Pimsleur Approach Reviews

About Pimsleur Approach

The Pimsleur Approach (PimsleurApproach.com) is a foreign language course that promises to teach you the basics of your chosen language within 10 days using proven methods created by Dr. Paul Pimsleur and used by the FBI.

When you order the Quick & Simple program, you will receive 4 audio CDs with 8 lessons, each 30 minutes in length, and you are scheduled to listen to only one lesson per day.

The entire program is 100% audio based so it can be listened to in the car, the home, or downloaded and played on an MP3 player. The Quick & Simple program is currently priced at $10.00, with free Shipping & Handling.

What is “The Pimsleur Approach”?

The Pimsleur Approach to learning a foreign language is to teach adults a language the same way babies learn language – orally. According to them, learning language begins with learning sounds and pronunciations, not with grammar rules or vocab lessons.

The Pimsleur Approach works on the idea that you should absorb grammar rules through understanding how conversation works orally, just like you did when you were learning your first language.

The website says that while there are over 1 million words and phrase in the English language, there are only 2500 that we use consistently and that we need in order to communicate with the average American.

The Pimsleur Approach identifies these same language building blocks for foreign languages and only concentrates on teaching you those, so that you can quickly be conversational in your chosen language.

The Cost

The Quick & Simple program does cost $10.00 and comes with a 30 day trial, where you can receive a refund if you return the program in excellent condition. However, you are automatically enrolled to get subsequent programs sent to you.

These subsequent programs, if not returned with 30 days, will cost you 4 payments of $64, or $256, and depending on the language you have chosen, you can receive up to 4 additional shipments.

With each additional shipment, you have 30 days to return those and cancel the charges. You can also call 1-877-802-5283 to cancel future shipments in advance at any time.

Related Articles

404 ‘Pimsleur Approach’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Guest

THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO BE TURNED IN FOR STEALING

Reviewed By Math on March 18, 2013, Sacramento, CA

They billed me the $9.95 four times, for just the intial order. When I called to receive a refund, they told me they gave it to me. A month later I still have the charges, four calls and five emails later I still have no refund. When you call in they act like they can't find your account, they say they never billed you anything. What a joke...they should get their business license taken away!! DON'T EVER USE THIS COMPANY.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 31 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Larry
March 20, 2013

Thanks for your comments Math, won't go near those folks!

justthinkin
March 20, 2013

Would be easy enough to go to your bank to have fraudulent charges removed.

Cay
April 10, 2013

They must have specifically hated you or you came off like a dick or something, I ordered it, received it cancelled it, learned a language, cost me bout 5 minutes of my time and thats all

Robin
April 10, 2013

We are going through this right now. Hopefully the BBB will back us on this. Very upset with the unethical procedures.

jdavis_jd1@cox.net
June 21, 2013

who did you contact at BBB?

Your Comment
Guest

SCAM!

Reviewed By Corey on March 17, 2013

Like many have mentioned, they start sending you a bunch of other stuff, then you are stuck repackaging, and PAYING to send it back otherwise they charge you rediculous chargers for the garbage they sent you without asking. Perfect example of a company trying to scam people to get money for something they know is not worth anything.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Sev
April 10, 2013

they dont have to ask, read the site, you said you wanted them to keep sending stuff by not cancelling... this is common business practice. People and companies have been exploiting money from others who dont pay attention for decades, probably centuries...instead of complaining read thru the offer, dont order anything without a money back guarantee

Your Comment
Guest

SCAM.....Stop!!! Don't Order!!

Reviewed By Jeremy on March 15, 2013, Colorado

This fraudulent company is smart....it sucks you in with a well put together video on how to learn a new language quick and easy. You have to put your info in (name, credit card #, etc.) first and then it brings you to another advertisement page.

