- Home - - Work at Home Reviews - - Contact -
 

MENU

SecretShopper.com

 

SecretShopper.com is a free service that helps connect people with available secret shopping jobs in their neighborhoods.  This type of work is growing in popularity because it's simple, profitable, and fun to do.

As a mystery/secret shopper you'll be assigned various stores or restaurants to visit and evaluate.  Many companies prefer to use this method of testing employees since it gives them a behind the scenes look at what goes on without upper management's presence.

When you visit a location you'll be provided with a list of things to check for such as customer service, product quality, and overall experience.  Compensation for secret shopping varies, sometimes you'll be paid in cash while other times you're rewarded with free dinners or store credit.

Registration for SecretShopper.com is free which already is a plus since many companies will charge you for this type of service.  They do require that you complete two quick training courses, they're really easy and don't take up too much time.

Afterwards, you're given access to the SecretShopper.com database where you can find and apply for available jobs in your area.  Once accepted you'll be sent specific instructions about the time and requirements for your visit.  It's important to follow these exactly to ensure prompt payment.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
SecretShopper.com?
If so, click here
 
Share This!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints for 'SecretShopper.com'

 

Average Rating is 2.25 out of 5 based on 34 reviews.

Was Interested/NOW NOT!!!   VA

7:32am on February 8th, 2014

I have a friend that does secret shopping (not sure for what Co.) and I was interested in making some extra $, so I googled it and these reviews came up... Needless to say, I clearly changed my mind...I normally ignore reviews, but I'm so glad I didn't this time. Especially after finding out that they want your SS#! Can never be TOO SAFE these days. There are Scams and Criminals everywhere anymore. Looking for a free ride!!! Thanks for all the dif opinions...It helped my decision:)

Jim Miederhoff   Nashville, TN

8:02pm on February 6th, 2014 

I have done shops for Secret Shoppers and for other companies. Sure there are scammers out there to take your money. I have NEVER lost any payments from Secret Shoppers, or the other FIVE companies I have done shops for. If you go to goggle and JUST enter "Secret Shoppers" you will get a lot of scams. BUT, if you go secretshoppers.com you CAN be working as an independent contractor for them. I have been doing this type of work since I retired in 2003 and love it.


Jack MeHoff   New York, NY

8:31am on February 1st, 2013 

scam scam scam...read the posts saying how it isn't a scam, notice that they are all angry. If you really had a legit company, you would be so flooded with workers you wouldn't need your employees posting angry messages on boards that say your company is a scam. Bryan, especially, is angry that someone has dared to expose his scam.
What up. Bryan? You own the website?

KJ   northern virginia

3:00am on December 14th, 2012 

signed up a secretshopper.com, got an e mail from Mike John at shopperkeeper008@hotmail.com stating that he is sending 250 dollars UPS for me to test out western union and Walmart. day after he sent a threatening e mail saying that I took the funds, checked and it was not at the post office, although got a receipt saying packet was there. I think this is a scam, who should I report this to? When I signed up left ss number and DOB, worried about this.. any advice appreciated...

Concerned   New York

9:20am on November 24th, 2012 

SCAM ALERT! SCAM ALERT! SCAM ALERT!

Most likely you were contacted via email by secret shopper.com and no matter how good the claims are to make money, you will receive nothing and your personal information will be compromised.

This is one of the most common scams to retrieve your personal info and most importantly, YOUR social security number.

Did you know that with minimal personal information and your social security number anybody can open up lines of credit for credit cards or access your savings and checking accounts? This is the information age, with minimal effort you can be robbed and your credit ruined with a few mouse clicks. Many times unwary people won't even notice until it's too late.

This is why you are always told to safeguard your SSN and never give it out for any reason except for legitimate purposes, not because some random website tells you to do so.

If you have any doubts about secret shopper.com, fill in all bogus information on their website and even enter in a fake SSN (it can't be random numbers as they can check if it's valid or not - do a Google search for 'fake SSN generator').

I filled out all completely fake information on their website and once you are 'registered', go ahead and try to find a store in your area and follow through. I was added to 'waiting lists' and the only places available were veterinarian offices. I tried numerous locations on the lists to be presented with addresses phone numbers and locations of different veterinarians across the country. Really? This is all this website offers? I could have easily done this with a telephone book. Not to mention I don't even have a pet but my fake 'account' I set up I filled in as Santa Claus with my address at the North Pole. After 2 weeks my account is still active and I can still request vet appointments, no problem!

Unfortunately this site is a huge scam and who knows what they're actually doing with all your personal information.

I did this research for no other reason because I received a random spam email from secretshopper.com and I like to expose these types of frauds on the internet in my spare time. Hopefully this will save someone a lot of pain and financial suffering.

Thank you,
Concerned Citizen from the Internet

blank   ca

12:53pm on May 4th, 2012 

I was considering doing this in my retirement but with all the negative comment, you have all convinced me this is just another rip-off of the American public

faye   vernal ut

11:44am on April 23rd, 2012 

I was given a job and sent a check that was a counterfeit. I cant help but feel its a scam now and a stupid one at that, they send me a postal money order of course it would be noticed.

