- Home - - Work at Home Reviews - - Contact -
 

MENU

World Financial Group Reviews

Legit or Scam?

 

World Financial Group (WFG) is a multi billion dollar financial services corporation with a hybrid business model.  It deals with several financial products including: Life Insurance, Variable Universal Life Insurance, Mutual Funds, Annuities, and Mortgages.

World Financial Group's hybrid model is very similar to that of Primerica.  It's basically the fusion of a standard financial services business with Network Marketing.  Meaning that they recruit and train new associates to go out and sell financial products while recruiting people to join the business opportunity.

Due to this practice many former recruits have called World Financial Group a Scam.  However, there is no way that World Financial Group is not an outright scam, it's a publicly traded firm that brokers real products.  Then why does it have such a notorious reputation? The reason that people call World Financial Group a Scam is because there are several downsides to this hybrid business model. 

First of they encourage recruiting and selling to friends and family. Second, although they screen recruits many lack a formal education, third, when recruiting they're often evasive and conceal the true nature of the business, marketing it as a salaried position, and finally WFG's varying product commissions cause some reps to give financial advise that would benefit them more than their customers.

People need to know what they are getting themselves into when they join the World Financial Group.  The opportunity requires investing heavily in your own financial education, which is not a bad thing.  Yet it also requires heavy sales and recruiting practices.

World Financial Group claims to have some very noble goals, such as spreading financial education to those in dire need of it.  The problem is that, at times, the needs of WFG reps to recruit and make money overshadow that goal and give WFG a bad reputation.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
World Financial Group?
If so, click here
 
Share This!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints for 'World Financial Group'

 

Average Rating is 2.62 out of 5 based on 330 reviews.

ripped off former client   Location unknown

5:36pm on July 23rd, 2014 

in 2007 the wfg thief and conman fostin nixon advised me to borrow $20,000 from one of their affiliates to invest in what was to be my retirement.and so I filled out an application and handed it to my so-called adviser the thief and liar fostin nixon. The loan was approved and the $20,000 was invested and immediately fell to $12,000 and the thief and liar fostin nixon told me that that the stock market was very weak and it will go up. In 2013 they (wfg) made headlines in Toronto appearing on CBC news for fraud and a host on other charges that were brought up against them .This was when I found that wfg has been sued many times in both USA and Cananda and one thing that keeps coming up was the subject of leverage loan investment and that wfg has a nasty habit of fraudulently misrepresenting clients' networth. I contacted Franklin Templeton and questioned them regarding the losses to this so-called investment only to find that like the rrsp these losses were scheduled losses which has nothing to do with the stock market and that the losses were a result of money being taken by wfg and fostin nixon. When I contacted wfg to complain they told me that fostin nixon was not my adviser and that my adviser was nixon's supervisor francis thazhamon. I demanded a meeting with him and met with him on the 6th of March 2013. When I met this thief and liar Francis Thazhamon I told him that they are all over the news for fraud and many other charges in 2012 alone wfg was found guilty of inaccurately recording clients' net worth 8 times in ontario alone. By this time my investment was worth $15,000 Francis Thazhamon presented to me falsified documents stating that my investment was worth $25,000 and that he too had lost this investment and that I am making a big fuss over small matters. I demanded from Francis Thazhamon a copy of my loan application and the went away for about two minutes and came back with a sealed envelope and I took it and left when I got home and opened the envelope there was no loan application but a trading ticket so i contacted B2B Bank from whom the loan was obtained and they provided me a copy of the loan application only to find that Francis Thazhamon and Fostin Nixon both had a hand in falsifying my loan application after i signed and dated the application they both kept my application for more than one month in which time they falsified my financial net worth by over inflating it by $35,000. Both Francis Thazhamon and Fostin Nixon removed the date that I originally put on the application and initialed them several times. When I contacted their compliance office they told my that these two misfits did nothing wrong and that they would not advise me not to terminate this investment but to switch to some other investment that they have with Bank of Nova Scotia. I was tired of being lied to so I terminated and severed all ties with wfg. The only thing that Francis and Fostin did not do was forge my signature and they are dirty and dishonest enough and who knows when they will start forging signatures

