- Home - - Work at Home Reviews - - Contact -
 

MENU

Primerica Financial Services Reviews

Legit or Scam?

 

Primerica.com

from 586 reviews Review It
Primerica Business Opportunity

 

Primerica Financial Services is a popular business opportunity that allows individuals from all walks of life a chance at making serious money.  Primerica itself is a division of CitiGroup and has been in business for over thirty years.

What you get from the Primerica business opportunity is a chance to enter the financial services industry without any prior experience or qualifications.  They provide the necessary tools and training needed for success.

If you join Primerica you will receive training in the sales of financial items such as life insurance, mutual funds, variable annuities, various loans, and legal services.  The introductory cost for joining the company is only two hundred dollars.

Throughout the years Primerica has been integrating the latest technology in order to provide their representatives with all the tools necessary to earn money and help their clients.  For Instance since 2005 Primerica Life agents have been issued electronic handhelds that let them get insurance quotes on the spot and fill out applications without paper.

There has been some controversy over the recruitment practices of some Primerica Financial Services representatives.  However, this kind of recruitment activity was limited to a few bad apples and is strongly prohibited by Primerica's policies.

Primerica Financial Services has also maintained a solid reputation with the Better Business Bureau, successfully resolving the majority of its few complaints. 

Quite a few people are ready to call Primerica a scam simply because it's a multi level marketing organization. There have been many accusations made regarding whether the real focus of the business opportunity is to sell product or to recruit more people.

It's such a contested topic that in the end you have to decide for yourself if this is the type of business model for you.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
Primerica Financial Services?
If so, click here
 
Share This!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints for 'Primerica Business Opportunity'

 

Average Rating is 3.04 out of 5 based on 586 reviews.

S.   Texas

9:49pm on February 9th, 2011

I make out PRIMERICA to be a fraud and a scam,and don't all these comments from TEXAS look fishy mostly positive and similar in being worded? The reason I noticed was because I am from Texas...recently my girlfriend got invited to one of these seminars/orientations and the moment I walked in I felt like I was at a CULT meeting...seriously I was waiting for them to pass out the cyanide drinks...even her sister who was there with us said the same thing and they were playing this weird techno music LOL!Then they were playing this short film on the projector about FREEDOM and how to become a millionaire and about there conventions and traveling ect....just a bunch BS they never once explained what they do in the seminar at all!Then they had this weird ritual that they did where they pass out achievements? and they tried calling my girlfriend up and welcomed her to primerica and gave her a bracelet and candy for whatever reasons...overall i think this a pyramid scheme and is definitely fraud if one of these recruiters comes to you tell him to gth I did!

J   Location unknown

12:12pm on February 9th, 2011 

I have been reading all these blogs ,everyone has a right to their opinion . As for trying Primerica , I say hell yes!! The thing about this system is that they do not give you anything.You have to work for it.Some people cannot put out the every day effort at the level required. I say that is true for alot of other professional endeavors. People talk about the training as bad. That all depends on what office you are in. Do some people give a bad accounting of themselves?? Hell yes! Remember this opportunity is not an easy one.Few can do it. If you really think about it, becoming more able at anything requires more reading and experiences.As for finances, that is not what this program is. It is about taking concepts & ideas provided by this company to help people navigate the very troubling times.Just remember, if you really pay attention , the experts really did help facilitate the almost total destruction of our financial system.Are you going to do that in Primerica , no.As for the unfounded criticism , this company is essentially introducing ideas that for the most part have never been embraced by our society.Except for rich people!! Talk to one , they will tell you.
I do think that the criticism is just a gut reaction to the relatively unknown facts.We are living in a new world now. We can not keep doing the things we have been doing. So when you meet a Primerica rep , give them a break . The traditional industry has a black eye that cannot be ignored.Why do I say this? The traditionalists are telling me this . As for the ridicule of reps, why make fun of where someone is or why they are doing it.If you really look back in history , i believe our military has taken the same smack , when really , it is not deserved. Really need to kick back and think about what is going to help these individuals get better.We need them.The system in Primerica is like no other.It feels like you are on your own, but really , you are not.Primerica does the math , you represent to the best of your ability. Sorry if i seem all over the place here. Good day!!!!!!!!!


Jon Bowman   Manistee, MI

10:48am on February 8th, 2011 

r.v.

