Ric Edelman Reviews

Ric Edelman
Based on 17 Reviews
Review It

About Ric Edelman

Ric Edelman is a best selling author, renowned radio host, and acclaimed financial advisor.  He has consistently been recognized as one of America's leading advisors and has a large following of fans both on radio and television.

Currently his books on investing and managing personal finance include: Ordinary People, Extraordinary Wealth; The New Rules of Money; Discover the Wealth Within You; What You Need to Do Now; The Truth About Money, and The Lies About Money.  These have been translated into different languages and have regularly appeared on best seller lists.

His books have received some mixed reviews with the majority being very favorable.  It's tough to please everyone with a financial planning book, especially one written for the mass public, since many savvy investors favor their own methods and systems.

Ric Edelman's radio talk show allows guests to call in and receive free financial advice.  The show has been running for over 15 years and has earned Ric several awards.  He also has a nationally syndicated newspaper column and his own personal newsletter.

On his website Ric offers a number of free resources and lots of practical advice that people can use to start addressing their financial needs.  You can find information on everything from debt elimination to estate planning.  You can also listen to past podcasts of Ric's radio show for no charge.

Overall, Ric Edelman provides sound financial advice and is an avid proponent of big picture planning and investing.  For him, this is the foundation of any financial plan, and once you have a clear set of goals you can focus on deciding which specific investment vehicle will get you there.

Related Articles

17 ‘Ric Edelman’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Guest

I'm tired of being a sucker, , ,

Reviewed By Wallace Neat on September 3, 2013, Franklin, TN

I can't remember where the inspiration came from, , , but one day I woke up and decided that I was tired of being a sucker, , , I went to bob brinker, , I went to suzy orman, , , I did my homework, It was like playing golf , , Now I know my trade , , ,

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Sally Wood

Reviewed By Joe on May 24, 2013, Chicago

I would love to meet this Sally Wood chick, she seems a bit psycho, but sure knows how to hold a grudge. She also really likes commas. As far as Edelman, I enjoy his radio show and think he gives good advice, but I wouldn't pay the fees for him to manage my money, you can easily do it yourself with little experience.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Sally Who?
September 13, 2013

I agree. Probably a competitor trying to stir up trouble.

Your Comment
Guest

eldleman OUT

Reviewed By sally wood on April 7, 2013, hollywood calif

ric edleman is interesting on the radio and he is a good saleman,,, but be aware ,, He wants your dough,,, learn the trade and do your homework,,, use www.bob brinker.com and learn to invest your dough yourself,, rather than be subject to this edleman shark attack,, he had got to have a high lifestyle ,, and all of your are backing,it,, like suzy orman ,, learn ,,, study,,, and do your own thing,, like paying golf,, learn the game before you put your dough out there for people like rick edleman to get fees off your hard earned money,,, wake up sucker

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 13 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By nano on December 16, 2012, nyc

I never dealt with Ric Edelman. I used to listen to his show, and the thing that I can't get off my mind is that he used to advise home owners to carry as big a mortgage as possible, and invest their money in the market. I used to yell at the radio whenever he repeated that advice. And that was a short few years before the housing and stock market crash.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
sally wood
April 07, 2013

I agree,,,this edleman charges a high fee to invest your money in funds you can do yourself,, use bob brinker.com for one hundred eightfive bucks you can get his yealy newsletter and do it yourself,, I have made nothing but dough,,, never give anyone your dough

Frank Nyberg
November 20, 2013

What Ric says about mortgage makes sense. Lets say you paid off your mortgage. You have lots of equity. You lose your job so you need access to the equity. Apply for a mortgage when you have no job? Good Luck. His point is to have liquid assets. Home equity is not always liquid. Many are house rich cash poor. That is the heart of his mortgage advice.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Peter West on November 3, 2012, Katonah NY

Had Ric's firm manage my IRA for 8 years. I never made any money. I finally dropped him earlier this year. I could have done much better by investing in an index fund. His fees are much higher than other advisers.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
sally wood
April 07, 2013

yep this edleman is a salesman ,,, and nnevr pay anyone to jnvest your dough,, learn yourself ,, and if you don't have the time,,, try bob brinker and put it in a vanguard total stock market index etc,,, learn the rules and get off your back end and save and invest your money

****
May 12, 2013

you work for Vanguard?

Frank Nyberg
November 20, 2013

Well diversified up 25% since late 2011 with Edelman

October 27, 2014

Frank do you work for Edelman?

