Lumosity.com Reviews

About Lumosity.com

Lumosity is an online tool used to increase memory, increase attention and improve overall cognitive performance.  The advisory board for Lumosity initiated The Human Cognition Project, led by credible neuroscientists at Lumos Labs.  These scientists conducted research dedicated to enhancing human intelligence.

The research was based upon the idea of neuroplasticity, defined as the brain’s ability to form neural connections when encountered with new experiences.  They used the results of the study to devise challenging activities to increase the number of neural connections in the brain.  
 
After you sign up for Lumosity, you will complete a questionnaire to identify your current abilities and areas that need attention. From there, it automatically generates a customized program to strengthen weaker cognitive skills. 
 
As your performance improves, the exercises become more challenging, continuously adapting to your progress.  There are three progressive training levels, Basic Training, Peak Performance Training and Advanced Memory Training.
 
When you reach maximum performance in all cognitive areas at one training level, you can then move on to the next.  In addition, versions of the program are available for individuals with medical needs.
 
Some of these include post-traumatic stress disorder, mild traumatic brain injury, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and patients in cancer recovery.
 
Lumosity offers a 3-day free trial period.  There are a number of pricing options available.  One option is to pay as you go, the cost is $15.00 per month.  Longer subscriptions are also available, one-year will cost $80.00 and 2 years will cost $120.00.
 
The family subscription allows for up to five users on one account, the cost is $130.00 for one year.  Each subscription has a 30-day money back guarantee with the option to upgrade or cancel at anytime.
 
Lumosity is constantly adding new exercises and programs.  The program allows you to keep track of your progress, it provides helpful tips and techniques, and offers a performance percentile chart.
 
They even have a Smartphone application called Brain Trainer so you can take it on the go.  Increasing memory, sharpening your problem-solving skills, and improving concentration can have an effect in all areas of your life.
 
Trying something new is always worth a shot because everyone has capabilities they may not know exist.

Related Articles

21 ‘Lumosity.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Still a dummy here

Reviewed By Danny on February 27, 2015

I used this service religiously for 2 years. My IQ is still shitty, and people still think I'm a little slow. Don't believe the hype!

Actually, since I stopped using Luminosity, I did not notice any difference. HOWEVER, I did come across this article that says there are cheap video games that are WAY better at making you more intelligent. See for yourself:

http://www.nerdist.com/2014/09/im-making-a-note-here-portal-2-beats-luminosity-in-brain-training/

In short. Don't be stupid like me and don't pay these guys for a product that doesn't work! Instead, buy a video game like Portal. You'll be having fun, and it will be more effective at making you smart!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Seems to be a SCAM

Reviewed By Al on August 3, 2013, USA

They appear to collect a lot of information on you including your personality and traits. I understand that the games they offer are not taken seriously by mainstream science.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

You might learn a little they COLLECT a LOT of data

Reviewed By Lab Rat on July 26, 2013, Maze, ME

The ENORMOUS database they are amassing will be sold to researchers to mine the data and make connections between personality and behavior, or maybe a certain collection of traits and schizophrenia.

Don't be fooled. They don't care about you getting smarter....they care about THEM getting smarter by collecting and timing every click and choice you ever make on that site.

WHATEVER you do... don't sign up with your real name and have your profile linked to your real identity (through payment for instance). Remember this rule of data - it will ultimately be used for purposes other than those for which it was collected.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

skeptical

Reviewed By mjdub on July 12, 2013, mpls, mn

Seems like good marketing over science.. because the commercialization and online marketing banners are everywhere.
I don't see the credible neuroscientists.. not that it matters.
These are just simple games that get harder, Pac-man gets harder to a point where I stop playing. Maybe this exposes weaknesses in areas of which I don't use as often, say 'basic division' or memory games so I stimulate a little bit of that cognitive area I don't use as often with the variety.. at 15 dollars a month its not the worst cost but I don't believe it will strengthen any brain skills at least it probably would plateau quickly. I unsubscribed after five days of trial because it really just is a stimulation in game form I could get from reading, math, crosswords, etc etc. I don't see the long term benefit but I do see the amount of marketing dollars and people protecting the Lumor name. It's well done, I don't hate Luminosity but it isn't for me even if I do need to sharpen skills.. but then again that's the beauty of the product who doesn't? Who doesn't want to get better at remembering names? Great marketing... even better when I sign up and forget to login to do the exercises but keep paying... ironically it's like a gym membership at the beginning of the year lots of members (membership fees) and after a month or two lots of open equipment. Just my opinion.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

It seems to help!

