- Home - - Work at Home Reviews - - Contact -
 

MENU

SurveyLot.com Review

...Is Survey Lot a Scam?

 

SurveyLot.com is another company claiming that they can show you how to make money taking surveys and evaluating products.  Many people sign up with them because their services are free but quickly realize the real costs.

The SurveyLot website is simply a collection of various free and well known survey companies.  In exchange for this information SurveyLot.com reserves the right to send you various offers and advertisements from their sponsors.

Normally this wouldn't be a big deal, you basically agree to receive some emails from them in exchange for access to a survey database.  However, recently SurveyLot has been associated with a blatant check fraud scam.

They send their members on a "Secret Shopper" mission to evaluate the services of a local money-gram.  People receive a check for around $3,800 which they're told to cash at their bank then use the money-gram to send some thing like $3,400 to a false name.  The customer is told that after the wiring fees they can keep the difference, usually, $200-$300.

The problem is that the SurveyLot.com check is bogus and if you cash it you'll be held accountable for repaying the money.  This is an awful scheme since these scammers' operations are based outside the US and it's difficult to find them after the fact.  Thus, the folks who fell for this are left to payback the money on their own.

I would recommend staying away from SurveyLot.com, there's really no point in using their services.  You can find everything in their database on your own and spare yourself the headache of dealing with their spam emails and potential scams.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
SurveyLot.com?
If so, click here
 
Share This!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints for 'SurveyLot.com'

 

Average Rating is 1.12 out of 5 based on 36 reviews.

Tanisha   Texas

4:53pm on October 18th, 2011

I was leery from the get go, so I checked it out and boy am I glad I did!!!

Ann   Arizona

8:37pm on October 17th, 2011 

I received a check for $9700 for survey I never filled out. Went on internet see the comments from you and glad I DID I would have lost money.


Momma G   Nebraska

5:45pm on May 31st, 2011

My husband just got one of these checks in the mail. The bank is real - located in St. Louis and some Sales company printed on the front is real, although not involved with whatever this scam is. You don't get something for nothing, so I check it out. It took me awhile as Survey Lot Service is located somewhere within the body of the instructions. Couldn't find anything fishy in the rest of the names. But the person to call obviously is foreign and when I checked the area code for the number it came up Ontario, Canada. Thanks for the warning.

A.   OHIO

12:21pm on March 6th, 2011 

I just got one of their checks in the mail. Thank you so much for posting this info! Do you know who I should contact about this, it is illegal to make fake checks, right?

Katherine   California

9:44pm on September 17th, 2010 

I googled "survey lots" before joining and see from this web site they are a scam. I find it hilarious and many more things (like criminal) that they have a paid google ad on this page

Janet Sage   Victoria BC

8:37pm on July 26th, 2010

Thank you all. I am on disability, looking for a way forward. I did sign on with Surveylot, then felt unsure and hesitated for weeks. Gut instinct wins again. Thank you everyone for posting these reviews!!! I can survive long enough to begin working again. Not sure what the 'Program Rating' box is for so left it blank. Thank you to the host of this site.

Nigel   Canada

4:01am on July 24th, 2010

You should read the main page of the website people, they clearly state that IF you do receive one of these checks you are not supposed to do anything with them. P.S make sure a check goes through before sending anything, especially a moneygram. its understandable if you spend the moneyt at stores. (you can refund, plus its not a ridiculous amount of money). BE SMART

Beck   Australia

1:45am on June 13th, 2010 

I have just signed up to Survey lot . and have just come across all this and now know its a scam how can i cancel the registration or cant i. am i in trouble?

Tina   Texas

7:40pm on October 28th, 2009 

I unfortunately fell for this scam. I should of checked it out first. If I would of waited two more days to get the money out of the bank I would of been ok. My bank held onto it for only 3 days, not long enough for it to come back as a bad check. Now I am responsible to pay back over 4,000 to my bank. I will not fall for anything again. Hard lessons to learn. I did file a police report and going to contact the FBI to file a case with them.

Paula   Texas

1:15pm on October 28th, 2009

My friend was just scammed by this company. She lost almost $4,000.00 because she didn't investigate. Upon contacting the company to try to get her money back they had already sent her 2 more checks for the same amount, which also turned out to be bogus. She found this out by contacting the issuing bank that was printed on the face of the check. Beware people!

