Bud's Gun Shop Reviews

Bud's Gun Shop
( 10 reviews )

Bud’s Gun Shop, found online at BudsGunShop.com, is a firearm shop located in Lexington, KY which has a popular website that sells guns and ammunition to buyers across the country.

How Does it Work?

Some people may find it difficult to believe that you can purchase guns and ammunition over the internet, but it is not as uncommon as you may believe, with other websites like Cheaper Than Dirt and MidwayUSA selling guns online as well.

This website sells firearms from a large number of related categories, such as Handguns, Rifles, Shotguns, Used Guns, Scopes and Optics, Price Drop Items, Overstock Guns, Closeout Guns, Exclusive Guns, and much more.

The website updates their inventory every 20 minutes, all day long, so that they correctly reflect inventory and prices. Some items are advertised as having a “Cash Discount Price.”

This indicates that this item will be discounted if you pay with cash, check, or money order. Unfortunately, debit cards are automatically run as credit cards so they will not count for this discount.

Is BudsGunShop Legit?

When buying a firearm from Bud’s Gun Shop, you must have a valid Federal Firearms License (FFL) to purchase a firearm from this website, and they will not ship anything directly to the buyer.

Instead, they will ship the firearm to your closest local, licensed firearm dealer. 

You will be responsible for picking up the firearm at this dealer and completing all the legal paperwork at that time. In addition you will be required to a pay transaction fee to that dealer. While there is no “standard fee,” on average it is around $25.

Non-firearm and non-ammunition items can be returned if they are found to be defective upon receipt.

If firearms are found to be defective after the title has been transferred, you may not return them to Bud’s Gun Shop, you must return them directly to the manufacturer. And ammunition cannot be returned at all.

If you have any experience with BudsGunShop.com or their products, please leave your reviews below.

Bud's Gun Shop Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Sold guns they didn't have
January 6, 2023
Ordered and paid for two guns. After two weeks they told me they never had the guns they sold me and wanted to refund my money. Honest companies don't sell products they don't have.

Terrible
December 29, 2022

Taking forever to ship. Promises after promises. I took a $30 loss just to be rid of them. Still haven't got the gun shipped. Never again.

Thieves and liars
November 29, 2022
Placed an order with Bud's Gun Shop and submitted Personal check of $100 down payment. The second payment of $150 was made thru their "echeck" option which requires disclosure of bank routing number and account number. Instead of one payment of $150, Bud's took 2 $150 payments from my account. Bud's own records indicate they were paid 11/11/2022. I saw the double charge on 11/14/2022 and immediately notified Bud's of the issue. They agreed to rectify the situation, but after many emails, as of 11/27/2022 they had done nothing. On 11/28/2022 the $150 overcharge was returned and my financial institution refunded the other $150 payment and filed a stop payment. This double charge can ONLY be done by someone at Bud's entering the bank information again and getting a second "authorization code". After reading their reviews, this double charging customers happens on a regular basis. NEVER allow Bud's or any other business to have your banking information. Being a Marine, I live by a code of conduct and will not tolerate a liar or a thief. Sadly it appears Bud's Gun Shop has replaced their honest and truthful staff with thieves and liars.

Very SLOW Delivery Service
April 17, 2022

Order Date: 04/01/22 Shipped 04/13/22

Delivered 04/15/22 to FFL Availability 04/16/22

Buying a handgun from Buds Gun Shop is such a hassle. I was told they are not a real gun shop & sits on customers money for Buds benefit. Every rule for the handgun purchase is to Bud's advantage which frustrates customers.

They ship orders very SLOW compared to other on-line gun web sites. The attraction to save a few dollars with a personal check takes another week.

In total, it is over 2 weeks with shipping time. I do not recommend doing business with BUDS. Peter L C New York State Police

Non delivery
February 17, 2022
Ordered some merchandise. It wasn’t delivered. Paid super high shipping and insurance. They claim they don’t have to deliver it or refund me the full price because there was an attempted delivery without my knowledge when I was at work. No notice given and no refund or redelivery for their screw up.

No ship, No refund
January 15, 2022

I ordered several items from Buds Gun Shop in June 2021. One item was shipped via UPS and two others were on different shipment via USPS. The link took me to their site that indicated the order was confirmed but never indicated it was "shipped," "on it's way," or "delivered."

Not too long after the order, however, they sent an email stating there were supply issues to be patient. I was. I checked back periodically, but the status never changed. In December my patience grew thin so I thought I would just prefer a refund. They refused.

They said it was shipped and it was too late to track it since it had been so long... even though their web site (my order page) never actually indicated it shipped. They told me I should not have waited so long to contact them. Although I received an email from them to be patient.

Was I too patient? Maybe. Should I have called sooner? Ok.. probably. Nevertheless, they took my money and didn't send a product (or it got lost in the mail). You decide if you want to do business with them. I know I won't order anything from them again.

Buds bogus?
December 6, 2021

This company has a nice website, but they don’t follow through with orders, rather they email you and ask you to call before they can process your order.

When you call they try to get you to use chat, when you chat they are unable to answer any meaningful questions and ask for you to call. I did call, the rep was friendly but wanted me to email a copy of my drivers license? For and order of fishing hooks? No thanks. Something smells bad

how to get fd- buy from buds...........
November 15, 2021

sent wrong gun and wouldnt take it back for correct gun. was my 3rd purchase from them. will never buy from them again.

Screw buds gun shop!

These guys are terrible..
May 22, 2020
They sell you inventory that's not even in stock then could care less about your order. Requested a call from someone at the leadership level to work on a solution to the issue they created and never received a call. The chat line is full of brash pricks who equally do not care. The customer service is awful. Buyer beware, take your business elsewhere...

Questionable Ethics, Deceptive Promotions, Unscrupulous Payment Practices
April 21, 2020
I posted a request on the Bud's web site to inform me when an item was back in stock. Several days later I received an email stating that the item was in stock. On this web site, if an item isn't available to purchase, it can't be added to a shopping cart. I added the item to my shopping cart