SpeedMaxPc Reviews

About SpeedMaxPc

SpeedMaxPc is a downloadable software system that claims to give users “High Tech PC Optimization” by scanning their computer, identifying the “bugs,” cleaning their system, and then protecting them from future problems.

SpeedMaxPc is free to download and, once downloaded, will conduct a free scan of your computer, both hard drive and registry, to see where there are areas that could be addressed to have your computer run more efficiently.

In addition, SpeedMaxPc will scan your computer for spyware and malware and show you the specific issues that can be treated with their software.

However, these problems and areas of inefficiency will not be fixed by SpeedMaxPc unless you decide to purchase the software at a price of $29.99. Once you have purchased the software, SpeedMaxPc will begin fixing the issues so your computer can more efficiently.

And once your current problems are corrected, SpeedMaxPc also offers continual protection against spyware and malware so that future viruses cannot affect your computer’s performance.

Related: How to Clean and Speed Up Your Computer For Free

Related Articles

126 ‘SpeedMaxPc’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Guest

HORRIBLE

Reviewed By Jack on October 29, 2012, White Plains NY

This stupid program was recommended on a Microsoft site and I downloaded it because I was having firewall problems. well- THIS PROGRAM HAS MESSED UP MY COMPUTER LIKE IT IS A VIRUS, SINCE DOWNLOADING IT RANDOM MUSIC STARTS PLAYING BUT NO WINDOWS ARE OPEN, FIREFOX DOESN'T WORK, FLASH KEEPS CRASHING, DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT PURCHASE THIS.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
No way
November 23, 2012

Microsoft has absolutely no affiliation with this program. I'd be interested in knowing which "Microsoft site" was advertising it, unless it was a forum and some spammer or clueless person recommended it in the comments section. In the Microsoft Answers and TechNet forums, the Microsoft MVPs recommend steering clear of this program and any like it.

Your Comment
Guest

RUN! THESE PEOPLE ARE CROOKS

Reviewed By Johnson on October 25, 2012, Camarillo

Sensitive data was stolen from me while they had control of my computer, and it was nowhere to be found.
Tonight, I received a call from CHASE Bank re: one of my credit cards. I am not surprised. One of the folders missing from my PC after SpeedMax and Safecart was titled, "Travel Reservations". The credit card compromised? My United Visa card.
I believe they sold my distribution lists and any financial information they were able to obtain.
I have not been able to speak to a single person who has any influence. I will continue to do my best to get the word out so that others will not be victimized as I was.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
anna
November 22, 2012

thank you for all of us who was prepeared to purchase it.

Computer Science Professor
November 23, 2012

PLEASE contact your state's ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE and file a complaint. These criminals will continue to steal honest citizen's money and identity as long as victims continue to do nothing. Do this for yourself and for all other honest citizens! You may even get your money back!

Your Comment
Guest

Don't Buy - SCAM!

Reviewed By Matt C on October 19, 2012, Columbus, OH

So I downloaded thinking it is free. It ran with over 3500 errors. So I try to fix, but it said I needed a licence... automatically gave $10 coupon so reduced charge to $ 29.99. I thought no, no good. So I go to uninstall and it gives me another offer of 75% off. This is just a bait and switch deal to get any money out of you that they can. Any software that offers discount, then another if you don't like the first has to ba a fraud.... I don't care if it only cost $9.99. This kind of marketing is dishonest. Maybe if they just started with $9.99, people would buy it and they wouldn't need trickery to get someone to buy this... sorry. Not for me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 13 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Can not even get an actvation code

Reviewed By Frank Pollock on October 16, 2012, Roxboro,NC

Been on the Phone now for 30 minutes and can not get tech support. I excuted the download and get the same old routine of nothing. I hope the 30 day money back is accurate.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Probably a good thing
November 23, 2012

Why would you want to activate it after reading these reviews? Dispute the payment you made for it so the charges will be reversed and don't use programs like this in the future.

Your Comment
Guest

SpeedMaxPc - Money back.

Reviewed By Mike Darlington on October 15, 2012, Crewe, Cheshire.

Further to my recent complaints about the SpeedMaxPc system I have an important update. If you are not happy with your purchase and you used Safecart for your payment, phone them on their UK number 0800 408 3985. Give your purchase details along with your complaint and you should get your purchase price refunded within 7 days.
Good luck, Mike.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Rip-off Merchants-SpeedMaxPc

