Zoosk Reviews

Zoosk
Based on 132 Reviews
Website:www.Zoosk.com
Review It

About Zoosk

Zoosk, found online at Zoosk.com, is a dating site which says that it helps people date smarter using their own unique technology and is available in more than 80 countries and 25 languages.

How Does It Work?

Like other dating websites, Zoosk allows members to sign up and create a profile completely for free. But as you start looking around and interacting with other members, Zoosk's Behavioral Matchmaking will "learn" about you and begin pairing you with singles you are likely to be mutually attracted to. 

Once you want to begin actually speaking with other members of the site, you will need to upgrade to a paid membership. 

Cost/Price Plans

Though Zoosk does not publish its upgraded membership fees, they are reported on other websites as being $29.95 per month, for a month-to-month subscription, $19.98 a month, billed in one lump sum of $59.95 for three months, and $12.49 a month, billed all at once for $74.95 for a six month subscription. All subscription plans automatic renew unless you cancel in advance of the new billing cycle.  

Mobile Options

Currently Zoosk offers mobile applications for both Android and iOS operating platforms.   

Refund Policy

Since this service is offered with a pay per month plan, as well as all other shipment plans needing to be paid in advance, their Terms and Conditions clearly states that all charges and fees are non-refundable.    

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to speak to their Customer Service team about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 888-939-6675, by email at Support@Zoosk.com, or by submitting them directly to their website.  

Reputation

Unfortunately Zoosk has many mixed reviews with unhappy customers complaining that they believe this site sets up fake profiles and provides fake interactions, but there is nothing in their Terms and Conditions which supports these accusations.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other online dating sites available out there, some of which are straightforward traditional sites like Match.com and eHarmony.com, while others are more targeted towards specific niches, like ChristianMingle.com.  

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your Zoosk reviews below.

Related Articles

132 ‘Zoosk’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Guest

Not even worth a star

Reviewed By Kim on January 23, 2013, Cleveland, Ohio

I totally agree. I just spent the last hour on the phone between Zoosk and my bank. I had $200 worth of charges show up in my bank account this morning from Zoosk. I have NEVER used this site AND I certainly have NEVER given them any credit card/debit card information. After a lot of back and forth, zoosk informed me that it was in fact fraudulent activity and EY shut it down and will be refunding my money. I, along with my bank think that this is still very suspicious so I have also filed a dispute claim with my bank against zoosk, if in fact they end up NOT refunding my money. I had to cancel my card and now have to wait 5 business days to receive another. SUCH a pain in the you know what. Not to mention, 4 months ago wVhen i received an email from a friend asking me to "check out" his new pictures that he uploaded in zoosk. Stupid me I clicked on link and then zoosk sent out same email, from my address, to every single person that I have ever sent an email to OR that has sent me an email OR any email chains that I was included on, asking them to "check out" my pictures that I uploaded. Wich I hadn't. Complete nightmare. Iget about 15 emails from zoosk per day. This sort of thing should be illegal. Can you tell that I am fuirous?!?! Don't ever do anything on Zoosk!!!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 31 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
random guy
January 24, 2013

I think you just suck at computers...

nate
January 25, 2013

Sorry about that i was being lured by this woman on craigslist to join a dating site coz of safety issues on her part. I put in my card info but before i clicked submit i decided to check out reviews. thanks for posting this you saved my life. There are so many of these sites it's so annoying.

Your Comment
Guest

Have to Pay to Meet

Reviewed By Ronan Baron on January 21, 2013, The Villages, FL

I made the mistake of having a 3 month paid membership. This should mean that nothing else requires payment. However, if there's a mutual match they require payment to actually contact each other. That's a definite scam. Once you pay, that should be it.
By the way, you have to uncheck the appropriate box or it will renew automatically. They are worse than useless and I would give it less than 1 star if possible.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 21 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
GOODLUCK
January 22, 2013

Zoosk is full of it... You have to pay to get your messages.. Its a scam... Liars.. They are not freeeeeeeeeeeeee... Freaking lying scam site.. Lets make it go bye bye... They lie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Brandy
January 22, 2013

Thanks for the advise I will avoid that app.

