Cabinets.com Reviews

Cabinets.com
( 9 reviews )

Cabinets.com states they are the largest online retailer of Made-in-the-USA assembled cabinets and one of the country’s fastest growing resources for all of your kitchen needs. 

How Does Cabinets.com Work?

According to their website, most people don’t really know what they are getting into when they begin the process of remodeling their kitchen and must shop for kitchen cabinets.

Many of the available options are either high quality and extremely expensive, or they are affordable and poor quality. 

Cabinets.com began in 2009 as Kitchen Resource Direct, and one was one of the very first companies to sell kitchen cabinets online.

Now, they say their whole mission is to provide their customers with quality, competitively-priced cabinets as well as a large selection that is intended to meet all customer style and design needs. 

Customers are welcome to contact their in-house design team for help and assistance on all their kitchen design and ordering needs, as well as to take advantage of their Free Sample Door Program which allows customers to pay a deposit for each door they want to examine in person, in their own home, and ship it back at no charge when they are done.  

Cost/Price Plans

The website does provide information on their cabinetry pricing, but all their prices will depend not only on the style you choose, but the size of your kitchen and any special specifications you choose to make. 

This company does, however, offer their customers a Price Match Guarantee, which says that if you find a lower advertised price on similar-quality cabinets, they will match the price. This lower price must include the price plus shipping, handling, delivery, sales tax and sometimes even rebates. 

When you contact Customer Service to take advantage of their Guarantee, you will need to be able to provide the competitor's details, including shipping, handling, sales tax, and delivery date in writing.

They will only match the price before you have placed an order; after you have placed your order, they will not match any lower pricing. 

Refund Policy

The website says that they do accept returns on hardware, Rev-A-Shelf accessories, and sinks, but unfortunately at this time they do not accept returns on any cabinets or cabinet parts.

If you do decide to make a return of any hardware or accessories that you purchase from this website, you will be responsible for paying return shipping and will need to pay a 20% restocking fee. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 877-573-0088, by email at [email protected], or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link. 

Reputation

This company seems to have very positive reviews at this time and has a good reputation on home design websites like Houzz.com.

However, this company does not provide a Refund Policy on their cabinets, so customers will probably want to make sure that they take advantage of their free cabinet door sample policy to ensure that this is truly the product you want to commit to.     

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other companies which promise affordable, high quality cabinetry which can be ordered from the internet, CliqStudios.com and others.

If you have any experience with Cabinets.com or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Cabinets.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

You can’t go wrong!!!
October 31, 2022
They are the best, in value, construction, design help, customer support and and satisfaction. I have previously bought from the internet and been disappointed, but not here, would buy from them again!!!

Poor Quality
February 12, 2022
I had my cabinets delivered and unboxed 3 pieces of the order this morning. I'm very disappointed in the quality of the first three and debating whether to even open the remaining boxes. I have pictures to show the glue seams where the glue is not even close or in the seam but simply adhered to the panel a half inch off the mark. I have one panel that is entirely detached and loose because the nailing and glue missed. I have my base sink cabinet with a back panel that has a 3/8 inch gap to the frame for the same reasons and apparently it is out of square.

Terrible Customer Service
January 25, 2022

The buying process is quick and easy but beware if you have any problems with your order and try to have damaged or missing parts you may wait weeks or months for replacements.

Amazing cabinet design help
October 25, 2021

We just ordered our cabinets and I can’t wait to be able to install them. Working with designer Brooke Albright was amazing! We had to make a million changes, but she was nothing short of supporting, encouraging and patient from our initial discussion to what seemed like our millionth change.

Her patience was unending, and her advice or insights were always sound. She was such a joy to work with, each discussion with her left us feeling confident, encouraged and thankful for dealing with someone so knowledgeable and patient. She makes me wish we had another kitchen to renovate just to work with her on another project! She not only cared about the success of our kitchen, but we could tell she cared about us too! She’s definitely someone we’re going to keep in touch with.

Look Fake
April 24, 2020

I purchased 5 Maple Select Denmark Cabinet doors.

The door panels do not look like natural maple but the style and rails do. The panels have the same exact wood pattern on them and a grey hue. And the grey is so bad my professional painters cannot match the stain on the panels to look right either because of the opaqueness of the door panel. They look fake/cheap. When I contacted customer service for my issue I sent pics of all 5 doors showing the grey hue, the exact same pattern in the wood, and a stained one. They first told me it was what natural maple looked like and that's why the grey hue. But when I pressed the issue and asked about the duplicate patterns and told them my entire house had all maple in it with all the possible variations in my doors, cabinets, base, trim and even plywood on a bar they then changed the story and said I should have ordered a different door and that the one I ordered was stain grade.

The professionals that attempted the stain match who do this all the time knew the panels were not right and I sent pics to a decorator and she said to send them back.

