Lyft Reviews

Lyft
Based on 15 Reviews
Website:www.Lyft.me
Review It

About Lyft

Lyft is a mobile application which promotes and arranges something they refer to as “ride sharing,” and is ultimately intended to be a friendly and reliable alternative to traditional taxi cab rides.

Once you’ve downloaded this application to your Android or iPhone, you can use it to simply click and find a ride in your area to your next location, as long as it is during Lyft’s hours of operation. These hours will vary depending on the city you live in, but they do span the majority of the day regardless of the locations.

The drivers for Lyft are described as being friendly, community oriented people who volunteer their time and vehicles to this cause in exchange for “donations.” Lyft drivers must be at least 23 years of age and drive a car that is a year 2000 or newer, and in good working condition.

Drivers must be able to pass a phone screening, an in person meeting, and two different background checks, one DMV based and the other a basic background. Finally, drivers must have an Android phone or an iPhone so they can connect with their passengers through the application.

Once a driver has picked up a passenger and completed their ride, the passenger’s phone will beep with a message from the app, recommending a suggested donation. This donation is completely voluntary and be adjusted to be higher or lower than the suggested amount.

Lyft has strict policies about the behavior of both their drivers and their passengers. One way they ensure the respectful behavior of participants is to allow drivers to rate their passengers after every ride. Future drivers will be able to see these ratings before they accept a passenger.

Drivers will receive 80% of the donations from the passengers, and drivers will receive direct deposit payments into their accounts once a week. The website says that on average Lyft drivers will receive $35 per hour of work, and can choose their own hours.

If you have any experience with this company as a passenger or a ride, please leave your Lyft reviews below.

15 ‘Lyft’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Lyft is a nightmare!!!!

Reviewed By Diane KA on January 19, 2016

Summary: Use all their first-time rider coupons and then go with UBER!!!

I've been using Lyft for three weeks now (mainly to get to work during the cold weather) and I'm sad to report that everyday has been an ordeal using Lyft!!! Uber is soooo much better and the drivers seem more knowledgeable in terms of street smarts and navigation.

Here is a summary of the problems I've encountered with LYFT:

1) Drivers, while nice, are not great drivers and cannot navigate (even with a GPS). I had one driver turn from a middle lane and otherwise drive awfully, one driver who didn't even know where SE was and another driver who didn't even know what the difference was between car pool and single passenger service (I HAD TO EXPLAIN IT TO HIM!)

2) Car pool sucks! I tried car pool and first, it takes 10 minutes for them to pick you up and then they drove (in my case, about 4-5 miles out of my way in the opposite direction) to pick up the other person (who was late!!!) and then drops her off in (I'm going to SE - could she be even further out of my way?!??). Then the driver doesn't know how to use the Lyft app and ends up driving us back to the office building in Georgetown (where the other girl got off) as our "next stop." When I told him that my address was in SE, he didn't know how to use his own GPS. He kept turning on PA Avenue rather than K Street. We ended looped around the same block THREE TIMES (during rush hour traffic, pedestrians and lights adding over 15 minutes to my trip) before he finally listened to me that he was making the wrong turn each time! My otherwise 15 minute commute to work took over 55 minutes!!!

3) One morning, the driver's ETA was "2 minutes." Well AFTER 8 MINUTES, I could see on my app that the driver NEVER MOVED the car and NO PROGRESS was made to come to my home. YET the app still said she was "2 minutes away." I cancelled my ride because at this point I was late to work and they had the audacity to charge me a $5 cancellation fee when their own software could have told them that their driver NEVER moved her car to even try and pick me up!

4) The way they apply credits towards rides is a total rip off. In short, I had a few credits on my account. One $10 credit expiring tomorrow and one $20 credit (for referring a friend to Lyft - BIG MISTAKE) that expired a month from now. Well the geniuses at Lyft and their app, used my $20 credit this morning for a $12 trip instead of applying the $10 credit that EXPIRES TOMORROW even though there is nothing in their policies explaining the logic and method for applying credit. After multiple backs and forth with Lyft, telling them that their app was faulty, irrational and defies commonsense, they refuse to return my $20 credit. Basically, now I'm stuck with a credit that expires in less than 14 hours while they wasted my $20 credit for a $12 trip (so I lose $8 in credit). STUPID!!!!