Your Comment
Guest

VERY BAD

Reviewed By Patty RothHaas on January 19, 2013, Bangkok, Thailand

1 main reason I'm deactivating my account, I can not add my partner from facebook. How awful...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Pathetic....

Reviewed By Mad Hatter on January 15, 2013

I dont think you should have to pay to meet someone. If they dont like what you say they delete it. I wouldnt recommend anyone to use this site ever. I wouldnt even rate it that high. These people are PATHETIC!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
garbage
January 16, 2013

I agree you should not have to pay to chat with someone there are others out there that you dont have to pay for

Concern
January 18, 2013

I'm just raising my concern i think there is a few scammers on your website would e nice if you could control this website.

hey douche that works for Zoosk
January 25, 2013

I am not a scammer, and Zoosk is the biggest dating scam site out there. Charge people to connect after you already shelled out 50 bucks. I hope karma finds this website's owner and makes him pay.

Your Comment
Guest

1.14.2013

Reviewed By brown on January 14, 2013, brooklyn

getting the same exact from more than 7 zoosk users at the same time , it explains everything

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
clear
January 19, 2013

I came the check out the authenticity of zoosk by reading reviews and boy did I get a good laugh. This is what I love about being in American great and funny people. Love yall

Your Comment
Guest

Garbage, sucked in again

Reviewed By nick on January 13, 2013, San Jose, ca

i got sucked in again. not only did i sign up for 3 months. but they added an additional fee. it was supposed to be 59 dollars it turned out to be 80 something dollars . for which they dont give you diddly squat. Story, Whats my story? Try this for starters Today Sunday January 13th . i have sent 20 different so called members a note , chat request or message . Some of these messages were a response to so called chat requests . Story?  i got zero answers or responses. I didn't ask any one to marry me or god forbid was i abusive in any way.  but zero responses, Am I the only idiot to pay for a member ship? I cant believe i got sucked in again . My profile has been viewed 162 times.How many of the profiles on here are real? how many views are Zoosk computer generated. . I am really disappointed. Thank you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 32 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Charles
January 21, 2013

Zoosk is a scam

Louise Shipwash
January 25, 2013

my picture was seen on Zoosk,ive never joined Zoosk but it popped up when I clicked on "see who has searched for you" while playing games on facebook..and since then Ive had 2 people to tell me they seen my f/book profile picture there...Im guessing its because of the time I clicked to see who was searching for me...but I want it stopped,but dont know how..help!

Paul
January 29, 2013

Without me repeating Nick , I had exactly the same experince as far as views,chat requests, and matches. Zero responces . Zoosk is a total waste of time and money.Think the site is a big scam.

Brad
February 23, 2013

Yes agree both people have to be paid members to send messages so its a total waste of time and money if your the only one that pays a memembership.

Your Comment
Guest

I smelt rip-off a mile away

Reviewed By James on January 13, 2013, Maylands

So i signed up without paying anything or submitting any financial institution details. Started looking at different profiles, there appears to be two types, real and fake i think. You can tell an odd profile, you cant seem to send typed messages without a profile. The reply to the wink was also intriguing as it said "Thanks. If your in..". Sorry but most girls usually dont start with that. Why cant you just paste some google ads on your site, id prefer that to this 30 dollars for one month. Its a pity as well if the profile is real, but how can i be sure, i just can. Zoosk you've lost my interest.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Charles
January 21, 2013

Zoosk has started off by creation fake profiles and hiring people to run them. Many of the responses are bots.

Richie
January 26, 2013

Yeah many of the reply instantly with the exact same message, Thanks for wink.... (rest of the hidden message "I'm a bot scamming you to try and subscribe").

