Academia.edu Reviews

Academia.edu
( 17  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Academia.edu

Academia.edu is a social networking website created by and designed for academics, so that they can have a community which gives them the ability to stay current and plugged in to their fields.

According to their homepage, Academia.edu is “a growing community of 3,982,720 researchers” which hosts over five million unique visitors each month. And unlike traditional social networking sites, such as Facebook and Twitter, the main goal of this website is to allow socialization and sharing within academic fields.

A lot of emphasis is placed on this site being a hub where people can easily post their academic papers, which allows colleagues from around the world to help accelerate the research process.

But Academia.edu also gives their users the ability to monitor “deep analytics” on the impact of their research and track the latest research being conducted in their area of academia they follow.

While current popular networking sites have also helped academics from all over the world connect and communicate, this website is specifically designed for that purpose, which makes it easier to do the type of communicating which these professionals are looking for.

The website is intended to foster a professional and communal environment for networking, listing citations, and file sharing, and keeps academics up to date on the latest people, papers, and talks in their field.

Like other networking sites, this one also provides a mobile app so that you can keep connected at all times and receive updates, in order to better fulfill their promise of keeping academics up to date.

With this type of public sharing, a lot of concern has been voiced about potential copyright issues which may arise from the use of this site and your personal work, but Academia.edu says that they honor and enforce all copyright laws and will remove any files or users which infringe upon these rights.

If you have any experience with this site, please leave your Academia.edu reviews below.

17 ‘Academia.edu’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

ACADEMIA.EDU ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES

October 9, 2020

They say that they are an Educational Literally
Organization for Knowledge and Culture,
but they violate GDPR and use the articles,
to get information,
for their own interest!
They are FREEMASONS and hidden Sects,
behind FAKE EDUCATIONAL PROFILE,
who want followers,
for ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES!
They use E-mail TRACKING,
to track your E-mails!
STAY AWAY FROM THEM!
They use Lawyers in Cyprus to help these illegal activities!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Expensive!

March 19, 2020

I signed up to find papers about postage stamps. I found a few but I've been barraged with emails about my name being mentioned in papers. I have to switch to premium to see this information. No way, at the price mentioned! I have since unsubscribed to all their emails (and there are many different categories!).

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Help contact from their website is not safe.

January 29, 2020

Since I signed up to their website I get emails about all these papers being listed under my name. I have never uploaded any papers on this website and wonder if someone hack my username and password and uploading papers under my account. So I click on the help tab on their website and get this message for my web browser "Your connection is not private Attackers might be trying to steal your information from support.academia.edu (for example, passwords, messages, or credit cards)." I now feel like they already have.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Gross infringement of copyright

August 18, 2019

Academia.edu is providing a platform for people to post enter textbooks in violation of copyright laws.

View all 2 Comments
August 29, 2019

Providing a potential platform for doing something wrong is not doing something wrong and, in a free society, even necessary. There are laws for dealing with copyright infringement.

February 21, 2020

If you own a bar and you see someone selling guns or drugs in the bar then it is YOUR responsibility to ensure that your bar is not used for illegal activity. The same goes for illegal/unethical activity in online spaces. Academia.edu is not an innocent bystander, IF they are enabling the activity then they are liable.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

I don’t think it’s legit

April 19, 2019

They sent ma an email to apply for a grant- The United States if America- “ no matches found” Whaaaaaatttt? Then I put Japan- I don’t think there are any grants- Then they said - “ one paper with your name “ went to see- “ that will be $8.95-whaaaaaatttttt? RIP OFFFFFFFFFF

June 11, 2019

The below email was sent to your organization on: 20190520

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Value of Academia.edu

November 29, 2018

I find it astonishing to read so many negative comments about academia.edu. I know of no other publication that regularly gives me information about other scholars, many of them international, who are writing in some of the same areas that I write.

March 11, 2019

I uploaded the draft of a paper but it does not show on my page.

Narasingha Sil

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Going to be cancelling my Academia.edu account

July 31, 2018

Like others have mentioned, it scams you by claiming things that are not. For instance, 510 mentions. You pay the $79 fee. The mentions are of a Joachim P. Err, my name is Jer H.B. How on EARTH do you confuse those two for each other?!

February 21, 2020

I agree. I have never published anything, I was on there out of interest and to follow researchers. However, it claims I have 25 publication mentions. The site just generates random data and tries to trick you with it. Complete scam.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

You upload a paper to pay for know who your readers are

May 14, 2018

Research, Study and write it on a presentable manner which involves lots of hard work and then you pay to know who are your readers and who have mentioned about your papers. Isn't it a scam ?

July 31, 2018

It's worse than that. You pay the $79 they insist you need to pay to see their analytics, and then you discover the 510 mentions they claim you have are for one Joachim P. How does that match Jer H.B.? They consider 'the first name is the same letter' enough for a match?!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

BUYER BEWARE!

April 13, 2018

They charge $99 not the $8.99/month advertised and, as said here, they offer no customer service. I wish I'd read these reviews.

View all 2 Comments
May 23, 2019

They just charged me $99 and I NEVER EVER shared any banking details with them!!! How can that happen? What is my recourse?? Please help!

