Spokeo Reviews

Spokeo
Based on 41 Reviews
Website:www.Spokeo.com
Review It

About Spokeo

People search technology programs on the internet have been around for quite some time.  These internet programs continue to emerge with a wider range of search criteria options in addition to an increased amount of data generated within the results.

Spokeo is one of the programs used to locate and connect people and conduct searches for anyone’s personal information. It is formatted for easy use and will produce quick results. With the amount of information you are able to obtain through this program, you won’t have to search any further. You may conduct a search using a person’s name, email, phone, account usernames and much more.

The subscriptions are all priced differently based on the search method and search result combination. The price also depends on the number of searches you plan on doing per month ranging from 5 to 1000. If Spokeo is unable to provide you information on the first search of your subscription, they will refund your money in full. 

Spokeo opt-out is available to anyone who requests it; however, even if Spokeo removes you from their database, your information is still available thru other people search technology sites as well as public record databases.

The unique marketing tactic Spokeo has taken to attract customers is a “cheating gimmick”. They have geared their services toward individuals who want to find out if their significant other is cheating on them.

By using Spokeo you can find out if your significant other is cheating on you using a number of different routes. Public profiles on social networking and dating sites are searchable through an email address or a username. Spokeo has the ability to use location-based social networks to track their past and present location with a time reference for all of their whereabouts.

The fact of the matter is, if you think your partner is cheating, they probably are, and there are many other ways to find out. The first way might be to ask them directly.

It is very easy to find a wealth of information about anyone and everyone because of the new social networking programs prevalent in our daily lives. These applications ultimately display your life to the world. The ironic part is that you don’t realize you are providing information for these people search programs to use.

Because people search technology sites also use public records from recorders’ offices throughout cities, counties and states, they have easy access to personal information. These records are available to everyone, so it is practically impossible to protect your information.

Related Articles

41 ‘Spokeo’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Spokeo does NOT value their customers.

Reviewed By Brad on February 4, 2015

I was an early subscriber to Spokeo. I very rarely used their service, but maintained my subscription for the occasional use and because they didn't offer my package anymore.

I've had my subscription package since Jan 24, 2012 and it would auto renew each year. This year, 2015, I never received my auto renewal email from Spokeo, so I contacted their customer service to inquire why I hadn't received the renewal update. When the customer service representative got on the phone I explained that I might need to update my credit card info, since my bank issued me a new card. The customer service representative told me Spokeo is not able to update any existing customers credit card info and that they are instructing existing customers to sign up for new accounts.

I explained that I was a long term customer under an older plan that they don't offer anymore and that I want to maintain that plan. She again stated they do not have the "ability" to update card info and that I'd need to sign up for a new, more expensive plan. I asked to speak to a supervisor, because this had to be a mistake or a scam.

A supervisor, RJ, got on the phone and stated they do not have the "ability" to update existing customers card info and that I'd need to sign up for a new, more expensive plan. I explained that they obviously had the "ability" since they are a technology based, online company that takes credit card information all the time. I told him this sounded like a ploy/scam to get older, loyal customers out of their old plans and into new, more expensive plans. He then stated it was Spokeo policy to not update existing customers credit card information, but to instruct them to sign up for new accounts, under current, more expensive plans/rates. Basically, he confirmed that the company does not value their early, long term customers and they resort to shady practices to get them to sign up for new, more expensive plans.

The reality is I hardly ever used the service, but simply maintained my subscription for the occasional use and because I was under an older plan that wasn't offered anymore to new subscribers. Part of the reason I rarely used the service was due to the fact that it was rarely useful or accurate. The information was usually very limited and outdated.

Based on the low quality of service (limited and outdated information) and the company's questionable business practices of forcing loyal, long term customers out of their plans and into newer, more expensive plans, I can not support or recommend this company. Simply do a search on Spokeo reviews and you will find a lot of negative reviews regarding their service and business and billing practices.

With that batting average, their current prices (and business practices) make their service a complete waste of money. Save yourself some money and do a basic internet or white pages search on your own. If you do decide to pay for a search service, use a different company who values their relationships with their customers.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

DECEPTIVE!

