Scott Yancey Reviews

About Scott Yancey

Scott Yancey is one of the stars of the A&E television show, Flipping Vegas, and the proprietor of his own personal real estate investment system, which he promotes through seminars and books.

In his TV show, Scott Yancy, his wife Aimee, and a whole team of contractors purchase houses in the Las Vegas area and then “flip them,” which is a term used for affordable renovations made to a piece of property that will allow you to quickly resell it for a profit.

On his website, ScottYanceySeminar.com, his published biography says that Yancey’s grandfather was a successful real estate investor, who taught him the basics of profitable real estate investment from a young age.

Now Yancey is providing his expertise and knowledge to a wide audience, not only through his TV show, but also his book Go Time, and his nationwide series of seminars, which are described as “live real estate income events” where people can “learn secrets from the pros.”

These seminars are intended to show the attendees how to get started as an investor, how to pick the right area of real estate, how to create profit regardless of the state of the housing market, how to generate monthly cash flow, and more.

The website is very clear, however, that these seminars and informational sessions are meant to give people access to real estate education and investment training. Customers who attend this seminar looking for a ready made real estate business opportunity will likely have complaints, as this will not be the focus of the material shared.

TV stars of shows which focus on real estate flipping often take their information out to the public in this very way, just like the Armando Montelongo study course or the Fortune Builders educational website, which is run by some of the cast members of the show “Flip This House.”

If you have any experience with this website or its products, please leave your Scott Yancey reviews below.

Related Articles

57 ‘Scott Yancey’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Guest

I signed up but, will cancel

Reviewed By Gale Sr. on June 16, 2013, Fayetteville, NC

I've read all of the reviews and found them very useful. My gut instinct going into this was that it was going to be exactly as most of you said. But, after listening to the presentation, I found it to be reassuring and I signed up.
The main presenter was very good and he reminded me of the guys selling Time Shares. I signed up with the understanding that I have three days to cancel. To add to that, they offered to return my money after I purchased the first property and made money. Since I'm already going to purchase a property I thought that I had nothing to lose.

The main presenter left right after his presentation for a flight to parts unknown so, no one could answer the questions. I thought that at least I would get all of the valuable information that they would provide during the three day seminar.

Now after reading the reviews, I have decided that it's not worth my time. I just downloaded a free Flip book and will read that instead.

Thank you all for your very honest and educated opinions.

Respectfully,

Prenston

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 29 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Hmm
June 17, 2013

If you wrote a check, better put a stop payment on it ASAP. I would not trust them to not cash it even if you cancel. If you used a credit card, call and talk to your credit card company. you won't get your refund until you return the package of CD... like they were really worth much....probably 8 of them only contained a short 45 second audio clip. The most valuable CD's were the one with all the forms (which you could likely just find yourself online), and one on marketing. The rest were mostly fluff and garbage.

Anyway, the excuse they use not to give you your money back is that you still have the CD's - I guess that's why they pass those out the first night when you sign up. Some people returned the CD's and still say they are having issues getting a refund.

Your Comment
Guest

Scott Yancey scam

Reviewed By Camille on June 14, 2013, Orange County

Everything everyone else said in their reviews is true. I didn't buy in but the seminar lasted over 3 1/2 hours and I paid for parking which they didn't reimburse. When I went to leave the people were rude and there was no free camera. Just a mail in card for an MP3 player. Also one lady purchased something that was supposed to give you $1500 discount off first purchase of a tax lien. However it wasn't $1500 it was 15 $100 discounts which means she would have had to buy 15 liens to get the $1500 discount. Fraud......all the way!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 27 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

