Pimsleur Approach Reviews

About Pimsleur Approach

The Pimsleur Approach (PimsleurApproach.com) is a foreign language course that promises to teach you the basics of your chosen language within 10 days using proven methods created by Dr. Paul Pimsleur and used by the FBI.

When you order the Quick & Simple program, you will receive 4 audio CDs with 8 lessons, each 30 minutes in length, and you are scheduled to listen to only one lesson per day.

The entire program is 100% audio based so it can be listened to in the car, the home, or downloaded and played on an MP3 player. The Quick & Simple program is currently priced at $10.00, with free Shipping & Handling.

What is “The Pimsleur Approach”?

The Pimsleur Approach to learning a foreign language is to teach adults a language the same way babies learn language – orally. According to them, learning language begins with learning sounds and pronunciations, not with grammar rules or vocab lessons.

The Pimsleur Approach works on the idea that you should absorb grammar rules through understanding how conversation works orally, just like you did when you were learning your first language.

The website says that while there are over 1 million words and phrase in the English language, there are only 2500 that we use consistently and that we need in order to communicate with the average American.

The Pimsleur Approach identifies these same language building blocks for foreign languages and only concentrates on teaching you those, so that you can quickly be conversational in your chosen language.

The Cost

The Quick & Simple program does cost $10.00 and comes with a 30 day trial, where you can receive a refund if you return the program in excellent condition. However, you are automatically enrolled to get subsequent programs sent to you.

These subsequent programs, if not returned with 30 days, will cost you 4 payments of $64, or $256, and depending on the language you have chosen, you can receive up to 4 additional shipments.

With each additional shipment, you have 30 days to return those and cancel the charges. You can also call 1-877-802-5283 to cancel future shipments in advance at any time.

Related Articles

400 ‘Pimsleur Approach’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Guest

It's Awesome!

Reviewed By River on July 23, 2013

Okay, okay, I know it seems some of you have had bad experiences with the Pimsleur Approach software, and before you jump down my throat for loving it, I would like to point out that there are 2 websites that both say they sell Pimsleur Language software, however, only 1 of these actually has the official product. I have had the best experience with www.pimsleurapproach.com, though I wish their site was better set up. If you're going to try the Pimsleur Approach I suggest ordering over the phone because it's much easier to convey exactly what you want (the actual language software) and what you don't (guides and special additions you don't need.)
Alright, now that you know that I'll tell you why I continuously choose the Pimsleur Approach every time I want to learn a new language (and yes, I AM that much of a nerd.) Before I go into specifics, I'm going to tell you that I learned more in a half hour with Pimsleur than I did studying lessons over and over for weeks with Rossetta Stone (supposedly one of the best language learning softwares on the market)
Pimsleur ONLY takes a HALF HOUR out of your day, the software is FUN to use, and EVERYTHING you learn STICKS. I remember making flash cards to study vocabulary for a Japanese test in school; reviewing them day after day until I had them down. But when I found them a week after the test I had no idea what any of them meant. It's been months since I listened to the first lesson in Pimsleur and I can still remember every word it taught me. And what's better? I've talked to actual native speakers who constantly ask me where in Japan I'm from! (which I always think is funny because when I'm speaking English I have a natural southern accent) Pimsleur doesn't just give you the knowledge, it gives you a PERFECT ACCENT! I LOVE Pimsleur and to me it's the only way to learn a language.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
Lies
July 31, 2013

Wow, SOMEONE works for this company and is shamelessly trying to generate traffic for their website... God, this review is absolutely shameless in its lies!

Clay Simpson
August 07, 2013

This review WAS written by an employee or some paid to write the B.S.

Replay to Awesome!
August 11, 2013

Only who is selling speaks these words! Never have read such a review from the buyers! Scammers!

Paul
August 29, 2013

SCAM, SCAM, SCAM. "If it seems to good to be true..." Nothing more needs to be said. STAY AWAY!

Megumi
October 01, 2013

Your comments are making me excited. I have wanted to try out the Pimsleur Approach for a while, and these ratings are making my day. I can't wait to try it!

person
October 08, 2013

i love the pimsleur aproach. i bought the first one for a dollar off of itunes and instantly it worked. but im flat broke so i found a website that can download them form but it doesnt seem to work anymore. i love the program, it works, and it works well. i also chose japanese and while there are people who have been studying it for weeks or months on end, with the first 10 lessons, i understood not only the words, but the grammer better. the onl reason to complain is the pricing which when u see the results are more than worth it. my problem is i dont have the money to get them as of now