Tom   CA

4:44am on September 12th, 2009 

Got the letter and check today. Glad that I found this website.

Colleen   California

9:40am on August 19th, 2009 

almost fell for it... thank you for this invaluable input/warning!

Alayne   Australia

12:08am on August 11th, 2009

I notice all the complaints about SurveyLot.com are from America. Is SurveyLot.com just as bad in Oz? I've recently joined up with them but have not received any surveys yet. Then I discovered all these comments about SurveyLot and all the victims of this scam. Where are these SurveyLot bastards and their dodgy cheques?! Thanks for warning me about them before I get myself in trouble!

wayne   nags head nc

9:53am on May 21st, 2009

thanks everyone for your input i almost fell 4 it

pam tinsley   martinsville

12:32pm on May 4th, 2009 

this is a scam they sent me a check 4 2,925.00 i got a letter from mr toney call 1 647/832/ 6097 its a scam b on alert call police

teri   florida

7:23pm on April 21st, 2009 

Surveylot is a total scam.We got scammed out of $2100.00. These people need to be caught.This has been going on since 2007.

Tim   Detroit, Michigan

5:00pm on April 10th, 2009 

SurveyLot.com sent me a letter today asking me to deposit a check for $2,555.35 in my account, wait for the check to clear and then shop at Wal-Mart, JC Penny or K Mart. Sending a money gram was part of the deal too. The letterhead said that the company was located in California, the check was written from a bank in Colorado, and the person I called was in Canada but had a Nigerian accent. Thank God I saw this site. I called the local FBI office and they said it was a scam. BEWARE!!!!!!

Janice   Louisiana

8:19am on March 31st, 2009 

I just received a check from SurveyLot Marketing Services in the full sum of $2,410.00 requesting I make purchases at JC Penney for $100.00, Walmart for $100.00 and send a Money Gram for $1,900.00 and I keep $200.00 for training pay and expenses, this doesn't even sound logical. They claim they want you to follow company policy but there was no company policy information enclosed with the check. So people beware of idiots like this. I am going to turn this check over to the FBI and I hope the idiots be caught for such fraudulent behavior. Bye the way the company is located in Ontario, Canada.

Lana   OH

8:21am on March 26th, 2009 

I have just received a check from survey lot. this is the third one like it they have sent to me. Lucky for me I had a friend tell me the first one was a fraud. I called the FBI! They are interested in the case. If you get one of these from any company out of Canada contact the FBI in your area right away. they will tell you where to send it and hopefully we can nail these money sucking pigs!!!

Bonnie   Minnesota

5:05pm on February 24th, 2009 

I was just about to look into joining this site. I had a gut feeling that it was a scam, and so I did research on it. Im so happy that I seen your site ! Anytime that you are asked to send money to receive money it is ALWAYS a scam. I do know of someone who went to get a personal (poor credit) loan. They had to pay down money on this loan to receive the funds - to secure the loan. They did this, and it turned out it was fraud. They are out close to $1500.00. I bring this up because this loan company, SHERWAY LOANS is also located in Canada. Coincidence of being located in Canada?? I think not.


Page: -1-   2   

Your Name:

Your Location:

Product/Service Rating:

Your Review:

 

 

 

Other Articles Of Interest

1.

Cash Lagoon

4.

5centminimum

2.

DonkeyMails

5.

Data Entry Pro

3.

Bux.to

6.

Clix4coins

 

Learn to Make Money Online Using Our Guide


Popular New Articles

How to Make Money Taking Online Surveys
Essential Steps for a Successful Online Business
Hot Tips For Saving Money

Work at Home
Job Listings

Administrative Jobs
At Home Transcription
Customer Service Jobs
Data Entry Jobs
Home Accounting Jobs
Home Writing Jobs
Medical Transcription Jobs

Compensation Disclosure

Review Categories

» Business Opportunities
» Business Gurus
» Data Entry Jobs
» eBay Programs
» Internet Marketing
» Investment
» Motivational
» Network Marketing
» Paid Online Surveys
» Real Estate