No, it is not a popularity contest. It works like this: you sign up and pay a monthly fee for your own web page and independent business. You are correct in saying that they should not pitch it as an employment opportunity because your IBA (independent business application) is not a job application and if you are approved, you will not be an employee of Primerica. However, they will profit from your work. Once you become a representative, they will instruct you to compile a list of all your friends and family and this will be your "warm market", people who like you and will give you a chance to give them a sales pitch. You and a more experienced rep (usually the person who recruited you) will then go and conduct an FNA (financial needs analysis) on all your receptive friends and family members. When you call these people to schedule the FNA, you can (and will be encouraged to)tell them that it would really help you out because it will give you the chance to train, or you can tell them that you can really help them out with their finances. At least some of your friends and family will be receptive and your higher-up will perform the FNA on them after you get all their financial and insurance information. Your friends and family are told that this FNA will determine how Primerica can help them. What it actually does is determine how much insurance they "need" and once the results are in, you and your recruiter will schedule a follow up meeting in which you will attempt to sell them this insurance. If you do this with enough people, Primerica will sell some insurance. So, the main goal is to get you to come up with as many names as possible. The more FNA's you do, the better statistical chance Primerica has to sell insurance. Simple mathematics. You generate the clients and everyone else will make money off your sales. Which is not to say that you will not make money too. If you know enough "middle class" people, you can make sales and money. Just do not buy into the idea that they exist to help low-income families. Most low-income families cannot afford to buy insurance. This company sells insurance. It is that simple.

Also, some of your friends and family members may not appreciate being mislead, and of course, none of these relationship issues will be the company's problem. It is all on you. And remember, if there are any issues with the product you sell them (see my first post on here), this will reflect on you in the eyes of your clients. I for one, do not think you can get adequate training in the handling of insurance/finances from a once a week motivational meeting and an internet certification program which allows you to re-do each question until you answer it correctly.

Jesse   TX

2:03am on February 8th, 2011 

Understand your concerns. The investment products we sell are managed by such companies as Legg Mason, Van Kampen and American Funds. Some of their mutual funds rank in the top 25. So dont worry, the agent is not going to take your money and open a Scottrade account with it. :) A lot of these funds can be found in other brokerage firms.

Now i do agree that some folks are in it for the wrong reasons. For instance the person i talked to a few years back tried to tell me to drop my policy (in affect for 6yrs) and replace it. Now i know that term gets pricey as you get older so this made no sense to me. That person was in it for a the money. Ive seen some people in primerica analyze your policy and actually tell the person to stay put with their current policy. Also, ive seen other tell clients not to invest aggressive because their profile came back as a moderate. There are some good people in the company.

I once talked to a person about my 401k. Turns out that i had 3 similar licenses as the person i was talking with. So why would they be called a business and why would i be considered a scam artist?

r.v.   Monterey, Ca

4:57pm on February 6th, 2011

Judging from some the comments I just read,Why does everyone that has a hand is this Primamerica Investment Company get so offended when someone says its a scam? One thing that is kind of annoying is that they do advertise their business as job employment, and they really should not. So is it basically a popularity contest based on the amount of friends you can sign up?

Jon Bowman   Manistee, MI

12:37am on February 6th, 2011 

The problem is not "a couple bad apples"! It is a complete lack of training. Anyone who has ever been to a Primerica "training" day knows that it is a complete joke. The bottom line is these people have no idea what they are doing and have no business handling other people's finances and insurance. The people defending them on here are obviously working for them and making money. Which is cool for them. I just hope the best for their friends and family. Oops, I mean "warm market".

OK   Ok

4:41pm on February 4th, 2011 

Lisa,
Is it bogus that i spent about $30,000 to get a degree. That degree didn't guarantee me a job or a high paying salary. Plus, my college asks for donations too?

Is it wrong for the church to recruit new members then ask them to give on a weekly basis?

martin c   san francisco

6:10pm on January 30th, 2011 

The fees you pay goes toward your state licensing and other regulatory agencies that require a license. Life insurance Dept of Insurance, investments FINRA, etc. etc

If at any point you feel this is not for you, you walk away WITH YOUR LICENSE (just like your driver's lic) Primerica does not own YOUR license. They only require it because that's the LAW!!!

If you think or feel its a pyramid, why don't you report it to the Dept of Corporations or any Regulatory body of your State.

Instead of whining in the internet. Why don't you report it???? Because you are just a LAZY PERSON looking to be spoon-fed by the world!!!! Look at your bank account balance, your investments and your life in general...does it look bankrupt???