ripped off former client   toronto

10:03pm on July 5th, 2014 

in 2007 1 met a conman and thief working for wfg named Fostin Nixon who told me that wfg and himself can guarantee 10 to 12% return on investment. I did not know that investments are not guaranteed and so I got him to open an rrsp with franklin templeton. I was putting $200 per month in this investment and every month like clock work $60 sometimes $80 was coming out of this account and when ever I contacted this thief and liar Fostion Nixon about the 0 growth and the money coming out of this investment all he did was say that this si happening because the stock market is weak. After six months I contacted franklin templeton and they at templeton told me that the losses to me investment were scheduled losses that has nothing to do with the stock market.They also told me that the money being taking from my investment is going to wfg and Nostin Nixon and franklin templeton also told me that this trend will continue for as much as six years and that that it will take as long as 8 to 10 years before I begin to see any return on my investment and templeton was very surprised that my so-called advisor Fostin Nixon did not inform me of these "scheduled losses" to this investment. I terminated this investment immediately


Fraudinvestigator   Mississauga

12:05am on July 4th, 2014 

wfg is a scam and the person who is running the Mississauga Location 53 Village Centre Pl, Mississauga, ON L4Z 1V9 Sam Tabesh and the rest of his CRUE Member they are too good for making Fake Documents and getting the people investment loan,I hope they get punished for it just for couple of thousand $$$ they are playing with people life, and future, they should be shame of themselves and I hope and pray they die fro every single penny in their life one day........ they have destroy my family life.... this is one of the BIGGEST SCAM......

Jeffrey Morera   Toronto

11:03pm on June 9th, 2014 

@Orlando Lopez (Former Agent
I will be more than pleased to debate.
First of all if you are looking at this forum now, notice the post is in 2014, last post was from 2008.

WFG is for Leaders and people with a BIG heart and a BIG vision, if you can't go out of your way to forget your own compensation and think aout the families and do what is right for the families then of course the business is not for you because I agree with Orlando when he is saying there is a flaw however that flaw is NOT IN THE COMPANY that FLAW IS WITHIN OURSELVES if we can't do something we bash it, hence the past 15 pages however that matter not.
What matters is to hold the name of WFG high and mighty because this business is changing the lives of thousands of people across North America and Puerto Rico. Training done correctly leads to an agent who is quite literally a walking insurance/investment company & bank, WFG agents are knowledgeable on how to utilize the brokerage system with dozens of other VERY well known companies in your area to create a plan and lifestyle for families in which they can retire properly and learn to stop paying so much on taxes where it is NOT necessary.
That is called being SELF-EMPLOYED my friend, however how many people can say as a SE (Self-Employed) they, at their fingertips have the access to the top banks portfolios, funds, insurance companies best rates on health, life and car insurance, home, motorcycle, boat insurance whatever you need, travel insurance. Funeral planning with a way to find the cheapest funeral homes in the area along with pre planning so when death occurs which is a given to happen at some time at least because of WFG now the family less of a headache. How many people don't know the importance of life insurance or get the wrong kind, yes i can sell whole or universal, whole might pay well however so does every other product , whatever fits the CLIENT is what is given to them. In every case done correctly, you can not compete against the WFG brokerage system, the motto: No Family Left Behind

That's being a SE, easy and doing what is right for the families while making yourself an AMAZING income, all of a sudden you learn that there is another way to make $$$$! Become a BUSINESS OWNER! Teach this method of teaching families how to properly manage their money, save on taxes where they don't need to be paying it, manage their debt, protect their loved ones, open the eyes of hundreds of families. TEACH another person to do that for other families and guess what... You just started a very small business .. you are a SMALL BUSINESS OWNER.. After that you teach EVERYONE to do what is RIGHT for the families as I mentioned above and you will see... the thousands and thousands of dollars you make through this company by just utilizing their wonderful system and having a BIG heart, helping others and a BIG vision that you will teach so many others to go out and do the same a you have done with your life and so many other peoples lives.

