Unlock Your Luck Reviews

Unlock Your Luck
Based on 22 Reviews
Review It

About Unlock Your Luck

Unlock Your Luck is a new website which acts as an introduction for users who are new to penny auction sites, explaining to them the basics and giving them a chance to test out the format for themselves.

When you arrive at UnlockYourLuck.com, you are automatically given “free tokens” to use on the limited auctions available on their website. These tokens will expire within 24 hours so you are encouraged to use them right away.

Once you “insert a token” on an auction item you are interested in, the price of that item increases by one penny, and that token is considered used and cannot be returned to you, regardless of whether you win or lose the item. If you win the item, you will be required to pay the final auction price, as well as Shipping and Handling, to receive it.

In their “How It Works” section of the website, there is a statement which clearly states, “There is only one charge associated with using our Unlock Your Lock: paying for an item you’ve won,” (my italics). But unfortunately, this is not true.

The reality of this website is that it is a portal website for the penny auction site, ZBiddy. And though you might pay only one fee to Unlock Your Luck, once you’ve won an item, all of your account information will be automatically transferred over to ZBiddy, and an account will be created for you there.

According to people who have used Unlock Your Luck, registering for an account at ZBiddy results in an automatic charge on your credit card of $79. This transfer of information and the resulting charge is not clearly outlined on their website.

In fact, because their “How It Works” section actually emphasizes the fact that you will only ever pay one charge to Unlock Your Luck, they are directly misleading people who then end up upset, with complaints about how Unlock Your Luck is a scam, and not at all legit.

Penny auctions are an extremely controversial topic; some people consider them an entertaining way to purchase items, while others think they are deceptive – a covert form of gambling, with some sites being accused of using bidding bots to raise auction prices. For more information, look at our article “Penny Auctions Not Always a Bargain.”

If you have any experience with this website, please leave your Unlock Your Luck reviews below.

Related Articles

22 ‘Unlock Your Luck’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Guest

Not happy

Reviewed By Sarah Jones  on November 29, 2013, Muncie

I am upset that they charged me $79.00 and I only bid a penny.
I want it off my card or I will take other actions. Not fair and very decitful.
I did not know what I was doing. Very unfair.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Upset and ready to sue
December 02, 2013

I fell for the yap your $79.00 trick a few days ago and tried to get in contact with these crooked people but to no avail. My money comes from my being on Disability and I am not very knowledgeable about how to go about undoing what's happened. I went from so-called just only being billed a penny from my account which I thought was pretty small and safe to being robbed for an extra $79.00 that I had no intention on spending. Being on a fixed income I do not have any money whatsoever to waste. Besides writing these words to tell everyone else not to fall for the Okey doke I really don't know what else to do. However, I know what not to do now. Unlock your luck is garbage! Do Not Ever Trust Them! I am presently hoping to find a lawyer that will take this case of mine and help me get my money back and possibly help everyone else they've robbed by putting Unlock Your Luck out of business!

December 19, 2013

if you find some one to sue them please let me know because they did the same thing to me and im on disabilty with a 10 year grand darughter my email is obarrcheryl@yahoo.com

Your Comment
Guest

beware this site charges credit card without permission

Reviewed By Rip offed on November 7, 2013, Florida

Was offered this site thu PHC, a charge was added to my charge card after receiving free tokens from PCH. Won two items and proceeded to check out with a 79.00 charge added without my permission, needs to be reported.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Vicki
November 19, 2013

You bet it's a scam, some of my friends had use penny auctions and they had good results and were happy. unfortunately, I picked the wrong one. I was on ZBiddy, looked legit, tried it with one of my "free" tokens, won the gift card, then the screen went to my invoice and i had been charged $79.00 for this so called Unlock your luck. not once did the information say anything about this charge. STAY AWAY from this site. going thru my credit card company to dispute the charge

December 19, 2013

they took the money and i dont get anything can not even get in contac with them

Your Comment
Guest

BIG SCAM!

