not want or need anything from, and because of this, the gift card becomes useless and essentially becomes money sitting in your wallet that doesn’t really have any value.

CardCash.com attempts to give these people a chance to get value out of these unwanted or unneeded gift cards, by providing them with a place to sell these cards safely and securely. 

The flip side of this is the benefits that other people get from these unwanted gift cards, as CardCash.com resells these cards at discounted prices, meaning that their customers ultimately get more for their money.

Cost/Price Plans

There is no real way to quote a price range for the cards sold on this website, as the prices will depend on the money that is placed on the card by the original gift giver.

That being said, the website does promise to provide their gift card Sellers with up to 92% of the value of their gift card. Sellers can go to their website and fill out an information sheet and receive a quote before choosing to sell their card to this website.

When you go to buy a gift card, you will search through their available cards by brand or by value of the card. The name of the retailer, the value of the card, the discount you will be receiving, and the amount you are being asked to pay will be clearly displayed before you decide to finalize your purchase.

Refund Policy

CardCash.com does not say that they offer a traditional Refund Policy, but they do offer something they call “45 Day Buyer Protection”.

Their website states that “safeguarding and protecting our customers is our top priority” and that they use state-of-the-art technology to virtually eliminate any problems that may arise with the kind of gift card exchange their website facilitates.

This Buyer Protection guarantees to their customers that any card purchased from their website will be valid at the retailer for the dollar amount specified on your order for 45 days after you receive your card.

However, it is important to use the gift cards right away to take advantage of this guarantee. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-227-4214 or by email at [email protected]

Reputation

It is important to note that websites dedicated to buying and selling gift cards have been very controversial in the past, with many recorded complaints of sellers sending in their gift cards and then claiming they were never paid for their cards, while buyers often complain of purchasing a card which then is deemed invalid by the retailer when they try to use it.

CardCash.com is not immune to these complaints, and prospective customers who are looking for these kinds of complaints will find them.

However, these types of complaints do appear to be very infrequent, and the majority of the available reviews of this company by their customers and online publications are positive.    

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other companies that offer similar services to this website, including PlasticJungle.com, Cardpool.com, and others.  

If you have any experience with Card Cash or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Card Cash Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Stay away from this business
September 15, 2022

It is a legit business but it is very bad. It isn't worth your time. I only tried to sell gift cards to them and the experience was horrible. They won't accept my gift cards after hours of work and saying my gift cards are "high risk transactions". Ridiculous. I don't even know if my gift cards will come back to me unused or if I would even receive them.

Don't use this site its a fraudulent site "Thieves"
July 8, 2020

I wont even rate this site. They don't deserve a rating this site stole money from me in regards to the sale of a gift card. My twins are sick and needed medication so I sold my card due to being desperate for my kids payday was a few days away.

This site offered me $44.50 on a $50.00 card to sell and they bamboozled me buy stating that there would be pay out instructions emailed to me for the pay out. I never received the payout or the instructions for pay out. I will be filing a report with the better business and then with the police.

Thank you for compromising my kids health

selling my gift card
July 7, 2020
I sold my gift card of $50 dollars to this site Gift-CardFun.com. They promised to pay me 44.50$ for the card. The site confirmed the sale and said that I would receive an email with my payout instruction. In brief explanation it said it would take no longer that 15 min to receive. Well I never received the email or payment from them. I have followed the steps to contact them and yet to hear back from them. My issue is still unresolved. I advice never to sell or buy from the website/place of business.

Cancel every order I believe they list cards they don't have
March 15, 2019
Tried several different payment methods on different days, always cancelled claiming fraud prevention, after tying the money up on hold at my banking institutions, for weeks each time. Ain't Nobody Got Time For That! I think they list things they don't have, like 250 2% cards and can't sell me 5, get real.

Card runs out
December 23, 2018
Seems as if you don't check the balance weekly, eventually they will run dry, happen 3 times, can't trust CardCash anymore

complete scam
May 15, 2018
Card Cash took an order for gift cards from their salesman Joseph Blaustein. I sent the order of the gift cards as requested by Joseph. 3 weeks later I was informed they would not pay me for my gift cards. On their website it clearly states payment owed yet they refuse to pay me. They have my cards and now want to send them back. How am I to know what they used in my cards? They will tell you of course we didn’t steal the balances but how do I know that? They have also marked my account paid for cards when it wasn’t. Gift Cards are as valuable as currency. They are not to be exposed by businesses with no other agenda then robbery. I have no gift cards, as tainted as they would be at this point, or any money.