Reviewed By Susan Phillips Good on October 27, 2014, Chicago, Illinois

Technically, Spokeo does have the billing terms on their site, but they are made to be quite vague.
I thought I was agreeing to paying $3.95, and if I stayed on, an additional $24.xx for 6 mo.
While this info is there, I shop and work online daily. There is a standard way I expect billing to work. I expect a grand total going on my card. They know this, they also know their service isn't worth it, so they deceptively charge you the entire amount.
Why not be honest and tell me the total? Don't think I would press the Pay and Continue button? YOU ARE RIGHT SPOKEO! I wouldn't.
I called to have my subscription canceled, which they did, but now I have to wait days to get my money back.
FAIL
AND they claimed to have several hits on an email address, when I got there...NOTHING! Not one thing!
It also failed to find anything on my address, even though I have a big presence online.
FAIL FAIL FAIL.

So even if you want to put the blame entirely in my hands for not reading the payment info, yes, I agree. I didn't read closely.
However, if this was a standard practice on the internet, I can tell you for sure, that there would be no internet shopping. People would not put up with this from Amazon, Ebay, or any other reputable site.
FAIL FAIL FAIL

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Where's The People

Reviewed By Richard on October 29, 2013, Chattanooga TN

A new service full of promises and very little delivery. The concept is great. The first 5 search results turned out to be obsolete information. A dead end trail.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
frank
November 21, 2013

i tried it and theyntry to stiff ya for like 30 bucks every month even when it suck they will take it automatically from your card my suggestion don't do it

Your Comment
Guest

scam

Reviewed By LK on October 9, 2013, MN

They said they had everything, but when I paid, they had nothing

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
frank
November 21, 2013

yep they have nothing and they try to get you to pay extra

Your Comment
Guest

what a disappointment

Reviewed By Barbara on September 24, 2013, Cookeville, TN

After hearing great things about this site from a friend who OBVIOUSLY had never used it, I signed up for the three month trial period. Then, I tried researching four names of people that I know well including myself. It is actually NOT as valuable as a google search and was NOT accurate. The search told me how many people lived in our house (WRONG), where we had lived previously (WRONG) and did not give the correct social media sites AND gave NO other information. A similar situation occurred with the other folks I researched. So, if you are concerned that people can use this site to find out lots of stuff about YOU, rest easy; it is useless. If you think YOU can use this site to find out lots of stuff about people, forget it. And you do have to sign that you won't use this site for any of a number of business reasons (I guess they know how inadequate they are and that is their protection).
But I did not have any trouble canceling (after I paid for the three month trial) which is what some reviewers complained about. so, the lesson learned is don't use spokeo and don't listen to the recommendations of friends who have not personally used the product they recommend so highly. don't BE one of those recommenders either!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Don't Waste Your Time or Money

Reviewed By Steph on September 9, 2013, Las Vegas, NV

This site is terrible. I signed up for the 3 month subscription, and only after I performed a few searches was I informed of the "monthly quota." I was attempting to search for people for my high school reunion, so I needed more than the few searches allotted, and nowhere are you told before signing up that there is a limit.

When I spoke to customer service, they sent me through the generic support cycle, and kept indirectly blaming me for not understanding the services correctly (much like their comments on other posts here). "I'm sorry you don't understand the terms" is not an appropriate response to a customer complaint. It's patronizing and offensive.

If you were a reputable company, you would clearly place your terms upfront, to allow people to choose whether your service is right for them or not. Get it together, Spokeo.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Anonymous
October 24, 2013

Me too, WASTE OF MONEY, HOW CAN THEY STAY IN BUSINESS, THE INFO THEY PROVIDE, YOU CAN GIND ON GOOGLE...MOST OF THE TIME THE INFO IS OUTDATED, WHEN I SEARCHED FOR MYSELF,IT WAS RIDICULIOUS ...VERY OUTDATED REPORT

Your Comment
Guest

Scam!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed By L Reed on August 30, 2013, Oakdale CA

Claimed to have the info I was looking for. Paid the fee and got absolutely no results. All categories listed as "unknown". Site says refund if no results but not how to apply. These people are no better than email phishing scammers and I'm an idiot for not checking their reviews before donating my cash to these crooks.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

They don't even have my name correct!