Reviewed By Shannon on October 2, 2013, Nashville, AR

I went on this website because I was taking a paid survey and didn't have any idea that I would get hit for 84.00. Tried calling the company and got some guy that I couldn't understand about 60 percent of what he was saying. He just kept saying the same thing over and over again and me telling him I wanted my money back. Offered me the gas voucher which I refused. I kept telling him I wanted to speak to someone over him and he actually put me on hold and CAME BACK with his same speech and told me it would be so many days before someone could get back to me.............blah blah blah. I got no where. I hung up and called my credit card company which then has to block my card and issue me a new one. Might get my 84.00 back after they conduct THEIR investigation. UGH!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Pamela
October 19, 2013

I agree, BIGGG SCAMMMM. It froze my computer even after I oput in the CC info. I am callin my CC company now to complain

dansi
November 30, 2013

they just charged me $79 a for penny. totally scam

Your Comment
Guest

Yes! You all saved me

Reviewed By Martha on September 23, 2013

I came to this site and saved my $. It didn't look right so I googled and learned before I paid for the card the SCAM. Thank you everyone.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

SCAM!

Reviewed By Mary on September 10, 2013, Pittsburgh

I fell for the same thing. I had people telling me that its heat, but its not. They charged me $79 for a bid package that I never asked for. I just don't want them wiping my account clean. Thats what I'm really afraid of. I'm going to call my bank tomorrow and call Zbiddy and demand a refund and have them cancel my account immediately! This isn't what I signed up for. DO NOT ever make an account on that site. Its a total scam!

PS. Have they wiped out any accounts before or do they only take the $79?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Lois Driggers
September 11, 2013

I fell for the same thing.I can not get on their website or get anywhere near them.I can't find any where they have charged me. My paypal account has not been charged yet since 9/10/13 I have had no email to confirm buying it.In general.I have been ignored.I will check back later for any new devlopments

Skip Royeton
October 26, 2013

I think I may have lucked out. I entered all the information on the Purchase page. The thing is, the idiotic program refused to accept my address and zip code. I went back and deleted all of the information. Thank you everybody. I thought there was something wrong when they refused to provide a way to contact them!

Your Comment
Guest

Almost fill out my bank info

Reviewed By Jay on September 10, 2013

I checked out this site and did the free tokens and won a barnes n noble gift card. I sign up only halfway until I saw the filling out your info card and seen the price I have to pay $79.01. I stopped right there and decide to look at reviews, boy I almost fell for this one and I should have know better. Reading the reviews saved me from filling out my debit card to them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

refund through Zbiddy

Reviewed By EW on August 8, 2013

Same story here: wanting to pay my 0.01 $ gift card I had supposedly won, I found myself paying for another 79.- $ for a bid package.
After a bit of digging in the small print I found the part where it says that you can only actually purchase what you have been bidding on once you have bought a bid package (of course no one had the choice of actually doing that knowingly and maybe choosing a small amount of bids for a small amount money...) So the so-called 25 "free bids" do not work.
To cut a long story short: I got hold of Zbiddy's billing department (through my bank) and after some back and forth while the lady on the phone tried to persuade me to use the bids, I got the promise of a refund. Call 877-403 6981 if you're in the same situation. Good luck!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
JACKYWACKY
September 05, 2013

WOW,,,TOOK ME FROM AUGUST 19TH TO NOW SEPTEMBER 5TH TO FIND A WAY TO CONTACT THESE PEOPLE..fOR A 1 CENT BID OF A DUNKIN DOUGHNUT GIFT CARD GOT BILLED FOR 30.00 BECAUSE OF THE BID PACKAGE..HAD ONLY $39.00 IN MY ACCOUNT SO THEY COULDNT BILL ME THE $80.00 BID PACKAGE PRICE.

THEY WILL RETURN ONLY 50% OF THE 29.00 BILLED TO MY ACCOUNT..i AM HAPPY AND WILL GIVE THEM MY 15.00 FOR BEING SO DUMB ..DO NOT TRY TO SAVE 4.99 BY SPENDING 30.00..ALL IN ALL I CAN NOW BREATH THAT THE MATTER HAS BEEN CLEARED..

STAY AWAY FROM THESE PENNY BIDS..YOU WILL NOT BE HAPPY...

