InstaVIN.com Reviews

InstaVIN.com
Based on 20 Reviews
Review It

Related Articles

20 ‘InstaVIN.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Scam

Reviewed By Cathy on January 30, 2015

This awful site doesn't compare to Carfax. It claims to give you current title status, odometer readings, reports, etc BUT THAT IS A LIE! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! All they provided me was a vehicle background: an Edmunds detail about the car! It doesn't "run" the vin specific to the vehicle. It just gives you WIKI TABLES.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

TERRIBLE, NEVER USED THEM SCAM

Reviewed By Mn Nima on January 12, 2015

i JUST PLACED AN ORDER ,, THEIR WEB SITE TOOK ALL MY INFORMATION AND CREDIT CARD NUMBERS AND WHEN I CLICKED CONTINUE, IT RESPONDED SORRY THERE IS NO REPORT FOR MY 2005 CHEVY VEHICLE!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Sparse, Dated, Inaccurate informatiom

Reviewed By Al on October 30, 2013, NY

Tried the service because of the low price & couldn't see paying $34+ for info on one vehicle. Well, I wish I had paid more. The info in my "report" was very sparse. Vehicle type (which I already knew), Title information just gave me the link to the State DMV where I would have to pay to do a title search. Really? The report indicated the vehicle had 7 miles on it. In reality, it had just under 10,000 and was in an accident a year prior. The vehicle was seized by the state for taxes and sold at auction. InstaVin had none of this information. None! Basically, they are just trying to become rich at $7 a pop, cause they really didn't provide any useful or accurate information. I guess you get what you pay for. Save yourself the aggravation & just get a report from one of the more legit operations like CarFax.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Instavin--minimum info, then card was used in France!

Reviewed By Kanzane on October 27, 2013, Topeka , KS

My credit card was copied and used for a charge in France two weeks after buying a Instavin car report. the 2.99 report didn't tell my anything that I couldn't find out otherwise on the net for free, and I don't know for sure this is how my credit card was stolen , but its the only new credit internet use I've made for this card in many months. Luckily my credit car declined my card and no extra charges were made, and I got familiar with making out a fraud alert on my credit information. Good Luck.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Rip Off

Reviewed By Cindy W. on August 13, 2013, Rocky Mount, NC

Dont waste your money ! Does'nt give any information. I did a Carfax and was pleased!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Misleading Site!! Stay Clear!!

Reviewed By Bonnie on August 4, 2013

Didn't get anything from Instavin... except a cheaper price!!! Wish i would have read the reviews prior to wasting my $$!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

"Get screwed here for ONLY $7 bucks"

Reviewed By Lori  on July 22, 2013, Lafayette, In.

Absolutely the most worthless thing I have ever been conned into buying in my entire 60 yrs on this planet. Would not recommend this service to my worst enemy, I don't dislike anyone that much. At least a casino gives you the IMPRESSION you may get something for your money. Totally useless, meaningless, & clueless. Flush your money down the john instead, exact same results ...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Not Impressed, Instavin is nothing like Carfax

Reviewed By Ray on March 27, 2013

I never heard of this company but I gave it try recently. My instavin report contain very little useful information. Buying Instavin reports is throwing money in the toilet. Yes, carfax costs a arm and leg but their reports are very detailed and contains more incidents.

Ray

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
TRUTH REPORT
May 05, 2013

This website totally FAKE REPORT, I enter 2 VIN number, it took a min, I pull of the reported the same: found 1 incident, 1 even, I click on detail report was none.
one car that I enter it was had accident before, how come know reported found in www.instaVIN.
FAKE, RIPOFF BUSINESS, DO NOT WAIST YOUR MONEY!

Han
May 06, 2013

Somebody is trying real hard to make look INSTA VIN bad and CAR FAX
as they savior of the Auto Buyers.The FACTS are, Car Fax has the best commercials and great looking print outs but is no match to AUTO CHECK WHICH IS MOSTLY USED by PROFESSIONALS like major Dealers and AUCTIONS.Naturally consumers like gimmicks and therefore Car Fax is successful however they can not receive Accident Reports from over 20 States and are overall not reliable which is the reasons many professional Auto Business switch t to Auto Check years ago.Consumers who really like to know IMPORTANT SIMPLE FACTS like Salvage about a Automobile should use the oldest and most reliable FREE BRANDED TITLE INFORMATION SOURCE NICB. Consumers who like GIMMICKS should use Car Fax. Car Fax had recently to deal with a major Law Suit "West versus Car Fax" because of dishonest business practices. Sorry about my English.

