Basic Talk Reviews

Basic Talk
( 9  Reviews )


VoIP

Write a Review

About Basic Talk

BasicTalk is new type of telephone service which uses your current high speed internet connection to provide customers with an affordable home phone service that is easier and cheaper than competitive providers.

Voice over Internet Protocol, or VoIP, is a type of phone connection which uses the internet to provide service rather than traditional phone lines. This type of phone service is quickly replacing traditional service, with a wide variety of providers like Ooma, RingCentral, and the well known Magic Jack.

Unlike other VoIP service providers, though, Basic Talk says that they do not charge users for the device necessary to make the phone/internet connection. Their BasicTalk Box is free of charge, and monthly service only costs $9.99 each month plus taxes.

Not requiring payment for the device and promising that $9.99 is the permanent cost of the service and not an introductory price, as well as no annual contracts, no hidden fees, and no extra charges for members that want to keep their previous phone numbers makes Basic Talk one of the cheapest VoIP options available.

Setting up Basic Talk is also incredibly simple, according to their website. They claim that all you need to do to successfully get service is to connect your BasicTalk Box to an open port on your Wi-Fi router.

Once the box is successfully connected, all you have to do is find and available home phone and plug it into the box. The website says that these are the only steps required to fully set up your phone.

Interested customers can purchase the service and the necessary equipment from their website, BasicTalk.com, or from a local WalMart which is a registered retailer and Basic Talk supplier.

And though the website says that you should be able to do everything yourself, they also provide regular Customer Service representatives to help you if you need support or have any questions.

If you have any experience with this service, please leave your Basic Talk reviews below.

9 ‘Basic Talk’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Communication is a joke

November 22, 2020

Number was hacked, and basic talk acted if I was the guilty party, shutting off my phone without letting me know.
Suspending my account, not returning phone calls, charging me for service that I do not have.
Cannot cancel because no one wants to take responsibility to handle this problem, every one is pointing to the other dept.
I am stuck in the middle.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Message Waiting

May 28, 2020

Worst customer service I ever experienced. Impossible to speak to a human unless you threatened to cancel their service. I get an e-mail every 48 hrs that they will contact me, then don't. The voice mail waiting feature stopped working and their reason is that all of my phones need to be re-programmed. I took the phones to a neighbors phone and all three worked. Basic Talk refuses to look into this problem. I have to move to a different provider due to them no solving the issue.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Reviews are Scary

September 3, 2019

I've been using Basic Talk for several years with not too many issues other than the price. What started out as around $10 a month suddenly was around $13 a month and recently increased to $15 per month without any warning. I did call and talk to someone, but he tried to explain extra costs, etc., none of which made any sense. So, I will probably soon do like most everyone else and just use my cell phone. However, after reading all the HORRIBLE reviews about trying to cancel .....one does get very concerned about this company. They really could be a great company if they would just stay honest!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Basic Talk best phone service we've had

February 5, 2015

This is one of the best Phone services if not the best we've had. It works great. So sorry to hear the other not so favorable reviews. Our works great.
The only reason for 4 stars and not 5 stars is that the number we received could make calls, but the person on the other line couldn't hear us. Or sometimes it wouldn't pick up on their end at all. A couple of calls to customer service cleared that up. They took care of it, and gave us a local number. The other thing to realize is that it has to be near the router and you have to have access to the internet. Note the wording of that last sentence Access to the internet and not necessarily internet access. :)
If your internet goes out then the box will go out to. We had internet bundled before and lots of time the phone would go out when the internet did. To me it's about the same. This way the price is much cheaper And it works wonderful. I think it's 11.83 or 12.83 a month. The Long distance is free. At least I know it is within the country. That's a great deal.

Comment on this review...

not so good

January 31, 2015

igot basic talk couldt use my number got a new number system didn't work well so i decided to cancel service and thought i did but they kept taking money out of my bank called again they said it wasnt canceled but it didn't work so they cancelled it again but i lost 176.00 before i caught on to it my fault but they wont return my money even with proof i cancelled in the first place

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Baisc Talk is simply the best out there

July 15, 2014

Basic talk is really easy to set up and activate online. I order their services from there website and received their equipment in just under 3 days. For the price about $12.00 a month is the best service I ever had and no haggle or hassle from a sales person or even waiting on hold to get there service. Better than phone company service.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

NO SCAM HERE - Save $$$$$$

January 25, 2014

Besides the almost weeklong process of porting my number to BasicTalk - its the best deal going, I know of no other service that can replicate my old cable quality phone service for less that $13 a month(TAXES INCLUDED).

Anyone who can't set this up doesn't need to be driving a keyboard IMO.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Definitely a SCAM!

January 3, 2014

Basic Talk gave the option of transferring my old phone number to Basic Talk. I signed on on 12/18/13, gave them my former phone company account number, and asked them to transfer it. Time passed with no word from them then I get an email saying that I had not given them my former phone company's account number. They provided a link in the email for to do this, but the link gave a "Page Not Found" message. I called BT and they said that they would expedite (their word) transfer. I waited, and heard nothing again. Today I got an email from them saying that they could not transfer my old number until I provided my former account number. They included a link which again gave a "Page Not Found" message.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND BASIC TALK WHICH HAS PROVEN TO BE INCOMPETENT. Not only are they unable to fulfill a simple request, but they do not even bother to fix an important dead link on their website.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

8 Attempts so far to set up "SUPER EASY" activation online, and 8 attempts to connect with LIVE CHAT

December 27, 2013

I bought the basictalk on 12/26. Tried to activate instore purchase 8 times so far. It won't let me get past the contact info/9ss page no matter what I try. Tried live chat 8 times also. Moving circle indicates it tries to connect but never does. If I can't get a response to emails I' returning this thing tomorrow. So far it has been a TOTAL waste of time and the total lack of customer service is probably a preview of things to come.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review