- Home - - Work at Home Reviews - - Contact -
 

MENU

Opinion Outpost Reviews

Is OpinionOutpost.com Legit or a Scam?

 

Opinion Outpost is a get paid to take surveys company, serving only adult residents of the United States and Canada.  You might be a bit surprised when you first visit their website because of the western theme but navigating becomes easier once you get used to it.

In order to sign up with Opinion Outpost you'd want to click on the town hall icon, and it will take you to the registration page.  After you register you can go to the grand hotel which is where your profile and other pertinent information is.

Initially, you will have ten profile surveys waiting for you, these surveys are not rewarded with points.  However it's recommended that you fill out these surveys since that information will be used to send you more paid surveys.

The reason that most folks don't receive as many survey opportunities as they'd like is because they haven't fully filled out their profile or taken these intro surveys.  As with other online survey companies Opinion Outpost rewards you in cash redeemable points.

Their current rate is ten points to one US dollar, with an average survey paying between 10 and 100 points.  You need to acquire 50 points before you can cash out for the minimum of five dollars.  In order to request a payment from Opinion Outpost you would click on the bank icon; you can expect a check within 6 weeks.

Each survey that gets emailed to you will have some quick preliminary questions to answer to see if you qualify for the survey.  These surveys do have a limit on how many participants they need so for a higher chance of acceptance try to respond to the emails as soon as you get them.

The most important thing to remember with Opinion Outpost is to stay active. If you don't attempt to qualify for a survey at least once every 3 months they will remove you as an active member and clear your account of any earned points.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
Opinion Outpost?
If so, click here
 
Share This!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints for 'Opinion Outpost'

 

Average Rating is 2.73 out of 5 based on 256 reviews.

R Aguilar   California

2:39pm on June 18th, 2012 

Accumulated 90 opinion points then had my account frozen due to "data concerns" -- you need 100 to cash out.
Majority of the surveys disqualify you after 5 minutes and vastly misrepresent the amount of time needed.
Anyway, this website is a scam, had a feeling from the start.

jerry   chicago

3:46pm on June 6th, 2012 

I would give this company a zero rating if I could. Used to be great until they merged with another company and now they are dreadful. Head on over to Mysuvey. You do not get as many surveys, but at least you don't go through 3/4 of a survey just to be booted out like you do with Opinion Outpost. Do yourself a favor, find some other ways to make money or join a different survey panel!


Tom   USA

9:53am on May 27th, 2012 

Do not join this site- since they changed over- they have become a ripoff company!
I have been told that I do not qualify about 6 times this weekend, after having spend 30 minutes on a survey and completing the survey
They are con men

GT   Canada

11:03am on May 26th, 2012 

When I first started doing surveys about 4 years ago, this was one of my firsts and one of my favorites (I still can see that cowgirl that used to be on the page). Well done surveys, no problems in payments, etc. Very enjoyable.

I have to agree with many others on here; it had slowly been going downhill for me and then really bad after the changes.
I find I have provided quite a bit of feedback only to be told I wasn't qualified OR they reached their desired number of responses. Very frustrating and a feeling of being cheated.

My main problem though is something I see a few other Canadians are having. At first I was thrilled they were offering Paypal. However I cannot get this verified through their site! "We cannot process your request at this time" BUT the disturbing thing is I opened a new browser to check my Paypal and I was automatically logged in! Any savvy techs out there? I'm guessing it has to do with their system, right?

1) they have not addressed why this happened
2) initial email responses "please ensure your name, if initials or other, is the exactly the same as your Paypal" OK, it isn't, doesn't say anywhere (or at least I haven't found it) it should be to cash out. Don't have this problem with any of my other panels either.
Asked them to please make this change on my OO profile then since I wouldn't be changing my Paypal info (affects too many things) and of course I can't adjust this myself on my OO profile.
They have refused to do this and suggested please use the other reward options. I don't use Amazon.com only Amazon.ca, with Citibank I would have to set up an account (!?) and I read about others having the restaurant offer but it's not one of my options offered. Other option, of course is their kind offer to donate all my points.

Frustrating, but a little relieved I'm not the only one with these same problems.