Lori
July 22, 2013

@ Han... You obviously work for instavin, right ? I am almost 60 yrs old, and the information I was given is not only WRONG, but totally unusable. Model that came back has since been recognized as WRONG, had two title issues noted on the report that I guess they wanted to tell me about, but did not give me ANY details... I am TOTALLY unimpressed with commercials, I do not pick the company to supply my service needs because a cute fox tells me to, or because an Aussie lizard wants me to, are you kidding ? I chose them on the merits of their claims. They lied ! Wrong, useless information that I paid $7 for. TOTAL rip off and misrepresentation of what would be offered after you paid. I am sick & tired of the rip off artists like these guys. A huge tick on the neck of society...

Your Comment
Guest

Instavin Web site indicated credit card failed, ran twice ... Fradulant

Reviewed By Kyle on March 2, 2013, San Diego

I tried paying for instavin service with my card, it kept indicating mismatch security code. I ran twice before calling them. they asked for a faxed authorization which I did. Later found 3 charges on my acount. Their web had processed the charges even though indicating to me as failed transaction.
What is worse is their report indicated a mileage from over a year ago, and did not indicate SALVAGE. I ran AutoCheck, which indicated "Salvage" and gave me the correct latest mileage.
Be careful with these folks. I asked for a refund, no responses were given.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Marknddark@yahoo.com
March 06, 2013

Instavin is a rip off do not buy

hunkhien
April 12, 2013

Hi Sir
Sorry for having a bad experience from instavin but i have a excellent experience from them, may be there is a problem with your credit card which i don't know exactly the problem, but i'm very happy with them just to give you some idea, i got better service and history report.. i just want to share my satisfaction with instavin. think about carfax you have to pay a lot of money$$ compare to $7.00 you can't bit that price..

Your Comment
Guest

instaVIN is REAL-TIME data and better than Carfax

Reviewed By jim on February 28, 2013, Poway, CA

I ran both reports and found a that the Ford F-150 had been totaled on the instaVIN report even though the title was clear. Carfax did not show me this and It would have been ugly if I had bought the truck.

instaVIN as only 6 bucks and I paid $40 bucks for weak Carfax. I think you neded to check multiple sources for all the information floating around.

Jim

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
George Shea
March 01, 2013

Nicely done, Jim. I noticed the "scam" comment myself this morning. As
I'm sure you're aware, that sort of comment can be real poison.

Again, if you would have some interest in a ten minute phone conversation with Sara Callahan of Carter West PR, I'd be happy to set one up.

I've known Sara 17 years. She works very hard for her clients and delivers an honest product. Her only focus is on automotive and in particular, firms that service the needs of dealers.

Best.

George Shea
(818-980-6769)
http://www.carterwestpr.com/

Mark
March 06, 2013

Are you protecting instavin have you paid for their whack ass service if you had you wouldn't be running your mouth they are a scam .mr.george shea

Han
May 06, 2013

Mark I understand you don't know much about the Auto Business. INSTA VIN is a honest company authorized by the Dept of Justice to provide SIMPLE but accurate Title Brand Information's. If you love Car Fax go ahead nobody will stop you paying good money for a nice dressed up report which may have accurate infos or maybe not!

Lori
July 22, 2013

There is Han again, trying to defend this site... What is your position with the company, Han ?

Your Comment
Guest

Get a CarFax

Reviewed By AJ on February 23, 2013, Oregon

Carfax gets information from a larger network and state DMV's.
I used this insta vin and it didn't really show anything other than vehicle specifications and a "mileage listing" at some random point in time that never happened. I was concerned because if instavin was correct, the seller would have been lying about the mileage on the vehicle.

I ran a carfax because I figured if the seller was lying about that, he might be lying about other things. The carfax showed mileage information consistent with the seller's. It also contained some other information. I also like the fact that right on your report carfax says it guarantees certain information. IF the information is incorrect on a guaranteed item they claim they will buy the vehicle back from you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Han
May 06, 2013

I don't think you will find anybody who had a vehicle purchased by Car Fax because of incorrect information's. Should you have time to read the legal requirements by Car Fax to Buy Back a vehicle then you may understand all the promising Blah Blah by Car Fax which makes you feel good.

Lor
July 22, 2013

Yet again Mr. Han, trying to protect his racket...

Your Comment
Guest

I got more info out of the seller

Reviewed By Mark on February 22, 2013, Seattle

The seller of the car was in an accident 5 yrs ago which he said he had reported. This report indicated that SOMETHING happened at SOME point in time. Need more info than that.

Moral of the story: Carfax is cheaper than Carfax AND InstaVin...just do a Carfax to start with. There's a reason this is $7.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Lori
July 22, 2013

Amen !!!

Your Comment
Guest

Pretty much throwing your money away...

Reviewed By brifrei on February 19, 2013, Nampa, ID

They do not give you any type of detailed information at all. Very, very basic information is what you get. Pretty much the only thing its going to tell you is if its ever been sold as salvage in which you would find out anyways from the title. Waste of Money!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

SCAM

Reviewed By Emma on February 7, 2013

No records were shown in the report whatsoever. The report contained information on the body type- THATS IT. This was a 17yo vehicle.

