PC Matic Reviews

About PC Matic

Computer viruses and bugs, also known as “malware”, have the capabilities to wipe out all of the data on your hard drive and even steal your information.  PC-Matic, a product of PC-Pitstop, is an online application used to scan your computer for viruses; from there it will remove any existing viruses and also block the threat of new ones.

In addition, it is able to locate updates and apply these updates to programs running on your computer.  PC-Matic offers increased security, increased performance, increased speed and stability.

PC-Matic compiles data generated from scans of all their customers.  This information is gathered and computed in a database called Cloud.  Integrating Cloud into PC-Matic’s design allows real-time protection.  This means that any new viruses or bugs are instantly added to their database and then used to improve the scans on your computer.

A year of service, with a 30-day guarantee, is $49.99, which is a little pricey.  The only requirement for this program is an internet connection.  PC-Matic can also be used on up to 5 computers and updates are automatically downloaded for free.

Another service, included for free, is the availability of scan reports, which can be directly emailed to you.  These reports outline what the program’s scans are finding and where viruses or problems may be coming from.  It is important to remember there are many viruses that are hard to find and there are constantly new ones being discovered, so any anti-virus software is going to have gaps.

From the PC-Matic Website, you can download a free scan check, which is quick and simple.  This scan will detect viruses that may be on your computer.  If there is a virus, the idea is, you will buy this program to remove the virus.  Is the free scan a real scan or a real scam?

Related Articles

19 ‘PC Matic’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Don't trust

Reviewed By Gretchen Schmitz on March 28, 2015

They have sucked us dry. Keeps calling and want more and more money. After paying for 5 years for 5 computers, they had the gall to call and charge my son an additional $100 to remove viruses from a computer that we had previously paid for. Keeps calling our home phone and putting pop ups to download additional versions on my pc. Our credit card was hacked with illegal charges from Jamaica. Can't help but think it was PC Matic which hacked our credit card. Also, can't understand them when they call. Calls are coming from a foreign country. Can't trust them anymore unless they want to refund they money we have already paid. Guard your credit card that you use to pay for any services. Wish I would have never heard from them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Total SCAM

Reviewed By Bill Mc on October 25, 2014

It's the worst piece of scam ware/ransomware that's hit the Internet.
They've scammed enough people to be able to afford fancy commercials that are total fabrications.
I'm a professional PC/IT person. Want good protection? By either Norton Security, or Norton 360, or BETTER still, get FREE protection with AVG 2015 Anti-Virus Free (www.avg.com), Malwarebytes (www.malwarebytes.org), and Superantispyware (www.superantispyware.com). Those three combined, IF you regularly update Malwarebytes and Superantispyware, along with AVG will do a great job. Some people like Avast Anti-Virus better, but it's all a matter of personal preference. They're the top two rated free programs. Use ONE anti-virus, plus two good anti-malware/anti-spyware programs.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Does not work

Reviewed By Huns on November 30, 2013, Nejad

I paid full amount for PC Matic software. My computer is slower than before and I experiencing freezing too which I did not have it before.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
April 21, 2014

I'm an 84 year old computer tech and have been into computers a long time and can say, "I have never had any virus or malware problems. Go to Avast.com and download the FREE version. Before you do that, go to control paned, all control panel items, Programs and features. Delete PCM, Noxtxn and any other anti virus programs. Do not delete any malware protection if you have it.

Your Comment
Guest

I LOVE HER

Reviewed By Mr.Computer Illiterate F'up on October 10, 2013, Nfrontputer,WV

Bought PC Matic cause of that girl.Now my puter runs,no walk,no freeze.Thanks PC Matic here's $50 more!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

It's a scam

Reviewed By Me on July 4, 2013

Tried it and regret it. Don't follow in my path. It's a scam then junks up and slows down your computer, then ransoms you $50 to fix it

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

why do people keep falling for this piece of s**t is beyond me

Reviewed By a real PC technician on June 10, 2013

look people, there are NO magic fixes for broken PC's. Only a REPUTABLE pc tech can fix these issues, not some trash software you see on TV... get a clue...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Mac
July 01, 2013

Absolutely right, back up your data, wipe it out and start again. Better than trash ware.