Your Comment
Guest

Just as Bad as Obama's priorities

Reviewed By Derek on January 12, 2013, Erie Pa

This site seemd legit. Made a profile winkd at a chick that looked cute. 30 minutes later she sent me a messege that siad she wont be on to chat til later tonight. Went to reply but siad i needed to subcribe. When i first made a profiel it siad chat was free... wtf?... so i proceeded to do the 1 month, filled out endless list of info and total was DOUBLE the amount they siad it would be. Really? might as well go to Plenty of Fish, its free

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

It's a scam

Reviewed By Tomas on January 12, 2013, Denver

stay away!!! It's almost as though there's nobody on the site but yourself. You write and write but no answer except for these automated replies. which are meant to make you think that you are being replied too. But your just being deceived. Don't fall for it. Like I did. this is a scam...
Tom

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 21 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

scam

Reviewed By Justin on January 9, 2013, Ohio

This is the first time ive tried a dating site, but even someone new like me can tell what a steaming pile of crap this website is, i paid for a few months and regretted it almost immediately. For starters, i knew right away when i saw that you had to pay for "coins" (which arent cheap btw) to make your profile more popular that i messed up by paying for a subscription. Lets think about that for a second, i already paid them to make a profile, and now, in their own candy coated sugary way of saying it, i need to pay them more so that my profile doesnt get moved to the bottom of every page. BS!

Second, when i signed up i filled out all the credit card info and when i was asked if i wanted the subscription to automatically renew when the time was up, i said no. Lo and behold, ive gone to the subscription page 3 times now and changed it so that it wont automatically renew, but every time it somehow magically is changed back to automatically renew, i called their customer support and told them in no polite terms that if i was charged for a second term i would be taking legal action, and that i could prove i told them not to renew it, after that, the setting for some odd reason remained as i set it.

Last, their "scientific matching service" is garbage. There is absolutely nothing scientific about it. Im a laid back introverted kind of person, not into athletics at all, yet for some reason, i keep getting matched up with people who say that are outgoing, love sports, and want to meet a guy who also enjoys working out, playing sports and going on long hikes. I mean it literally is trying to match me with my polar opposites, and than calling it scientific. its not scientific, they just pulled someones profile out of their butts, sent me an email about them and than claimed we were right for each other by labeling it as "scientific".

in conclusion people, do your part in making this greedy money grab of a website find its rightful place, hidden in the bowels of the world wide web where no one will ever find it, thus being unable to prey on the pockets of desperate vulnerable people.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 40 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Randall Knapp
January 10, 2013

Zoosk is a rip off site and getting worse. The online chat is supposed to be free but now it is members only and if you do pay you get exactly as this person discribed and when you try and unsub the server will magically crash right after you do giving you a false record that you unsubed but it will continue to charge you

Teresa Henry
January 12, 2013

I joined this site because I kept getting things from it but yes! you have to go in and physically cancel your account. If you don't physically cancel it will continue to charge you . Most people I met on their are con's the men that I have met all are seeking Money . Also if they aren't doing that they are giving fake states where they live and have very strange stories that they work out of the area. Please be careful with this site and be safe out there while internet dating .

Joe
January 13, 2013

Yeah it really is a scam. I subscribed ($20) and immediately got automated canned replies from women. Then I decided to test these flirts from woman and when I ask to chat with them - no reply. So I ask again - still no reply. you would think if 28 women who flirted with me - at least one would reply it might be real right?

Its a scam.

Lori
January 15, 2013

It is all a scam, I got the same thing, then when the one guy called me he couldn't speak english & was using someone else's picture. This site sucks and the entire thing needs to be reported.

