Listia Reviews

Listia
Based on 63 Reviews
Website:www.Listia.com
Review It

About Listia

Listia is a digital marketplace where members can get rid of their old stuff, and can get new stuff, for free. According to their website, Listia users have traded over 2 million items.

When you become a member of Listia, you can list your old, unwanted items for auction, anything from antiques to electronics or even holiday decorations. People will use Listia credits to bid for your stuff; the highest bid wins.

All bidding must be done with Listia credits that you earn in a variety of ways from the website. Just for signing up, you receive 500 credits. 400 credits will be given to you automatically, and the final 100 will be given after you list your first auction.

You also can earn credits when you successfully refer your friends to use Listia. You will be given 200 credits when they sign up using your referral link, and 20% of the credits brought in by their first auction.

Finally, you can earn credits simply by signing onto Listia with either Facebook or Twitter, as well as being “active” on the site by giving other members’ feedback or comments on their auctions.

Related Articles

63 ‘Listia’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

READY TO FILE LAWSUIT

Reviewed By Jessica on April 20, 2016, arizona

PLEASE MESSAGE ME IF YOU ARE READY TO BAN TOGETHER TO FILE A LAWSUIT AGAINST LISTIA.COM .. THEY HAVE TECHNICALLY STOLEN FROM ME.. i just opened a account PAID for credits to use and they banned it saying i had a previous account which i did not and i just shipped out $200 worth of items to people and they are refusing to do anything about it.. WILL BE POSTING THIS EVERY WHERE (message me to take action at https://www.facebook.com/666mistress.darkstar666)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Banned for multiple accounts. Acceptable. But no ban appeal?

Reviewed By Nathaniel Morgan on January 11, 2016

I first started out selling Magic The Gathering cards for a few thousand credits and then I decided to leave back in 2013. I rejoined Listia with a new account and was forced to make a new account due to "an exhausted amount of phone numbers" when posting ads. When I made the new account, I made a different email and switched everything onto that account. Email, facebook, twitter, ect. It all worked out fine. But a few hours later, as I was selling more Magic The Gathering cards, my account was suspended for multiple accounts. I understand why they would do that but when I tried to make a new account, it completely blocked my access to make a new account. The thing I hate about this website is that they do not add ban appeals or any customer reasoning at all. I still have my old account but I don't see any point of using anymore considering this website is a complete waste of my time. Be cautious of this website.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
ELAINE WALKER
March 18, 2016

You could have submitted a ticket and explained. They would have helped you.

April 27, 2016

I personally feel Listia is a great site. The only complaint I have is that the sellers are asking unreasonable prices for many of the items, but Listia if you follow the rules, is very great. I have spoken to customer support on many occasions, got responds from friendly people, ready to help, and did help me every time. Most of the Listian Members are wonderful people. I feel like I am making friends on Listia. I like Listia better than Ebay and I am a seller on Ebay too. I think if you follow the rules, and do what is right, you won't have any problems on Listia. I have been a member, I think for one year, and I plan to continue being a member because Listia is GREAT!

Your Comment
1 Review

Grand Market Place

Reviewed By ELAINE WALKER on November 28, 2015, Wakefield, Virginia

Anything goes on listia. If you are looking for antiques or brand new never use, it is the place to be. It is free as long as you keep it free. If you do not buy credits it is free. You can sell to earn credits, fill out surveys, refer friends, earn points by buying special offers. For instance Flowers.com sometimes gives credits if you order flowers from them or TurboTax.com gives credits if you use them to do your taxes. I have bought antiques and brand new items. I enjoy the other users. As soon as I turn on my computer I am looking to see what is new and up for bidding or if I won an auction. I thoroughly enjoy the sight and I am not staff nor in any way affiliated with the owner or owners of this site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 22, 2016

Is it free? I question this. When you list your items on Listia, you earn points in exchange for giving your items away. You pay money out of your own pocket to ship these items to the people, and this adds up eventually to hundreds of dollars out of your own pocket. When it is all said and done, you get nothing in exchange. Because most of the sellers on this site has unreasonable point amounts for their items. For example, I have used points to buy silver bars, costing me over $40 if you translate the points into money, and I had to sell my items for points to get those points, which equals me paying well over $60 for a silver bar that you can buy online for $15.20, Silver Morgan dollars sold on this site is around $21 average to buy straight out, yet some people are marking up the points to well over hundreds of dollars. Is it really free!