Reviewed By Mike Darlington on October 15, 2012, Crewe, Cheshire

I was overwhelmed with Disc consistency problems and went on line to find many others experiencing the same sort of difficulties. Most unfortunately I chanced upon the SpeedMaxPc system which seems to carry the approval of Norton and a tacit OK from Windows. They only mentioned a discounted price of £6.77. Like so many others, judging by the high level of adverse comments, I was conned into purchasing a copy. The first scan warned me of nearly 800 faults posing very serious threats to my computer. (Co-Incidentally I do run Kapersky protection). The SpeedMaxPc cleaned it up but every subsequent scan found many more threats. I then tried the Disk De-fragmentation tool on the drive with the problems. It reported a 77% problem and so I left it overnight to clear. The following morning it reported all clear but an immediate check, (and several subsequent ones), showed the same level of problems requiring immediate de-fragmentation. To add insult to injury, when I checked my receipt I then found they had also added a £19.97 Licence fee which they had conveniently forgotten to mention. This company is so seriously fraudulent, must be making millions,and to me is on par with computer hackers. There must be some way to bring them to book and Windows should immediately expose them. I intend to contact the Consumer Protection organisations.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Anon
November 23, 2012

"Most unfortunately I chanced upon the SpeedMaxPc system which seems to carry the approval of Norton and a tacit OK from Windows. " And where did you see this? The legitimate Microsoft communities do not recommend programs of this type (can't speak for Norton, but I can't see them recommending it either). You have to be careful of your information sources. Lots of spammers frequent forums to hawk products like this and an appearance of such a post should not be interpreted as a validation or recommendation.

Your Comment
Guest

They are truly bogus!!!...SpeedMaxPC...What a scam!!!!!

Reviewed By Michael Dv on October 5, 2012, Northern Indiana

I did what most people on here did. I was having issues and computer running slow and became frustrated. Started looking on the net for something that might find the problem(s) and create a fix of some sort. Well, guess what guys? SpeedMaxPC came up and on Cnet to boot and was suppose to be a free scan and fix. Of course it turns out not to be free, In addition, they, not you, they click! when you hit finish by auto coding! that annual yearly fee of which we all click not to choose to have!!

Anyway there was supposedly a problem with gettting the License key. So, in order to get all things moving I had to call what they said was a tech suport number. Sent an email for permission to remote view and blah blah blah! All the guy, whos name was Steve, did on the other end was kept trying to point out how their tech team could clean all of this and that and for, oh say a mere additional $149.00 they could do this and it would take about 3 hours.

I knew when the phone number came up to call that this was going to be a bait and switch and it most certainly was. Am now disputing with PayPal resolution to get my money back...and I will not stop until I do. These guys at SpeedMaxPC are SCAMMERS FROM THE 1ST DEGREE!!

(Oh, by the way I did not fall for the additional $149 item. But am still screwed out of that $39 + until I badger PayPal and everyone else to get it refunded back)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

speedmaxpc is a virus

Reviewed By joe on October 3, 2012, sacramento, ca

BE WARE!!!!! My computer was a touch slow before speedmaxpc after running this virus of a software on my pc everything is malfunctioning. The reason I'm writing this is to spare you all the problems I had to face

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Take this and Shove It !!

Reviewed By Terry Lynn Senft on September 23, 2012, Pittsburgh, Pa

These people are a bunch of aholes.............I did not purchase this piece nor would i ever !! But after i downloaded this garbage everytime i think i removed it.......it pops up once again.......they can take their software and shove it i will never pay a cent for this CRAP !! Period.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Not Fanatastic, but OK?

Reviewed By Jo Atua on September 17, 2012, NZ

I was suspicious at first - the free scan showed a couple of hundred problems so when I payed the $29 it sorted them in a couple of seconds.................oops!?

But letting it run overnight it went through the complete cycle and I checked on how many "junk files" I had accumulated before the test and post test they were gone, so it is not a scam.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Anon
November 23, 2012

You'll probably find out the hard way those "junk files" were really needed operating system/profile file registry keys. Hope you have an operating system disk because you'll need one.

Anon
November 23, 2012

You may find those "junk files" it removed are important to the functioning of the operating system and other installed programs. I hope you made a system backup before you used it.

Your Comment
Guest

speedmaxpc

Reviewed By robert dingle on September 15, 2012, australia

i have paid $39.00 dollars approx i hour ago..and could not enter the software licence number on thiir screen. i now have the opinion that this is a total scam.i cannot contact their website to cancel my credit card payment which has been paid to speedmaxpc and confirmed by speedmaxpc.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Very shady operation

Reviewed By John on September 7, 2012, Coaldale, Colorado

I bought SpeedmaxPC's program (handled by Advanced ) in June.
they charged me $100 to do a "one time exam and cleanup"
everything seemed to be in order.
Then the program started doing periodic updates. OK
Today the program did an update. I was doing emails when it
asked me if I wanted to restart my computer. I finished an email, sent it, closed my programs and then did the restart. I then tried to go back into my emails and got an error message that the computer could no longer find my temporary files.
I told the guy at Advanced that it appeared the SpeedmaxPC program had deleted my temp files, and I would like them to fix that. He told me that would cost me more money. I explained to him that it was their software that was causing the problem and that I should not have to pay since this was their problem software causing the problem.
He told me that I would have to pay them again to fix the problem.
I told him that on the face of it, it was almost like extortion.
He hung up.
Just thought you would like to know.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

they are a scam

Reviewed By nick S on September 2, 2012, NY

Had a problem with my internet connection, every so often it would look for a wired connection - which I didn't have. Looked it up on the web and saw speedmaxpc for $29. Just to get this problem behind me, I went to sign up. It turned out that the only choice I found was for pro help for $39, so I did it. This clown gets on the line, signs onto my computer, points out some problems and says that in order to fix it I will need their specialist – this would cost $180. Told him he was nuts and hung up.