Like everyone else stated, you get sent a bunch of other shit you didn't order or want. My advise, start a claim for dispute with your bank ASAP!! Contact the shitty fraudulent company via email or phone to get the process started of cancellation.

www.Stroll.com is the culprit of this scam....give them a friendly call @ 866-204-7139, 8:30am-8:00pm m-f, or email them @ customer care@stroll.com

GOOD LUCK

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 36 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Jon
April 10, 2013

Can you list contact info for every other company that does business this way too "scamming" as you put it money from people and also can everyone send me 10 dollars then after you do ill tell you why

Your Comment
Guest

Buyer Beware

Reviewed By Elizabeth on March 14, 2013, New Jersey

Watch out getting the 9.95 "suck-you-in" special - you automatically get the deluxe version sent and your credit card gets billed. If you don't return the deluxe package within 30 days you're stuck with it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 21 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Pimsleur Approach A Total Scam

Reviewed By Katherine on March 13, 2013, NY

.@PimsleurTweets is a total scheme. I ordered one set of CD's, only to be charged for an entire course, 20x the cost. Don't use this service

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 26 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Humbug
March 15, 2013

I truly wish they would make this illegal.
They use a well known "magic trick" in which they get the human brain to focus on a single task,which it is really good at, unfortunately can screw you in the end. In this case it's learn a new launguage for $9.95. You get you to watch the 1hr long, or whatever, annoying, repetitive preview which focuses you on that task. Multitasking for the human brain is a virtual impossibility.
Very few people can catch the "opt out" before handing over thier credit card # cause they've got 95% of human beings focused,so don't feel bad if you got caught, just realize if you want to learn Mandarin Chinese you will, but it will cost you $1033.95 with the Pimsleur method.10 bucks gets you nothing useful except sucked in, and it will cost you more money to send the cd's back as they want a tracking number.
Another reason I don't buy any USA products or services anymore. Schemes like this make me say "Go China Go".

smitty
March 17, 2013

Your ignorant not to read the fine print.

Oh Please
March 21, 2013

Don't be so stupid. Scammers are everywhere, not just the US.

Oh Please
March 21, 2013

Sorry, that was meant in response to the first comment, not Katherine's comment.

Your Comment
Guest

DOES IT WORK

Reviewed By KRISTIE on March 13, 2013

Everyone is complaining about the charges, but did it actually work for anyone?

Also, in today's economy, everyone should have a separate debit card for online purchases only. (this will save you from billing scams like this one, and hackers getting your information)

I was going to use mine and put 10.00 on there and order this, but does it work? They cannot bill me for the extras or the gold set, if i dont transfer the money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 27 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 8 Comments
Wolfgang
March 19, 2013

Disappointing: gives 3 stars out of 5, but does not mention at all if the program worked for her. Does Kristie speak a new foreign language now ?

Larry
March 20, 2013

I heard Kristie that it is no better than many cd sets that are available free at your local library!

common sense
March 20, 2013

Glad you have common sense. I was thinking the same thing.

BayBoater
March 22, 2013

But they can still ruin your credit even if you don't pay them

sam
March 22, 2013

don't do that. They will send to collection agency and it will effect your cridet in ffuture. I think !! Good luck

G. H.
March 27, 2013

The original CD's sent with your Pemsleur Quick & Simple are very typical of any other auditory language program on the shelf. Each Lesson: Listen to this conversation. Repeat. Break if apart, repeat. Listen again. Respond. etc. There is nothing remarkable about the program itself. If you practice with your CD's you will learn your lessons...
or the more important lessons you will learn are LOOK for the small print. SEARCH for the hidden. If it sounds too good to be true - IT IS! duh!

LolaLola
April 05, 2013

Yes, the Pimsleur Approach DOES work. It is an excellent program in it's entirety. I do however, recommend purchasing from Simon & Schuester rather the affiliate companies who do not provide valuable customer service.

If you are looking to learn a language, this is just as good as any other. I am now fluent in French after 2 months. It takes time, practice and energy, but in the end, I am greatly satisfied with the product!!!

chingiskoo
July 04, 2013

But Simon & Schuester sells for $119 per phase, and three phases add up to $360, 06 $335 if bundled, which is more expensive than $256. I think I like what the system offers, and that half an hour of French gave me more confidence then three years of Frencg in classes

Your Comment
Guest

Stop - do not order from this company

Reviewed By Very Unhappy on March 11, 2013, Pennsylvania

You pay $67 for the 30 CD's, however they do not tell you that each box of 30 CD's is over $200. Thinking of sending them back? They still bill you.

Please stay far away. Learn to speak a different language in any other way but this one.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 29 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Darrell Hein
March 13, 2013

Thanks, but it's too late for me. If anyone is unhappy with your trial, send it back well befor the 30 days are up.

Lil
March 15, 2013

I totally feel for you ! The saying goes, if it sounds too good to be true..... I got into something like this once as well. The comment about having a seperate credit card (pre paid type) is excellent advice, I seriously need one of those.!