They sell stolen giftcards - stay away!
May 9, 2018

This company supposedly verifies the giftcards that they sell, but the one I received was never activated. It was a BevMo gift card, but when I tried to use it, they said it had a zero balance (it was supposed to be $100). When I called the BevMo customer service, they said that the card was never even activated - meaning it was never legitimately sold in the first place. So somewhere along the supply chain, the card was taken without consent and sold through cardcash.com. Cardcash.com supposedly verifies all their giftcards, but if that were true, they either knowingly sold a giftcard that was never activated, or they are lying and did not verify it. Either way, it is proof they are not honest and buyers should be aware of doing business with them. When I tried to contact their customer service, they just ignored me and stopped responding.

Looking at the BBB reviews on this company, it seems they have a lot of negative reviews and don't give a crap about one more bad review.

For anyone that's been duped by this company, these are the steps that I'm taking to try to get my money back. Hopefully it might help others from getting scammed, or apply sufficient pressure on the company to resolve these issues. If not, hopefully they will go out of business and will stop scamming people out of their hard earned money.

- DOCUMENT all communications with this company - don't take them at their word on anything they tell you over the phone.

- Make an effort to reach out and resolve the issue - who knows, you might get lucky.

- If they ignore you or stop responding, file a complain with the BBB, and other scam-watch websites, like the ripoffreport.com

- File a complaint with the FTC (Federal Trade Commission).

- File a complaint with your local District Attorney

- File a complaint with the Windsor, NJ District Attorney

- If the transaction involved shipment of stolen goods shipped through the US Postal Service (as was the case in my situation), it's possible there may have been federal mail fraud statutes that were violated. Credit card fraud across interstate commerce may also be a federal crime as well. I believe the FBI would be the correct agency to contact in such cases.

- Write to your local Congressional representative to let them know about what's going on, and ask them to follow up and intervene on your behalf. One of the little-known duties of Congressional representatives are to REPRESENT their constituents on various matters of government. For cases such as this, where their constituents are getting swindled by shady out-of-state characters, their office can send letters to the DA, FTC, FBI, and/or other organizations and ask them to look into the matter. A letter from members of Congress will NOT go unheeded by these governmental organizations. And they WILL take action and report back. Especially if they are receiving multiple requests from different Congressional members about the same scammer, they will probably start a special task force to make sure they do a thorough job of investigation.

- File for damages in local small claims court, and if possible, look for an attorney that may be willing to take the case as a class action lawsuit. Considering the number of reported complaints, I think there will be PLENTY of people that will sign up.

Companies like this almost certainly are counting on the fact that most people will not go through the hassle of following up on all these steps. But even if a few people do so, it can really make a big difference. They know that people who buy discounted giftcards are looking for a deal, and sometimes may not have the means to pay full price. They are counting on the fact that they are tired from working 2-3 jobs to make ends meet and put food on the table for their families. They are COUNTING on the fact that most people will choose to just eat the loss, rather than take the steps necessary to stop despicable characters like these. They need to be STOPPED, and if appropriate, LOCKED UP BEHIND BARS so they can't continue to defraud the public. If you feel that you've been taken advantage of by these people, PLEASE do everything you can to try to get your money back and STOP them from hurting others.

Thought I Got A Deal, But NOOOOO…Customer Care or Inventory Folks Can't Read…or is it Their computers?
March 6, 2018

The Francesca's physical card I bought was supposed to be for the RESTAURANT - they sent me the wrong one for the CLOTHING company.

I NEED the Right One by this Friday but they didn't care, & were unwilling or unable to help, or even to look to see if one of the Clothing ones was Also misfiled... Hard To Believe they're hooked up with Amazon, much less a hi-tech company.

Supervisor Amanda Especially Uncooperative...She tried to get me to Buy the $100 Francesca's gift card that was left on the website, instead of the $50 one I ordered, but Refused to check to see if that one was misidentified as well.

The Return Authorization was only an email away, but it took another phone-call by me 2 days later to ask for someone else (Carmela) to simply send it to me, which I got in minutes...Obviously Amanda never sent it, the day I complained.

When they get the bad card back, I will happily be permanently thru with them.