February 21, 2020

You probably clicked the Paypal option.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

"YOU WERE MENTIONED IN A PAPER" SCAM

March 21, 2018

TODAY I RECEIVED AN EMAIL F SCAMROM ACADEMIA.COM STATING THAT I WAS MENTIONED IN 7 PAPERS AND 1 BOOK. I SIGNED UP FOR 1 MO AT8.99 PER ONLY TO HAVE MY PAYPAL ACCOUNT BE BILLED FOR 99.99. THE PROBLEM WITH THIS IS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER THEY PROVIDE IS UNMANNED. I LEFT A MESSAGE. I CANCELLED THE ACCOUNT AND NOW I HAVE NO WAY TO REQUEST A REFUND. I WISH TO HAVE A FULL REFUND. I DO NOT LIKE DOING BUSINESS WITH SHADY INTERNET COMPANIES THAT WILLINGLY TAKE YOUR MONEY BUT THEN MAKE YOU JUMP OVER HOOPS TO CONTACT THEM AND GET A REFUND. DO NOT GO FOR THAT SCAM

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Scam... And will send you Scam emails!

December 19, 2017

I registered to look at a paper, now I keep getting emails stating that my name was mentioned in papers This website is a scam made to make money off of students and individual in high academia wishing to share research with one another.

View all 2 Comments
March 10, 2018

Same experience as Michael. I kept getting very annoying emails (because they were outright lies) saying something like, e.g., "five hundred twenty three people" have referenced papers I had written. The "number" changed various times but always in the hundreds.... Problem with this is ... my name is 100% unique and no one else on the planet has the same name. So there could not be any mix up or misattribution. So this was nothing more than a MASSIVE LIE and for what - to get me to sign up for a paid for premium membership. I told them as such several times in emails and each time they replied with an answer that did not address my point/ question - i.e., non answer. This is nothing more than a a techie group to use Big Data group using the power of the internet to harvest your data build an expanded subscriber list with paid memberships and use your information for whatever their purpose ... to capitalize on - I am not clear there is any real product / benefit delivered and they appear to have one purpose ... to make money. Any serious researcher that cannot get published in a peer reviewed journal is their target audience to sign up for a premium paid for subscription. I cannot think of any serious researcher that would want to publish their work on Academica.com. I agree with many of the comments and feel that this "appear to be" a scam. The technology area is weak in regulating this sort of thing but it illicitly harvesting my personal information to make money for purpose should be illegal. Some outfits harvest your information to sell to others (and make money). Such as the websites that gather demographic data or neighborhood addresses/property owners (all public data) and then resell it. such scams need to be regulated.

May 30, 2019

The issue is that you find a LOT of high level scholars on the site, Professors in Universities etc (I know some of them, and they share papers they have published (and reliable - they can be discussed as ever, but they are reliable, and come form conferences, etc.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

scam

July 7, 2017

total scam where people post only partial pieces of information hoping offering to sell you the completed copies after you download the first bit. I'm going to have to run a complete scan and possible reformat of my hardrive after downloading something off of there.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

I like the service but this company lacks scruples

June 9, 2017

I realize saintlike behavior doesn't come standard with companies competing in a free market---and don't get me wrong: I'm a Premium subscriber, big fan and supporter of Academia.edu---but with that said, the veracity of their marketing strategy is questionable to say the least. For example, I just received an email from them that contains this quote from an unnamed "Professor of History at Princeton University":

"I uploaded a recent article. Normally this article would have been read by 5-6 people in 2 years. I got 20 views within a few minutes, and 100 views within the next month. Academia.edu is the best thing that has ever happened to my research."

Setting aside the fact that this looks suspiciously made-up to begin with, a very high percentage of these so-called "views" Academia.edu loves to brag about originate from search terms that resemble---but have nothing to do with---a person's research. Assuming a real history prof actually submitted that review, it's highly likely that among all those "100 views" he or she supposedly received during the first month, one or two at the most were legitimate.

Comment on this review...
review author image
2 Reviews

weird that they want your Google contacts

November 13, 2015

It seems strange to me that if you use your Google account to log in, academia.edu looks through your contact list. Seems like they don't need anything more than your name and e-mail address.

Better to make a separate account than use Google to log in, I'd say, until they clear up what they're using those contacts for.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

It is a scam

November 13, 2015

In Academia.edu they use web crawling robots to scan for publications and other social networks to gather personal information (including pictures) and co-authorship data of researchers. Then they automatically generate profiles and send your co-authors invitations to join the network pretending that it is you. If one of your co-authors clicks on a link of the e-mail it will automatically generate a profile for you co-author without asking for permission nor informing about the legal terms and conditions.

There are several illegal aspects in that procedure, identity theft to start with.

March 10, 2018

I originally signed on as a non premium customer to learn what they could do for me. I was working on a particular study involving a water supply line - home warranty scam being marketed by false information and targeted scare tactics of elderly retired people. See my earlier comment above. I canceled my membership . I was originally interested in publishing but canceled after seeing what this was about. The FCC / FTC need to investigate, not sure what the basis or industry would be .. maybe technology or internet fraud.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review