Your Comment
Guest

Scam

Reviewed By Carl Rogers on March 11, 2013, Seattle, WA

Not only do they make it impossible to cancel without making payment, but they also over-billed my credit card from the amount due on the account. The payment due was $192 and they billed me $256, now no one takes my call when calling in.

NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY OR THEIR PARENT COMPANY, STROLL, LLC.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 34 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Scam Artist

Reviewed By Tracey on March 9, 2013, Spring Hill TN.

They scammed me---but only for $16.95. I cancelled my debit card making it obsolete and had Bank of America issue me a new card. It is a small inconvience(approximately 4-5 days) but saved myself from alot of hassle. Now I have the cd's and I'll still get to see if their scamgam works.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 27 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
rick2be
March 16, 2013

can we copy them for 8.95

Your Comment
Guest

Company is decietful and unethical.

Reviewed By Abused Customer on March 8, 2013, Virginia

The company offers a Free Trial for $9.95 shipping and then sends products not ordered and threatens to bill your credit card for four payments of $64.99. You then have to pay to return the product to avoid the charge. This is a scam at best and very manipulative. They require the shipping payment on the initial order so they can get your credit card information. I had hoped such scams and companies were a thing of the past. I was wrong. Before purchasing, I carefully read all over their website, looking for fine print. I did not see anywhere where it stated I would be receiving additional material. They did not list, nor inform their customers of the "gold" products that would be sent to them month after month where they'd have to pay 4 "easy" payments of $64. I am in the process of trying to rid myself of them and the threats they make.

Even if the product was a quality product the hassle and manipulative methods they use will prevent me from ever ordering from them again.

I wonder that since this company has such bad reviews why this review site posts an add for them???

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 49 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Mary
March 12, 2013

I am having the exact same problem. I notified my credit card company that I was being sent then billed for items I did not order. I sent an email to Pimsleur stating not to send me any more product and that they did not have permission to charge my card, but that did not stop them. Now the company has mailed me a letter stating there must be a problem with my credit card. How do you get rid of them? I wonder if this is some type of mail fraud?

somebody
August 03, 2013

Hey guys,
I get all of you are ticked about the cash but reviews are to talk about the program I came here to ask does this program actually teach you?

dudeguychick
October 27, 2013

I got the Pimsleur Approach for Japanese & in the actual package the first thing you see, is a big piece of paper saying that you will recieve more CDs. I didnt need them so I called the company & talked to customer service & asked them if they wont send them in the first place. Easy. I called them the day I got my package. I love this product.

Your Comment
Guest

I think 'Pimsleur Approach' is a fake

Reviewed By SC on March 7, 2013, South Korea

'Pimsleur Language Programs' are the guys who sell the real stuff, it seems to be...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 19 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

I am paying for a program which I returned. Billing Scam!!!!

Reviewed By Betty on March 7, 2013, Princeton New Jersey

This is a SCAM!
I returned the set of tapes but the return was not recorded at the warehouse. I faxed my receipt from the post office and the billing department never received the fax!
Do not deal with these people!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 30 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
John
March 08, 2013

Thanks for the warnings guys!

Larry- Ottawa Canada
March 20, 2013

Thanks from me too for all the warnings folks!!! You would think the Attorney General's office in the U.S. would be on to then by now. I know they have come down hard on others in the past for this kind of sham and scam.

Robin
April 10, 2013

That's where we are right now. Sent the stuff back but they are saying it was never rec'vd. Saying it is possibly in the dead warehouse. Hope you have called BBB, & or FTC. We did hopefully they will help us out!

Your Comment
Guest

Best SCAM Ever

Reviewed By Dan R on March 6, 2013, California

This SCAM is so great and well organized that it makes millions of dollars and got it's creator Dan Roitman into Forbes. Just google him.

To keep the scam going and not be sued with fraud, they will cancel so those of you who got scammed, just fight it and it will get cancelled.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 33 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Scam fraudulent charges

Reviewed By Bill Frank on March 5, 2013, Calgary Alberta

These guys advertise a language program for $9.95 then start charging 67 a month and shipping additional CDs. These charges are billed to your credit card even though the additional CDs were not ordered. Do not deal with these guys this is a scam

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Dan R
March 06, 2013

This is such a good SCAM it's got the founder "Dan Roitman" into forbes. Just google him.

Your Comment
Guest

Don't do it!!

