InstantCheckMate.com Reviews

About InstantCheckMate.com

InstantCheckMate.com is an internet-based people search program used to discover detailed information on anyone. It provides criminal history, phone numbers, addresses and much more.

The data is compiled from a number of different public record sources. They use national state and local criminal databases as well as a sex offender database to provide you the criminal background of anyone as well as the area in which you have designated to search.

There are three different memberships available through InstantCheckMate.com; all of them come with an unlimited number of people search/background checks. It costs $89.00 for a 6-month membership, $59.00 for a 3-month membership and $24.00 for a one-month membership. Each membership is billed upfront and will automatically y renew at the end of the plan unless you cancel it. They also offer a 5-day trial for $1.00 to try the service. The only way to become a member is to sign up online.

If anyone wishes to opt-out of the database, which essentially removes your personal information from their website, there are two options to do so. For an expedited opt-out it costs $4.95 and this method removes your information from the system within 48 hours. If you decide to use the standard opt-out, it is free; it takes approximately 2-4 weeks to process this request.

As with any people search databases available on the web comes inaccuracies, misspellings, and out of date information. Although they all claim to have current records, many of them do not. The public records in which they use to gather data are not always accurate, so they couldn’t possibly have accurate information if that is where they obtain data

There have been numerous complaints on the web about this business and its unethical practices.

Some of the people who have used Instant Checkmate requested reports which were returned with very little information included within the report details. Some of the reports came back empty and others had details on the wrong person altogether.

Most of the complaints, however, addressed unauthorized credit card charges; members have tried to cancel their membership and could not get a hold anyone to process the cancellation.

Some individuals attempted to cancel prior to the end of the 5 day trial and others tried to cancel at the start of the membership. In the end, these members were charged the full membership amount and then were charged again when the auto-renewal system kicked in.

The worse cases are individuals who have searched for their own report and were returned with completely incorrect information which included false criminal charges and arrests. This could potentially have a negative impact on someone’s future if they are unaware of such information within these reports.

InstantCheckMate.com has many red flags and should be approached with caution.

Related Articles

55 ‘InstantCheckMate.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
2 Reviews

too good to be true

Reviewed By Bert Goldfish on December 5, 2015

If you look at what is going on behind their light show, its just a bunch of slick animations, those loading bars aren't showing the progress of a through search, its all for show. any website that promises similar results can pull up that info in a second flat. like Richard Lubitz, I found the service on Aol and was immediately suspicious. the final give away that this site was up to no good was when I came upon a news article on their page clearly written by them. Feeding off the public's trust of the press is the lowest trick in the books and the easiest one to spot. If this was a litigate business, there would be no need for tricks of visual effects. The product will at least to an extent sell itself. It doesn't happen here though.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Gigantic Ripoff

Reviewed By Barbara Cook on November 30, 2015

I was at first excited about signing up for Instant Checkmate. That excitement was quickly dampened, however, after searching 4-5 names - including my own. Every single report was grossly incorrect. I signed up between 1AM-2AM on November 30, 2015, and cancelled my subscription around 6:15AM and very same day.

The e-mail address (that's difficult to find) to cancel is:
webcancellations@instantcheckmate.com

If you paid by Paypal, you can go into your Paypal account and cancel the monthly payment there. After taking that step, be sure to contact them by telephone or e-mail. Simply cancelling the payment does NOT cancel your contract with them.

I'm now hoping that they'll give me a prorated refund - especially since I'm cancelling the same day.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

InstantCheckMate

Reviewed By Barbara on November 25, 2015

This online service is not what it seems. It charges you to see a report but not all of the report only some. Then it charges you to download the report (which you have yet to see) and then proceeds to charge for "premium" information. When I asked for a refund due to not being able to open the report and also because they are scamming for more money before you even see anything. "Fred" my customer service person continued to talk over me to emphasize that they had provided the "service". I'm not sure anymore what the service is because I could see nothing and print nothing. After persistently requesting a refund finally Fred gave me 50% of my $22 back and said it could take 5 - 6 weeks for me to receive it. This site is a scam all around!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

kiss my ass you lying sobs.

Reviewed By jsalluison on November 19, 2015

Oh, it's F'n totally free, just give us your credit card we like so totally promise we're (lying sackweasels) totally legit. Bring this bastard to me. I have a 36oz Louisville Slugger I so want this lying ass to become acquainted with.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

They Love your email address

Reviewed By Some Dude on October 11, 2015

I used a masked email when I signed up for ONE report. A masked email is an email like 3993bg9@opayq.com that points to your real email like somedude@email.com for example. This allows you to track any and all spam that comes to that box just by looking at the opayq email. I get no less than 160 SPAMs from services and companies I DIDN'T sign up for every week. Fortunately, I just delete the opayq email and all SPAM is gone. Don't use your real email with this or any company that "sells" you reports or offers it free.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
raven parsons
November 13, 2015

absolutely useless. the info they have on me is more than 15yrs old. same thing for my ex husband. i originally wanted to get some details on my boyfriend who was just arrested and hes not even on here. if nothing else you would think they would use info from his fb but nothing. his family members are in here but he isnt even listed as a possible relative and i know he has a prior arrest record.