Your Comment
1 Review

They Have The Saddest Customer Support Ever 6 days to reply Sad I Say

Reviewed By Charlie on October 5, 2015

I Would Say Do Not Use This Site All They Care About Is There Selfs And Taking Your Credits When Do Not Need Them And As Long As They Get What They Want They Are Happy I Listed A Auction On There Site And It Got Deleted For There Know It All Moderators That Do Not Know Nothing About Shipping They Only Favor Certain People On There Site Too Which Is Not Right They Also Can Not Ever Take Responsibility For There F ups Moderators Working For Them

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
ELAINE WALKER
November 28, 2015

Listia does not favor anyone. They need more moderators. The moderators are everyday people who use the website. They receive your help request and must read it. Then they must refer to rules and follow them to the best of their ability. If you do not agree with their findings you can appeal. I have always had positive response from the moderators. The usual response time is three days. There are many reasons an auction gets deleted. I have flagged a few auctions for different reasons. Copyright violations is the most frequent. I am sorry you had a negative experience. It is a fun site if used properly. I just fill out surveys for points and get things that way. Some things are brand new and never used.

January 06, 2016

I'm afraid that what you've said is not true. I used to believe it...i've loved it, but the moderators are not good. I had a buyer file a ridiculous dispute against me this morning and by this afternoon they decided that i was in the wrong! There is no way a moderator could have investigated the dispute that quickly; if they did investigate they would have quickly seen how ridiculous this claim was!! I had no idea that you could appeal their "findings". I would love for you to tell me how to do this. I'm truly serious, i have not found any information about appeals on the site. None of my friends or folks I speak with know anything about appeals. If this is true i will eat my words! Honestly, the moderators will not even explain to me what led to their findings. They simply Will NOT! I have tried and tried, if only to understand what the problem was. I'm off to find out about these appeals! Janet Houghaboom

Your Comment
17 Reviews

listia staff, stop condemn suspended listia members and write fake untrue reviews.

Reviewed By Sandra Ng (Olivie's mother) on May 31, 2015

listia staff, stop condemn suspended listia members and write fake untrue reviews.

even I am able to find out which reviews are from a real member and which reviews are staff writing. those who blame suspended people "you are bad and evil and misuse listia so got banned" are staff.

those they love that site are also staff writing.

I just dont get it why listia keeps doing such cheap thing when so many ppl condemn them. they even make fake people answering others who write listia reviews.

if you look clearly, that representative and those good reviews writers are working together to bully people who write bad review to listia.

real people are people who write listia is ripoff. they got suspended. they are unfairly banned.

staff reviews are those LOVE THIS SITE, I LOVE LISTIA. PEOPLE SUSPENDED BECAUSE THEY MISUSE LISTIA

I JOIN SO MANY YEARS NOTHING HAPPEN TO ME! WHY YOU GOT BANNED are also listia staff.

dont know why listia staff not improve their rude remarks but just keep staying on all scam sites and give rude and impolite and unfriendly replies to people who write bad reviews to listia

why people write bad reviews must have their own reasons.

listia never learn, they only condemn people who bad review listia. this is not being wanted. this act from listia staff is highly unwanted.

listia staff, be a man, stop condemn suspended listia members and write fake untrue reviews.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
November 28, 2015

I must completely disagree. I am not a staff member or a moderator. I have truly enjoyed listia. They have no need to concoct fake reviews. I find your statements concerning fake reviews to be ludicrous. You are writing things that make you sound paranoid. Sorry if the truth hurts. Be factual and not a cry baby.

Your Comment
1 Review

Listia is a scam company and steals your hard earned money

Reviewed By Modl Ow on April 17, 2015, Ozone Park

Listia closed our account and took 532000+ points stating we were rude but all the rude comments in which our comments were towards the rude comments are still members, we were a huge seller of items and new items, not used crap. Then Tae of listia trying shutting us up with a NSA(non disclosure agreement) in order to let us back into our account to spend the points, NSA's are used by many businesses as I worked as a purchasing manager in construction but it shouldn't be used in this instance, to spend what I earned and spent thousands in shipping to earn them. Listia is garbage and I would stay away, if you want the entire conversation with taE SHOWING HOW THEY TRY TO SHUT YOU UP or trap you for a law suit, contact us. they are unprofessional and a trashy site filled with scammers, cheaters, non shippers and just an overall pathetic company

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Listia sucks

Reviewed By Ariadna  on October 22, 2014

This site used to be a good site with honorable people where you rarely got cheated but they've changed their policies in a way that benefits "new" users who want to scam you and since you can't leave negative feedback, they can bully and harass and then leave "neutral" feedback that leaves a permanent stain on your record. And support is a joke. They just give you canned answers and don't do anything for their loyal users that helped them grow to who they are now.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Kinda crappy