Not Ready For Prime Time
September 18, 2019
I purchased over ten grand of their cabinets for a kitchen remodel. I had so many quality control issues that there is not enough space here to tell them all. I had two internal roll-out drawers that were scuffed with some kind of black stuff and had never been finished. I had a cabinet that came with the wrong door sizes on it. I had a sink drawer front that they put the little plastic sponge trays on without pre-drilling the screw holes and so the screws left big cracks in the wood on the inside of the drawer face. The 36 inch stove top base cabinet is not designed to fit a 36 inch electric stove top and they do not sell a larger stove top base cabinet that will actually fit one. The 'real' wood corner braces are hot glued and stapled, so they are no better than cabinets with plastic stapled corners. The hot glue does not work at all on wooden cabinets, it comes loose while the cabinets are simply being moved around. The plywood construction of the cabinets is a big plus, but if the cabinet falls apart when being moved around, what good is a stack of loose plywood? The finish on my painted cabinets was good but they use their own 'proprietary' lacquer (which yellows with age) paint blends and will not sell matching paint so I had to do the best I could to paint trim work by color matching at the big box store.The good news is that I was able to make these cabinets much stronger by using the existing corner braces and drilling and installing screws on every corner brace, which made the cabinets much stronger. The cabinets have a polyurethane coating inside and out and that is a very nice feature. Overall I think the company is on the right track but the hot glue and staples just does not make for a sturdy cabinet even if it is made of all plywood construction.

Cabinets.com Read Prior to Ordering
July 26, 2019

I’d like to share my experience so that you can learn from my mistakes.

The Positives:

First off, the cabinets are STUNNING and amazingly high quality- they far exceeded my expectations for the price. I ordered the Shaker cabinets (a simpler style) in Storm grey stain. Beautiful! Can’t say enough about that. The price was also extremely affordable- and they beat all my local competitors by a large margin. The customer service was outstanding. I made several ordering mistakes (I’ll get to that in a minute). They were gracious to waive shipping costs and combine orders, which saved me more money. The lady that answered sounded as if she was working in person at a small company- which felt good.

The meh:

These are custom made cabinets. So, they take a long time. It took 3-4 weeks to get to me, and then were custom delivered which took another week. Overall, I can overlook this for the price. They also do not take excess cabinets/pieces back. Again, custom build prevents this. I get it. Don’t love it, but I get it. Also in this category is the website. Don’t love it, but don’t hate it. It was challenging to find things, never did find out how to leave a review there, no search button and no install directions/tutorials. All of these things would make the website great. They also do not have true to life pics. You have to guess, or order samples (which I was too lazy to do).

The bad:

Let me start by saying almost all of the bad is on me... I post it so you can learn from my mistakes. First off, READ CAREFULLY. The cabinets do not come with end skins- meaning they will be unfinished on the sides. This is unacceptable, so you must order these! Second, they do not come with any trim or crown moulding. You must order this. Order enough to make mistakes... I didn’t and had to re-order... twice. OUCH. Each time you re-order it takes another 2-5 weeks and lots of shipping costs. Frustrating. I ended up ordering the cabinets. Then the skins. Then the trim. Then extra stuff. Ouch, and embarrassing. (I also ordered another cabinet in there- because they were so amazingly gorgeous, I wanted the wine rack.) all in all, I cost myself about $500 in extra shipping. You can avoid this by PLANNING your entire project from the start, double checking for all trims and skins, then ordering a touch more than you need!!! You can also save this trouble by ordering with a representative- which I did not know.

Overall, stunning cabinets, good price. Order carefully and completely the first time and you will have cabinets you love, that are high end, for a long long time. After all is said and done, I would order again. I love my cabinets that much.

Shipping a problem!
May 16, 2019
I can't speak for the quality of cabinets.com's cabinets because we have not yet received ours. After wondering where our cabinets were, we called to inquire, and only then did we receive a call from the shipper. They "haven't been in the area to bring us our cabinets". My reaction is, well, you should GET in our area and bring us our items that we paid pretty good money for. Right now, very disappointed in the situation and if we could have foreseen this problem would likely have made another choice.

LoriWilke August 21, 2020

Oh, I am not happy to read THIS. Blaming Covid, our cabinets have now been in production for SEVEN weeks and I was told that they would not be complete before a total of NINE weeks. And then I will have to wait for shipping based upon a company's other plans? I have NO cabinets and NO sink at the moment based upon our expected arrival one week ago of our cabinets! I don't know about others, but I'm getting pretty tired of nearly every company using COVID as an excuse for poor customer service!

Patsy Furr
March 12, 2018
Terrible customer service.; Ordered over eleven thousand dollars of cabinets. Needed to order three more to finish job. It will take three weeks to get the three cabinets. This time line is awful. I have talked to them to see if they could rush the order because the customer needs to move out of her rental. No was the answer. I took less time to get 20 cabinets than three. I have ordered cabinets for cabinet kings which gave me much better customer service. I would never order from cabinets.com again

Cabinets.com July 19, 2018

Hi Patsy,

We apologize for the inconvenience and understand your frustration. Our Deerfield assembled cabinets are made to order, allowing for many different product options and finishes. The competitor you are referring to sells RTA cabinets, which are imported and stocked for faster shipping. We also offer similar products; however, they are very limited compared to our semi-custom cabinets. Please know that we did everything we could to get these to you as soon as possible without compromising our production process. We will continue to work on improving our shipping lead-times while making sure we don’t sacrifice our quality. Thank you for your feedback.

ConnieColson Gill August 03, 2019

We are in the process of shopping - so I can't really leave ANY honest feedback except to say the styles and colors offered are much greater than the other top rated places we have looked. Having done a custom kitchen in the past, ordering skins, fillers, crown, etc. is the norm. We are close enough that we will inquire when we use the free planner if we can pick them up rather than use the commercial shipper. Just wanted to make the point that nothing on here is out of the norm when you do a kitchen. (unless you are using big box stores and I'm pretty sure you aren't saving because they have a certain standard they want and the companies build specifically for them, so BE SURE!)