Aaron
January 24, 2013

Get this, even the race of the girl was wrong. Im not racist but a black girl said caucasian. Like any "free" sites such as freecreditreport etc. You scratch the surface and they they tell you your choice of credit/debit you can use. Its never free in the end. Besides, you need more than 24 hours to view the love of your life or even a partner at that. Each match only gives you 24 hrs. Its because they must be decoys or fake profiles. Im glad I read this and the posts above before I gave them any credit/financial information. Besides, Zoosk is an extension of facebook making you believe its free because FB is free.

Wayne
February 06, 2013

Yeah i've seen a couple of those... Profile pic white/caucasian and profile says black/african... zoosk(btw they don't even deserve to start with a capital z) must be working overtime to stay on top of their mix and matches. Just a pile of fake BS.

Your Comment
Guest

Wast of time

Reviewed By Roman on January 9, 2013, NC

After paying almost $50/month (they have some sign up fee) I got nothing. This site is complete garbage. Every time I list a small piece of information like hint’s to contact me over the email my profile being fixed while there is some members that they listing their entire email address. To me they are some fake ID’s listed by ZOOSK which makes them be a fake, garbage site. Not to mention after nearly 40 emails I have no response.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 13 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
jason
January 11, 2013

I to am convinced they make up profiles on this site

Helen
January 19, 2013

Thanks everyone !!

Your Comment
Guest

Zoosk is a scam. Here is why...

Reviewed By Steven  on January 6, 2013, Twin Lake, MI

I opened a free account with Zoosk a couple years ago. They started sending me their "scientific matches" almost immediately. Shortly after short messages like, "Coke or Pepsi?" and winks began to appear in my Zoosk Inbox and Yahoo email. You can respond one time to a message. Their word-filter prevents you from giving out any contact info and is very strict. They also have a Popular Meter. My meter was in the millions which gave me a very popular rating. Then I started to receive messages that contained the exact user picture but had a different name, location and profile. They generate fake profiles and reuse the same pictures over and over! I began replying to these emails telling the ladies that the site is a scam. As soon as I started doing that my Popular Meter went from a Very Popular rating to a Poor rating. I no longer receive duplicate images and the emails to me are greatly reduced. Zoosk knows I am telli

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 26 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
DTBorden
January 08, 2013

I didn't even sign up intentionally. This is for losers.

BondsmaninCharlotte
January 08, 2013

The sites a scam! I tried it but canceled the third day after I realized the women,some real some not,were not actually writing me. I scared one poor (overly timid) woman to death simply by writing her because the site sent me corresondence seemingly from her..ZOOSK IS A SCAM!

kool
January 12, 2013

haha i knew they were faking flirts and winks

Your Comment
Guest

Don't be fooled

Reviewed By Elvis P. on January 5, 2013

Creepy, unethical website that preys on the stupid and desperate.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Lori
January 15, 2013

Yes, and they have a darn good way to woo a person. Dogs

Your Comment
Guest

Zoosk ... rip off dating site!

Reviewed By scott on January 5, 2013, westchester, ny

I wanted to try a new dating site and saw Zoosk, which lured me in with picture of some nice looking people with their locations as being close to mine, or even in the same town.

So I attempted to sign up, then when you finish filling out all your info including credit card info and are ready to submit... they hit you with a $29 sign up fee! Well, I did get around that by googling "how to avoid Zoosk sign-up fee" and found that if you cancel before you hit "submit" .. within a few hours they send you an email that will offer to waive the fee.

OK so I got around that one... now I was signed up. Then I found out that if someone flirts with you, or likes you .... you have to pay extra (with coins) to "unlock your mutual match".... WTF... didn't I just pay for a subscription ... now I have to pay again to contact the person who flirted with me?

So apparently the only way you can communicate with someone is if they email you or you do a search and email them. What a rip off!!!

The only thing I am happy about is that I signed up for only one month so my $$ loss is minimal. Oh did I mention that all those pics you see with people in your area don't really exist! ... yep, when I did a search using various distances... there was not one face that I saw when signing up.