JACKYWACKY AIEA HAWAII

Your Comment
Guest

SCAM BEWARE

Reviewed By dave on August 7, 2013, NC

I fell for their scam just like everyone else, i was able to get 2 five dollar gift cards from cvs & bestbuy at 1 cent each that took forever to arrive.My card was charged 79.02 for a bid package and 2 gift cards, i also was charged an international fee of 2.37,all with out my authorization .I contacted my bank and filed a fraud dispute i was returned 79.00 and lost the 2.37. after all this lesson learned. stay away form the site SCAM SCAM SCAM

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

ZBiddy Rip Off

Reviewed By Mike on August 7, 2013, Chicago

I bought bids and won (1)$ 50.00 Gift card at Restaurant.com (1) $ 25.00 Gift card at Restaurant.com (1) $25.00 Gift Card of my choice promptly receive an email informing me that I had won and paid for the above mentioned items and explaining to me that I would be receiving an email in 3 business day with the gift certificates, however I never receive the emails.I have had to call there customer service department every 3 days 6 times only to here them say that the item is back-ordered and stuck in the shipping dept.Today 8/7/2013 I finally got a customer service rep give me the codes for the (1)$ 50.00 Gift card at Restaurant.com and (1) $ 25.00 Gift card at Restaurant.com. However when tried to go to Restaurant.com and select a restaurant and receive my certificate, much to my amazement the codes I was given we for (1) $25.00 gift card and (1) $15.00 gift card.I am currently waiting for the customer service to rectify this issue and also issue me the last $25.00 Gift Card of my choose.They are completely ripping off customers at every turn and you must stay on top of them constantly.In my opinion this company is not honest and is not living up to there end of the deal.STAY AWAY AND SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Roberta
August 13, 2013

I two went to this website and got scammed but thanks to someone else I was able to get a phone number to call I won something for 2 cents and was charged an extra 79.00 dollars along with my purchase which brought me to 79.02 I tried to call my bank and got no where they said I needed to contact them so I was grateful to that person who provded the number its 1-877-403-6981 I wasn't given all my moneyback but I was able to get a 39.50 refund plus my bid order plus a 100.00 gas voucher that I could use anywhere. But I will be reporting them to the BBB because it is a shady company and I will no longer trust things that sound to good to be true. Good Luck and God Bless

Your Comment
Guest

Thanks

Reviewed By Josh on August 7, 2013

Thanks for writing this article because this actually looks semi-legitimate. Does anyone know if the actual z-biddy site does this too?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

SCAM

Reviewed By DON'T DO IT on August 3, 2013, PEARL RIVER, LA

Won a $5.00 CVS card on 6/27/13 and decided to sign up. Figured had nothing to lose since I would be getting a gas card. Nope. You get a gas "voucher" where you have to send in your gas receipts one at a time. Once you sign up with Unlock Your Luck, they lock you out of their web site so you can no longer log in. If they were truly legit, there would be no reason for them to do this. You then become a meber of Zbiddy. I sure thought I was much smarter than this. Hope this helps someone else.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
SCAM
August 03, 2013

P.S. Forgot to mention, I'm still waiting for the $5.00 CVS card -- I've been told several times "it's in the mail."

Floshideaway
August 04, 2013

I am still waiting for my restaurant.com gift card and my gas card. They have not answered my emails and their "live chat: is never available. Scam scam scam,

Your Comment
Guest

It's A Scam

Reviewed By Vicki on July 24, 2013, Charleston, SC

I, too, received 25 introductory credits, & promptly won a $5 CVS gift card at a purchase price of 1ยข. I tried to pay for it with a prepaid card with a very low balance - there was more than enough to cover my purchase - but I kept getting a message that I had insufficient funds. I hate to think what I would have been dealing with if I had used a real debit or credit card.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Almost signed up

Reviewed By Karin on July 23, 2013

I received a link from My Points and decided to check it out. They give you 25 tokens to try out the site. I made a bid for a $5 Walmart gift card for $0.01 and won. Decided to check out the reviews before signing up. Thank goodness that I found this site. Now I know it is a scam because I don't remember reading anywhere in the terms & conditions about the $79 fee. The Attorney General of the state where they are located should be made aware of this scam. Glad I didn't enter any credit card information, was going to use a prepaid card with a couple of dollars on it, but it might now have went through because of this. Total scammers and these penny auction sites should be shut down.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Get Your Money Back, Pt. 2

Reviewed By Grip711 on July 22, 2013, Bourbonnais, IL

Call 1-877-ZBIDDY-0 (1-877-924-3390) and tell them to cancel your account and to refund your money. Be very persistent. Don't stop until they agree to refund your money. Don't accept any of their offers until they agree to refund your money. Then you will get this result.
This email was sent 7/22/2013 at 11:13am.