Look for me on FaceBook, Jeffrey Morera, check out soon for videos on youtube.

And even if you want to talk personally give me a call, if you're in the Grand Toronto Area maybe we can meet up 647895847.
Skyp: JeffreyMorera

Ven   Huntington Beach

8:41pm on June 6th, 2014 

WFG is for bright and smart people,
They do help everyone with the good product
Also everything it's highly regulated , no one can do the business without passing background check and you must be legally in the USA...!
So? For those who don't join it's okay, in life real life,we need people to flip hamburgers ...

YK   San Francisco

12:26pm on June 5th, 2014 

I joined WFG in Nov 2013. I can tell you that it’s not easy business like any other business. The money not growing on the trees you have to work for it and work hard. Yes, recruiting process is most difficult of all. I am working in the hospital, I don’t have a problem to recruit people here, but I have problems to recruit to WFG. The working in the hospital, I will say it’s good but “Welcome to slavery! And a lot of stress of being lay off one day”. Am I right! Computer programmers, car salesman, Bank workers. Remember, NOONE likes pre-retirement age people. 80-95% chance you will get laid off by the age 60-65. What are you going to do next??? To be happy retired person you need at least 2 million dollars. Ask yourself do you have it? Why people are calling WFG a scam??? Are these people highly educated financial advisers? of course not and people are stupid enough to read this reviews and judge the company. The WFG agents are state licensed agents who are helping people to save money, invest your money in the right place. Some people think they are know everything, but at the end (before retirement) they are in trouble. People are saying about pyramid scheme, my questions are: if are you buying the car, any car dealership look like what?? Pyramid.. You are working in hospital, how is your structure look like? Pyramid.. What are people are talking about?? If you are intelligent person, you won’t listen anyone, have your own opinion..

Jane Doe   calif.

10:31pm on May 29th, 2014 

I had a friend look into WFG to help save her home. She was told if she would pay 3,000 dollars WFG could help her save her home. Well, guess what? She lost her home and WFG never refunded her money. I think they are a scam.If this happen to you, what would you think? I have seen where the higher ups would pay for people to go to Hollywood for a convention to hear how to learn the force as they call it, and learn how to get people to recruit other people to go out and convince people that WFG can help people. Yah, right. just liked they helped my friend with her 3,000 dollars to save her home. Oh not only that, my friend was trying to save her home because her husband just passed away.

Roberta   NC

8:21am on May 6th, 2014 

One thing for sure...the web is a great place to get things off your chest. I came to know WFG through my oldest son who joined them last summer. He is a well educated young man with ambition, and found this as a way to make money on his own terms, while providing a reasonable way for people of modest means to create wealth. It may not be for everybody, but what is??? If you don like the company's structure, stick to your day job! I recently became an associate and plan to keep my day job also. This world is so critical of things they either can't do, or don't understand!

JB   Seattle

7:52pm on April 19th, 2014 

WFG is a ligit if they are scam the Fed would busted them by now.
By working in public places over the years, I have known many wealthy seniors have always told me to start invest when you young, saving & invest in life insurance a must .