I'll be the first to admit that there are a few bad apples in primerica, do you know of an organization where everybody's a saint????

In fact, there's probably somebody among your relatives who's not exactly honest...that does not make your entire clan dishonest.

Lisa   IL

10:01pm on January 28th, 2011 

Primerica wants my mother to become a selling agent. They want her to pay 100.00 up front and then 20 something a month for a website.

Is that bogus or what?

Katie   Seattle

3:35pm on January 27th, 2011 

I love how some people can't see an awesome opportunity or even a chance at financial freedom. They don't promise that they can give you better rates or a better life. With any business you will have your ups and downs. Primerica just went public. Scams are the ones that advertise. Not the work that is actually commendable. Think about a fast food restaurant or even a flippin cell phone company. How many of them advertise all these wonderful things, and next thing, you have to call customer service because somebody messed up, or maybe there was a hair in your food. Large companies who advertise. There is no obvious distinction between a franchise or a corporate location. Deceiving? Definitely! And yet, how many of you are still customers? Anybody heard of Cutco or even Mary Kay? Those are strictly sales. You cat change a persons quality of life with some makeup or kitchen knives. Retirement, savings, future college funds for you children, and freedom from those damn debt collectors. That is truequality of life for me. I am very sorry for the people who had unsatisfactory experiences, but the common Factor in all of the complaints was either a bad apple rep or skeptics who want an easy way out of debt. They are like a personal trainer in the finance area. How many people try to develop a savings plan, a goal, and don't stick to it? These people have it down to a science. Science proves itself.

Jay   TX

3:09am on January 27th, 2011 

Here are my comments about what i have read.
1) When people decide to become doctors, lawyers, engineers, teachers, etc. they go to school for a few years. They pay huge tuition bills and dont get paid unless they get an internship. Same goes with Primerica. You get your license you get paid.
2) Its easier to be an employee than a business owner. Not everyone has that business owner mentality.
3) Debt issues are due to a behavioral problem. By doing a debt consolidation, you dont really fix the problem. Basically you need more cash coming in. Primerica offers that to people. Also, debt stacking or debt snowball is the best thing to show a person carrying debt. Its a visual tool that hopefully changes a person's mindset about debt.
4) Its not get rich quick scheme. Whats funny is i make on average about $500-$700 a month. People ask me, what about the millions they promise?? But when i tell them if at their job tomorrow they gave them a $500/month raise what would you say. They usually say they would be jumping for joy. Hmmm go figure.
5) Saying "Get Rich Quick Scheme" is wrong. Basically they are trying to play with emotions. People really love "Get Rich Quick" ideas. Here we have had the gold rush, tech bubble and most recently the real-estate bubble. People saying that real-estate will NEVER go down brought tons of home buyers and what happened?? So its ok to spend thousand and lose but not wise to spend $99 on an opportunity?
6) A scam? Usually when a person hits their late 50s and early 60s, they realize they shouldve sat down with one of these scam artist 30yrs ago. We do whats right for people. Life insurance, home/auto and mutual funds. Whats the scam in that?
7) People complain about walmart and guess what, tons of people still go there.
8) I do agree that with a workforce of about 100,000 you will probably find some people that dont belong in the field.
9) Its all a numbers game. Im sure companies look at hundreds of resumes before they decide to hire that one person. Sometimes that one person doesnt work out. So they go and look at hundreds more resumes to find another one. Then one day, they hit the jackpot and find that extra special person that has great ideas and helps the company earn more money. Is this bad?
10) Why is it ok if your boss and your CEO makes WAY more than you but you don't like hearing that the person above you will make a cut of your sale? Lots of folks hate their job but stay because of that steady paycheck.
Finally, this opportunity is not for everyone. Please dont knock it just because its different. For a lot of people out there, this company has provided extra income and in some cases financial security. Lets not forget all the lives we have changed with our financial education and makeovers.