We Signed UP

Reviewed By Mary  on June 14, 2013, Appleton, Wi

We did sign up for there Diamond Package and have become a part of their "inner circle" . Every week we are working one on one with one of Scott's coach's, same person each week. This person does education and give us homework to walk us thorough and teach us how to do this. It is up to us to do. If we do not do the homework and use the tools they are teaching us, yes we will fail and the money we invested with be a waste. There is NO free ride. However since signing up we have been in close contact with his group through email and personal phone calls helping us set it up. Let me ask you this? If you were to start a business and that is exactly what this is, they are teaching you to do your own real estate investment, would you expect someone to come along and give you all the teachings and training and set you up for free. Come on!!! No I do not work for Scott Yancey but I have signed up for his program and so far they have delivered all they have promised. We will be making a trip to a buying summit in Vegas all paid for by our investment and a trip to Utah, all expenses paid for, for an "Inner Circle" conference. People you are starting a business here and starting any business comes at a price unless you really have the background and knowledge and time and some experience in business to do it all on your own. We did not. All I can say is they have delivered all they have promised and we are in touch with them continually either one on one with our coach or through their education center that does give you all the classes 24/7 and connections to their help line with hours everyday that run into the evening and weekend hours being a little more limited. They deliver on all the tools you need. I think you are all looking for something for nothing and folks that is not going to happen if you want to start a business and get it off the ground. As I said they have delivered and are continuing to deliver all they promises but it is up to us to do the studying, learning and use the tools they are giving us to be successful and that folks is up to us. Believe me I am as much a skeptic and still am and question everything but my husband and I did this because if you do not put one step forward sometime and move to get out of the spot you are in, life will never change. You will go away from the seminar thinking and feeling it is a scam and go back to your life as you know it and nothing will change, sometimes you have to step out and take the risk. Do you think any body who is somebody and has been successful did it without risk. I would say no because without stepping out and being will to take a risk your life will never change. It is as simple as that and that is why there are people who sign up that are interested in investing in this kind or business or there are people that go home and back to life as they know it. It is up to you. Again I have invested in Scott Yancey's program. I DO NOT work for him and no I have not been brain washed either.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 37 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 10 Comments
Laurie
June 14, 2013

You're entitled to your opinion. I don't think people that spent $2000 were looking for "something for nothing". That's pretty insulting for you to say. Perhaps people went to the initial FREE event for that camera that they were promised (fraudulently, I might add since no one I have talked to in any of the events actually got that camera as promised). Instead, we got cheesy little mp3 players that did not even work.

Another thing is that legitimate businesses do not go out of their way to use some of the highly manipulative, high pressure sales tactics on people. I am a stock investor and take risks all the time, but the are calculated risks. At the Yancy events, they try to have you believe that everything will be a bowl of cherries and you'll be raking in the big bucks.

The real truth is that is these people could really make as much money doing these deals as they are trying to convince the audience that they do, they would not need to be sitting at these boring seminars on their weekends. The real profits is that out of every seminar, they are making about $40,000 ($2000 x 20 paying participants) and then they get another 4 or so suckers that pay another $20,000-$40,000 each for additional courses, so that's another $80,000-$160,000 - plus the original $40,000. That's a
lot more money with far less work and risk to them than actually doing real estate deals.

Patricia
June 18, 2013

Thanks Laurie for make it clear. I agree with you. If the deal is for real, they should not be sitting in that seminar. How simple is that. Thanks again

Danny
September 11, 2013

I just wanted to say I've been on the fence about this bootcamp since i left the free meeting. I do want to point out i did get a free camera, but the camera was a POS. It looks more like a kids toy than anything, but at least they delivered on that end. However, they did not deliver on the chance of 1 of 50 free tablets chosen at random. I was quite upset at that since I would've gotten one. (there weren't 50 people at the event I was at).

I was really hoping that some of these reviews would touch on a little about people's experiences that have gone to the bootcamp. It would really help me decide on going or not.

Ms. Real Property Flippin' Chick
September 30, 2013

Hello "We Signed Up", Just out of curiosity... how many homes have you now flipped? I too grew up in a real estate family, my 83 year old father still building and buying residentially and commercially. Flipping is not rocket science, anyone really could do it with a reasonable amount of research.

Bruce
October 07, 2013

I have not been brain washed either.
yeah RIGHT!!!

Darc
October 27, 2013

Sounds like someone who works for the company who just posted a fake comment. Hmmm makesyou think.

Chris
October 27, 2013

Agree - crazy to think there are 50 neg reviews and this one which reads very scripted and fake. Even with the typos, i smell something and its not my dogs.

Paul
October 29, 2013

I have been in REI for 40 years & went with a young couple to review the free seminar. The most painful 90 mins I have ever spent. After the lemmings swarmed to the back to sign up for the $2000 3 day we walked out.
I then met another mid 50's couple who went all the way with this scam & have not had any success. In fact the properties they bought through the PD group attached to this scheme were nothing more than bait & switch. So we formed an LLC with them just to show how its done & we had our first deal in 30 days then flipped it CFD @ pull >18% p.a.

