Ameriplan Reviews

Ameriplan
( 26  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Ameriplan

Ameriplan was founded by Dennis and Daniel Bloom in 1992 and has successfully established itself in the health insurance sales industry.  When they first started out the brothers specialized solely in dental insurance.

The company, headquartered in Texas, now offers discount supplemental insurance for the following: vision, dental, and medical.  They target the uninsured or underinsured citizens of America.  

The company claims to be the premier Discount Medical Plan Organization.  This kind of claim and the promise of not having to deal with products or inventory gets people to join as both customers and independent sales reps.

Products and Plans:

Their full range of services now covers: Dental, Vision, Prescription, Chiropractic, Physician medical care, Ancillary medical services, Hospital advocacy, Telemedicine

AmeriPlan Dental Plus $24.95 per month - This plan covers your entire household and gives you access to 75,000 Dentists, 12,000 Optical Providers, 56,000 Pharmacy Locations and more than 7,500 Chiropractors at pre-negotiated discounted rates.

MED Plus Membership $24.95 per month - Includes 56,000 Pharmacy Locations, 24/7 Access to Telemedicine that provides contact with board-certified doctors via phone or video. $20.00 Registration Fee 

Ameriplan also offers a combo membership for $39.95 per month with a $30 registration fee.

Keep in mind that these plans are NOT Insurance or Medicare Prescription Drug Plans.  Ameriplan plans offers you medical services at pre-negotiated discount rates, you are still responsible for paying all medical costs.

Prior to signing up you can search their network of partner providers to see if this will be a vialbe solution for you and your family.

Ameriplan Business Opportunity:

The company relies on a direct sales model to get their plans to the most vulnerable and underinsured members of society.  The peer to peer business model allows them to reach these people providing them with more options for health care coverage.

Moreover as an independent benefits consultant you have the opportunity to grow a business while simultaneously helping people.

Customer Support:

If you have any questions you can receive assistance by calling their phone number at 1-800-647-8421.

Online Reviews/Complaints:

Some people say it's difficult to make money in the Ameriplan Business Opportunity because their network coverage areas isn’t as large some of the more established companies.  This makes it difficult to recruit members since you can not guarantee they can receive health care with an Ameriplan discount plan.

In the past some benefit consultants have complainted that the company forced them into a monthly fee, however for that money you are also receiving your very own Ameriplan.  This helps you in the sales process as you can honestly explain how the plan works and share your personal experience.

Competitors and Alternatives:

If you are looking to get into insurance sales through a direct sales opportunity the main competitor to Ameriplan would be Primerica.

If you are currently enrolled in an Ameriplan or have previously used one please leave an honest review below.

26 ‘Ameriplan’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Kristina
Guest

July 29, 2016

One of your AmeriPlan employee's tried to sell me insurance. LOLLOL, her 3 children are on Medicare. If the insurance is so good. why isn't her family on it. Such a joke.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Matt
Guest

December 14, 2015

A lot of people get thrown off by the whole MLM structure of this business and that you have to PAY to work from home. First off, you are only required to pay $20/year. That $20/year gives you three websites, IT and Admin support and its TAX DEDUCTIBLE. Being an IBO means just that..you are an Independent Business Owner..you get paid by the amount of work YOU put into YOUR business. AmeriPlan just gives you the product to sell. How you sell it, how you market it, etc is entirely up to you. Most of the negativity I see posted on forums such as this about AmeriPlan are from people who tried it and failed miserably because they expected to just sit at home doing nothing and get a paycheck in the mail. There are PLENTY of WAH jobs out there that don't require you to pay but you will only be getting paid roughly $9/hour IF THAT where as with AmeriPlan you can easily make over $1000 a week if you work hard. I think a lot of people want to just work from home and expect it to be so easy to sleep in and then sit on there computers for a couple of hours to get a paycheck..NO..if it were that easy, EVERYONE WOULD DO IT. If you don't have the $20/year to start your own business, or the drive to succeed, then you have a lot more to worry about then trying to decide whether or not you want to join AmeriPlan. I also want to add that not all MLM companies are scams. Chances are your electricity company is an MLM, I know here in Texas MLM electric companies are popping up everywhere because that's the only way small companies can advertise and compete with the monopolies. I will be happy to answer ANY questions anyone has about this..email me at [email protected]

Comment on this review...
review author image
Michael
Guest

October 12, 2015

I've seen some really positive interviews about Ameriplan and I've seen negative. I personally don't understand the negative reviews because I, myself have been extremely successful with Ameriplan. One question people ask is "Is there a start up fee" YES, there is a VERY small startup fee, under $100.00 but you are not paying to WORK, this is a home business. Then you have to pay like $25.00 per month and you have the complete support of there corporate office, which is so inexpensive plus discount benefits for up to 20 people under your roof, related or not.
If you have to pay a start up fee to "work" that's a red flag. But the ability to be an a part of an incredible organization with an A+ BBB rating has changed my life. It is the ONLY work at home business that I have found to be legitimate. Ameriplan has been awesome for myself and family. I've been able to sustain a full time income PLUS residual income. It takes a little time because it's not a "get rich quick scheme" but within 1 year I was doing great.
If you're looking for a REAL work at home opportunity with a great company, training and support, check it out. Hope this helps!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Gorden
Guest

June 22, 2014

I received a phone call from a company rep., I asked two or three questions. Where they found my resume, as I am a recent college(university grad)does monster ring a bell.

Question: salary or type of revenue scale, information provided: Comission, thats a joke, what do these reps think, student loans and daily living is not a concern for the Capitalism they practice these is only direct exploitation>>>

That is the truth as to what far to scheme company such as this one , are about the upper levels of management line their pockets, at the expense of far to many other reps., that do not receive proper compensation. Hmmm, sound fimilar, the big wigs and government leadership, that sold this countries industrial base out for only their own profit.