I HATE LYFT!!!!!! I hope this sub-par company is finished off by UBER!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Sacramento - Lyft

Reviewed By Ed Mar on December 12, 2015

So I started on Halloween night since it wasy busy, i did a total of 5 hours only and made 240 dollars, I was so impressed!. As I continued to work only on Fridays and Saturdays since these are the busiest I ended up making an average of 40 bucks for about 7 hours, IF LUCKY. Too many customers cancel on you, sometimes I even arrived AT FRONT OF THEIR HOUSE! and wait, and then they cancel on me! like what the hell? there were nights where I wasted half a tank of gas and didnt make a single dollar. There are just way too many drivers and not enough customers. And they advertise for sacramento you can make 6k a month. are you serious?? you would be lucky to even make 1000 dollars dollars. I Don't think thats even possible.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Where os the $1,000 sign up bonus? Bait and Switch scam

Reviewed By George on October 31, 2015, Boston MA

If you are attracted to sign up for Lyft for their Bonus, you may want to think twice about it:

1- First, they will not pay you the bonus under one excuse of the other.

2- Your support tickets will go unanswered.

3- Demand for the service is low because folks read the forums and know a bad deal when they see it!

4- You will drive for hours without a ride, you do not know where to be, they simply highlight a whole city in pink and when you get there, nothing! You will be wasting your time, money and risk getting into accidents

5- Their guaranteed are not possible to achieve, read their fine print.

6- Their riders are unreliable, they will often cancel on you and they will give you $0.00 tip even when they have the option to do so on the app.

My experience was awful! The best I did was to remove the app and close my driver account.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 12, 2015

Yep...simply well said.

Your Comment
1 Review

Lyft = SCAM

Reviewed By Kevin F. on October 27, 2015

I was driving for Uber when I was referred by a rider who gave me their Lyft code to join Lyft and receive a $500 bonus. I completed the necessary rides within 30days, but never received the $500. When I inquired via email, it took 2 weeks for them to respond,"You didnt use a code when you signed up" ...B.S. Of course I dont have proof of that, but I know used the riders link with his code. To further my grievance, I also referred a friend to drive to which I was told I would receive an additional $500 and so would my friend. My friend completed the requirements and received $500 cash, I on the otherhand was given $500 in Lyft credits...ARE YOU KIDDING ME ??!! IM A DRIVER ! ! ! what am I going to do with Lyft credits ??!! I am boycotting Lyft and am spreading my story to everyone until I get paid.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
George
October 31, 2015

Lyft is truly a scam, they used the same excuse with me in Boston. The bonus was supposed to be $1,000 after 50 rides but they never delivered. Drivers be aware, Lyft is bad news

December 12, 2015

Not sure how you guys made money with lyft anyways, I think I spend more on gas than I actually make. I wasted about 6 hours on friday, saturdays with barely making 35 dollars if lucky. There is more drivers than customers and they advertise you can make 6k a month.

Your Comment
1 Review

Scam Artists!!! Be AWARE!!

Reviewed By Tanya on October 1, 2015

Be aware: When you apply for a driver position, it's not enough that they collect ALL your sensitive information such as your SSN, home address, age, license number, date of birth, BUT BEFORE you are approved to be a driver, you have to meet with one of the "mentors", who will take photos of your drivers license, your insurance card, your face and your car. Even if you have a clear driving record and background (as I do), if doesn't mean they will approve you. So, I met with "mentor" on a parking lot of a small shopping plaza, he collected all the photos said above, and next day I received an email from Lyft that they decided NOT to move forward with my application. Also, before the meeting the mentor contacted me not with a real phone number, which I thought was a regular number, but through some virtual number that was disconnected next day when I wanted to ask him some questions. The point is that they got all my data, but I didn't even know the mentor's real phone. So, what is next? My identity fraud...? Does anybody know what is behind the Lyft..? Maybe, there is bunch of criminals who collect the data and sometimes let you slave for them? I don't want to sound paranoid, but the way all my data was taken by something named Lyft makes me worry. Also, when I asked the "mentor" how much they pay for per mile, he was not happy to tell that it's about $1.40, minus 20% of the Lyft's commission. He said that if you drive 8-10 hours per day for them, you are going to make about $100-150 a day. Is this OK with you??? They don't have any fixed transfers to airport as well. Where taxi charges $100 for the transfer, they give you $20-25 minus their commission. BE AWARE before you apply for this scam!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