I will dispute this charge on my credit card on the basis it was a fraud and a scam.

It took mea few hours to get rid of their program and fix the problem using CCLEAN. It worked well and was free.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

BEWARE

Reviewed By Al Mihajl on August 31, 2012, Brisbane Australia

Ran their 'free' scan then had difficulty closing the site page [had to restart the computer] when 'free' became $29.99.
Went to run a full scan using kapersky PURE and find SpeedMax has done a scan [1500 plus errors] before Kapersky has completed.
Will have to restart this computer to clear their page again.
Next I'll be looking for a tutorial on how to uninstall SpeedMax even though the only download I did was their free scan

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Sylvia M Heiman
April 12, 2013

I am so glad that I was able to do some research before coming across speedmax pc. or I would be sitting where many of you are. That's not to say I've never been scammed before. What is so bad, is that this program (if you will) and others like it are able to have their name/link on sites like Norton and Microsoft, which makes us all more inclined to fall for it. I came across it on a page with big bold words ''WINDOWS HELP AND SUPPORT''....recommended by speedmaxpc. Now what kind of crap is that..and what's really bad is that when they are finally brought to their knees, busted out and have the law on them, they will just turn around and become something else. The only way to fight them is to do our homework. Don't settle for one good review or even two or three. I found what seems to be a good one though I'm not sure I'm able to post it, aw wth, if it's not okay, they just won't post it, Regserve seems to be the best to date. I wish you all good luck in getting your money back. AND that speedmaxpc fails to continue to rise on someone elses fall anymore.

Your Comment
Guest

Terrible

Reviewed By Jamie  on August 26, 2012

Ran for over 24 hours and just kept going and going. Never did get it to repair a single thing. What a waste of time.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

HELP!

Reviewed By Timothy Eames on August 24, 2012, Alturas, CA

I'm 17 and I'm enlisted in the USMC. Some guy conned me into buying this shit and I did... he requested my Visa Debit number and I stupidly gave it to him. HELP!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

SpeedMaxPC Don't Do It !

Reviewed By Ray Baker on August 23, 2012, Hendersonville, TN

I downloaded a program for $29.97 called SpeedMax PC. It didn't help anything but managed to lose two of my folders in Windows Live Mail. They also said they would refund purchase price if not pleased within first 30 days. I was not pleased the 2nd DAY and have e mailed them 3 times requesting a refund. They sent me one e mail and said to try Restore to an earlier time. I tried it. It didn't help. Now they won't even answer my e mail and have not responded to my request for a refund. I have filed a grievance with PayPal where I paid for it. It's a lot of hassle for a really bad experience. My advice....DON'T DO IT! IT'S NOT WORTH LOSING MONEY OVER AN EMPTY PROMISE OF PERFORMANCE ENHANCMENT.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

JUNK

Reviewed By JUNK on August 16, 2012

JUNK. Read all the other post as I don't need to repeat. JUNK

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!!

Reviewed By AJ on August 11, 2012, Toronto, Canada

So upsetting that it's just a come-on for more work. the woman told me "your computer needs $200 dollars worth of work. do you have a staples in your town? me: yes. her: ok....well we can do it for $120 and you never have to leave your home"
when i called for the refund they transferred my call 3 times and finally i hung up after 20 minutes on hold. this website gave me the number to call:
""Safecart Payments" with the following number: 1-855-432-0727.
total godsend. got my refund in 2 minutes.
Thanks for the help all. AJ

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Not Needed

Reviewed By MIKLO on August 7, 2012, Tucson,Arizona

After trying and giving this software a fair chance I was very disappointed to say the least. Many of the issues it found were in fact not any type of malware at all, the sad thing is that it is possible for most users to do the same thing and even better with free software. YES I SAID FREE....... In fairness I suppose there are people that are totally unable to do any kind maintenance on their computer so maybe this can work for them, although I would suggest they get a friend that is a geek to set them up with a routine maintenance folder with the freeware that when used will keep their computer running like new.

MIKLO

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
A. Bent
November 25, 2012

Compared to most PC users, I consider myself pc illiterate so I purchased SpeedMaxPC (($29) to get rid of ''adds not by this site'' shown under Goggle home page., before it infected the entire PC.
I also deleted ''Save as'' program in ''Control Panel''.
So far -- scam viral pain - in - arse adds have gone.

Your Comment

Leave a Review