CPS   Vallejo

10:54pm on April 10th, 2014 

If you people did a little research you will find that all insurance companies use the same hiring practice. Go ahead and search Craigslist in any city and any state, you will find State Farm, Farmers, and all the others trying to recruit people needing jobs, and then guess what....you find that it does not pay an hourly wage but an opportunity to get work there once you get your license, commission as well. Typically the only people that get offered a wage are the receptionists. This is America so anyone from any state can apply for a license with certain limitations/restrictions of course. Bottom line: There are good salesman and bad salesman but the bad ones are not following the training they have received and the slight twist to try and con you into working with them, however, there are many who are very good and honest and don't have to "trick" you into buying the products. WFG offers exactly the same products as any of the other companies, it is not a scam at all. Period. Anyone who says its a scam is a liar, plain and simple. Their negativity stems from a bad sales rep doing a bad job and then trying to manifest it into a scam. Typical bozo's who blame everyone for their problems. There are literally thousands of these reps trying to sign up people in any way they can and as quickly as they can. This is what leads to the "scam" or misrepresented statements you read. This business is built out of warm leads which is defined by family friends and acquaintances. All of them run out of warm leads really fast and then they are left with trying to figure out how to get some more leads. There is nothing abnormal about this. It is a common problem for anyone who runs their own business or is in sales. Its hard to do unless you have some legitimate sales and marketing training. All the companies including WFG offer this training and support and rely on the agents to use the things they learn, but most of these new agents skip on these details leading to misrepresentation, or not following the script. You know whats funny? I laugh at the people who do the reviews stating that they are "real" insurance people, with series 7 and other legitimate licensing....what a joke, they are just as guilty as all the people who they are pointing fingers at, Go ahead and sign up with Prudential, or any of the big financial boys, once you sign on they all make you give them 100 leads from your family friends and acquaintances and expect you to close them using the same exact sales tactics to get leads. The only ones that do not use questionable tactics are those that are established and have their customer base in place. Take my advice, research the products that are being presented to you whether its from a rookie or an experienced salesman, and make a choice on the product that you really need. Pay your premiums and enjoy your new financial tool. It does not matter who you buy from because they all get a commission and that's OK!!! These salesman earn their commissions whether they are experienced, young, old or rookies. Its just like leaving tips at a restaurant, if the service is good tip them and if your insurance rep says or does something stupid, tell them to calm down and give you the facts. I have personally been screwed by the well dressed smiling salesman with all the right answers as well, and its not their fault, its mine for not doing my homework. I for one have done lots of business with Wells Fargo, Fidelity, bank of America, Travelers, Transamerica and WFG etc. etc. etc. and they are all the same, exactly. The only real difference is in the fine print so look for what the true costs of it are (front loads etc.) I have a few products with WFG over the last few years and so far so good. It did take a few tries by the salesman to sell me but he learned that the harder he tries the more I don't buy. He finally settled down, gave me the facts and I compared and believe it or not he had a good product so I signed up for a few. He learned a lesson too about selling and that is do what is best for your customer and forget about your commissions. He is now a good friend. For those of you that say its a scam then you should be ashamed of yourself, its not WFG' or the salesman's fault, its yours. I'll leave you with this, the insurance/financial industry is heavily regulated so a scam is really not the right word, its just bad service you are all complaining about. Thanks for reading.

Hansel   Orange

6:11pm on April 10th, 2014 

I Agree with Chuck from Anaheim's view of what WFG is about. It's a churn and burn environment
First 3 days your excited
in 3 weeks your hopeful, in 3 months your anxious, the following 3 months, your effort gas time and money you spent for the pay I made more money flipping burgers. After a year you have burned thru leads (friends, family and ex co-workers) and your down line is waking up to the reality of systemic problems of lack of leads qualified leads and marketing support and beginning to starve for results. After your first year you need to find another solution then you quit, the branch closes after another year of business. 3 years has passed where the company devours its self then the cycle starts again with a new office. Only the main office or major branch is open feed from this cycle. The fact is nobody stays longer that 3 years, only the ones that started 7-6 years ago will stay.

Mr B   NC

9:40pm on April 7th, 2014 

Dear review makers,
I am not an agent, nor am I an insured from any insurance protection. I read all of the above reviews and would like to leave a moral comment out of all. You know what; If something unusual/illegal happens in US, FBI catches that. Don't worry about who does what, just work to earn your living and if you can work for others, make it-God helps you. Don't talk negatives, you have the option to keep away if you dislike. Someone doing something legal is already smarter than you, sooner or later you may need to follow that. Your whatever degrees are for your personal development and for nation building, not for negativities. Preserve your personality pl.

jasper conner   san diego

1:24am on March 12th, 2014 

I go by facts only not the "oh it happened to me" because fact is there is claims irs is a scam, government scams, mcdonald is a scam etc. However there is a company called standford financial group and that was shutdown due to ponzi scheme. However wfg lasted for over 20 years. Like any financial company they get inspected by SEC, FTC, and FINRA every year. Secondly any product that has death benefit and cash value which a wfg agent offered me is great in my book unlike my 401k. And recruiting which I was not interested is ok for other people if they like financials because recruiting is no different then hiring someone in. So I dont understand whats all the fuss is about. Lastly you can blame the agent but not the business that only makes you sound stupid