feeling scammed

Reviewed By Ra on September 17, 2015

I have been emailing Lyft about my sign on bonus since 9/12/15. I completed 50 rides as stipulated in order to meet the criteria for the 750$ bonus. I email Lyft a copy of the reminder notification that clearly states that i need to complete 50 rides by 9/12/15. as of 9/12 I had completed 51 rides. Lyft send me an email stating that I should have been done by 9/11/15. When I asked them to explain and justify the difference in date they did not. I attached the reminder notification that says 9/12 is my end date. I still have not heard anything. i am feeling scammed. no one returns any emails and I also had twelve cancellations in one day for which there was no compensation of any kind.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Unwanted texts from Lyft? Let us represent you

Reviewed By Pete Springer on June 5, 2015

Hey, did anyone start applying to be a Lyft driver, not finish your application, and then have them spam you with texts? That happened to someone we know, and we filed a class-action lawsuit about it, if anyone wants to join us. If this also happened to you (spam texts without your consent from Lyft), you may be entitled to $500 for each unwanted text you received. Please give us a call: (619) 531-8700 or visit our website: http://www.theadlerfirm.com/contact/.
(Attorney Advertisement)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Lyft Support Has Zero Respect for Drivers

Reviewed By mj G on March 4, 2015

I drove for Lyft and ran into some issues with them not paying me what i had earned. They do seem to scam/defraud drivers out of proper earnings and bonuses. If you run into an issue you are forced to email them. It takes them 3-4 days to respond and once they do its ysually a copy paste response. They are a terrible company due to awful customer driver support. Worse than a cable company i wont mention

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Ra
September 17, 2015

I having a terrible experience with Lyft at this moment. I earned the sign on bonus however I then received an email stating that my 50 rides should have been completed by 9/11/15. i attached my reminder email from lyft on which it clearly states that I am being reminded to complete 50 rides by 9/12/15. Since sending that attachment I have not heard anything further from Lyft. i am very disappointed.

Your Comment
1 Review

Lyft A major Fail

Reviewed By Mike Murphy on February 21, 2015, Southern California

Lyft seems to be the Ford Pinto of the new ride sharing world Where Uber is the mercedes-Benz. Lyft doesn't stand by their drivers and will not pay them if there's any anomaly in their network. Me and three of my drivers have left this company because their service is so poor and they have no help and support. I have talked three companies into leaving Lyft and using Uber and Sidecar instead . I will not rest until I have turn at least a thousand people away both passengers and drivers. I love returning favors.. And I also predict Lyft will not survive because of their poor attitude and unwillingness to help their passengers and drivers.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

SCAM !!!!!!!

Reviewed By Rafael on February 20, 2015

I drove a total of 589 miles in one week, never received a DIME!!!!! no one answers emails, and no one to talk to. DO NOT DO THIS!!! IF ANYTHING, START YOUR OWN SERVICE AND MAKE YOUR OWN MONEY!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Mike Murphy
February 21, 2015

I totally agree! They have no ethics at all. They owe me a lot of money and they are not stepping up to the plate to pay me. !!

June 05, 2015

same issue with me drove 12 hours around 120 mile in NYC didn't get paid at all because the scumbag passenger cancel the ride after 12 hours before i end the trip. no response from lyft. i will sue them if i didn't get paid

Your Comment
1 Review

Fraud !

Reviewed By Tom on October 29, 2014

Zero stars ! They did not deposit my money last week, and ask me to update my bank info every day. Nothing changed in my info Crooooooooooooks !

Where's my money ?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 21, 2015

You are not alone. More and more drivers are coming out saying that they're experiencing the same thing.

