- Home - - Work at Home Reviews - - Contact -
 

MENU

Shadow Shopper Reviews

Is ShadowShopper.com Legit or a Scam?

 

Shadow Shopper is an online mystery shopping program.  It acts as the middleman between hopeful shoppers and large mystery shopping companies. They provide their members with lists and email notifications of which companies currently have available work.

The Shadow Shopper membership is based on three levels Gold, Silver, and Bronze.  Each has a different level of amenities, Gold and Silver will cost you a membership fee, while Bronze is offered as a free trial.

It's very important to pay attention to the terms and conditions for this company, especially for the free trial.  They clearly state that after your seven day trial is up they will automatically charge you, and process your membership.

You have to take action ahead of time by changing your account settings to disallow this automatic function.  The same applies for membership renewal, they will automatically renew unless otherwise told so.

The reason that this is crucial is because they have an all sales are final policy, so if you had no intention of joining but missed you deadline to cancel you still won't get a refund.  Shadow Shopper has a lot of complaints filed with the BBB which I think stem from this situation.

There are also many people who feel that services like ShadowShopper.com are unnecessary since you can sign up directly with mystery shopper companies.  Folks that are active mystery shoppers get their listings from free resources and say that SS gets them there too and simply charge people for free info.

In the end, if you have time to search for free listings I would recommend doing that before paying for services.  There are also many forums were mystery shoppers share info, answer questions, and post opportunities, pretty much what Shadow Shopper does but for no charge.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
Shadow Shopper?
If so, click here
 
Share This!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints for 'Shadow Shopper'

 

Average Rating is 1.66 out of 5 based on 129 reviews.

Cathy   FL

6:22pm on October 13th, 2014 

I urge everyone to report this scam company "shadowshopper" to the Federal Trade Commission

Luanne   Memphis, TN

8:24am on September 24th, 2014 

PLEASE do not trust this horrible company!!!!!!! It is a scam and they are truly dishonest. They will ask for your money for a trial, then will charge you without your authorization. Beware, they are the worst company with very cheap jobs. They need to be shut down and I will be first to make sure this happens. I asked very nicely for a refund and JONATHAN told me there was no way that could happen. Imagine that!!!! They certainly took my money, amazingly can't refund it. So you see who they are? Do yourself a favor and move onto a reputable mystery shopping company who doesn't charge you and have good paying jobs. They are out there, but this isn't one to work for. I'm sure the employees are all dishonest, why else would they continue to work for scum and scam. I truly don't see how Johnathan and the other pitiful employees sleep at night. I told Johnathan I was going to write a bad review, and he still didn't help me. How sad, right? And I'm not done yet, oh no!!!!!! I just hope he is enjoying his pitiful job now, because he probably won't have it long. All he had to do was refund me, that's all!!!!!!!!!!!! Please run from this company!


Mariana   Chicago

6:30pm on September 8th, 2014 

WORSE WEBSITE EVER.I AM A STUDENT AND I WAS LOOKING FOR A WAY TO HAVE SOME EXTRA MONEY SO I DECIDED TO DO THE MONTH FREE TRIAL, ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT I COULD NOT GET ANY JOB BECAUSE I DO NOT HAVE A SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, SINCE I AM AN INTERNATIONAL STUDENT.

ANYWAY, AFTER I REALIZED THAT (ABOUT A WEEK), I STOPPED USING IT. I WAS CHARGED THE TWO NEXT MONTHS 29,99 FOR SOMETHING THAT I DIDN'T EVEN USE, JUST BECAUSE THE AUTOMATIC MONTHLY RENEWAL WAS TURNED ON, WITHOUT MY PERMISSION. IN THE EXACT DAY I TRIED TO CONTACT SHADOW SHOPPER TO ASK FOR A REFUND (IN MY ACCOUNT WAS STILL PENDING), AT LEAST FOR THE LAST MONTH, SINCE THE ONE BEFORE IT WAS MY FAULT I DIDN'T NOTICE I WAS BEING CHARGED. WHAT I GOT WAS A SUPER RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSON AT THAT ONLINE CHAT THING WHO TOLD ME TO GO TALK TO JOHNATON, WHO WAS ALSO RUDE AND DID NOT HELP ME.

THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING BECAUSE NOW MY ACCOUNT IS OVERDRAWN, I WILL HAVE TO PAY FEES PLUS I WON'T GET TO EAT LUNCH FOR THE WEEK.AND I CAN NOT EVEN BE A MYSTERY SHOPPER TO PAY BACK, BECAUSE AS I MENTIONED I DON'T HAVE A SOCIAL SECURITY.

Jodi   Michigan

10:01am on August 31st, 2014 

I went one this website and pushed the edit botton next to cancel my membership but because they say I did not write save they billed me $29.95 off an account I gave them no permission to take!!!! Now they continue to be "off line" on there so called live web site so I can not speak to anyone or have my money refunded! Please DO NOT sign up for this, it is a scam!!!

Jodi   Michigan

7:59pm on August 30th, 2014 

I made the mistake of signing up for a shadow shopper, when I relized what it entailed I stopped answering their ads. It never stopped, and now they they have gotten into my personal bank account and have charged mr money for something I looked into 7 months ago. I am not sire what to do, I called and have left messages that they do not respond to!!! If their is a way to stop this please some one help me.

john roggenbuck   texas

12:12am on March 10th, 2014 

i have never signed up for this but for 6 months they have taken money out of my account illegally without my permission .is the biggest scam I have ever seen

Ginger   San Diego

5:43pm on November 6th, 2013 

Do not bother spending your time and money. They flood your email with jobs that will not result in anything. If you try to sign up for a job, it sends you to another application that must be submitted to another company. Not user friendly. Automatic renewal goes from $5 to $30.