Been around   Seattle, WA

8:41am on March 3rd, 2014

WFG is not a scam or a pyramid. They actually help middle class to high net worth individuals with a comprehensive plan that helps their clients. They are more interested in helping than New York Life, and and Stock brokerage firm. No good deed goes unpunished though because there are ignorant dumb people out there who don't know a thing about money, insurance or investing and they are scared to do the right thing and guess what? They end up losing all their money because they are too dumb and inexperienced to recognize a good thing when they have it! WFG is a company that doesn't push one product, they have the best products from the best companies. Wealthy people understand this and so do intelligent people. It's only dumb people that can't see the value with WFG. But they never will be wealthy or intelligent so at least someone tried to educate them.

ThinkerDoer   chicago

7:14pm on February 18th, 2014 

You can google any company and come up with negativity...if that is what you are looking for. WFG is a great company for people who want to run a business. If you are employee minded and don't want to change, it is not for you. WFG is changing the way the financial services industry works, THAT IS WHY THEY RECRUIT. Jobs recruit, universities recruit, the arny recruits, lol. WFG sits down with everyday people and helps families. They have access to over 140 companies so they can offer you something you can afford based on what you say you need. As opposed to those with quotas and limited financial products, who have to convince you that you NEED their product. Stop being afraid and see for yourself.

Michele G   Los Angeles

11:17pm on February 17th, 2014 

Lots of variables to consider before getting involved with WFG.
Funny how that most of the leadership out of the El Segundo location are either gone or in a couple of cases locked up.
BUYERS BEWARE!!

A k   Surrey

11:09pm on January 10th, 2014

I think it is legit.

Marty   California

10:30pm on January 6th, 2014

I was approached by a friend who has just started at WFG looking to recruit me. I was unable to get a clear understanding what the job itself entitled.

The job itself isn't really something I would be interested in doing, but I have read through several responses on here and it sounds like it's 50/50 on peoples experience with the company. I don't feel like joining in something with that kind of risk. I myself do have a college degree, but I know my friend who has just started there dropped out of college to work there. I am a bit curious to there hiring methods, do they really give anyone a chance regardless of education or past experience?

Bob   TN

11:09pm on January 5th, 2014 

Mona, you spelled LOSERS incorrectly.

Unemployed   CA

11:54am on December 30th, 2013 

Having been recently laid off, a rep from WFG called stating he had been given a copy of my resume as a referral from a trusted person and had a job opening for which I was the perfect candidate. After repeated questioning, it took him several minutes to disclose he found my resume on CalJobs. (Misrepresentation #1).

I further questioned him if he read my resume and understood my qualifications, education, work history and licenses--which he said he did and I had the experience required to fill an opening for a financial advisor. My career has been in banking, lending, real estate and compliance; not as a financial advisor (Misrepresentation #2).

Then I asked if he was the person who could make a hiring decision or if he was a recruiter for the company. He avoided answering the question by stating he wanted to invite me to a meeting where I could learn about the company--the perfect set-up for a MLM.

If they start out with two misrepresentations and avoiding answering direct questions, then there are too many red flags to even consider this company any further.


Page: -1-   2    3    4    5    6   

Your Name:

Your Location:

Product/Service Rating:

Your Review:

 

 

 

 

Learn to Make Money Online Using Our Guide


Popular New Articles

How to Make Money Taking Online Surveys
Essential Steps for a Successful Online Business
Hot Tips For Saving Money

Work at Home
Job Listings

Administrative Jobs
At Home Transcription
Customer Service Jobs
Data Entry Jobs
Home Accounting Jobs
Home Writing Jobs
Medical Transcription Jobs

Compensation Disclosure

Review Categories

» Business Opportunities
» Business Gurus
» Data Entry Jobs
» eBay Programs
» Internet Marketing
» Investment
» Motivational
» Network Marketing
» Paid Online Surveys
» Real Estate