Your Comment
1 Review

The above reviews must be from taxi drivers

Reviewed By Rachel Dutton on September 2, 2014

I used lyft all Labor Day weekend in Chicago and loved it!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 21, 2015

Uber is a much Classier company. They have great customer service and support. Lyft has none !!! If you have a problem with Lyft-Forget getting help. The new company sidecar is coming on very strong. I think that companies going to be the contender with Uber.

Your Comment
1 Review

Applicant

Reviewed By Yazz on August 9, 2014

Lyft sucks.....,, thy starts in newyork I apply for driver job I lived in longisland and I go all the way down to Brooklyn for show my car and interview after tht thy send me email everything is good u pass all the steps but some what thy don't have permission to start lyft in newyork but now everything fine but thy never send me any email or MSG to start work one day I try again go to o queens bt still my appliction is not working I email thm but no answer thy don't care someone spend gas and time for this bull s***

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
E O
October 13, 2014

Yazz...you can't type properly. Punctuation is our friend. Maybe if you learn to be literate you can get hired.

February 21, 2015

I don't even think that was Siri's fault ..

Your Comment
1 Review

scam!!!

Reviewed By whocares on June 25, 2014

I signed up because lyft offered me a free ride credit but that was credit never working. After my ride lyft only gave me the option of paying by credit card. There's not a single phone number you can call to get a hold of lyft customer service, and they don't respond to emails.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
JOHN
July 26, 2014

Somehow every snafu hits you. There is one phone number but it is an emergency number for drivers. I have sent a dozen emails which have all been answered within I-2 days, based on urgency. Your impatience and attitude has denied you a great service. I started driving at the end of June, after next week's direct deposit, I will have earned about $3500, and that's just my 1st month!!. You are really missing out!! But you also do not have the "Lyft attitude" to be successful, therefore it doesn't matter. Continue enjoying your taxis!

February 21, 2015

Lyft seems to be the Ford Pinto's of the drivers. Where Uber is the mercedes-Benz. Lyft doesn't stand by their drivers and will not pay them if there's any anomaly in their network. Me and three of my drivers have left this company because their service is so poor and they have no help and support. I have talked three companies into leaving Lyft and using Uber and Sidecar instead . I will not rest until I have turn at least a thousand people away both passengers and drivers. I love returning favors.. And I also predict Lyft will not survive because of their poor attitude and unwillingness to help their passengers and drivers.

Your Comment
1 Review

I HAVE NEVER BEEN TREATED SO AWFULLY ANYWHERE ELSE. STAY AWAY FROM LYFT!!!

Reviewed By Hardworking Driver on March 31, 2014

Lyft sucks! They will terminate you as a driver for no reason and no notice in advance. When you ask "Why", they will send you an email full of lies. Stay away from Lyft. They are very shady, dishonest, and unprofessional. They steal earnings from their drivers and they cheat their customers as well. Use or apply at Uber, Sidecar or even a taxi instead. I've had awful experience with them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Trudy Erickson
April 07, 2014

ÜBER is worst. They go out of their way to discourage tipping so your lucky to get gas money. You ruin your car for drunk students and 20 yr ols, who are so rude & cheap I was speechless. they left their garbage in my car, took my daughter's stuffed animal as a prank I guess and always have too many people. Just work for a cab and make real money, protect your privacy and forget the ride share gimmick. I wouldn't want these people in my house and I don't want them in my car! There's a reason they don't call a cab..,,if they can rip you off for less than half the price & leave no tip - why wouldn't they? They're pigs!

Trudy Erickson
April 07, 2014

In addition, no one picks their own hours. If you don't work the weekends at night, and pick up drunks - you won't make money.... Why are they allowed to lie like this!

July 26, 2014

I choose my hours every week and sometimes I don't stick to them. Lyft doesn't hassle me about it. If you can't or won't work weekend nights and give Lyfts to the "bar crowd", you will make less than you could make. Just the fact of the matter! Do you have professional sports teams or a theater district? Make yourself available to drive folks to and from games or shows. I am in Miami and doing well with Lyft and really enjoying myself.
Maybe you are in a sh#t town or you have a sh#t attitude? Lyft won't work for you if so..... missy.

Your Comment

Leave a Review