Reviewed By Steve on June 24, 2013, Las Cruces, NM

I am a musician and am very interested in ways to strengthen my ability to memorize music. I was immediately helped by the memory games to expand my repertoire. Lumosity uses the brain's neuroplasticity or ability to physically adapt to the tasks it performs. What a great idea that we have this opportunity to increase brainpower and sharpen our cognition! This is based on the brain research that it also provides a wealth of data to help advance. Not only is your own cognition improved thru these games, but it helps the science advance by providing willing, paying participants in a vast experiment
forming a virtuous cycle. I don't understand all the negativity-I think it's a great idea.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Bob
October 23, 2013

Obviously you work for the site..musicians dont talk in advertisements

February 27, 2015

Also, wouldn't just putting effort into memorizing music make you better at memorizing music?

Your Comment
Guest

It is a incremental battle

Reviewed By User on May 16, 2013, Missouri

Lumosity does present its stats in a way that suggest daily gains are possible or even weekly, but The point of the games is to excercise different parts of your brain... if you play every day and gain familiarity you effectively hit a threshhold - at this point you should have gained very little to nothing - continue playing and you can increase the BPI threshhold (albeit at a very small amount). In a perfect world you hit your threshhold in a few weeks and see a very small improvement (

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Lumosity

Reviewed By Steven O on April 30, 2013, Las Vegas

Don't waste your money; there is no scientific data show any actual effect or increase.

You are better off reading, playing any strategy base games then wasting your money on this garabage.

Quack, quack is duck not a goose, you silly people.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Okay games, no real brain training, gaming on taking your money

Reviewed By HFree on March 20, 2013, Chicago, IL

First, I have only played the free games as they try to lure me into signing up. I've done it for a couple of months now. The catch is that once you get good at a game and your BPI keeps rising they throw a new game at you which will take time to master and they drop your BPI. So if BPI is really a measure of my brain function how can it drop so much because a new game comes along even if I am a master at the other games. I'm very skeptical about Luminosity and based on other reviews my skepticism seems warranted. No reason to give them any money as there are so many free games to play online.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Not very challenging

Reviewed By Ben on March 17, 2013

I dunno ... it wasn't very challenging once I got a little more familiar with the games. I would think most PC, Xbox games out there would offer a much more intense and fun mental workout.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

where's the scam?

Reviewed By Sam on March 8, 2013, los angeles

I'm not sure what's up with all the reviews. It seems pretty simple to me: You play brain games, your mind gets sharper, end of story. Anything you do consistently and that challenges you will eventually make you better and smarter. It's just basic learning skills. I think these games are fun and challenging and personally I do see results and improvement in my daily life. And nope, I don't work for the company and nobody is paying me to write this.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Tarc
March 18, 2013

No it doesn't make you "eventually smarter"...

lrg
May 11, 2013

which site is most helpful?

Skeptic
May 12, 2013

i am always wary of unwarranted statements like "And nope, I don't work for the company and nobody is paying me to write this."

Alice Bowie
May 17, 2013

I am always wary of skeptics!!!

Your Comment
Guest

Scam

Reviewed By hard working american on February 23, 2013, here

Well, i signed up for the free trial and played the game. had no problem with it but I'm skeptical about anything that wants money from me so i looked at reviews every where and i probably would of gave it more thought if i didn't see all the comments from people like Theodore trying to get you to believe it isn't a scam. I am pretty sure he works for the company and i will have no part in that. ill wait until there is more ACTUAL research out there about brain strengthening.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Interesting site, false promise

Reviewed By Rudy on February 19, 2013, Portsmouth, Va

The nail in the coffin was when I posed some of these questions to the support staff and received a reply saying if my questions are not emergencies or about billing problems, they would not answer them. So I made it a billing problem and cancelled my subscription...

I purchased a months service from this site a just over a week ago out of curiosity. Does it work?

I played the games 8 days straight and did the research which turned up mostly bad reviews and skepticism but some positive potential then turned my eyes to the site.

The Lumosity score is supposed to indicate "how much and how well you have trained". It does neither. The score would have to tell you how many games you have played to use it for that and with each game yielding variable points each play, there is no telling how many games you have played. Similarly, if you earn varying points each time you play and cannot compare it to previous days or weeks scores, there is no way to determine whether you are doing better or worse.

Are the games making me smarter or just training me to do simple tasks exceedingly well. I wondered if there is a test unrelated to these tasks which could measure increase in these performance areas.

I must admit, some of these games are pretty fun and gets the competitive nature going in me but many similar games can be found around the net for free.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 37 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Bev
March 12, 2013

You can tell how many days you've played - check your training - which areas you do better in (Memory, Speed, etc.) There are graphs, etc. to compare where you were last week, 4 weeks ago, etc. I can see steady improvement.I think these games do work to improve your mind. I have found doing the "training" every day plus as many other fun games I want to indulge in has been very challenging!