I hope this helps all you dating folks out there looking for a good dating site... it's certainly not Zoosk ... but I would recommend match.com and PoF (plenty of fish)!!!

Good luck everyone!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
jason
January 11, 2013

you've done your homework all those profiles just look to good to be true

Your Comment
Guest

Regret not leaving negative stars -4

Reviewed By Ken on January 5, 2013, Mojave Desert, CA

Zoosk is a Rip-off. I tried to contact local women on Zoosk with no answer. Some of these women I encountered in town. They informed me that they are no longer on Zoosk, sometimes for over a year, yet their adds remained. Zoosk will show you people that you cannot contact, because they are not paid members. I have received a flirt on Zoosk; I immediately responded, and was met with a message that the member is no longer a Zoosk member. Zoosk conclusion try another site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

I have to echo what's already been said... Zoosk is horrific / arguably a scam

Reviewed By MellowMagic on January 5, 2013, New York

As others have said, the "flirts" you get from attractive girls are plants and not genuine profiles.

By far the worst dating site I've tried.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

No Refunds

Reviewed By yepImpissedoff on January 4, 2013, new york

Joined and canceled in 3 days when I got to see what it really is. I'm not into the live chat thing - for teens. No refund on my 6 month purchase. RIPOFF. They wont let you filter who sends you interest. Anyone can! and you cant filter the search by area, they always put it back to 100 miles no matter how many times you change ans save. Too exaushting with all the deleting, denying and blocking. Never did get to find someone in my town. and DONT link it to your facebook - it copies and posts all your stuff!!! Favoite movies and books...beware single parents!!! SUX

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
scott
January 21, 2013

Yeah , it would take a library full of info to describe just how big of a scam zoosk is . The first evidence of that for me was when I was choosing a subscription payment plan ...there were 3 choices ( HA !) ...supposedly one of them was a 3 month obligation that ya would pay about $20.00 a month for 3 months , but all through the process of subscribing the only option given was to pay the full 3 months at once , and as said here already , they try to charge you an extra fee and if ya just quit subscribing at that point they will send ya a FB message saying that fee has been waved for you !
Theres also the buying coins scam ...They gave me 200 free coins to use to pay ( additionally ) to' meet' people and theres 2 ways to search for ppl to
' meet ' , either ya do searches from various pages which you never get responses from or you can you use the Carousel option which shows you ppl ya cant see with the other search , but you have no choice except to pay with coins to meet these ppl ...ooops , let me clarify , you have to pay with these coins to view the profile of these ppl !!!! And you have to decide if these ppl are ppl you are interested in based only on the 1 photo that you see of them
.You are not allowed to know where this face is from , if it is a members face or not ...but , i do j know that I have been matched with a non-member and given the option to meet them( cuz , i know that person ) what , i dont know is if I would get reimbursed for those coins if that other person decides not to pay their coins as well ...and I dont care to find out ....Zoosk is the carnival of scams >>>Stay away !

Your Comment
Guest

The ultimte fraud

Reviewed By frank on January 1, 2013, nyc

Ive been on all the dating websites since they started and there was only match.co, at least 7-8 years experience with this crap. Zoosk is the most scammy pay site ever. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD!! I sent them a check as I had read about their continued charging you after you quit them. they invade your computer and every time some one looks ( Who cares if someone looks?),a pop up would appear while you might be working on your computer and a "ding" sound. Almost all were not paid members so they couldn't talk to you if you wanted to. weather u pay or not once u join for free, your profile is used to lure others in, to pay to talk to you. The "flirts" are mostly "plants" and people who are not paying. then even when u pay, once you have a "mutual" match, you have to buy "coins" to talk to the person, when in fact I already paid for 3 months. so its another 20.00 for what might not even exist. U can put in your search parameters, and they will still disregard and send u people from several states away, not of the race u asked, to tall etc. It very robotic and cant believe they are allowed to steal from us in the light of day, Is there no policing these thieves? And if u look at the "rating websites " zoosk is number one!!! one scammer protecting another scammer. whats happened to the human race!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 22 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Linda L.
January 02, 2013

Thank you! I almost fell into the trap. I thought the entire site was free, until someone wanted to chat, then the "subscribe" option appeared. I was concerned about the automatic renewal. I've heard of sites where people were unable to stop their subscription despite numerous attempts to stop it. Being wary about giving my credit card #, I'll not be a subscriber.