Your Comment
Guest

horrible company - please help

Reviewed By Trish on July 9, 2013, Phoenix, AZ

I cancelled and they kept billing me after I returned with USPS tracking. Canceled my card and they send me collection bills. What can I do? I have sent the bill back to them requesting that they stop as I already cancelled. I have the tracking number and a copy of the letter i sent back along with the bill once again requesting my cancellation. can they still take me to collections if i already cancelled and returned the disks?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 34 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 7 Comments
Julie
July 16, 2013

report them to the better business bureau at bbb.org and file a complaint. Within a few hours of doing that, I received an e-mail from Pimsleur saying that they had received my returns and would stop billing me, closing my "account" I supposedly had. I did this after receiving a letter telling me they would take legal action if I didn't pay them, even though I had sent them back. Don't let them scare you into that crap. Just report them and it'll scare them away.

sean
July 27, 2013

Watch your credit report. If they post a bad rating on it and you still have your proofs of cancellation you can sue them and they get to pay you under the fair credit act.

David
July 29, 2013

Thank you Julie

Litmus
August 02, 2013

Now if this review is true...then I would be sad that a corrupt company uses it

Irene
August 11, 2013

I have the same problem ! I cancelled French 4 months ago,and they still bill my card !!! Help !!! I am not a millionaire !!!

Thanks,
Irene

Shannon
August 29, 2013

Contact your state rep. department of consumer affairs. They will instantly put a stop to this practice and this company will start to catch their attention. After similar complaints from many people they will be shut down.

Kumar
September 03, 2013

Its a SCAM. Do not fall for it. I am victim too.

Your Comment
Guest

Took money out from my account

Reviewed By Blanca on July 9, 2013, Massachussets

I ordered 2 CDs for $9.95 each. I got an e-mail receipt for that. For the next two months I was charged $64 for CDs I didn't order. When I called to cancel it, they told me I should have cancel it within 30days. I let it go, I paid for it. Today I received a bill for $448.00 from the pimsleur-approach, saying to pay as soon as possible. I call the number in the letter, and when I explained my situation, the girl on the phone told me to call back when I was able to handle the situation and hanged up on me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 33 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Litmus
August 02, 2013

To the people who decide not to use the Pimsleur Approach because of marketing scam. The CDs work. Just download them #torrent and avoid the hassle of the stupid corrupt company using it to scam people.

dewey
August 06, 2013

According to my receipt, Pimsleur received my order and $9.95 Monday 7/22/2013 12:16:24 PM EST for one Quick & Simple - French – CDs, Item #PA-024A, and said that “This item usually ships on the next business day”. The receipt contained the correct “Ship To” address.
Then 10 days later on August first, I received an email from them saying that their carrier does not recognize that shipping address. I replied saying that the address is correct, and suggested that they use a more competent carrier. I received an email of acknowledgement that same day. Then I received an email August 5 saying that they are not able to fulfill an order for me at this time because I have an outstanding balance with them. I do not owe them money, nor had they informed me that I do. But they have stolen $832.00 from my bank account in 2012, before I realized what was happening, for which I had not signed, and they said it’s for material they sent me, and which I checked was marked as free with no further indication. They are full of inabilities to run a business.

WEKB
November 15, 2013

I was close to ordering the $9.99 first cd. After reading of your well explained experience and several other writers, experiencing similar difficulties, I didn't order. It seems that there are many good evaluations of the Pimsleur program, and the bad references all seem to be pointing to the agents promoting methods & various billing scams. Needless to say, I will not order from these fringe scammers.

Your Comment
Guest

Total Rip-off and Marketing Scam

Reviewed By W Murphy on July 7, 2013, New Hampshire

This company makes money through deception. They entice you with a low cost program but then automatically enroll you in a much higher cost one. This costly program is more expensive than a legitimate product like Rosetta Stone but much less effective and sophisticated. If you try to return the items to get out of their automatic billing they will charge you if you don't exactly follow their "rules"
(RMA, correspondence with a hostile customer service group, etc - rules which, of course, you did not notice in the first place or you wouldn't have signed up for this rip off). YOU ARE WARNED - STAY AWAY.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 32 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
I GOT SCAMMED!!
August 04, 2013

Ugly Marketing - DON'T be a target - here's what they told me :

"We are sorry to hear that you no longer want to be a part of our Rapid Fluency Program. We are happy to assist you with your request. Unfortunately, we cannot process your request through email."

STAY AWAY!!

Your Comment
Guest

SUCKERS

Reviewed By Edward Mead on July 3, 2013, Madison Wis.

After reading the reviews of their product and marketing practices I'll pass this time. However, if one of the people who has the whole set for Spanish wants to get some of their money back I will buy it at a discount. Contact edwardmead@att,net

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Sean
July 27, 2013

ALways use a prepaid debit card for internet purchases. That way if you get a company who is like this can't get any more money than you load onto the card.
Then if they do illegal billing and collections practices you are not ou the money and you can build a FCRA case

Your Comment

Leave a Review