Richard I   Los Angeles

10:57pm on April 18th, 2012 

I have been doing this for a few months now and Secretshopper.com is in no way a scam. I have been paid every month for all my shops. Very simple, just follow the steps and you will get paid. If you are incompetent and can not follow the simple directions, this is not a form of extra income for you.

Ashley Feulufai   American Samo

9:28pm on March 28th, 2012 

Hello there!

I am a Pacifc Islander. I saw your website and got really excited to join. Am i still eligible to apply even if I'm not in the US? Please tell me I'm eligible

Julia   Eagan

11:17am on November 7th, 2011 

Read and think for yourself. Their website: www.secretshopper.com. Please read the scam alert page.

This is a BBB accredited business. It has been in business since 1999. If you can not pass a test to become a shopper, please DO NOT APPLY, your services are not required!

Alias   anytown UAS

5:39pm on October 15th, 2011 

They said they have been around since 1990.

REALLY THEN WHY IS IT THAT I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND THEM DOING SEARCHES FOR THIS KIND OF COMPANY? DON'T SIGN UP & GIVE YOUR SS, GIVE A FAKE IF YOU MUST.

Nothing   Location unknown

3:12pm on June 30th, 2011

Oh and if you have to pay to be certified then its also a scam because I am certified and it was free. just remember they need you not you need them.

Nothing   Fresno, CA

3:07pm on June 30th, 2011

Yeah secret shopper site is a scam because I'm a secret shopper and the site I applied for asked for my SS# but they also gave me an option to use my last four SS#. The application is almost similar to this one. If you guys want to know to apply as a secret shopper then ask if your company gets shop and ask for the name and apply from there.

Merrill   West Valley City, UT

4:08pm on June 20th, 2011 

SecretShopper.com is a legitimate company. I'm referring only to the exact company website I typed in here, not to just "any" secret shopping company. I have done multiple shops for this company, and have been paid for every single shop, without fail. I have no qualms highly recommending them.

phantom   nowhere

8:30pm on March 20th, 2011 

I've been thinking alot about doing this. I know some ppl who actually did get paid, and the check was real. How many suggest I do this for a little extra cash?? and how many suggest I don't?? I was ask to pay thru another site like this. But.. the ppl I know said they didn't have to pay for any thing. Any advice?? I'm kinda skeptical about this.

ariel   Location unknown

3:24am on December 21st, 2010

so i just signed up for this site and im kinda scared now bc i gave out my ssn and i dont know if this is a scam or not.

Miss C.   SC

7:58am on November 22nd, 2010 

Thanks Guys: I was just about to join Mystery Shopper to earn some holiday cash. I've decided not to do this after reading the above reviews.
Thanks again!

Tony C   SC

10:27am on October 4th, 2010 

To Jessica of Ohio, you say that there is no phone number for SecretShopper.com. Well, I just found their contact info on their web page and here it is

Secret Shopper®
620 Mendelssohn Ave N
Minneapolis, MN 55427-4310
763-525-1460
support@secretshopper.com.

I hope this helps you and others who can't get in touch with them.

Tony C   SC

9:58am on October 4th, 2010 

To Brenda Reyes of Brownsville, shame on you for heaping guilt trips on "poor people" that might have no choice but to work this way. Shame on you for standing in judgment of others instead of offering support.

Did you ever consider people's ages might prevent them from a "regular" job? Did you ever consider people's disabilities? Probably not, because you are one who can only judge instead of encourage and help.

Jessica   Ohio

8:18am on September 10th, 2010 

Even when you follow the instructions perfectly for one of their shops, they will claim they never heard from you on a date of shop change and immediately kick you off the site. They give you NO phone number to contact them, and do not check things before responding to you. I have been on the site just over a year and finally got one shop to do. It was a vet office, and they had no appointments on the scheduled day. I emailed them and never heard back, the day after my scheduled day I was told my audit was due, I emailed a second time to say that I had followed directions and requested a date change. I then received an email saying shop canceled. This after two times asking for a change of date. Then they get back to me saying I can have the shop reassigned because no email was received. I have the email I sent saved so I know it went through to them. Once I filled out the shop form (2 hours later) I got an email saying my services were no longer needed because I clearly wasn't interested in doing the shop. DO NOT use them. Something tells me they pay the same way...


Page: -1-   2   

Your Name:

Your Location:

Product/Service Rating:

Your Review:

 

 

 

 

Learn to Make Money Online Using Our Guide


Popular New Articles

How to Make Money Taking Online Surveys
Essential Steps for a Successful Online Business
Hot Tips For Saving Money

Work at Home
Job Listings

Administrative Jobs
At Home Transcription
Customer Service Jobs
Data Entry Jobs
Home Accounting Jobs
Home Writing Jobs
Medical Transcription Jobs

Compensation Disclosure

Review Categories

» Business Opportunities
» Business Gurus
» Data Entry Jobs
» eBay Programs
» Internet Marketing
» Investment
» Motivational
» Network Marketing
» Paid Online Surveys
» Real Estate