Curious Fox
December 01, 2013

Wow.....I ALWAYS research. When they keep emphasizing FREE you know there is catch.
Yes I registered, no I do not want the FREE ....will not accept them.....why, do not expect ANYTHING free to come without recourse.
Will go to "seminar" with winter coat, my recorder, and leave money, cards, and check book at HOME.

Everyone should ALWAYS ALWAYS check CONSUMER REVIEWS prior to spending ANY AMOUNT OF MONEY.

I can't wait for our seminar to come to town.

Laughing at MLM
December 02, 2013

I don't care how times you stated you weren't an employee of Scott, we all know you are. You have zero evidence of this seminar making you financially successful, and no one is expecting to become wealthy for free. So stop using that weak ploy in hopes that you can manipulate people into thinking you aren't cheating them out of their hard earned money. Yo Scott, with all this money coming into your new scam-empire, have you thought about investing in your employees basic education? After reading all their posts, I couldn't help but notice their horrific grammar. Just a thought.

Your Comment
Guest

Scam, waste of money

Reviewed By Laurie on June 14, 2013, NY

My experience was similar to the other posters. Their lure to get you to go to the freebie seminar with a promise of a free digital camera was outright fraud. They claimed that we would be mailed a digital camera and that there was a shipping error. All we received was a cheesy little mp3 player that looked like it came out of a gumball machine.

I am embarrassed to admit that I was snookered with their pitch into buying the $2000 package for the 3 day event. You may as well just throw you money out of a window. If you try to ask any questions such as "Hey all these rental income opportunities sound fantastic, but from a risk perspective, what about vacancy rates? I mean you still have to pay the mortgage if you have a loan."...They would not answer my question and instead came back with a famous quote that criticized me for being negative...

They also quote Warren buffet alot, but if you know anything about Warren buffer, he is extreme risk adverse. Part of being a successful investor is fully understanding the risk involved. At these seminars, you are not allowed to ask about or talk about risk.

Even when I met with my private consultant for 10 minutes, he pegged me for a negative Nancy and he asked me if I really wanted to be here and then implied that if I left, they would refund my money. Part of me wanted to stay and I also didn't believe they would just give me my money back that easily.. So I stayed.

After the fact, I now believe that I was offered my money back if I left, not because they would really give me my money back, but because they wanted to purge the room of any skeptics since on the third day they pretty much try to hard sell you into buying a package ranging from $20-40k and they do not want anything to get in the way of them convincing suckers to fork over their money.

I kind of feel bad because there were many elderly retired people there that did end up buying the advanced packages. When you sign up for the $2000 package, they make it seem as though that is all you really need to get started, but by the third day our "mentor" was telling us that we would never succeed without purchasing the much more costly education.

The cheesy part was at the end of the second day, people were asked to categorize themselves with respect to purchasing the advanced packages. A - Definitely going to do it; B - Maybe I will; C - Definitely not. We were asked to give this information before we left the second day. I picked C because I had just bought a house and could not afford it and also, I believed it was a scam.

When I came in on the third day, my name tag had been moved to the very last row instead of up front where I had been. Apparently, if you picked A, you moved to the front so they could focus on you, and the ones that were unsure or said no, were then pretty much ignored for the third day.

When we came back from lunch break on the third day, there were several people, mostly elderly couples wearing "V.I.P" stickers on their shirts... this meant that they had purchased the $40,000 package. I felt sorry for them - like they were wearing a "I'm a sucker. Kick me!" sign almost.

Also, at the end, they swiftly concluded after they had gotten everyone to sign up that was going to, and they asked everyone that did not purchase a package to leave so they could meet with the ones that did buy for a few more minutes privately. We got to say goodbye and thanked for coming outside the conference room in the hallways at the hotel. Talk about feeling like second class citizens!

I hope state attorney generals start going after these people for their misleading fraudulent practices. I am surprised that Scott Yancy and some of the others would allow their names to be associated with this shady bunch of scam artists.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 50 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Gracey
October 25, 2013

Thanks Laurie....
This was more than helpful information. My mother and I just went to one of their seminar on Thursday and paid some money up front and were thinking for moving forward with it but after reading this...Forget it! I new it all sounded too good to be true.