Joe   Texas

11:25pm on May 20th, 2012 

Stay away from this company, Not worth it. You MAYBE get to complete 1 survey out of 5. After filling out 50-80% of their surveys you get excluded even though you already spent up to 20 Minutes filling it out. And you can bet they still sell that information! CROOKS! SAVE YOUR TIME AND STAY AWAY!

steve   United States

4:05pm on May 18th, 2012 

I been with this company for years till they changed there website. I haven't had a problem with them until recently. My understanding is they merged with SurveySpot and now they are not doing as well.

Overall they are a good company, just are having some problems. Maybe they will get back on track.

aaron   USA!

9:37am on May 10th, 2012 

awesome website. free money for answering silly questions? hah why not?

i have redeemed the money and it does really work. although...like other people on this website it seems that opinion outpost did something to mess up in the last few months
every so often the survey will glitch out or especially it will disqualify you after spending 20 minutes answering the questions...
but over all a good site!

Brad Jones   Utah

5:27pm on May 4th, 2012 

I used to work at a very high level at Opinion Outpost. Up until the first of the year (2012), the company was extremely well run and panelists were treated fairly and compensated in kind. However, things all changed four months ago with a shift in business philosophy. Now panelists are very often excluded after answering questions for 20-30 minutes and are not paid, even though the information collected is still sold to OO's clients. I would suggest you not participate in the OO panel and complain to their clients for their unethical business practices.

Doug   Canada

2:08pm on May 3rd, 2012 

If you sign up for Opinion Outpost, prepare to get screwed. First you go through a series of "Personal Profile Surveys" so that they "can select surveys better suited to you". Except they never refer to that data, you will repeatedly get survey's that you are excluded from within the first few questions that you had long ago answered in the bogus Personal Profile. They also seem to send a significant number of surveys that will let you get 1/2 to 3/4 finished before it disqualifies you. The hours wasted filling out surveys that you'll be disqualified from are not worth the pittance they pay for the few you'll actually be able to complete.
Then, they don't send you a cheque anymore, you have to cash out through paypal (with it's associated cash-out fees). Oh, that's if they're system happens to be working that day, and so far my experience is that it's not.
If I ever get the money they owe me, I'm pulling out completely and going somewhere trustworthy like Angus Ried.

Jill Alicea   Pennsylvania

6:34pm on April 28th, 2012 

I used to do fine with Opinion Outpost...until I got divorced from my husband.

I promptly updated my Opinion Outpost account with my new address...and then noticed I stopped getting survey invites from them. I contacted support, and they said they already had me listed via another account. Some investigation showed that my ex-husband had opened his own Opinion Outpost account, and since I still have his last name and my old address is of course where he still lives...they thought it was a duplicate account.

Now I do understand why they would flag it as questionable, HOWEVER, I cleared it up for them - even offered to fax my change of address form from the post office as proof that I have, indeed, moved and no longer live there. They said it wouldn't be a problem, and re-activated my account...

...with one problem - ALL of my current earnings were gone! I was told "Ooops! It reset" and there was nothing they could do about it. I had over $20 in there and they reset it to $0. What a crock! I haven't bothered re-starting with them; I figure it's just a matter of time before they gyp me out of more earnings!

Lynne   NC

8:20pm on April 3rd, 2012 

I have been a member of Opinion Outpost for a long time and it use to be great! However,for the past several months things have went down hill 100% (including payouts for the surveys) I will not use them anymore.This use to be my favorite site and made $40-50 a month :( not anymore! Bye bye!

Betty   Location unknown

6:49am on March 26th, 2012 

I have been on many survey sites and this is the only one I have found that pays well and you get paid promptly.

Ashley   Jackson, Ms

10:40am on March 23rd, 2012 

Sure you get the occasional quota is filled and error messages however I find this site legit. I have made about $100 thus far but I'm not committed to the website but if I was I'm sure I would have made more. Whoever above said they made $10 in one hour is a liar...maybe 2-3 hours. Despite the negative comments to be honest, this is the best paying website you could possibly find without scamming you and for the person who claimed the "secret shopper" you must have clicked on an ad because Opinion Outpost wouldn't have that as a survey.

a person   NE PA

6:17pm on March 20th, 2012 

its not very good it costs too MUCH

Danielle   michigan

8:25pm on March 19th, 2012 

I have been on this site for several yrs i qualify for surveys all the time! lots of which i have tried new products through and had lots of fun doing. I was with them when they cashed out checks yrs ago which always came quicker then they stated would and never had probs. cashing. I do not have paypal so i choose to cash out with the citi bank prepaid card. I got the card number emailed to me within 24hrs. i could have just used that but i choose to pay 1.50 charge out of the money i was getting to get a actual opinion outpost citi bank card. I now get all my money from them put on that same card. It is on within 24 hrs can be used anywhere and has no fees! I love this site and have made tons of money from them even won free points the other day.