Dear ******,

Your refund for amount $74 has been processed. You should see the refund in your account in 5-7 business days, depending on your financial institution.

Please feel free to contact us for any further queries.

Regards,

Penny Garcia
billing@z-cares.com

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Get Your Money Back!!!

Reviewed By Grip711 on July 22, 2013, Bourbonnais, IL

If you dig deep enough, you can get these worms! You have to call the mother site: ZBIDDY at 1-877-ZBIDDY-0 (that's 1-877-924-3390). You will get a live operator that will do their best to defend this very low-graded company (my opinion). After offering an $100 gas card to pacify me and hoping that I will drop my request for reimbursement of my funds to my card; I told them that I did not want anything from their company and to cancel my account with them. However, since they claimed that the $5 card had already been processed to be shipped, I had to settle for a refund of $74 and pay the full amount for the card instead of $0.01. So, everyone that has been screwed by UnlockYourLuck and/or ZBIDDY, call the above number and GET YOUR MONEY BACK!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Unlock Your Pocket Book

Reviewed By A Morgan on July 21, 2013, Hope Mills, NC

Come to find out you have No Luck with Unlock Your Luck.

It's automatic. With your free bid tokens, you will win a prize for just a penny.

Next they'll be a screen telling you the value of the prize minus shipping charge for a total savings of $x.xx

You'll enter your payment information. You'll hit submit. You card will be charge, not for shipping but $79.00 for a bid package at Zbiddy.

No confirmation screen to alert you of the full charge. If you use unlock your luck, you will be charged $79.00 without your expressed permission.

Why Zibiddy set up such a scam with their Unlock Your Luck campaign is a mystery to me. Not it is a scam.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

A complete scam

Reviewed By robyn on July 8, 2013, texas

Hit my card for 79.00, they should be outlawed, I will now be fighting this charge!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
P.J.
July 12, 2013

I was led to a survey attached to a federal government program. The survey purported to be legit due to this connection. Within 2 hours a charge to my debit card was posted. I have, of course, notified all concerned including the Better Business Bureau and The Oregonian consumer hotline. BEWARE!!
So far the bank and myself have not located a phone number for these charlatans.

Your Comment
Guest

The worst!

Reviewed By Lynette on July 3, 2013, midwest

Like all the others, I didn't know I was signing up for anything. Then I get a thank you from Zbiddy and a bill. I don't want to play their games. Especially at that price. I contacted my bank card and if it gets cleared, I will take it to the BBB and attorney general. It is a scam.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Robyn
July 08, 2013

It hit my card for 79.00...I will be fighting them over this very very deceptive!

Your Comment
Guest

Joey

Reviewed By Joey on June 26, 2013, Kentwood MI

They charged me $88 for a thing i won that was 37 cents and i don't know how to cancel it

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Mary
July 21, 2013

u unlock it ripped me off, before I knew what was happening. I got charged $81,00. I want this amt, canceled.

Your Comment
Guest

Website should be fined!

Reviewed By Sharon on June 20, 2013, Irwin, PA

Thought I was paying $.01 for a $5.00 gift card and was charged $79.01! I did not mark that I wanted a bid package and they did not give you a review screen before they put your order through. Sent them a message and am waiting to hear from them - we'll see how helpful their customer service is? Sent my bank a message to stop payment (hope that doesn't cost me too). My suggestion..... Stay away from this website!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
bill
July 25, 2013

same with me I e-mailed them 6 times and waited 24 hr. then sent two more have yet to get a response

Your Comment

Leave a Review