The Cheap Investor Reviews

About The Cheap Investor

TheCheapInvestor.com is the online home of the Bill Mathews’ stock investment newsletter of the same name, The Cheap Investor, which he claims anyone can use for free information and analysis for money earning investment opportunities.

According to the website, Bill Mathews says that of the last 243 stocks that he has picked, 241 have gone on to make the investors money, with average gains of 162%. And new subscribers to his website can receive his next stock pick, along with detailed analysis, for free.

Mathews says that many aspects of the financial industry have changed since he established his newsletter in 1981, but the most basic method of successful stock investing is still true: the best way to make money in the stock market is to buy stocks before they get expensive and then “ride them up.”

The Cheap Investor says that though that is a simple philosophy, it is hard for the average person to tell the difference between stocks which are undervalued and will rise in price and stocks that are “garbage.” This is where the newsletter becomes useful.

The newsletter will give you Bill Mathews’ stock picks along with detailed analysis of why he believes they are good choices. You will also have an option to get a free copy of his eBook “Making BIG Money in Small Stocks,” which has “proven” profit making strategies.

However, all financial newsletters including The Cheap Investor give a disclaimer saying that all advice they provide through their publication should be double checked either through your own personal research or through a professional investment advisor.

These publications take no legal responsibility for any negative consequences you may incur from following their advice, and as always, the best rule of investing is to never invest more money than you are able to lose comfortably.

And though this website says it will never sell your information to a third party company, they do provide links to third party associates through their website and publications. Once you leave their site for a partner company, you must always remember that you are dealing with a new set of policies that you should investigate before buying a product or providing personal info.

If you have any experience with this newsletter, please leave The Cheap Investor reviews below.

Related Articles

7 ‘The Cheap Investor’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

So Far So Bad

Reviewed By J K on December 19, 2014

I am in the third week of my subscription and so far I can testify that this website is entirely screwed up and the customer service sucks. Most of my emails have gone unanswered. Some links on the website don't work. I complained that I could not navigate to the October, Novermber and December "Advanced Wealth Newsletters" and could only access the September issue. They responded with a link that did not work and then informed me that had some "technical difficulties" getting the October, Novermber and December issues on-line and that they would be available "tomorrow". "Tomorrow" has come and gone.

Does that mean that the subscribers to the October, November and December issue are still waiting? What nonsense. I suggested that they simply put the October, November and December issues right below the September issue which is EASILY accessed.

This is one very strange and utterly incompetently run website and that is the nicest way of putting it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
2 Reviews

Fraud

Reviewed By Πανδώρα Άγαδακις on March 10, 2014, Vancouver, Washington

How is this guy not in jail??? He seems to think he can play the short game, including planing reviews here, but how does he think he's not going down? Watch for the news...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

By Design, All Stock Pick Newsletters are a Fraud/Scam

Reviewed By Leo on November 12, 2013

If anyone could truly and consistently and legally pick winners in the market, they would quietly cash in on their ability.

It would be absurd for them to bother writing, editing, publishing, and customer-servicing a lousy $40 newsletter, when they can easily make vast amounts in the market trading their winners with the click of a mouse.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
john
November 15, 2013

I disagree completely. He can make way more money selling his picks then he can investing in them...if he wasn't making good picks don't you think people would stop using him?

Bry
January 17, 2014

The whole problem with The Cheap Investor is that if ANY stock he picks goes up even 1 cent after he recommends it, he crows: "I WAS RIGHT AGAIN!!!" Anyone can do that. What makes a great stock pick letter are price targets to get out at, whether a profit or a loss. That shows integrity and responsibility toward the subscriber. The Cheap Investor does not do that at all. If you are a newbie in investing, it is almost guaranteed you will lose money with this letter.

Your Comment
Guest

Poorly disguised scam?

Reviewed By John Smith on October 14, 2013, New York

When I hear anyone talking about a strategy in which they can pick a staggering amount of winners, its ALWAYS too good to be true - the simple fact is if they were that good, they would already be living off their riches on some island in the Bahamas, not preserving on a newsletter that's 31 years old.

But of course, I had to give this guy benefit of the doubt before discarding him aside as another fraudster. What was surprising was how easy it was to uncover the flaw in his returns.

if you go to his track record:http://thecheapinvestor.com/track-record/
the very first stock alone gives it all away:
June 2013 Synacor (SYNC) 3.59 (recommended price) 3.98 (high price)11% (return)
this is the data he publishes - however, a simple look at a google finance chart on this stock show that the price of Synacor DROPPED from 3.98 to 3.59 and continued to plummet. in fact, if you bought that stock at 3.59, per his recommendation, you wouldn't have been in the money for a single day after that - the stock has continued to sell off, and currently (as of Oct 14th) is a paltry 2.38, a MASSIVE LOSS of 35% in just 3 months after the cheap investor's stellar recommendation.