Caria   CA

3:25pm on March 17th, 2012 

So many technical error messages for the surveys you have completed. If you didn't write down the survey number and amount of points, basically, you can't contact and complain to prove anything. You get quotas full messages almost at the end of the surveys and they refuse to credit you your points saying you simply did not meet the criteria. They are a total scam, absolutely horrible business ethic. If you have problems, report them to better business bureau in UT. That's what I did, because they did not give me my money.

Liz   NC

5:37pm on March 16th, 2012 

If you're having issues, READ THIS:

For those of you having issues with redeeming points with PayPal, make sure you do not have any addons installed in your browser that may conflict. Also, check your hosts file in Windows. Sometimes there can be entries in your hosts file that will conflict. I had tried everything and thought of checking my hosts file as a last resort. When I did that, my redemption finally went through. Before you bash Opinion Outpost, please make sure you've tried everything you can to resolve the issue.

Their customer service could do a little more to help rather than saying it's all PayPal's fault, but at least they are quick to respond and are polite. Also, the issue with points not showing up, I've found that sometimes my points are on a delay. I've also emailed them about being told I don't qualify for a survey that I've successfully completed and they agreed they are looking into it. This was just a few days ago.

Hopefully this review helps someone. Opinion Outpost is still one of the better survey sites I have found.

Alan Hall   Costa mesa Ca.

5:21pm on March 8th, 2012 

This site is an absolute RIP OFF!They are offering a secret shopper that is just a scam. Checked with their customer support and their response was their lawerys were looking into it yet did they warn their clients NO!We have over 7k in bogus checks sent to us to send to someone else thru Western Union. Avoid this at all costs they promise you 200.00 to do this and you will be ripped off

wendimac   Vancouver, canada

4:10pm on March 6th, 2012 

I have been a member of Opinion Outpost for a little more than a year. When I first joined, everything was fine, I received many survey invitations and cashed out several times. In the last few months, however, I have noticed a change. Earlier today I finished a 20 minute survey. I was at the end of the demographics when I got a message that I had already taken the survey, and therefore did not qualify for the reward. This is the third time this has happened in the past 8 weeks or so.

Honestly, I would not join this site. It's a waste of time. If you are someone looking to take surveys for incentives, some really good sites are Lightspeed, Ipsos, and Web Perspectives (Valued Opinions in the US). I've never had any problems with them, and have cashed out multiple times with each. Try these out, but avoid Opinion Outpost!

Dustin   Alabama

9:28pm on March 2nd, 2012 

BE CAREFUL OF THIS SITE!

I had been a member of this site for over 4 years and as other have stated the compensation has been cut in half and error messages are pretty common after finishing a survey.

This had been my best paying survey site up until opinion outpost was bought by SSI and it has been all downhill from November 2010.
Recently I had tried to cash out my points via paypal and just like that a message came up saying my account has been frozen,etc.

I filled out the surveys as I have always done for the last several years with complete honesty and yet they lock out my account. Be very careful using this site and MAKE SURE you cash out once you have reached the minimum for you reward just in case you get frozen out of your account as well.


Page:  1    2    3    4    5   -6-   7    8    9    10    11   

Your Name:

Your Location:

Product/Service Rating:

Your Review:

 

 

 

 

Learn to Make Money Online Using Our Guide


Popular New Articles

How to Make Money Taking Online Surveys
Essential Steps for a Successful Online Business
Hot Tips For Saving Money

Work at Home
Job Listings

Administrative Jobs
At Home Transcription
Customer Service Jobs
Data Entry Jobs
Home Accounting Jobs
Home Writing Jobs
Medical Transcription Jobs

Compensation Disclosure

Review Categories

» Business Opportunities
» Business Gurus
» Data Entry Jobs
» eBay Programs
» Internet Marketing
» Investment
» Motivational
» Network Marketing
» Paid Online Surveys
» Real Estate