Ben
March 17, 2013

I'm also of the view that the games seem to train me to do simple tasks well. In fact, on one game I was progressing so well on the first session that I hit a reaction speed ceiling due purely to the fact that I was having to switch between clicking two buttons using my MacBook Pro's trackpad; there was no cognitive challenge left.

James
March 22, 2013

Spoken like a faithful employee.

Your Comment
Guest

Company that Scams People

Reviewed By Scott Chauncey on February 17, 2013, Buffalo New York

They claim they have a money back guarantee but they took my money and I noticed how ineffective their service was and refused to refund me. Lumosity is a Scam and operates as one too.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 30 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Time wasted

Reviewed By Anton on February 12, 2013, Los Angeles

Who cares about the money or scam fees and recharges once they get your credit card ? It's about wasted time.

This kind of training isn't going to make you better at chess or your job or playing a matching game with kids.

Just as fishing won't make you a better swimmer.

If you want to do better at something in life then FOCUS on that something not some silly time wasting games.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 31 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Bev
March 12, 2013

Disagree with your last sentence entirely!

Johnny
March 22, 2013

Bev, shut up.

Anton has a point. This program feeds off of people going the wrong direction for something they could (but don't want to) work on the simple, hard way.

Anton Sucks
April 06, 2013

why would u say that? By saying that it means u hate school

Your Comment
Guest

Absolute Scam

Reviewed By Terry on February 9, 2013, IN

Even if you scored the highest score possible on every game from the very beginning you will still not be at the top because to be at the top you have to unlock everything and do well. This would be more accurate if the levels higher levels werent locked so that you could see how high you could possibly score from the beginning. As a result supposed "increases" in your BPI are fake because you could have had a higher score to begin with if you weren't limited the need to unlock the higher levels.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 23 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Paul
March 23, 2013

I don't know whether the site is legit or not, that's why I'm reading this. However, your statement doesn't make sense. If you excelled on the beginner games from the start, they would unlock the more advanced games. The only reason you didn't get the advanced games, is because you weren't excelling at the beginner games.

goran
April 08, 2013

BUUUUUUUUUURN! :D:D:D:D

Terra
July 11, 2013

No, what Terry is saying makes sense. He is saying that the gains seen are merely artificial. Lower level games (beginner) will only allow you to reach a certain BPI. THIS WILL ACTUALLY PULL DOWN YOUR OVERALL BPI. You could have the highest score possible (the name game) and still only be at 500 BPI. But wait, once I get to level two I can get a higher BPI...and so on.

Your Comment
Guest

Reasonably Fun, questionable utility

Reviewed By Theodore on February 4, 2013, DC

I enjoy the games, keeping in mind this isn't intended to be the next Diablo game, it's brain training. I was interested enough in the free 3 days that I bought a year over a month ago, and I don't regret it yet. I suspect that by the time the year is up my scores will have improved significantly, but I question if that means I will have gained legitimate mental capability or just gotten better at these specific mental tasks. Does practicing remembering a window and letter sequence actually make it easier to remember people's names at work? Does quickly deciding if a triangle is not a square make me faster at work? I hope so, and I put money down on it because I think it'll work, but I'm not sure. I read the studies, but am not really convinced. I do like Lumosity better than their rather weak competition.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Jason
May 10, 2013

Company schill. You can tell by how it's written. Nice try Lumosity.

Your Comment
Guest

love it, have improved daily in all 5 area, however trouble accessing website

Reviewed By barbara t. gershberg on January 31, 2013, sarasota fl

Please improve this website, very frustrating when I cannot continue a training session, this occurs usually in the mornings before 12:00
also please post my training session s at 9:00am. thanx
I am enjoying this brain train program immensely, very pleased with the results. it does work

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Theodore
February 04, 2013

This is not the customer service page, please post something useful.

Joe
February 15, 2013

LOL brain training has helped, but you can't access the site?!
The following image comes to mind...
http://mlkshk.com/r/54DT

joe bloe
February 21, 2013

Awesome picture, i almost pissed my pants

Bev
March 12, 2013

Re: missing your training - this is the first day (in 4 months) I did not receive my "reminder" e-mail and when I try to get on myself, they say, "You have completed your training for today (Tues.)" and I have not. Asked for HELP - said they'd get back to me in 2 days! Yikes!!

Your Comment
Guest

Not very trustworthy

Reviewed By matthew on January 29, 2013, San Diego, California

My cynicism about this site began shortly after signing up for the free version on Chrome.

My initial scores were pretty high (compared to the averages[?]), even though i did not quite feel like i had the hang of the games and felt kinda meh about my performance. However, as i began to get how they worked and started doing much better, my scores decreased and they really started pushing the paid membership to improve my cognitive capacity.