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By eric f on October 12, 2012, MD

After suffering years of losses and poor advice from Goldman Sachs, I moved most of my portfolio (in excess of 4 million dollars) to Edelman. I track this stuff like a hawk. My returns are in excess of 9% annually (net fees). Outperforming Dow and in the range of S &P with far lower risk. I don't know what the noise is about. I've been around and these guys give valuable, sound advice.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
sally wood..
April 07, 2013

yeah valuable and expensive ,,, sucker ,, learn to invest your own dough

Mike
May 12, 2013

What year did you move the money to Ric Edelman?

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By tom on July 29, 2012, chicago

Think all this guy does is sell managed money accounts. He gets paid in bad and good markets. Seems like a carnival poser.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Capt. Crunch on April 11, 2012, Maryland

We are on the fence. With reward comes risk...I understand that. The fee structure Edelman charges is what it is....but I believe that one would have to see three times what they were reasonably earning with their own efforts in order to justify and absorb such lofty fees. Example: If I am paying 6K in fees to Edelman every year that is approx. $120k in 20 years just in fees...I'd want to see 240k MORE than I was already seeing at the end of that 20 years to justify that outlay. And at the time of retirement..it's too late to say "whoops" I guess going with them really was just in their favor mostly! They do not boast excellent returns, they are on the side of growing and retain ing the most they can of what you give them to work with. Tis a roll of the dice and a healthy retirement nestegg lay in the balance.
Why, if their method is so great , if constant re-balancing is the "way to go" then why don't they offer views of like kind investments for prospective clients to view. Who has done well by them? Where are you? How much did you plunk down and say to them " here...grow this into a healthy retirement" And what is it's balance now? Be honest....Many of us out here are jobless and our retirement and the quality of that retirement rests on good intel. Well..I'll be waiting!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
sally wood
April 07, 2013

you are an idiot,, you looked for the lazy way out and went with edleman,,, and he took your dough,, go to www.bob brinker.com and learn to invest your dough,,, like playing golf,, learn the rules before you play,, what an idiot to give this clown your hard earned dough,, wake up and smell the roses ,, sucker

***
May 12, 2013

@ sally wood....Have a vendetta? Jodi Arias anyone?

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Phil on March 20, 2012, NY

It is unfortunate for David M. that he opened his account with Edelman the year the market peaked. The following year the S&P dropped 38 percent. At a loss of 6%, it is still better than the S&P that is down 9%. David should look at the market numbers then and now before he points the finger at Edelman. I joined Edelman financial in April 2008 and I am up 7%. had I joined the following year, I would have gained more than 20%. When you invest for the long term, you need to be patient and not jump to conclusions because doing so gives false impressions to those reading these reviews.
No, I don't work for Edelman, just being objective having the facts.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
sally wood
April 07, 2013

and you are probably a shill for edleman

Ralph James
September 13, 2013

oh, but your NOT one for Brinker (hypocrite)

March 14, 2014

Heck I have been with Edward Jones 5 years with an avg return over 20% and LPL for 10 year with an avg return of just under 20%..... Think I will stick with them

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By George on January 27, 2012, MA

I put $6K into Ric Trust for my son in Jan of 1999 as of today Jan of 2012 it has gained $800.00. I could have gotten more in a savings account!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
sally wood
April 07, 2013

you didn't do your homework,,, took the easy way out,,, never pay ,, do it yourself and study,,, get it,,,???? sucker

Ralph James
September 13, 2013

So, Sally, my dear, just wondering who will manage your money when you're sick or disabled? Oops, guess You're the "sucker" on that one.

Oh, and one more thing, just what exactly will you do when good old Bob kicks the bucket? He's getting up there. Just askin, since you seem to have all the answers. But I'm sure you'll have a "cute" response to this as well

Good luck doin it on your own.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By David M. on January 13, 2012, MD

Been with Edelman since April 2007. The staff is super, but the returns are poor -6.38% to date. This includes the 2.0% fee the firm charges. Edelman argues that they do better than most indexes (e.g. we lose less of your money than the competition) By the way, the brokerage firm that Edelman uses, T.D. Ameritrade, charges you fees. Just transfer money and you will get a $50 fee. I think Rik Edelman makes most of his money selling book and being on the radio.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
sally wood
April 07, 2013

your got that right son,,, he is a salesman,, learn your trade and if you need scottrade or invest direct in the company,,, like vanguard total stock market index,,, you are a sucker and lazy at learning your money trade,, wake up and smell the roses ,,, sucker ,, sucker born everyday

Ralph James
September 13, 2013

Boy, you're on a roll Sally (if that's even your real name). Its not even worth responding to you any more.

