Pimsleur Approach Reviews

About Pimsleur Approach

The Pimsleur Approach (PimsleurApproach.com) is a foreign language course that promises to teach you the basics of your chosen language within 10 days using proven methods created by Dr. Paul Pimsleur and used by the FBI.

When you order the Quick & Simple program, you will receive 4 audio CDs with 8 lessons, each 30 minutes in length, and you are scheduled to listen to only one lesson per day.

The entire program is 100% audio based so it can be listened to in the car, the home, or downloaded and played on an MP3 player. The Quick & Simple program is currently priced at $10.00, with free Shipping & Handling.

What is “The Pimsleur Approach”?

The Pimsleur Approach to learning a foreign language is to teach adults a language the same way babies learn language – orally. According to them, learning language begins with learning sounds and pronunciations, not with grammar rules or vocab lessons.

The Pimsleur Approach works on the idea that you should absorb grammar rules through understanding how conversation works orally, just like you did when you were learning your first language.

The website says that while there are over 1 million words and phrase in the English language, there are only 2500 that we use consistently and that we need in order to communicate with the average American.

The Pimsleur Approach identifies these same language building blocks for foreign languages and only concentrates on teaching you those, so that you can quickly be conversational in your chosen language.

The Cost

The Quick & Simple program does cost $10.00 and comes with a 30 day trial, where you can receive a refund if you return the program in excellent condition. However, you are automatically enrolled to get subsequent programs sent to you.

These subsequent programs, if not returned with 30 days, will cost you 4 payments of $64, or $256, and depending on the language you have chosen, you can receive up to 4 additional shipments.

With each additional shipment, you have 30 days to return those and cancel the charges. You can also call 1-877-802-5283 to cancel future shipments in advance at any time.

Related Articles

404 ‘Pimsleur Approach’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Thieves

Reviewed By David on January 21, 2015

They took my money over a month ago and I have yet to receive anything. Something has gone wrong with their system and they also can't refund my money? Stunning. I do not understand how this company has stayed in business.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

SCAM

Reviewed By A. Prive on January 5, 2015

This is a scam! Do not buy!
There is a hidden agenda to force you to buy additional "courses."
I am reporting this to the Better Business Bureau.
They are a bad comp-any that essentially is stealing my money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Pimsleur Approach Marketing is a Deceptive aka SCAM

Reviewed By Eric Haffner on January 1, 2015

I was interested by the Pimsleur advertising as it appeared to be much less expensive than the Rosetta Stone programs ... WRONG!
I was unaware that I was enrolling in a subscription at $192 a whack.
I did successfully stop the shipments and return the last CD, nut I can not get a RMA for the next to the last CD, which I do not want. Although not exactly a 'bait and switch' scheme, it nearly is.
It works, but I would buy the Rosetta Stone program, which is less expensive.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Scam

Reviewed By Richard McCabe on November 20, 2014

Read the small print. They make it appear you are getting a cheap disc but you are really signing up for an overpriced course. Very deceptive.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

scam

Reviewed By Mark Barnes on May 13, 2014, Boise, Idaho

credit card fraudulent company

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
September 06, 2014

My daughter ordered the product and we wanted to return it , It become really difficult to get an RMA. First you cannot get an RMA number online which is silly. The company forces you to speak with a representative before they provide you with anRMA. The rep of course uses high pressure tactics to try and get you to keep the product. I had to ask for the RMA three time each time the customer sales person countered my request. I finally cussed him out with the thought that since the call is being recorded there recording software would flag it and someone else would review the call and realize I don't like there sales methodology. Or if not the folks of a higher management level will know I think they SUCK for using high pressure sales! -that's my 2 cents.

Your Comment
1 Review

Contact the CEO

Reviewed By Anon on December 15, 2013

Due to poor and un lawful business practices please call CEO of pimsleur approach aka stroll aka internet order llc

Dan Roitman
(215) 701-3300 ext. 1101

Write to them at
1600 JFK Blvd
3rd Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19103

This scam has to stop and we need to shut them down NOW!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

FREEZE YOUR CREDIT CARD!

Reviewed By DeepStar on November 26, 2013, Grand Island, NE

Read some other people comments who actually ordered. I got lucky to look into details. If you've already ordered, go talk to your bank. 1) If you can sacrifice using the credit card temporarily, freeze the account. 2) Asking if its possible to keep your current credit account, but get a CARD with a different of a #s. 3) Mention you're afraid of some fraud occurring. See if they will monitor it.