I began to look into the site and found that the research showing these games could improve your mental ability were all conducted by Lumos, the corporation running the site. How convenient.
i also was shocked by the lofty pricing for a website that lets you play rather unoriginal games.

The real slap to the forehead was the "Lifetime Membership" option offered by a website that has only been around for a very short time. This might seem like a "good deal" if they had been around for a decade or so, but i have only heard of these guys in the last year and their website does not give information on how long they have existed.

I found an article expressing skepticism like mine about the outfit on a British publication's website from 2009, along with a myriad of BAD reviews about the site on forums around the net. The REALLY interesting part about that was that there was almost always someone from Lumosity refuting or attempting to resolve these issues on those forums.

This is very strange to me that Lumosity actually has employees canvassing the net for bad reviews so they can address them. Veeeeeeery sketchy,

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 36 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 7 Comments
dani
February 01, 2013

I've been using the free version (not worth the money IMO) and also noticed the other day that my initial score has suddenly dropped about 100 points, making my new "brain trained" score appear higher than it is.

Theodore
February 04, 2013

Whine harder please. If you are surprised your scores went down, you need to train your brain with something. Did you expect the very first test you took to be your perfect exact score? It takes the program a while to figure out how stupid you are, just keep taking tests and the scores will get more accurate, the increase in capability- if it comes, will come in time- not the first day. If your best criticism is that they have pr people you should just not speak. I'm not convinced the site works at all, but if someone is going to try to rip on them- at least make an intelligence critique.

Clown
February 07, 2013

this reviewer was stating that it's sketchy for a company to hire people to go around and refute all the bad reviews on the company's product. Top companies who are confident in their product do not do this. I gather Lumosity does not believe in the product they are selling. Why should I?

Ben
March 06, 2013

I think you both are absolutely wrong. Companies care about their products, and having employees peruse review sites to clear up any misunderstandings or find people who are having trouble with their product but have not contacted customer service is standard operating procedure. When those companies have employees or other individuals post fake reviews is when it becomes troublesome, otherwise it is called being attentive to consumers needs. It is just another opportunity for them to improve their product through feedback. Think about it, not everything in the world is some conspiracy theory. Hardware manufacturers CONSISTENTLY browse review forums to see if there are people complaining about the quality of their product, just so they can provide the complainant a number or email address to remediate their issue.

Demosthenes
March 16, 2013

This would be even more impressive a comment if the grammar were correct. LOL Maybe needs some brain training. consumers should be consumers' ; a complainant cannot be 'their' issue

matthew the original poster
May 11, 2013

Where is my grammar flawed, pray thee tell, and what does Lumosity have to do with the proper use of English in written or oral form? Also, where do i misuse the variation or their/there/they're? Their is possessive, so THERE (indicative) was almost always someone is correct grammar.
Maybe you should invest in English lessons instead of Lumosity.

tumos
July 27, 2013

fix ur incognitave noun and the sixth of the 4th strend and attach an e to the r and ur gud bra.

Your Comment
Guest

A scam

Reviewed By Wendy F. on January 26, 2013, San Jose, CA

I purchased the online access a year ago and paid full with my credit card. I used it for a few times and find it very boring. It was what happened the next (and next...) that's outrageous:

I deactivated my credit card but I guess it was on file at Lumosity so the company promptly blocked my access, even though that I paid for a full year's access. I sent an email to inquire but got no response.

I later activated my credit card, so I just saw from my credit card statement that Lumosity promptly charged again for another year's service, without any notification.

How outrageous is that? I can't believe this company could be legal for these practices!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 34 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Theodore
February 04, 2013

I never signed up for automatic renewal, and my account works just fine. If you cancelled your account instead of turning off automatic renewal- that was YOUR mistake. If you really think they stole from you sue them in small claims and report them to BBB. You sound like you are a plant from their competition. If you really hated it you wouldn't have cared if they turned off your account.

I<3Unicorns
February 11, 2013

Theodore, We all "get it." You have a vested interest in the company & don't like the criticism.

mike
May 23, 2013

Theodore.
He may have hated it but he also paid for it and he should get what he paid for.

Your Comment
Guest

Customer service non-existant

Reviewed By Alice on January 19, 2013, Calgary

I purchased a full family membership, however the other members cannot log on to Lumosity. I have sent 2 written complaints through their website, only to be told that they were really busy and will get back as soon as they can. This has been going on for over 3 weeks.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Joe
January 27, 2013

I tried to start a account on lumosity and it keeps telling me I am using a wrong user name and or password another scam site

Your Comment

Leave a Review