Reviewed By L Jones on August 8, 2013, edmond ok

Someone showed me this site and frightened me into thinking my identity had been stolen. It listed my name, my dead brother and my dad's name spelled incorrectly. My mom wasn't mentioned. When I thought I would subscribe it said a different first name for me! Very scary. Would not taKE PAYPAL and I am glad because I went back and read the reviews. This company would give you paranoid thoughts if you believe it!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Worthless

Reviewed By Jaimie on June 26, 2013

No relevant information, deceptive practices. Billed after cancellation of spokeo, they say its for something else. I have no idea what I signed up for. Not worth it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Thomas
July 28, 2013

its a huge ripoff. I just used it a few days ago and there was nothing in the report.everything was "unknown". When I complained I was told, "sorry", that I could keep searching that number since I paid for it in case there may be some future updates on it. They should be legally punished and forced to give people back their money. Before you pay they will tell you a match has been found. The only match will be the phone number you typed in the first place.

Your Comment
Guest

Rip off

Reviewed By HNB on May 12, 2013, Okatie SC

Not one search was correct... asked for money back because not as advertized... said soory to see you go...but they will keep the account open and no rebill me... I want my money back from these rip off artist...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Waste of time.

Reviewed By Berton Reike on May 10, 2013, Miami, FL

My deceased father and I have the same name. I am jr. Coincedently, my mother and wife also have the same name. The results were quite humerous. They had my father's would be age if he were still alive, my mother at her address of 25 years ago with my wife's age and my mother and I living on vacant land in upstate NY I sold in 2008. Where is the info on our dog?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Deceptive & misleading practices

Reviewed By Tasmin on April 30, 2013, Denver, CO

Spokeo advertises based on banners and search results indicating that they can provide information on the person searched. In order to access the additional information your must purchase the membership which in their own language (see "Terms") "...more often than not, does not reveal any additional information." Their "guaranty" is a lie. Their response to cancellation and demand from refund is met with a litany of legal doublespeak and basically rendering the point of their entire "service" to be moot. They offered a "partial refund" on a take-it-or-leave it ("...your case is now closed.") position. They also have a click through link in the sign up phase that is a redirect to a different company offering credit/identity protection. VERY MISLEADING. Their practices are borderline at best and walk a fine line legally. Avoid this company. They are part of what makes the reputation of internet commerce so untrustworthy and unreliable.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Not up to date info

Reviewed By Diane  on April 29, 2013, Illinois

I look up myself and the info had old phone numbers. apparently their information not so current.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
frank
November 21, 2013

I'm scared they got my credit info

Your Comment
Guest

GOT CHA...

Reviewed By Customer on April 25, 2013, Louisiana

Bad news, very misleading, information u probaly know..sucks....I put my information in and it said I was in a different state....bad waste of money should have known...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Waste, save yoru money!!!

Reviewed By Spokeo Subscriber on April 3, 2013, SC

None of the information is correct except the cities I've lived in and my age. I'm requesting a refund but more than likely know I'll have to fight for one.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Junk Data

Reviewed By MG Myrel on March 24, 2013, Sun City Center

Yes they found info that was more than a decade ago as the wife had died of cancer and husband had move to another state. Spokeo Bull Sh*t !

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Total waste of time

Reviewed By Bobbie on March 24, 2013, TX

Data is incorrect
Buyer beware

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Total SCAM

Reviewed By Christen on March 16, 2013

I searched several phone numbers that have been owned by myself or people I knew who have had these number for 15+ years and not one came up with accurate information. They claim to have a 100% guarantee, but that guarantee only means they will provide you with some info, not accurate info. Total scam meant to talk you out of your money. I do not recommend.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Very dissapointing

Reviewed By Rob Freeman on February 15, 2013, Richmond, VA

I did the free search on myself and indicated that I had signed up for a dating site (which I had not). I then paid for three months to see what it had "found". Perhaps not surprisingly, it had found virtually nothing and definitely no dating sites. This is definitely a waste of money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Terry
March 27, 2013

I have been ripped off by this company as well. They are scam artists.Info s totally incorrect on all my searches. Report them report them!!!!

Your Comment
Guest

"100% Guarantee" is a LIE!!! hidden "no-refund" policy!!!

Reviewed By Nathan A Hayes on February 10, 2013, Tennessee

I used this service for all of 15 minutes before I realized it was a total rip off. All the information was wrong and the info. on me was completely wrong except for my address, but even that was 2 years old and not my current address! Then they tell me they have a no-refund policy! Huge Scam!! I hope these reviews make a difference because I hate frauds who con people out of their hard earned money get away with it because of a "no refund" policy that is hidden in the terms that no one reads anyway! All i know is that i read the "100% Guarantee. If we don't have results for this search we will gladly issue a refund." note on the payment page and felt safe buying this service. Then only to find out that it is just posted there to trick you into their SCAM!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 29 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review