Samo
December 04, 2013

THANK YOU for your thorough review! This is very helpful.

Sherell E.
December 06, 2013

This is what you call a review. Thank you very much!!!

Your Comment
Guest

BUYER BE WARE SEMINAR

Reviewed By Jasmine on June 9, 2013, Los angeles

I have been investing in real estate for 10 years. Just attended the 3 days seminar in Hollywood, Ca. At the free similar, we were told not to buy real estates retail thru mls, auctions or real estate agents. That would be the retail way that everyone is doing. Instead, go to the $1997 seminar and learn how to get good deals thru inside information. Scott relation with the bank which regular people don't have. That was never mentioned at the seminar. They also bait us in with other real estate teachings as well but did not delivered. We were told not to pass business cards around or network informations to each other. Not to ask questions during class. It seemed really shady and they have a lot to hide. They promised to teach a lot about real estate but offer very little. They spent 70% of the time trying to brain washing you to buy 20000-60000 advance package training. They recommended we buy these packages as well as real estates from 401k, Ira, credit cards, friends and family. It's outright ridiculous and dangerous. I found this 3 Days paid seminar a waste of precious. Next time, if something sound too good to be true, it's probably is. Do not go to this seminar. Read a book in real estate instead. You will get more out of it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 41 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Laurie
June 14, 2013

Forgot to mention that the package of CD's you get has only a few good CD's out of the 12 or so it contains. Many (more than half) of them contain only a short audio file. When I say short, I mean like 45 seconds. Like they could not have put a bunch of these on the same CD? Oh of course not... the CD package, like everything else with these guys, is made to look larger than it really is by spreading out tiny bit of information out over several CDs.

Mary
June 14, 2013

This not what we were told. We did sign up and have done the foot work. Right now we are working with one of Scott's coaches and are being shown how to build a buyers list and find buyers. There has been a lot more given since that first seminar. We were told to go to foreclosure auctions not to buy, we do not have the cash but to find and talk with the buyers there with the cash to help build a buyers list. They also coach us on how to approach these buyers and give us a script to use for a "backbone" when talking with them to. That is one way to find buyers and we have been shown others. Our coach we work with each week, we set up a time and appt. with him, is the same person each week. What you expected a free lunch and to be given all the inside info at one 3 hour session. Come on???

Laurie
June 21, 2013

Free lunch? 3 HOUR session? Hmm. I don't think you understand what we are talking about Mary. We're talking about the 3 DAY workshop that we PAID $2000 to attend. Not sure how that is a 3 hour "free" lunch type deal. You must be a shill for the fraudsters or something.

People are complaining because they were promised during the original "free" seminar that if they paid $2000 for the 3 day workshop that they would be walked through how to do these deals, step-by-step.

Instead, we were basically sold a 3 day infomercial where we were basically told our chances of success were slim unless we were willing to fork out another $20,000-$40,000 to do their advanced class packages and boot camp.

The presenters at the workshop also refused to address ANY concerns regarding personal risks involved with these transactions and even the "rental properties", such as what happens if you have a vacancy and you are still stuck paying the bills.

How many people do you think would have signed up for this class if during the free seminar they mentioned that you needed to spend another $20,000-$40,000 to really be successful and get the scoop? I think that would have cleared the room pretty darned fast.

The bottom line is that you can make money in real estate, but there are also many risks, most of which are glossed over or that these presenters pointedly refuse to discuss, even in your private consultation. That should say it all right there. It is my opinion that 3 days is not nearly enough to be able to learn all the ins and outs, but I think there is some real fraud there where they sell people a spiel about how easy it is and how the 3 day workshop is all you need.... but once you get there, they start singing a different tune and try to extract more money.

Anthony
September 24, 2013

Laurie you hit the nail on the head, whether or not the information was useful or not is a side issue, they promised to walk you step by step through your first deal and lied. I dont mind making an investment and possibly losing but i dont like being lied to to swindle me

March 03, 2014

Anthony

I agree with you on that one, we were also informed that they would walk us through the real estate mine field. There was good information at the event and some of it helpful. You were constantly reminded that you would need the advanced class to make the real profits. This was not communicated at the event sign up.

Your Comment

Leave a Review