Ryan   ohio

11:14am on January 18th, 2011 

i think primerica is one of the biggest financial marketing scams out there. i went through the interview process and almost got through the orientation process. both take days to complete. you dont get paid a dime for all that time you spend training. then, even if you got the job, training is still required two days a week for a couple of hours as long as your with the company. The first thing they want you to do is pay the fee for the class and try to get signed up to primerica online. they also want you to hit up all your friends and family to either get a customer or a recruit. Actually,they focus more on you getting recruits than they do customers. if you take this job, you better have a lot of people you know you coould sit down with. if you dont have a lot of family or friends in the area, dont take this job. its all commission. what most people also dont know is that when someone gets a insurance policy from primerica, although they dont ask money on the appointment, they do get a percent of that money. someone who is just starting will get like 10% fo the money of that persons payment. also, the guy who hired the person on as a recruit will get a portion of that money to. that how it works at primercia. once you get to a certain position and one of your recruits makes a sale, not only does he get money for it, you also get money for that sale because you hired them on. i also know that once you get to the fourth or fifth position, you get up to 40 or 50% of the sale you make to a person, if your even able to get to that position. i dont know how people are getting the coverage primerica says there getting if two other people are getting a big portion of that money. they say its not like other companies who take money out of a big pool of money with all the customers money in it when a someone needs to borrow money or take money out of there account, but i just dont see how that can be true if people in company are making 6 figure incomes. and thats another thing, they try to tell you that you can make a big amount of money in a short period, but there is no way that everyone involved in a company can make that much.thats just a few of them.

Jon Bowman   Manistee, MI

1:46pm on January 16th, 2011 

Candi,

Do NOT count on Primerica for any type of debt management. When they do the financial needs analysis (FNA) like they probably just did on your parents, it simply determines how much insurance they think you should have. They might help you to plan a budget and a few things like that but their main goal is to sell insurance. They do NOT negotiate with your lenders or help with bankruptcy or anything like that. If you or your family are in any serious debt, I recommend contacting a bankruptcy lawyer or a firm that specializes in debt relief. And do your homework on them as well. You are smart to be researching Primerica or anyone else you are considering for financial services. You can read my earlier post to see my experience with Primerica. But even with that aside, they are NOT a debt relief agency!

candi   texas

7:59am on January 14th, 2011 

Ok so my parents just had their first primerica meeting last night. the guy came and explained to them that they need to build a firm foundation of life insurance before he could start helping them with debt management. he wanted them to sign a contract and told them that it would take at least 4 meetings before everything got up and running. i dont have a good feeling about this. how is buying their life insurance on top of what they already have with employers gonna make them better off. i'm thinking that primerica's debt management is just simply doing the stack method, pay off the lower stuff first and stacking it on top of other debt. the guy got kind of ugly with me when i asked him if he and his wife were debt free. he said no. then come to find out he and his wife were living in their parents home til their RENTAL apartment came open. I asked wasnt renting, like throwing your money away. he got upset with me. i just do not have a good feeling about this. trying to find more on the internet about the debt management, not joining primerica to sell the insurance. just joining their policy and debt management. anyone know of anything out there?

Jon Bowman   Manistee, MI

2:02am on January 12th, 2011 

I was approached by a man at our church and he offered me a job. I needed one badly, so I met with him. It was a Primerica "business opportunity". I went for it because as I said, I needed a job. Nothing was ever really explained to me and the "training" was a joke. Nothing more than a pep talk. I learned nothing about selling insurance. But I was able to pass the online test and get my first license. I decided to try the "product" before attempting to sell it to my close friends and family (which was now supposed to be considered my "warm market"). The man who had recruited me also did my FNA and determined he could get me a cheaper homeowners policy. He was not properly trained. He found me a homeowner's policy at around $200 per year cheaper than I was paying and the company SafeCo, sold me the policy right over the Primerica agent's phone. I received my policy and a couple days later, I received a letter that it was canceled. My old homeowners policy was already canceled due to my belief that I was now insured by SafeCO. So now my home which my family lives in, was uninsured. Primerica (and SafeCo) had sold me a policy before having the house looked at by an actual person. I had some repairs going on at the time and a few days after selling me the policy, they sent someone to look at my home. They did not like what they saw, so they canceled my policy, leaving me uninsured. I called and asked if I could finish the repairs to my home, would they please refrain from canceling my insurance. I was simply told no. They did give me a couple weeks to find a new policy. This proved more difficult than I could have known.My old insurance company was apparently mad at me for suddenly dropping them and would not even return my calls, I wasted what time I did have on trying to get them to reinstate my policy . After that, other insurance companies did not want to insure me because they found it suspicious that I did not currently have any insurance on my home. On top of all this, I was sent a letter from my mortgage company stating that if I did not get a policy they would force me to have lender placed insurance. Which is extraordinarily expensive and worthless for me because it only covers the mortgage companie's interests in my home. I was desperate and went to a local insurance company, explained the whole situation, and was offered a policy for over a hundred dollars more than my original one (before Primerica messed with it). This local insurance company sent someone out to look at my house and made a couple demands of things I needed to fix before they would insure me. I fixed them, and they insured me. That simple. So, when all was said and done, I had nothing but headache and stress due to a Primerica agent selling me a policy that never should have been sold to me before anyone even looked at my house. I now pay more for my homeowners policy and have quit the Primerica "business". These people are not trained, they have no idea what they are doing. You can probably make money at Primerica as a "representative". Just don't become a customer or care about your customers.