I have read soooooo many sites that state the high deceptiveness of pinsleurapproach.com. Its one of the few sites to read its fine print.

The site states (unfortunately) states "....sells Pimsleur products but is not an affiliate of Simon & Schuster, Inc... or of Beverly Pimsleur". Why is that unfortunate? It follows the legal loop whole so they can't be accused of fraud. [I'm not a lawyer, but I know enough in basic business law. Still might be a way of suing and winning.]

Its only $10: False.
Intentional delayed shipping: True
Hidden subscription: True.
Horrid customer service: True

It can, literally, cost you up to $1200 in the long run!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

A SCAM/DECEPTIVE

Reviewed By Bill Sherrill on November 25, 2013, Bolivar, Oh

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, COMPANY IS VERY SLOW TO SHIP AND DON'T LIKE TO GIVE YOUR MONEY BACK, I CALLED TO CANCEL FUTURE ORDERS ON 10/8, WAS TOLD 2ND ORDER WAS SHIPPED ON 9/25. I ALSO ASKED FOR RETURN AUTHORIZATION ON THAT CALL. I WAS TOLD I HAD WAIT UNTIL REC'D. I REC'D IT ON 10/17, MUST HAVE BEEN SHIPPED BY HORSE AND BUGGY. CALLED ON 11/25 FOR RETURN AUTHORIZATION, SORRY YOU ARE PAST THE 30 DAY TRIAL AND WILL BE BILLED 4 TIMES $64. I TOLD THEM THE BOX HAD NOT BEEN OPENED AND WAS TOLD SORRY ABOUT YOUR LUCK. NOTE: AFTER TALKING TO A SUPERVISOR, I GOT RETURN AUTHORIZATION AND ONLY LOST $64 FOR A RESTOCKING FEE

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Scam scam scam!

Reviewed By Joey Alcala on October 28, 2013, Dubai

I don't usually write a review but i strongly feel responsible to warn others of this scam. A month after buying the cD, I received a sms from my creditcard informing me that I was billed $64. I don't remember anything from their site ordering any additional materials.
I immediately canceled my creditcard so they can't bill me again and filed a dispute over the amount.
Stay away from their site!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
MIKEG333
October 30, 2013

You may have heard this by now but the Pimsleur APPROACH site is a scam. The actual program does not contain the word APPROACH in it from the pics I saw on the REAL site pimsleur.com. They do not make the claims that APPROACH does. Sorry you got scammed. I go by this rule with internet products that seem too good to be true. First enter the name of that product and follow it with the word scam. Then disregard all of the links that are basically selling the product and scroll down to where people are actually critiquing it. Hope this helps. Same goes for any posts that pull on your heart strings like what you see on Face Book, like for example the man who looks like he is forcing a puppy to drink alcohol. WHen I first saw it I thought, "WHat a sc**bag." It turns out the puppy was chewing on the end of the bottle and the man was trying to pull it away from him. The internet can be a good tool but you really need to have your BS detector on at all times.

Your Comment
Guest

Cancelled I hope!

Reviewed By Stephen on October 23, 2013, Olympia,WA

I had read reviews, but apparently the wrong ones. I ordered the CD's but hadn't received them yet (only been a week) so I gave them a call to check up on the order. While I was talking to the phone rep she placed me on hold to check on my order. When she came back on the line she said she had to recite some scripted stuff about the program, and mentioned the enrollment and the CD's that would be sent at a later date. She then said "so I understand that you want to cancel your enrollment" to which i said YES because I hadn't been told of any future shipments. She said no problem and cancelled my enrollment and I did receive an email from them;
Subject: Cancellation Confirmation

Dear XXXXX,

This email is to confirm that I have cancelled you out of receiving any future shipments. Please feel free to contact us with any further questions or concerns.

Thank you and have a great day!

Sincerely,
XXXXXXX
Customer Care Advocate

So I hope it has been stopped before anything happens. To be safe I think I am going to change my Card number any.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Thank you!