Reviewed By Donna Hughes on October 12, 2014, Roselle, New Jersey

I have belonged for. 4 months now, liking the no fees for listing and shipping like eBay charges....I have sold 80 auctions and won about the same and ship for free...occasionally I pay for shipping for what I win if it's only a few dollars...been scammed a few times where I didn't get my item and had my credits returned..now it looks like I'm facing a scammer where I will lose my shipping payment....there is no getting that back as you will on eBay...the customer service here is a joke...generic responses which skip the issue you have asked about entirely...no doubt the use a list they hope is close the an answer...the feed back process is unfair too..you can get a neg or neutral without having to justify as to why...eBay makes you explain why you will be leaving that feedback...and people get to insult your item or your asking price right to you face...I mean really....a bit too much interaction I feel is unnecessary when so many jerks are out there....

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

whats with the shipping

Reviewed By Rick Deer on October 2, 2014, Pender Island, British Columbia

Why is it that if your an american you can get free shipping but if from Canada you have to pay shipping costs. I don't mind paying the extra but every time I mention it I get rude comments and ignorant people Canadians don't use this site as everyone is trying to get more from shipping and not being fair. I take it as a insult and really get fed up with yanks

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
ELAINE WALKER
November 28, 2015

I am sorry the shipping issue caused you grief. There are now some Listians who offer free shipping to Canada. Shipping cost makes it difficult on sellers and buyers. Many people just do not have money for shipping. It is hard. If you private message the sellers they may be willing to split the difference. I enjoy interacting with everyone on listia. I only sold 15 items. After that I worked the surveys for credits. If you quit, give it another try. You can find me under ELAINEFWALKER on there. I have no affiliation with them except as a user.

Larkin Piper
December 07, 2015

Rick if you find any thing you want under the profile charmer I can give you a deal on shipping. On listia I usually ship to US only for free but I will ship start shipping to Canada for a small fee if you contact me on listia.

April 27, 2016

People complain. They are getting items free, and expect members to pay for their shipping. I spoke with the postal workers, and they say Listia and Ebay is wrong. We should never pay for someone' else's item to be shipped, so when we do offer free shipping along with a free item, I would think more people would show appreciation as you are actually paying them to buy your stuff. Canada shipping is outrageous. Who wants to pay excessive fees to give someone an item?

Your Comment
1 Review

LISTIA IS BAD BUSINESS TAKING YOUR INFO<!!

Reviewed By Joe Napieracz on September 12, 2014, Middleburg, Florida

this site withholds rules and terms until you join then looks for ways to defraud your account and steal your credits to up bid there products or products they can make the money on!! Read the opening page then you too will see no rules posted at easily to find spot (BAD BUSINESS PRACTICES)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Listia rocks

Reviewed By Terri Ford on August 24, 2014, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

I have received tons of free stuff from this site. I only bid on things that come with free shipping and I make sure the auction's owner has a high rating so I don't have any problems with people playing games. It's always free to list an auction and you earn 'bidding money' by either completing offers or by having your own auction. It's all very easy and fun. I enjoy it a lot :)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
ELAINE WALKER
November 28, 2015

I agree completely. Glad to see a positive review and a positive attitude. I also am a listia user. I love it.

December 08, 2015

I am also a Listia user and have been for Five years. I love it. Just as Terry stated I have been scammed a few times but have always received my credits back, You really need to watch what your bidding on. Check there feedback before bidding. I have never had any issues with the moderators and have always had my questions answered within 48 hours. I have gotten all of the past 3 years Christmas presents on here and have not paid a thing. I trade my soaps I make for credits as well as other items. Keep up the good work Listia

Your Comment
1 Review

MEAN CROOKED PEOPLE WHO RUIN A GOOD THING

Reviewed By Dee Hanshaw on August 8, 2014

I THOUGHT THIS WOULD BE GR8 IT MAY BE, BUT MY 1TS AND ONLY EXPERIENCE WAS WITH A VERY HATEFUL MEAN PERSON WHO DID NOT EVER PLAN TO SHIP THE ITEMS, SHE JUST WANTED TO GET MY CREDITS AND KEEP THEM AND THE ITEMS

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Not bad

Reviewed By Nicole on August 5, 2014

Overall, it's not much different than ebay. Selling items is easy but requires extra cash for shipping expenses. Most people do not bid very high, if you list items with a shipping cost. You can refer other members and receive extra credits for signing up with a referral link.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 08, 2014

listia is a ripoff i signed up "won" and never got anything the seller said i did not verify my address-i verified it every day for 2 weeks!@!!