Have fun bashing Edelman (meanwhile he'll go on helping thousands of people - oh and last I checked his firm now manages close to $11Billion and ranked #1 3 times by Barrons. But I guess your're smarter than everyone else (including Barrons - good luck with that!

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By janet lake on October 9, 2011, hollywood calif

ric edleman has alot bad reviews on finra.org and I find that his morris harris group are sharks...not someone that is a good find

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
sally wood
April 07, 2013

try bob brinker.com or suzy orman,,, learn your trade,,, sucker

Ralph James
September 13, 2013

Suzy Orman- Really Sally!!?? (or should I call you Jim or Frank)

Good luck with that one.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Jeff on October 3, 2011, Northern Virginia

I have read all his books, starting with the original Truth About Money, and have generally followed his advice. His approach to money management mirrors what I learned in business school, and I have been very happy with the results (I'm retired now). What he says basically is that you need to know what your financial goals are, then design your savings/investment plan to achieve the goal or goals. If you have no goals, then you might as well spend everything as you earn it, although at minimum everyone should have the goal to save for emergencies or job loss, don't you think?

When the Lies About Money came out, I saw him address a small crowd at a book signing, and he told the crowd that nothing that he and his firm does is anything that could not be done on your own - it's just that people don't do it or they put it off. He said it's not "rocket surgery" and just takes some self-education.

I saw him recently at a small private gathering where the topic was limited to investing and planning for retirement, and during the Q & A he said a version of the same thing - that his firm is like a lawn service. You can mow your own lawn (and fertilize, and seed, and trim, etc., etc.) but what you pay for is making sure that everything gets done on time, at the right time, and with the right investment mix to achieve the planned for goal.

His website suggests an appropriate mix of investments, given goals and individual risk tolerance. This is totally free (they ask your name and email, then send you ONE follow-up email - nothing heavy-handed). I did this to get the right mix for me, then used a combination of investments to create that mix on my own. The key to everything is to re-balance when the mix is out of whack, and to periodically revisit your goals, to make sure the mix is the right one. Even his books I read from the library for free. I have paid him nothing (other than compliments) and have benefited from his planning advice, and have made money even through the recession. His approach, which is the same one I learned in school, always works, unless the earth is invaded by aliens or something.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
sally wood
April 07, 2013

so do it on your own and don't pay him a dime,,, you are a consumer and a sucker

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Chris on September 23, 2011, CA

I went to FINRA and did the search like Bob L. recommended. There are two complaints that were resolved and nothing pending. Big deal! But, I do notice Bob L. is advertising other services.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Joan on July 19, 2011, Baltimore

I attended the seminar last night in Towson, MD. As for the initial presentation,I felt the seminar had a touch of a glitzy Hollywood feel to the opening. As one entered there were well dressed men in dapper suits who seemed too eager to pounce on the attendees as potential clients.

Having Jean Edelman make the opening remarks makes one suspect as to be catchy and cute and reeking of wedded bliss. The announcer reminded me of a circus barker calling for everyone to come into the tent and witness a true showman, Ric Edelman. Ric's entrance down the center aisle smacked that is was all about him.

As for content, it was information I had heard before and nothing really new. Some scar tactics were cleverly thrown in to want one to sign up to be a client. Ric looked at his watch periodically and some of the topics he said he was going to touch on never materialized. It ended promptly at nine with a Q&A. To me Ric seemed anxious to get out of the room.

I had met with a rep in Bethesda about 3 years ago. Talk about fees! If the adviser had taken over my portfolio it would have worked out to be around $6,000 annually. From what Ric said about how well they manage and monitor your portfolio there has to be a cost to the adviser. $6,000 is too steep for me. Once educated and taking the time to do this myself, I would much rather pocket that $6,000!!!!

Too much showmanship, old news,statistics and fear tactics. So be it!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
sally wood
April 07, 2013

you figured it out ,,, he wants everyone to finance his high lifestlye with the wifey etc,, learn to manage your own dough,,, get rid of this salesman clown ,, use him for info and give him the boot

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Bob L. on June 30, 2011, NY

Check out Ric's FINRA penalties & fines at broker check finra.org. His broker dealer name is Morris Harris Group. It's scary he's allowed to advise!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Rob
February 24, 2013

Just checked; nothing there on them.

sally wood
April 07, 2013

dump this guy and use scottrade and learn to invest yourself,,, sucker

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By James S. on June 23, 2011, DC

After seeing the Ric Edelman show, I can say that he gives acceptable BROAD advice.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
sally wood
April 07, 2013

so broad,, that he is reaching into your bank account to get your dough,,, learn to invest yourself,, sucker

Your Comment

Leave a Review