Courtney   West Springfield

6:10am on January 6th, 2011 

Maybe half of you should have gone further with this then to just jump and say they just want your money and its a scam. I work for Primarica...they tell you right up front its not a fast money making job. Primarica is the biggest insurance company in North America..if it was a scam then how could they do that. I know people who have worked there for a long time and who have kids..again if it was fake then how do they manage to pay for their homes and kids. Yes you have to pay to take the test..but you have to do that in the field of law and other jobs as well..or those scams? No...so before you jump to saying its a scam after talking to someone for 45 minutes and thats it..maybe you should further it and go to meetings and actually try it before bashing it.

Honey   Silver Spring

9:32am on January 4th, 2011

I was to have and "interview" with a Primerica Rep who found my "impressive resume" on career builders, thank God I was wise enough to do some research on my own before taking the long trip to their office and loosing my hard earned money. NO THANK YOU PRIMERICA, YOU CANNOT HELP ME.

Anthony   San Diego, CA

2:01pm on December 2nd, 2010 

I tried to withdraw from the company because I refuse to sell to my friends and family and I am not interested in selling anything besides my skills as a service. The premise is that everyone has what they need and they are spending it unwisely and that they are in need of a partner to take their hand and guide them through the maze of financial information. News flash sometimes you can't help, and this was advertised as a Job up until the last minute. I did not want a business of my own. I am already working on my education and skills on a daily basis and I wanted a part time job. Well they offered nothing by way of explanation as to how to withdraw and then when I said I did not wish to sell anything they just led me on. I got so stressed I ended up with pneumonia.

Morgan   Dallas

11:14pm on November 25th, 2010 

I just signed on with Primerica Tuesday. I paid $99 for the background check and $25 for the use of their website that is set-up for you and all you have to do is use it.
I got into this because I am a college student with a full-time job and I love finance, plus needed some extra money. My mom's Primerica adviser got me into contact with a RVP in Dallas, since I moved away from my home area. I called him out on the whole MLM thing. It basically is, yes, but there are NO cold calls, NO door to door sales, and you do not have to build your team if you do not want to. I know many people who use Primerica as their financial advisor, and the company has been around for 30 years. Obviously they are doing something correctly. They no longer require the rep to pay for the licenses, they pay for them upfront for you. It is a great way to get $2000 in licenses for free. I can leave the company as use them on my own or with a company that offers a salary if I so choose.
This is for people who want to start their own business and basically have someone walk them through it. This is NOT for someone who needs a steady income. I already have clients lined up (family and friends), now I just need employees (recruits), which is proving to be harder. I am not a lying person and my RVP did not tell me to lie. Maybe some people work differently in this company, but I have found in Texas we are honest and upfront. Hope this was helpful, I am really looking forward to building my business and breaking away once I get the clientele and staff.

Question   USA

3:00pm on November 25th, 2010 

So if you own your own business and not make any personal sales, how do you make money?


Page:  7    8    9    10    11   -12-   13    14    15    16    17   

Your Name:

Your Location:

Product/Service Rating:

Your Review:

 

 

 

 

Learn to Make Money Online Using Our Guide


Popular New Articles

How to Make Money Taking Online Surveys
Essential Steps for a Successful Online Business
Hot Tips For Saving Money

Work at Home
Job Listings

Administrative Jobs
At Home Transcription
Customer Service Jobs
Data Entry Jobs
Home Accounting Jobs
Home Writing Jobs
Medical Transcription Jobs

Compensation Disclosure

Review Categories

» Business Opportunities
» Business Gurus
» Data Entry Jobs
» eBay Programs
» Internet Marketing
» Investment
» Motivational
» Network Marketing
» Paid Online Surveys
» Real Estate