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME IT IS A RIPOFF

Your Comment
1 Review

LISTIA

Reviewed By Carly Grey on August 2, 2014

I signed up 2 days ago. I've won 2 auctions & earned free 'credits'.

Most of the 'Bargains' look like stuff you find rifling through junk drawers at your dead aunt Martha's house...ie:[actual listings] partially used note pads with 2 used pencils, condoms from planned parenthood, digital recipes from Google, used underwear, ONE Coke point....The nicer stuff is mostly overpriced.

I was looking to sell without fees. There is VERY little infrastructure & virtually no safeguards for sellers OR FOR BUYERS. I had to leave the site & Google my way to any help in understanding how it operates--literally where to click next for what. There is no visible 'Help' available & NO 'Contact Us'.

WORST of all, in the last 2 days I have received 23 Listia emails & 11 'severe' malware tracking events!!! I surf a LOT, but have not had even ONE in the last 8 months--until now. My anti-virus software has isolated them, but this is NOT ACCEPTABLE.

I'm removing my membership to Listia, but have no way of knowing what information of mine will still be out there.

I'm an EBAYer & I hate the tangle of fees & restrictions--but this has made me appreciate it more. We know what Ebay gets out of their site-- TONS of $$. You can see that motivation in every new change they make....But here's the big question for Listia users: what do the Listia owners get out of their site??? The number of people 'buying credits' has to be pretty limited. The only possible answer is that they are selling access to user's information. Check out other people's experiences online before you sign up & have good anti-virus software in place.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Dee Hanshaw
August 08, 2014

THERE IS SOME STUFF THAT LOOKS NICE, BUT OVERPRICED AND I'VE FOND THE "SELLERS" TO BE DISHONEST

November 28, 2015

There are good and bad aspects everywhere on the internet. I have had a few malware threats while on listia. I finally figured out what surveys are safe and those that are not. There are tracking cookies everywhere. Still, when all is said and done I have a lot of fun using the site.

Your Comment
1 Review

Listia is OK

Reviewed By Tommy on July 24, 2014

I have been a listia member for about 2 months. So far so good I have listed a few things and won a few. For me it is just for fun. I enjoy the competition in the bidding. I give them two thumbs up.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Dee Hanshaw
August 08, 2014

MIGHT B OK IF U CAN ACTUALY GET THE STUFF U HAVE TO DEPEND ON THE OTHER PERSON, WHO MAY OR MAY NOT SHIP THE ITEMS TO YOU

November 28, 2015

I also enjoy the site and have won tons of great stuff. I watch people's feedback ratings before bidding.

Your Comment
1 Review

I really enjoy Listia and I'm not 'staff'

Reviewed By Ashlyn Chase on July 15, 2014

I'm an author and sometimes I give away my free books. I pick up new fans and get points to buy gift cards, etc. I often use those for contest prizes. Win-win.

Sometimes I give away other stuff I just don't want. It's a great place to recycle decent stuff. I get other things besides gift cards, and haven't been disappointed with anything yet. Wish I could say the same about ebay.

Plus it's fun! I got my hand slapped once, but I understood why. (Lesson learned. Read the rules.) And they're good about resolving the occasional issue with other members. Most of the time, the 'buyers' are really happy and grateful for whatever I list. That's one of the things I like most.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
November 28, 2015

Right on. I feel the same way.

Your Comment
1 Review

Ask For Leaving the site completely

Reviewed By Dante Chavarria on July 1, 2014

after being on Listia for like almost a year and decided to retire the site, but when i did they kept giving me the same excuse over and over until you get the point they'll never want to completely want a user to deactivate their account other than suspend them for unknown reasons, bottom line: The site is good, but there's a few exceptions that has to be permanent for a reason, otherwise it's not much like website who allow users to deactivate their account completely

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 08, 2014

I THINK THE WHOLE SITE IS CROOKED

Your Comment
1 Review

I really like Listia!