Erin   Eureka, CA

11:11am on October 30th, 2013 

The service was time consuming to sign up for and I received absolutely no worthwhile offers. There were either no jobs available in my region, or I was called by suspicious people asking me to leave them my personal information and social security number. The junk e-mail was abundant and not useful. My free trial was set to automatically renew and I was charged $29.99 before I could cancel. No refunds given. Overall, I lost a lot of time and $30 on this service. I would never recommend it to anyone. Ever. If you want to get rewarded for shopping and filling out surveys, try something legit like National Consumer Panel.

zander   floriduh

7:18pm on September 28th, 2013 

sorry to hear u guys got ripped off, so glad i read reviews for everything!

Jamie   CT

8:12pm on September 9th, 2013 

Make damn sure you read the fine print. I paid five dollars for one month, and was charged 30 dollars for monthly renewal. Told me I could have a refund, and when I did not get back to them within 5 days, I was then told I had to be charged. I have been out of town for a funeral, still will. Not give me a credit.

M   Ohio

6:37pm on July 22nd, 2013 

I was thinking of signing up for Shadow Shoppers. When I went to the live chat and asked them about the Better Business Bureau I got only reasons that the BBB is not cost effective. Then I came to see what others had said. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

Dave Peterson   wilmington, n.c.

1:56pm on July 22nd, 2013 

I filled out forms but when it got to a credit card I closed the site, but one of the questions was ...do you have a Pay Pal account? Well Here 6 months later I see where they were taking out 29.95 every month. I did not authorize this....took from Pay Pal

Debbie   Sonoma

12:19pm on July 6th, 2013 

After many months of ignoring them; they sent me a check for $1890-dollars which I was to send most of it back to them.
With an assignment. The letter said to call a ph# in order to activate the ck. I've called 7 times to call.
The answering machine says "they do NOT
CALL BACK". So hear I sit.
I so think its a scam. They're headquarters are in Nevada.
Interesting. I sent a text saying, "if you don't have someone contact me, I'm tearing up your Check."
They acknowledged my text, but NOTHING!!

Megan   Houston and surrounding HUNSTVILLE CONRO

4:01pm on July 1st, 2013 

NOT SURE I SIGNED UP AFTER HEARING MY FRIEND RECEIVED A CHECK FOR ALMOST $ 2,400. Okay today is Monday last Tuesday my friend signed up with shadowshopper of course you receive a lot of junk & not sure which is true are not.. 6 days later FedEx was knocking on her door with a JP MORGAN check ... 2,400. She going to cash it land let me know.. WILL UPDATE TOMORROW .. I'll she if she cashed it. I signed up right away after viewing the reviews I'm deleting and unsubscribe TODAY

spanking shadow shopper   georgia

10:36am on May 24th, 2013 

The excellent reviews are fake from shadowshopper. It's a scam

Michael Mack   CA

10:50am on May 18th, 2013 

So the notation this listing service is a scam might be a little harsh. Now is it pointless, I would have to say about 80% of the listing I've gotten over the years have been jobs I already knew about from free sites such as jobslinger and narms. So if you are not wanting to do the work your self by all means pay the amounts for the membership. Just make sure you uncheck the auto renew box and if you are worried they are still going to charge you snap a time stamped photo as proof.

After your paid membership ends keep an eye out for a "we want you back" email which will get you your first month back for under 4 bucks. And if you don't uncheck that renewal box the 2nd month will be almost 30 bucks. I have done this several times over the last few years and I have not had one issue getting charged for the membership.

Good luck everyone there are scams out there that are looking to steal from you and there are those companies who will charge you for ice at the north pole. Shadow shopper might list jobs that they have no control over and those jobs might try to steal but the company itself is just looking to sell you something you really don't need to pay $30 a month for.

Shiela   WA State

3:33am on May 11th, 2013 

For those of you that say you make good money with this company, how much have you paid in fees to earn what you have? I recently moved to WA state & wanted to continue doing mystery shopping as I had in Az. Somehow I learned about SS and have Not received a decent offer yet. I refuse to pay for leads, especially when there are legit FREE companies out there. Good luck to those who have done their research & are keeping their hard earned money in their own pockets!

matthew   72715

12:59pm on April 30th, 2013 

i was given a money order to cash and use through western union and the money order was a fake,if i had put that in my bank account it would have set me back and it would have got me into trouble with the law,i think this is bull sh4t,i have been trying to get a job and then get taken by this company is cr3p ,i will make the news papers know about it and we will work to get them shut down,

Anonymous   Location unknown

9:24pm on April 19th, 2013 

The website for shadow is very poor, not user friendly at all.

Db   New yor

11:08am on March 18th, 2013 

I used shadow shopper and made my money
Back tenfold. Not sure why everyone's complaining.


Page: -1-   2    3    4    5    6   

Your Name:

Your Location:

Product/Service Rating:

Your Review:

 

 

 

 

 

Learn to Make Money Online Using Our Guide


Popular New Articles

How to Make Money Taking Online Surveys
Essential Steps for a Successful Online Business
Hot Tips For Saving Money

Work at Home
Job Listings

Administrative Jobs
At Home Transcription
Customer Service Jobs
Data Entry Jobs
Home Accounting Jobs
Home Writing Jobs
Medical Transcription Jobs

Compensation Disclosure

Review Categories

» Business Opportunities
» Business Gurus
» Data Entry Jobs
» eBay Programs
» Internet Marketing
» Investment
» Motivational
» Network Marketing
» Paid Online Surveys
» Real Estate