Reviewed By Sarah on October 22, 2013, Berkeley, CA

I was close to falling for it but made the wiser decision to do some research before entering any credit card info. After doing research I must say this was not the first site that popped up. It looks like they are getting people to write reviews for them. I was on the pimslueraproach site that says only $10 ay first and then went to the suggested site of Pimsleur.com. Looks much more legit and the price looks much more believable. Expensive and believable. I am sure the method is great because even after one weekend with my aunts who speak spanish I have already picked up on more Spanish, but at this time I can't afford the legit expense. I will just keep listening to them and hope to pick up on it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Sneaky and deceptive

Reviewed By Deborah on October 18, 2013, Angels Camp, CA

I ordered the basic set for $9.99. They auto enroll you in the future courses which is not explained to you. Each course is four payments of $64. There are several levels. I received level 1 but was outside my 30 day trial by the time I realized what was happening and called. Now I will be charged the $64 for four months. They just mailed me out level 2 for another four payments of $64. It just keeps going. I called and cancelled all future shipments and will be mailing back the level 2 as soon as I get it but am stuck with level 1. I agree with previous posts that it is outdated. My brother is fluent and laughed at what he heard.

I will be complaining to the BBB regarding their practices. Hopefully it will stop others from being sucked in as I have been.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
KHYING OUVE THIEHY WHUOARYLD
October 29, 2013

YES! Who ever advertises for them, is extremely talented in producing the newest, or currently popular form of propaganda. It also happens to be extremely successful. I was so intrigued just by the advertising and how it was working on my psych, convincing me to purchase their product, when in my head, i know it will never work, but they throw in every reason for why every other product has failed, this way anyone who has tried other products now automatically relates, so now that the consumer(which happens to be me) is desperate to have something cheaper&easier That will provide a cheaper,easier,faster way of doing the same thing, & if I don't like It I have nothing to loose.

YOUR NAME HERE
October 29, 2013

I THINK ONE WAY TO HELP PEOPLE FROM GETTING SUCKED INTO THIS, WONDERFULLY CREATED ADD,ALMOST PROPAGANDA LIKE IN NATURE, SO CONVINCING THAT IT COULD PROBABLY CONVINCE ME TO BUY MY OWN FURNITURE FROM MYSELF. HOWEVER I BELIEVE SINCE YOU ARE NOW THE PROUD OWNER OF LEVEL ONE, YOU COULD LEND IT OUT TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS,(NOTHING ILLEGAL) BUT SOMETHING LIKE OPEN SOURCE IT SO THAT PEOPLE CAN THEN HAVE A FAIR CHOICE IF THEY WANT TO PAY 64$ A MONTH. OR YOU COULD PUT IT ON YOUTUBE SO IT IS AVAILIBLE ANY TIME FOR YOU TO ACCESS IT ON YOUR TABLET NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE SO YOU CAN PRACTICE WITH OTHER MULTI-LINGUISTIC HOMOSAPIASIANS

Your Comment
Guest

Total Scam

Reviewed By Dan on October 3, 2013, Washington

I had the same crappy experience as most of those above. I refuse to send the discs back AT MY COST because (1) I never asked for them, (2) I don't want them and (3) the website doesn't explain the long-term commitment. This came with the on-line receipt. I caught the mistake, but they sent the discs anyway. If you're similarly tricked, change your CC# and return the discs only if they pay. This prevents them from charging you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

P_A_is@Bad.biz

Reviewed By P_A_is@Bad.biz on October 3, 2013, Philly, PA

I sympathize with everyone that's been duped by P A; the product itself is outdated and may have worked well back in the 80s, but it hasn't been updated, or aged well. But the purchasing is a nightmare!

A year ago, after ordering the $9.99 item from P A, my bank card began being charged several months later numerous times for over a $100 for something I did not order, nor receive. Called their rep to remove charges, who said that they had confirmation that item was delivered, but I assured them that it was not ordered, nor received by me. Ive read that if you don't read the fine print, or miss declining an additional offer box, that this can happen, but I was very careful to look for these additional offers, as well as recorded the online purchase with a screen recorder that shows nothing other than the original $9.99 item was ordered; therefore, their sales system is adding purchases that people are not making. Even with proof, a half year later they were still trying to make unsolicited charges.

I would encourage anyone who is intent on ordering this outdated product to record their online purchase with screen capture so that you have proof you did not order products that they will charge you for and then say they delivered.

Better still, please avoid this dubious and unscrupulous, if not illegal, practice, with every fibre of your being...just run away!!! But if they do try to get you, be prepared and fight back, because they will!!!!!!!

Also, they are not BBB accredited.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Direct contact with owner of pimsleur approach

Reviewed By LJ on September 23, 2013, Philadelphia

Here is the direct contact information for the pimsleur approach aka stroll aka internet order llc.
CEO: Dan Roitman 215-701-3300 ext 1101
Address is 1600 JFK Blvd 3rd floor
Philadelphia pa 19103

That's the main person who too contact

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Stroll is a SCAM

Reviewed By Hardy Cook on September 10, 2013, Athens, GA

This is a SCAM. Do not order.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
joe
September 23, 2013

Stroll definitely is not above board. They continue to charge me for cds that I sent back on time. When I call, they say that there is nothing that they can do. I need to call my credit card company.