Order @ Your Own Risk, especially if you're in a hurry,

& double-check to see you got the correct card, with the correct balance, & use it Within the 45 days, or you may be SOL

What a joke and rip off!
January 4, 2018
My Aunt purchased a handful of gift cards for Christmas gifts from cardcash. EVERY SINGLE ONE is now 'invalid' with a zero balance. What a coincidence. Once it is past the 45 day window, the funds are gone. My daughter was one of the unfortunate receivers of a $75 Justice gift card that was invalid when we went to use it. When calling customer support, we received the same almost word for word "it is clearly stated on our website that there is a 45 day buyer protection plan on the card and you are outside of that window, however we will file a claim". What is crappy about the whole situation is my aunt purchased all of these cards before Thanksgiving after nearly dying from Sepsis in the hospital only to end up back in the hospital with complications that kept her there through Christmas. She finally gets home Dec.26 and is excited to give everyone their gift cards only to be embarrassed that every single one is invalid when we all tried to use them. She is out of $325 but we will look at the bright side of her health being better and not focus on this worthless website that is unwilling to absorb any responsibility due to that good old 45 day window policy. Insert middle finger emoji HERE.

Rip off!
December 4, 2017
I purchased an Arby's gift card in June of 2017. I attempted to use it and could not. Eventually, I talked with Arby's and they said the card was cancelled due to FRAUD. They said to talk to the seller. Seller said, tough luck. They said I should expect a % of cards from them to be bad! Wow! Even with the fraud cancellation from Arby's there was no recourse other than, "tough luck".

Lost $150
November 27, 2017
Purchased a $150 gift card that ended up being empty. The company is unwilling to refund me. Do not purchase from them!!!

FRAUD. NEVER AGAIN!
November 8, 2017
It's a clever business idea but a risky one. I had purchased many cards and about half of them are not accepted. The fraud claims with the 45 days are credited back but anything beyond...tough shxt. I wonder what the founders Marc Ackerman, Rudy Sahay, and Elliot Bohm feel about the losses. They should aggressively track down the sellers—CardCash.com must still has the contact info—and prosecute the fraud. By not pursuing them, the company is the culprit for fostering the fraudulent environment for sellers.

Card Cash is a TOTAL SCAM
August 16, 2017

Bought $200.00 Chipotle cards. Completely worthless.

Company refuses a refund. SCAM. They blamed it on the people that THEY buy the cards from!! Don't they check out the gift cards they buy before they buy them????

Here is their response: "Buying from any Marketplace involves the classical Risk vs Reward decision. Consumers shopping on a marketplace can save up to 35% but will at times receive cards that are invalid or have a balance discrepancy. This is not something we can control."

This company will rob your money and blame it on others that stole from you.Do not under any circumstance buy from them!!!

Ripoff - Cards have zero balance
August 1, 2017
My cards were voided and there was no value. It happened after 45 days so they would not refund my money. They claim it's "too difficult" to track down their sellers! So, I guess anyone can offer a card and cancel the value after 45 days and keep the money.

Waste of Money
June 14, 2017
Purchased 4 gift cards. Found that 3 of them were invalid. But, they don't accept refund because it was beyond 45 days after the purchase.

Gift card from them always not vaild
June 5, 2017
“I've purchased several Dunkin Donut's gift card but when I tried to use the second and the third card, it told me the cards were not registered. I've contacted the Cardcash but they told me it already past the 45 days guaranty so there is nothing they can do. I told them that to verify the card is legit or not is not customer's job, they should make sure the card is 100% safe before they sell to the customer. Unfortunately, they couldn't do anything with their own fault, too bad. Please make sure when you buy the gift card from them, you have to use it immediately, don't just check the balance online because the balance means nothing.”