Karen
January 03, 2013

Unfortunately I did join and instead of them processing a monthly payment they took the whole amount. They do not refund so buyer beware. I cancelled anyway even though the account is still active if I so choose to reactivate it. NOT>>>>>>

shamed
January 04, 2013

I fell for it :( should have read all of this first. BUT - I did post my review :) and continue to where ever I can FOR THE NEXT 6 MONTHS!!!

dave
January 08, 2013

damn....good thing I read this first

Helen
January 19, 2013

Thanks , I was planning to pay ! Thanks God I read reviews !!

Your Comment
Guest

Pile of pooh

Reviewed By PeterPlum on January 1, 2013, UK

buy a subscription and then you still have to pay to access mutual matches. total crock of brown smelly stuff.
i hope they get uncovered and sent down the line.
much better sites out there...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Sucker born every minute - including me

Reviewed By MisterPickwick on December 28, 2012

I am so ashamed. I know better than to fork over money without doing research but "they" got me this time. On first view, it seems like a decent dating site - plenty of prospects, etc. So I spent at least an hour composing a profile, answered all the "chemistry" questions, put up one picture for starters, etc. And WOW! The emails start pouring in of women who "viewed" me, plus a few who WANT TO MEET ME! Nice! But there's a catch - you are not going to have any contact whatsoever with any of these people without subscribing.

OK, I've paid for dating sites before. Usually the rate is around $30 for one month. So I gamely get out the card and click to subscribe. I fill in all the information and get to where it's time to finalize the deal and "WHAT"?? A "one-time set up fee" of $25? Give me a break. At first I said "no way" but eventually I bit the bullet and coughed up $55... for one month. But hey, there were all these quality profiles out there that I wouldn't be able to contact or hear from so I decided to absorb the cost.

So within an hour or so I get a message telling me a have a mutual match. Awesome! This sounds great. But all I can see is a name and a picture. I can't see any profile information. It turns out that I can't take advantage of this whiz-bang mutual gadget without SPENDING MORE MONEY! Minimum is $20. For "coins". This is the point at which I realized I'd been had. I felt sick.

If you see this listed in any "best of 2012" lists, ignore it. Plenty of Fish isn't perfect but you can actually meet people without having to pay a dime.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 58 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Ark
December 28, 2012

Don't worry about it, Mr. Pickwick-I took the plunge and am fast finding the same thing as you-the only thing on your carousel that shows up is that the woman clicked she'd like to meet you-and I notice it's the same one every time-plus all the hidden charges-I think that they read how much you are on the site and then send you false hits-like a slot machine, it is rigged! Anyway, going to try Match.com or Plenty of Fish again-I use dead-end credit cards bought from Wal-mart or wherever so they can't keep billing me! Even though it is a little bit of a hassle and a little more expensive, I have heard too many horror stories about people not being able to make them quit billing-I think you can eventually, but in the meantime they have your twenty dollars-imagine if they do that to 50,000 people a month!

Lymm
December 30, 2012

Zoosk is a money TRAP..... They tempt you with ONE free message, and then they cut you off hoping you are interested to pay. So you pay and then find out the one your interested in didn't pay so they can respond. They filter each message. If you type in " i am not a member" The word member is blanked out. I spoke about plenty of fish ( another dating site) the next day, my site was down. Wow, this is the biggest controlled rip off. I felt like i left my free country, they manipulate to the fullest degree. RUN FROM ZOOSK!!!

Your Comment

Leave a Review