Your Comment
Guest

method works great, just buy the CDs on ebay or bigredbarn

Reviewed By David on August 29, 2013, Asheville, NC

I've learned several languages well enough to travel on my own in foreign countries and speak pidgin. Easy ones like Spanish and German, as well as hard ones like Russian and Thai. The method is NOT old-fashioned, it blows the computer lessons like Rosetta Stone out of the water. Rosetta Stone will teach you some basic vocabulary and phrases but Pimsleur really does teach you to think in the language and speak with a decent accent.

I listen to the lessons to and from work and work through several lessons a week, usually listening to each lesson twice or three times.

Don't buy the CD's from some website that forces you into some sort of marketing scheme, just buy the whole set new from bigredbarn, or used from ebay. After you're done with them (and have them ripped onto your iPod) you can sell them on ebay yourself and get some of that cash back. And nobody has your credit card number to keep on charging it!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Momentum
September 03, 2013

He/She is absolutely right on the credit card autocharged when you don't return their materials after 30 days. It's very annoying. I really dislike this merchandising strategy.

joe
September 23, 2013

Even after I returned mine on time, they continue to charge me. Every month I have to dispute it with my credit card company

Your Comment
Guest

Even better then it appears

Reviewed By Kerry on August 26, 2013, Chattanooga, TN

First, one really needs the complete set, not the introductory program. The imperfections or flaws are not accidental, they are purposely designed to build up additional vocabulary and to help prepare one for the more advance lessons. Despite what any source claims, learning a foreign language require a long term commitment. Those 10 minutes a day programs simply do not work. If they did, every high school graduate should know at least two foreign language!

I completed Level 1 Russian, and now on lesson #9 level 2. By the time I finish level 3, I will be able to converse rather well.

Rosetta Stone is almost worthless. I might use it to help learn some random vocabulary and listen to a different native speaker. At best, Rosetta Stone might be an acceptable supplement.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

support pimsleur method

Reviewed By emily on August 15, 2013

Its very much true that the $10 deal is just a scam to make u pay more than u wanted to. Dont buy from pimsleur approach THEYRE JUST TRYING TO TRICK U! but DO buy from pimsleur.com becuz theyre more open and honest and wont charge u extra for their products. Pimsleur is a very well respected name in the linguistic community. The product is rlly really proven to work so dont pass up on the amazing opportunity! Jus dont make the mistake of buying it from the wrong website. Pimsleurapproach are the resellers that r trying to forcefully take money out of ur pocket but pimsleur.com is more "approachable" and less dishonest about their products. Also approach is the one.that advertises that "learn in ten days" pitch whereas pimsleur.com does not at alll. Its gonna take u a two wks to a month to finish one lvl of a course wich is 30 lessons.
So do not support "pimsleur approach" but do support "pimsleur method"! I even unfollowed pimsleur approach on twitter becuz i was so displeased with how theirbilling system works. And yes i kno to read the fine print but some companies even violate their own rules.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 33 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Eileen
August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. I ordered the $10 trial offer from PimsleurApproach and wanted to know the difference between "Pimsleur" and "PimsleurApproach". I'm thinking I don't want anybody taking $59 x 4 installments out of my account. I'd rather just buy the program I want upfront. Makes me nervous to have anything deducted.

Fantom
September 03, 2013

I wish I could read your review earlier. Thanks for pointing out the difference between the two pimsleurs. I will check the honest pimsleur to see how it works.
Thanks again !!!

Your Comment
Guest

Pimsleur Works - if you do!

Reviewed By Dan T on August 12, 2013, Lehi, UT

Several years ago, I moved to Las Vegas. Recognizing that speaking Spanish would be very helpful with the increasing Hispanic population in Vegas, I considered my options. Since I was spending a lot of time in my car, I liked the Pimsleur approach through CDs. Now - to be honest - I checked out the large Pimsleur system FREE through the public libraries, and long before I finished the 70 CDs, I was conducting business in Spanish. I was also getting compliments on my accent. Again - to be honest - most of the complaints I'm reading here deal with the marketing practices, not the actual results. So - I'm recommending that you find a way to get the CDs, because Pimsleur works, if YOU DO. My next foray - Mandarin Chinese, and yes, I'll use Pimsleur!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review