I haven't even bothered to go down the list and find other discrepancies, but if the top one was so obviously flawed, I would imagine the rest couldn't be much better.

BUYER BEWARE.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 27 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Matt
October 18, 2013

You probably should have kept going down the list. Not all of them are going to be winners, but the majority are.

Shawn
October 27, 2013

Just going through the first 4 in June, if you bought all 4 you made very nice returns. SYNC dropped, but everything else made 10-100% returns.

Both DRRX and EVI doubled...

Leo
November 12, 2013

it's easy to pick winners in the market these days, even for me, since most everything keeps going up. Let's see how his picks fared around the 2007-2011 period, if anyone has been a long term member.

Ma Davis
November 28, 2013

"The Cheap Investor" isn't picking winners that have long term gains he is a stock promoter running a pump and dump scheme and pump and dump schemes are not actually illegal if you meet the requirements of the SEC by disclosing your ownership of the promoted stock and all information you are giving to promote the stock is true. The "followers" or subscribers do indeed make money on the picks but have to sell before the play is over (the dump). The position holders left holding shares when the pump is over are "left holding the bag" and take the losses so the sellers can make their profits. This is pure stock manipulation but is not illegal. People skeptical of his ability to predict winners are naive because he isn't picking winners he is manufacturing them by creating the demand in low float stocks. You can still be a part of his game or any stock promoters pump and dump game for that matter and make plenty of money if you have the stomach for it and the patience, attention to detail and timing to carry out the game by the rules. The price drop you see after the high shown in his track record are after everyone following him sells at his recommendation.

Your Comment
Guest

Great Information

Reviewed By Joe  on August 21, 2013, NYC

I have been a subscriber for 7 months and the stocks recommended have been consistent with the volatility of the market,especially being penny stocks. The letter focuses on valuable companies that are undervalued and not recognized by Wall Street. This allows for the investor with a small amount of capital to purchase a greater quantity of stock which can result in a larger percentage of gain. I have taken profits from several stock picks that have reached 30% to 70% gains. In most scenarios the selling decision is left to the investor’s discretion. So far I am presently satisfied with the performance of most of the stocks, considering the market’s volatility.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 21 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 7 Comments
Daniel Jackson
October 13, 2013

Funnily enough this exact same review was posted on a different web-site over two years ago. Because of this I would suggest this is almost certainly someone involved with the newsletter trying to drum up a good reputation. I will definitely not be joining now, any newsletter that needs to write it's own reviews can't be that good!.

I post the link for the original review
http://stockgumshoe.com/reviews/cheap-investor/#comment-46570

It is the second review down, again by Joe.

John Smith
October 14, 2013

not to mention once again completely flawed logic which seems plausible to a small investor - " This (penny stocks) allows for the investor with a small amount of capital to purchase a greater quantity of stock which can result in a larger percentage of gain. "

Once again buyers, it doesnt matter whether you buy 100 shares @ $0.01 or 1 share @ $1, you have spent the same amount of money (1 dollar in this example), and your return will be exactly the same based on the %age movement of the stock!

Leo
November 12, 2013

I think many people just feel that it's a lot easier for a $0.01 share to go to $0.02 (double), than for a $40 share to go to $80. They feel it's only a "relatively or psychologically small" $0.01 rise, versus a $40 rise for the other stock.

Dan G
November 19, 2013

Great find, Daniel Jackson! Hilarious and sad all at the same time. I'm usually the guy putting text strings from reviews into search engines, so congrats on beating me to it and exposing this fraud.

Max Davis
November 28, 2013

Leo: It's not just a feeling, it's a fact. John Smith's logic is the flawed one. Small cap stocks easily have the volatility to shift by a higher percentages than mid or large cap stocks. Look at historical data to see this is statistically true. I don't know if "The Cheap Investor" is indeed successful with his particular newsletter but small cap stocks certainly have more potential even if you have a large balance account for large positions. "The Cheap Investor" isn't picking winners that have long term gains he is a stock promoter running a pump and dump scheme and pump and dump schemes are not actually illegal if you meet the requirements of the SEC by disclosing your ownership of the promoted stock and all information you are giving to promote the stock is true. The "followers" or subscribers do indeed make money on the picks but have to sell before the play is over (the dump). The position holders left holding shares when the pump is over are "left holding the bag" and take the losses so the sellers can make their profits. This is pure stock manipulation but is not illegal. People skeptical of his ability to predict winners are naive because he isn't picking winners he is manufacturing them by creating the demand in low float stocks. You can still be a part of his game or any stock promoters pump and dump game for that matter and make plenty of money if you have the stomach for it and the patience, attention to detail and timing to carry out the game by the rules.

Bry
January 17, 2014

No. He simply recommends something, and if it goes up even 1 cent, he can claim he picked another winner. That is how it works. I could choose 100% winners that way too!

I've yet to see a dedicated scammer that doesn't plant reviews. "Joe".

Your Comment

Leave a Review