Your Comment
Guest

scram

Reviewed By Ron on May 26, 2013, chattanooga,tn

They tell more lies about PC Matic on TV than Obama does. Well maybe not that many. But you can get free programs and keep your $50.00 and get better results .. Forget it, Don't Buy it,...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 8 Comments
Mark
May 27, 2013

HEY WE'RE A VIRUS THAT MADE ENOUGH MONEY TO DO A TV AD :D USE US. I hate how viruses target unsuspecting users.

Angel
July 01, 2013

What the heck does the president have to do with anything? He's the President people. You lost, we won. Get over it!

Richard
July 03, 2013

your president has the biggest forked tongue in the history of these United States. The sad part is you're to dumb to see it after 6 years of this traitor. Mr. Smilealot and ride Air force 1 until it's rode hard and put up wet.

Supamigit
August 22, 2013

Wow and let me guess you LOVE BUSH for all he did.. sad people ripping into OYUR counrties presidents... How about you vote a better one in. Anyway PC pitstop as most said after a Virtual test are exactlly as stated here they open up a one way train of malware and trash and Screws your registry something Rotten

Timelegend
November 26, 2013

Supamsh*&t

Obama sucks so that explains why your post sucks. Consumer report did an in depth testing on registry cleaners and PC Matic didn't make it matter of fact only 6 software programs passed the test which was stringent.

James John
March 19, 2014

Get over it teabaggers..we WON and you LOST. President Barack Obama! The BEST President this country has ever had!!!

James John
March 19, 2014

And if you teabaggers don't like it...you can kiss my rosy red azz...heheh

October 25, 2014

James John, you need to realize that Obama's but is not your hat.

Your Comment
Guest

This Has To Be A Joke

Reviewed By Cary Hartline on April 10, 2013

There's Hitler and then there's pc-matic. I'm still trying to decide which is worse.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 28 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Report it

Reviewed By report the product on April 3, 2013

Everyone who bought it should report it to the FTC, Federal Trade Commission asap.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 34 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Misleading

Reviewed By NOZTRADIMUS on March 19, 2013, orlando, florida

This program is full of crap do not download if you don't know about computers they will infect you and use you to suck you dry, by having you call in and padding for the program

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 36 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

I can't believe people would even consider this.

Reviewed By Steven on February 23, 2013, Las Vegas

This product is targeted towards people that know little to nothing about computers. Why use this product because it was on TV?

There are plenty of other well known/used applications that are free.

A combination of tools would be very beneficial:

CCleaner and Spybot would be great to clean up all the crap on your computer. Google the reviews.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 49 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Jim
November 27, 2013

Yep, I've been using CCleaner for years...no cost with frequent updates.

Your Comment
Guest

Made my computer go haywire!

Reviewed By Kindall on January 18, 2013, Denver, CO

My computer was running slow so I installed PC Matic & paid the $49.99. I figured it was cheaper than calling someone to help fix it. It seemed to run better for about 3 days. After that time, I started having crashes daily, within a few days hourly. Now I have to restart my computer after every task. Did the same with my laptop & now I'm getting registry errors.

I'm calling their customer service today to cancel it, but I have a feeling removing it will be a hassle.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 50 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
John
January 23, 2013

PC Matic is in my option a total scam, my computer also went haywire and would never shut down, I had to unplug it just to shut it down. Restored my computer and deleted there crap! Don't fall for this scam.

Subsentient
February 06, 2013

Not only are PC Matic, My clean PC, and all the variants a horrible, deceptive scam that should not be permitted to be aired on TV, they are ineffective, possibly damaging, and some even contain spyware. To make matters worse, PC Matic in particular perpetuates ignorance and computer illiteracy, implying in their commercials that if your operating system (windows) takes a dump, you need a new computer, when you can easily reinstall a fresh, clean operating system in such a scenario. This is obviously done because their business depends on the computer illiterate.

ccafe
February 13, 2013

There are TONS of scams on tv - and it being advertised on TV, was the first warning flag. It definitely COSTS - and that is the first deception! The Scammers now know all you have to do it "put it on tv."

patricia fultz
May 04, 2013

how do i cancel your services?

Your Comment
Guest

A total scam and will sabotage your computer!