Reviewed By Rick Witter on March 5, 2013, Seattle, WA

This would be fine if they didn't automatically enroll you in the gold product. Go to the library!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Bad Approach to Marketing

Reviewed By Jon  on March 5, 2013, Chicago

I haven't even tried the $10 CD I ordered yet - but not long after I received it - I got sent some Delux set of CD's for that language that I didn't order. When I went to send it back - it turns out that on my original order there is FINE PRINT that says that I agree to 'try it out' and if I don't like it - then I pay to ship it back.

Naturally, I didn't read the fine print - because I had good faith which is gone.

If they had a good product, they'd let me try my CD first - and then contact me about the Delux set offer.

Very Bad Approach Pimsleur - Very Disappointed

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 23 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Think a little harder

Reviewed By Eddie on March 3, 2013, Los Angeles ca

Got the CDs and copied them and send them right back with in the first ten day and got my money back. Got a set for free by ripping them off. You people should think a little harder. :) ;p

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 31 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Bob
March 05, 2013

Erm, that's criminal, isn't it?

Rick
March 16, 2013

I prefer to be honest and let others do the ripping off. Though I migh look like wearing a dunce cap.

lol
March 20, 2013

Not criminal if he's not selling it to others. Sounds like he kept it for personal use. Where's the problem? You can download this program for free anywhere on the internet. Why any of you are paying for it is funny.

Rebecca
March 21, 2013

Ha! Sounds like what they are doing is even worse! Chalk up at least one win for the little guy on this one after they've scammed so many!

Your Comment
Guest

Almost took the bait.

Reviewed By keih Smith on March 2, 2013, veedersburg, in

Thank you for this site, so gald I was smart enough to check this out before ordering. U saved me $400.00 it sound like, just wanting to learn a little spanish.....

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 26 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Larry- Ottawa Canada
March 20, 2013

I'm glad as well that I googled this site before I almost did something stupid like ordering. I learned years ago to investigate the Hell out of these claims before ordering anything online!

Your Comment
Guest

Scam

Reviewed By Reviewer on March 1, 2013, Grove City, Ohio

This is unfortunate. The Cd's are great, however they are going to take your money. Not just the 9.95$, but 64$ mo. forever!!!

Anyone interested in collaborating with a group type lawyer?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 22 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Bad, Bad Business!

Reviewed By NYB on March 1, 2013, Il

I can't even pass beyond the first disc of my $9.95 first French package, because I got totally disgusted with this business! We cannot say it's a scam because the small print is there - buyer, beware! I was not careful and I didn't notice the small print saying I would receive a new package every month and be charged $ 64.00 for each. If this is not deceitful business, it's at least misleading.

We, consumers, may be silly at times, but when a company needs to use misleading strategies to win us it's because they cannot be good just by what they are. And this is bad, bad business!

I wrote an email to Customer Support asking for info about returning the unsolicited package I received. No answer.

I called the cancellation #, and the lady who answered the phone... oh, my, I think she needs a course: an English course! She could pronounce the numbers clearly! How they can hire people to talk to customers if they cannot be clear? Maybe that's another strategy, huh? :\

She asked "why" I wanted to learn French!!! That's none of their dang business! They should ask why I don't want to learn with their programs, anymore! Oh, I would give her a well-deserved answer! But the poor lady was just working... not her fault anyway! (But she could enunciate her words better!)

I should have known better when that silly cartoon-type of ad talked ironically about the "yellow box" (Rosetta Stone). Those guys have no ethics at Pimsleur - they have to mislead the customers and talk bad about the competition. That proves how good they really are!

If the course in itself is good or not, it's hard to say, because that could also be a subjective opinion. I wanted to try it because I don't believe that a 100% audio course is effective. So, I wanted to check it. I listened only to the 1st lesson and I thought it was terrible because I am the kind of learner who needs to use the four language skills: writing, reading, speaking, and listening. And all what we do with the CDs is listening, and repeating (if we can understand what the heck they are saying). I miss reading and writing, I miss exercises and corrections.

I am an English as Second Language coach, that's why I was checking other learning modalities, to help my trainees in different ways. But I've confirmed now that to have only audio lessons is like trying to lean on a table with only one leg. So, in my opinion, it's not a good method for those who really like languages (like me) and want to learn them well (like me, too).

I am happy for all of you who are reading the reviews before buying the product! Smart guys! ;-)

Peace and Love to all!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 33 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review