Answer: No thank You Ameriplan

Comment on this review...
review author image
Dee
Guest

May 27, 2014

I first felt this might be something I want to do until I got the phone call from Kelly. I asked a few questions about how much it would cost me and how the system works and how I would make money and she directed me to a phone number 7605691331 and if im interested after I listen to the call then call her back> I don't think I want to be with this company after all!! Good Luck out there!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Celly
Guest

December 6, 2013

I would like to know what happens when you go a hospital, what ki8nd of discount would there be?
and is there a deductible?

Comment on this review...
review author image
Kim
Guest

October 13, 2013

I was a broker for a few years. I made it to the level of ESD. I had a 4 figure monthly income. Like Troy (comment posted Oct 28, 2011), they took my income away. They actually kicked out about 900 IBO's.

Please do your research before you get started.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Cindy
Guest

October 6, 2013

I joined with Ameriplan and got a slow start due to my full time job. However, I've had nothing but a great experience with all the tools and training, and now that I've really applied myself, I'm making good money too! In response to Brian... all the way at the top, the employer SHOULD pay the employee, you are absolutely right. And we do get paid... every penny, no taxes. We get a 1099 as business owners. But we also get a benefits package that is very good, and THAT is what we pay for, just like a normal employee at a normal 9 to 5 would. And just like that normal company, with us it's just a deduction, and it's based off your own needs and the needs of your family. Don't forget, Ameriplan is not a charity, they are a business, and they want to make money. They aren't in business just to make others successful, they make others successful SO THAT they will be as well.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Amber
Guest

September 27, 2013

I currently work with Ameriplan and enjoy the use of their benefits. I have saved over $4,000 with their plan. I save money and make money. win win to me!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Katie C
Guest

July 1, 2013

One comment I see over and over is that the company demands a lot of money from it's IBO's to sign up and continue working with the company. This simply isn't true.

I was personally burned by a "Mary Kay" experience, and was very reluctant when a friend came to me about AmeriPlan. It is true, there is a $20 ANNUAL fee for the web services, which includes your marketing sites, training, and connection to individuals in the company. That is very low fee to pay once a year for a business with an earning potential of $500-$1000 a WEEK. Because our business is based in internet marketing, these materials are essential tools.

It is also true that the company has an overhead fee of $50 a month- but what that money covers is your personal benefit plan you receive as an IBO. The benefit plan you receive is the same as that of a member that signs up for the same fee, $50 a month. They do this so that you can start receiving medical savings, so that you can better inform others of our services through personal experience.

Comment on this review...
review author image
NJC.
Guest

June 25, 2013

I signed up with Ameriplan the other day. After reviewing all of the options, within a few hours I decided to opt out.
After I contacted their Texas office, I received a communication saying that my subscription was cancelled.
However, they have taken 19.95 out of my checking account when I told them specifically to cancel.
The next step is to put a stop payment on the transaction tomorrow and contact my Attorney's General office and file a complaint for negligence.
Please be advised, that this is not the only "work-at-home" site that is misleading. Just be careful as I will from now on.
If you want to work at home, my suggestion is to start your own little enterprise and forget the rest of these on-line deals.......

Comment on this review...
review author image
Brian
Guest

June 8, 2013

I responded to an online “job posting” and received a very slick automated reply. However, it went into some detail about the company's products and business model, which is generally not the case with other 'work at home' schemes I've looked into. I replied with a few questions, and received a prompt response which answered all my questions completely and without deceit. Here's what I learned:

Recruits are obliged to buy a $20 annual subscription to online company support. You are also required to cough up a monthly fee which will dictate the commissions received on member recruitment and product sales. That fee STARTS at $50/month.

While I applaud them for being straightforward and transparent, an employer should pay the employee – not the other way around. The other way around is about as sketchy as it gets. If you jump into this and get burned, it's your own fault.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Brian Kotowski
Guest

June 7, 2013

I replied to a "job posting" on an online job board. Submitted an inquiry and received a very slick automated reply. I was nonetheless somewhat impressed with the level of detail provided about their products and business model, which is not generally the case with the other work from home schemes I've investigated. The email also included the name & contact info for the person trying to recruit me.

I emailed a reply with a number of questions. I received a prompt reply in which all my questions were answered - honestly and directly with no attempt to deceive. I turned them down because of their mandatory fees: a $20 annual subscription to online company support (which I could probably have lived with) and a monthly charge which determines the recruit's commission structure. That fee STARTS at $50/month.

While I applaud them for being so straightforward, anyone I work for needs to pay ME - not the other way around. The other way around seems sketchy to me.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Miranda S
Guest

May 8, 2013

As a person working for this company, I can honestly say that we're not as bad as some people like to say we are, and like every other company, we're not flawless. All we can do is offer our services, and it's perfectly okay if what we're offering doesn't appeal to you or help you.

As far as the no "cold calling" thing, we only call people who have expressed an interest in the company, whether it's for signing up for an insurance benefits program, or signing up as an IBO. We don't decide to randomly punch numbers into our phones and hope someone picks up so we can throw information at them. They come to us first and we just tell them about the company and let them decide if they'd like to take part.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Gina
Guest

March 5, 2013

I was in contact with someone who works for this company. Lets just call her A.J. She was very rude when I told her that I found a company that you don't need to pay them to work for them. I do think this company is a scam. She had a lot of comments to say when I told her I do not want to get any more emails from her or anyone who works for this company. She still continued to be rude and contact me.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review