Forget about a refund because it doesn't contain anything:

"We do not provide refunds for missing records or omissions of current records not available to instaVIN, such as previous owner information, recent odometer readings, accident records, or reports or title events from non participating NMVTIS states."

Eg, we don't provide a refund if we don't provide you what we have advertised.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Lori
July 22, 2013

Sure wish I had read your comment before I donated my $7...

Your Comment
Guest

Saved me a headache

Reviewed By Sylvia on December 21, 2012, Peoria, Illinois

I was just about to buy a used Nissan Altima from a man selling online. I decided to get a report first and I found INSTA-VIN. The report said the car had been totalled by Geico and had been at a place called Co part and when I looked them up, I saw that they sell accident cars-some of them looked pretty bad. So I did'nt buy that car I got another one and checked it first and it didn't have problems. $7 for each report it was worth it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
john
December 26, 2012

Just got a Instavin report on a relatives car that I know has been it at least 3 accidents. Instavin shows nothing, definitely NOT WORTH THE MONEY. CarFax shows 17 reports, Instavin has one.

Lori
July 22, 2013

Paid shill, for sure...

Your Comment
Guest

Extremely disappointed

Reviewed By Melissa  on December 4, 2012

The report was very "bare bones". I wish I could get my money back....

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

For $7, you can't ask for a better deal

Reviewed By LeMix on November 8, 2012, Louisville, KY

When comparing with CarFax or Autocheck, InstaVIN seems minimal in comparison, but for the price you pay, I mean, were the guys complaining recently expected a comprehensive report?

I just ran a report for a car I was interested and well, the critical information that I needed are certainly clarified, i.e. title issues, odometer, ownerships, etc.

Unlike CarFax, what's not provided is the "Service History". Which could be a concern for most, but again, this is report is a portion of the price. Thanks for being a cheaper alternative for checking a vehicle's history.

P.S. "Vehiclehistory.com" is a scam. $1 up front, with $20 monthly subscription automatically charged.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Doug
November 24, 2012

You must work for InstaVin because InstaVin reports are garbage. InstaVin only found 4 records for my 2002 Ford F-150 where as Carfax found 14 records. InstaVin has incomplete records.

Emma
February 06, 2013

Agree

Emma
February 06, 2013

Agree with follow up comment- Instavin a scam. Didn't even have an odometer reading.

Lori
July 22, 2013

Another employee no doubt...

Your Comment
Guest

Stupid report

Reviewed By Joel on September 18, 2012, Provo, UT

Not worth it. Hardly provided any info. I didn't find out anything new about the vehicle. Don't spend money on this.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

CARFAX is a ripoff!

Reviewed By Janis on September 7, 2012, Peterson

I recently almost purchased a vehicle that I found on the internet. I paid over $45 for a CARFAX report that indicated the vehicle was clean.

Just to be safe I ran a few other reports from other companies .. turns out there is a big difference!

CARFAX did not report that the vehicle was a Total Loss!!!
instaVIN showed recent Total Loss information on the vehicle from Copart that was not available from CARFAX!

instaVIN gave me the basics at a reasonable price. Thanks for having a reasonable value based alternative to Carfax!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Emma
February 06, 2013

This is an fake review. InstaVIN is a scam website that provides confirmation of the vehicle's body (which all websites do for free) and nothing else. Disclaimer is that they say not all records are available to them. It should be "NO records are available to us"!! Complete scam.

teejg
April 27, 2013

Thank you Emma

Your Comment
Guest

Not worth 1 penny!

Reviewed By Jack on July 16, 2012

I ordered a report for my 1996 Nissan Altima. The InstaVIN report contained only 3 records! How pathetic!.... I purchased a carfax report and they found 18 records for my car. Bottom line InstaVIN is not worth 1 penny!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Dave
September 07, 2012

instaVIN provides a great value for the price. Looking objectively at their offering, it’s hard to argue about what you get for your money. For $6.99 you can purchase InstaVIN’s Vehicle History and Title Report. This gives the basic information about the vehicle, based on data provided from NMVTIS and other data sources. A quick easy way to check for the worst of the worst!

The InstaVIN report also starts off with a summary section, which notes quite clearly the salvage title status of the vehicle. The report is divided into sections that call out title information, salvage status, title brands, and other key points of data. It does not include the history of the previous owners, nor does it include service history. But it does include the key information accurately for our vehicle. And at $6.99 I believe it to be a bargain for the average shopper.

Tony
February 04, 2013

It claims to be as good or better then Carfax and its not, nobody needs a bare bones report if your going to make a major purchase, its better to go with Carfax it will save you headaches later

Frank
February 28, 2013

I disagree. instaVIN found a salvage event that was NOT on the Carfax ans saved me from making a big mistake! instaVIN rocks!

Lori
July 22, 2013

Frank is an employee

Your Comment

Leave a Review