Reviewed By Karl Brown on December 24, 2012, Atlanta, GA

I purchased their service for 1 year @ 9.99. Not great but O-K performance. However I refused the 49.99 renewal price and immediately after the subscription expired my computers went haywire! Windows updates don't work, all of my personal log ins were cut off, can't stream media, can't update active X files, Web browser freezes, can't use windows fix or even system restore. In effect, they SABOTAGED my computer(s) because I did not renew their service. Now I have to relay Windows 7 and Vista to get rid of whatever bugs they left since the program uninstall did not totally remove it. STAY AWAY FROM THEM! They are sneaky and underhanded and will DESTROY your computer if you do not renew their pathetic software.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 84 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Greg
February 10, 2013

Same happened to me but the computer caught fire!

Bruce
March 22, 2013

Mine caught a cold!

Your Comment
Guest

Trust me, is very simple!!!! This is what you really need to do...

Reviewed By Jacques on December 10, 2012, Los Angeles

Download for free from filehippo CCleaner, SuperAntiSpyware and Avira AntiVirus; all 3 programs are 'really free' and you will not need anything else, better yet, if you use a router you won't even need your firewall on which is a big slowdown for all computers. Religiously run SuperAntiSpyware and CCleaner once or twice a day, both of them only take 1 or 2 minutes, and you will be safe and very happy!!!! trust me, I know what I am doing, I run 4 different businesses on 4 different computers all day long, our actual network actually has about 25 computers, and they all been running smooth for about 8 years, everything else out there is a joke, especially Norton/ McAfee, get rid of it immediately!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 79 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Bill
January 02, 2013

Excellent suggestion. I have used CCleaner and Glary Utilities for years. Both are free and do more than PC Matic.

Bob in Albuquerque
January 06, 2013

This information is so right on! I use BitDefender insead of Avira but the result is identical. There is a lot of "crapware" out there, some of boarding on malware!

Greg
February 10, 2013

I use to use BitDefender and was very pleased of the product. I do not know why I downloaded PC Matic but like all the reviews said, my computer went nuts too. However, the HD started spinning real fast and the laptop caught fire. Lucky I do back-up my stuff. But I think PC Matic is Malware. DO NOT DOWNLOAD OR YOUR COMPUTER WILL BLOW-UP --or-- CATCH ON FIRE LIKE MINE DID!

Judy
June 22, 2013

I get the HD fast spin when Mcaffy scans??? I just stop the scan. I pay $49 a year to REGSERVO and clean the computer every few weeks. Get pretty good service, I was just curious about PC Matic.

Your Comment
Guest

It does not work and I can't log in now

Reviewed By Roger on December 8, 2012, Eagle River, Wi

My password and ID no longer work and I do not get reply's from the company. Are they still in business?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 43 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Complete lies

Reviewed By John on December 6, 2012, United Kingdom

On the TV advertisement it say's it's free. But it's not. Only the SCAN is free, most PC "repair" corporations will give a free scan, sometimes it will even say you have a ton of problems even though you don't. If you do actrually have a ton of problems it will show you the stactistics and then will say something such as "FIX NOW" but you will always most likely have to pay a fee such as 30.00 $ or 60.00 Euros. I only know of one program that allows a free scan and repair but it's only a 14 day trial, and you will get extremely annoying ads and pop-ups if you don't delete it PROPERLY after you're done with it. It's TuneUp Utilites 2013. I have to say PC Matic is one of the worst PC "repair" product ever. Well that was my review. Thank you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 57 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Lola
December 06, 2012

Great review John. I was thinking about buying the product but I wanted to read the reviews before though. Thanks for the great review.

Your Comment
Guest

Froze my computer

Reviewed By Connie  on December 1, 2012, Easton,MD

Downloaded the software and it worked fine. The next day, however, I shut my laptop down and took it to the office. It would not allow me to log on, corrupted my profile. I had to send the laptop out to be repaired, have not gotten the bill yet. I called and tried to use their support, they had me do a few things and it just made it worse. Beware!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 53 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Misleading

Reviewed By Tom on November 15, 2012, Hollywood, California

The TV ad states that the program is free. But it's NOT!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 49 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Joke

Reviewed By Bill on November 11, 2012, Boise id

The tv add implies that it is free. It will scan your computer but if you want it to fix something you have to buy it,

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 58 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
hans
December 18, 2012

the old bait and switch. its free,not.

Your Comment

Leave a Review