CardCash cannot absorb any additional liability and is very clear about this policy all over the website
April 26, 2017
I was scammed by CardCash and this is the exact response from customer service. "The 45 day buyer protection guarantee is clearly posted on the sidebar of our website. See for example https://www.cardcash.com/buy-gift-cards in addition it is clearly stipulated in the terms and conditions of the site, which customers accept prior to using our site and making a purchase." My guarantee is that I will communicate my experience to every review site to WARN FUTURE CUSTOMERS to stay away. Here is my experience. On Christmas 2016, I purchased $50 in Buca di Beppo gift certificates from CardCash. It was a present for my wife. On her birthday, April 21st, we visited Buca for a beautiful meal. When the bill came, I presented my CardCash gift certificates and was told that the certificate was invalid. WOW, what a nice surprise from CardCash. The following week, I contacted CardCash and was told it would be a few days to get back with me. Four days later, I received an email from CardCash with this headline "Please be advised that we have received this claim beyond our 45 day buyer protection period." This was followed with this language "CardCash is a gift card marketplace where millions of sellers can sell their unwanted pre-owned gift cards at a discount. CardCash checks the balance at the time of the listing. Statistically only a very small percentage of our cards have issues where the seller used the gift card or it got canceled after we have checked the balance at the time of the listing. The percentages are kept very low because of all the proprietary fraud technology and KYC measures CardCash has working behind the scenes." and then this "CardCash cannot absorb any additional liability and is very clear about this policy all over the website." AMAZING!!!! If you recently visited the CardCash website, did you see this policy all over the website? CardCash, you are so legit! Now I have to tell you that CardCash did end the email with an apology. It was a very sincere "accept our apology" but kiss our....... Thanks CardCash. We had a beautiful experience!

DO NOT BUY
March 29, 2017
I purchased a $100 gift card to Bone Fish Grill for my uncle and aunt as a gift for taking care of a family member in poor health. They did not use the card immediately as there was no expiration date on the card. They went to use it and was told it carries a $0 balance. Since my purchase falls outside the 45 day got you window...They can do nothing. I filed a dispute with my bank on the purchase as I was not given what I was promised. We will see how that goes. My bank tells me they have quit a few disputes with card cash.com. Buy gift cards directly from the vendor not from these thieves.

DO NOT FALL FOR THIS SCAM! You will be giving your info to crooks! Sent out USED CARD!
November 8, 2016

“They sell you $0 balance, already used gift cards! Then tell you too bad.

I purchased a $300 Dillard's gift card through Card Cash in May '15. What they sent me by email was brought into Dillard's, Dillard's said they do not accept what CardCash.com told me I could print and use. Since then, I have been strung along by promises from Card Cash that they would make it right. OVER A YEAR AND 1/2 they have strung me a long, I'm guessing long enough that I couldn't dispute the crime with my credit card.

**** The last thing they did was actually send out a sheet of paper with a bar code, they said this would 100% work since what they sent by email was never accepted by the store. We brought the card in and it had $0 balance! This card was sent to us in May of '16, after dealing with a year of them trying to get me to use the unusable "emailed card". We brought the the mailed card/sheet of paper into Dillard's and it has $0 balance, Dillard's management, who had been trying to help us with these scammers all along, traced the card history. The card had been used TWO MONTHS BEFORE THEY EVER SENT IT OUT TO US!

This time when I called in to let them know they sent me a $0 balance card, they said it was past their 45 day policy. ONLY BECAUSE THEY STRUNG ME ALONG FOR SO LONG! They say the cards have NO EXPIRATION, but they do! You have 45 days to use them, or they will say it's not their problem.

I'm guessing with all the other shadiness that they had going on in the first year I dealt with them, this last card they send is one they bought from someone and never checked if it was valid. They got an already used card and then sent it off to us. Passed their incompetence on to the customer.

That's the best case for them. The other thing that could have happened was they send out zero balance cards on purpose, just to buy more time to get past the time frame when you can dispute a charge on your card.

They got us to the point we were scammed for $300, and then told us too bad. You could tell the "supervisor", Amanda, is used to these kinds of calls all the time & was prepared to tell us too bad, you got scammed.

Now seeing they had no intention of giving me what I paid for, I'm cancelling my debit card and have to order a new one because these are the kind of scammers that will maneuver every last angle to get your money.

Please do not fall for the endless lies. Or take a chance that they pass their loss onto you!!

Beware of the 45 day guarantee
September 28, 2016
I purchased a $100 Ruby Tuesday gift card for $82.20. I used it for $22 with no problem and then the next time, I was told it was no good. I contacted RT and they said that it was reported lost or stolen and it was devalued. I contacted CardCash and they would do nothing since it was past the 45 days. You could only talk to the underlings who man the phones and could not talk to anyone above them. They said they would have someone call me but never did. They did reply by email, but only issued an "I'm sorry, check our 45 day policy" apology. I an out $60 and they could care less. I see on line that others have had the same problem where they get a card and use it and then after 45 days it is no good.