Reviewed By Vicki Whittiker on June 17, 2014

I have only been on Listia for about a month and a half. Mostly, I have been listing items that I have at home that I don't want to donate and haven't been able to sell for cash in a timely manner. On Listia, I have had a good time. I mail out about 50-100 packages each week and I am slowly emptying out boxes from a store we used to have and cleaning up my storage and closets in the process. I pay for almost all of the shipping. I bid on things I want or in the rewards store. I am quite happy with what I am trading for. Yup, I have paid a LOT in shipping to send my stuff out, but I have also gotten about the same amount of value back to get other stuff that I do want. My only complaint is that people are listing items that are copyrighted on Listia that they don't own the copyright on. (Fake or printed items.) Or coupons that aren't really coupons for free things. When I have had problems or questions, the moderators are good about taking care of them. I am presently having a problem with a child who ordered an item and wants his credits back because it hasn't arrived. (4 days after it ended) BUT, I always ship with delivery confirmation. Always. I know better from eBay and other sites that there are scammers out there. I also know that since Listia has nothing to do with the shipping process on fees that they have absolutely NO WAY to refund your shipping fees. I only charge shipping fees on very large items and then I ask for about half and not the total amount, as I would have paid for a smaller item. I won't mail to non-verified addresses as it is against the rules. And, I am not taking that chance. But I have mailed out more than 300 legitimate items to my bidders and will continue to do so. It is a buyer beware community on the internet and this site is no different. Just be careful about what you bid on and how you send your items and you will have minimal problems. If you have items mailed that delivery confirmation has not shown up on, then the problem is with the USPS and you need to talk to them. Listia people can not fix our post office. I love the site. Nope, I don't work for Listia. I am a stay at home adult person who is getting rid of stuff...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 25, 2014

I have tried listia twice ,Most of what i got out of it was paying postage and track and confirm , which is a pay out not a plus
THE tweekers on that site with drop box address had a field day, with $19 here $5 dollars their than from on site to off site bigger rip offs, they will always complain of sent items and think their junk is gold, all in all worked it a bought a year then they trashed my page with making credits into negatives
i don't know which place i have had more complaints in listia site or local post office

Your Comment
1 Review

Bid Only After Give them Your Facebook Friends

Reviewed By Wayne on June 16, 2014

I have no trouble with Ebay and PayPal, however, with numerous earned Points, I am unable to purchase anything because I have to give Listia access to my Facebook Account/Friends so they can try to get my friends to join = accredited Buyer.

This is invasion of Privacy before you can Bitdon Listia, and I will have none of it. Most reviews are negative for them, so I strongly recommend you stay away from Listia, or they will go after your friends to join because that is their primary goal.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Shelbia Chandler
June 20, 2014

They connect me through Facebook, but they never bother any of my friends. It is totally up to me if I want to send things to my fb friends. I would earn more credits if I got friends to join, but I don't bother to send invites unless I know that a friend is interested.

July 15, 2014

Ditto what he said.

Your Comment
2 Reviews

Almost all online positive feedback are all staff making.

Reviewed By Janice Au on May 26, 2014

all positive feedback on every scam site are all listia working workers and their comments should be removed.

First off, what is the meaning of "consumer"? (Listia.com site staff, workers feedback must be fouled off from here)

Staff in listia (all staff LIKE THIS PAGE, LOVE THIS SITE, LISTIA IS HONEST) must be deleted.

consumer = members + suspended listia members.

"not site staff."

"consumer", not "hired employee/worker".

(consumer , not worker. )

we dont need any fake feedback from site staff in listia.com

but look here everybody, a lot of comments are from site employee and staff, they keep on insulting consumers and members from listia. when the comments and feedbacks are unfavorable to their own listia site.

if they want people write good thing on listia, listia staff should change their own behavior and manner first. not force ppl to delete negative feedback and delete posts. your site bad, so the feedbacks exists here.

if your site is really nice, nobody would risk to write negative feedback.

but look how listia staff does everyone. they kept complain all our comments and make scam sites remove a lot of negative (But truth) comments, to make listia looks better than the truth.

this is how listia staff work to cheat other people who had not experienced how harsh listia staff would do to them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Shelbia Chandler
June 20, 2014

Just because you don't like the site doesn't mean that anyone who does is a fake or a listia employee. I find your assumption that all opinions should match yours offensive.I have had some things go wrong during my time at listia, but my problems stemmed from other iistians and not from staff. I have had pleasant experiences with staff whenever I have had a complaint, They return my credits if the seller doesn't send the item. They have returned my money when I bought credits to win a certain auction and then lost. This was done n a couple of occasions and it was done quickly and without hassle. If things are going badly for you, perhaps you should change your approach. You can't have a bad attitude and expect people to smile and do whatever you ask.

Ashlyn Chase
July 15, 2014

Agreed.

November 28, 2015

Absolutely! Such extreme negativity makes you sound like "sour grapes". I am in no way affiliated with listia in any way except as a user and I love it. I have always had positive experiences when submitting a help request.

Your Comment

Leave a Review