November 19, 2015

They promised totally free and then demanded a credit card number. Does the phrase KISS MY ASS ring any bells you lying SOBS?

Your Comment
1 Review

No big surprise

Reviewed By Feudal Serf 6680 on August 21, 2015

When I fist heard of InstantCheckmate from what I thought was a reputable site, I approached with caution as I do with any unknown entity. Entered my own name and gave them a brand new email address which I had never given to anyone. The info about myself was skimpy and incorrect. A few days later, the email address I gave them started being bombarded with all kinds of junkmail and phishing scams.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

TOTAL RIP OFFR

Reviewed By Celeste Ulander on June 26, 2015

They say that they can give you traffic ticket information. Ran mine and nothing came up. Called them and was told the DMV's do not provide them with this information HUH?? Website says they could give it to me.

Primary address is an address I lived at 5 years ago.

I canceled on the spot. They did not offer to refund the money, but when I said I was going to call my credit card company - then they offered to give me a refund.

Stay away from!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

what a joke!

Reviewed By Monte Cooper on May 16, 2015

Wish I could give it 0 stars. Total scam/ripoff. Paid my money on CC, and they charge extra for PDF and any additional info, which based on my experience with looing at my own search, it total cow dung.

I'm an internet luddite, but I found five times more info on myself with a simple google search than they provided me. Searches from friends and relatives turned up a first and last name. They wanted more of my cc before supplying any additional info

I made the purchase based on a Phoenix, AZ BBB rating of B+. Guess they bought them off.

I will be going to my bank tomorrow to cancel any additional charges they may try to tack on, and reporting them to the AZ Republic, the three local news channels, and the State AGs office on Monday.

DO NOT FALL FOR THIS BS. Do a google search for who you are looking for. It will give you at least five time more info than these scammers will.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
May 23, 2015

his is a total scam.... It tells you to sign up for a report for $1 to get a full report and bam you get basic info and it is not even correct, BUT to get a real full report you have to pay another $19.99. So yea it is a money scheme so don't waste your time. When I called to cancel I told them right out This is nothing but a scam to get more money to really know anything.... What a joke scamming assholes.

Your Comment
1 Review

Most of the Information is Incorrect

Reviewed By Sandy Kopp-Quick on May 7, 2015

I did a background check on myself and 99.9% of information contained in the report was wrong. This is the biggest scam I have ever paid for, I will definately not pay for it any more. If a site is going to publish public information, I suggest they verify it first. I am appalled at the information that was contained in my search on myself. I plan to file a report to have my information removed.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

scammed

Reviewed By Deanna Johnson on April 21, 2015

waste of money-tells you no information at all-what a joke!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

It's a BIG SCAM, Do not go there.

Reviewed By Andrew Keim on April 13, 2015

This a BIG SCAM do not use the service, do not search for anyone, and definitely do not give them your email address.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

RIP OFF

Reviewed By Nancy-Lyn Yard on April 11, 2015

Paid for the report not the premium upgrade. The information was less information than I found doing my own searches on local public office sites. I found 11 arrest records they found 0. They couldn't even find his Facebook page which I did. This was a big waste of money. Save your cash a spend 10 to 15 mins doing your own leg work you will get better information

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Not worth the time or money

Reviewed By Jennifer on February 26, 2015

If I could give this less than one star I would. The information on the site is inaccurate and incomplete. I did searches on people I knew well and much of their information was not included in the search results, then to top it off if you wanted to print out a report or gather more information you were charged an unreasonable rate. The customer service rep was easy to deal with and well mannered but after reading the comments on this review site I am concerned with the return of the subscription. I truly do not want to pay another 23.00/month for such useless information when I could get more information doing a basic web search for free! Very disappointing.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 14, 2015

Did u get your $$

Your Comment
1 Review

Con people

Reviewed By Viktoria Nikolaeva on February 25, 2015, Oakland, California

Con people!!! Do not use this site!
To check if I'm going to have real information I did research on name of the person I know. And got mix information of this person relative and lie. Never got my money back

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Highly Suspect

Reviewed By Tank on February 8, 2015

From the searches that I have done the InstantCheckMate site is highly inaccurate. It presents many extraneous results and few good ones. Its initial fee barely produces a list of names. Any significant data requires additional fees. It is a sucker site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Worthless

Reviewed By William DeBow on January 13, 2015

Had to pay to see my first test run on myself. Had my address wrong even though I've lived there 20 years. Had my phone number as a number I cancelled 10 years ago and now belongs to someone else. Showed my marriage to my first wife who died 22 years ago (which they didn't report) and did not show my marriage to my second wife who I have been married to 20 years. For this I paid almost 30 bucks????

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Borderline fraud

Reviewed By Nancy Angerstein Rowe on December 27, 2014, Littleton, New Hampshire

I'm only giving it one star because you can't give it no stars. I feel I have been scammed. I asked for a report on someone I knew, who had moved. I did get their new address, but only after signing up for $22.83 a month. When I tried to download it to pdf, they wanted another "one-time" charge of $1.99. In addition, they said up front that the report would contain criminal information (my friend has NO criminal record), but THAT INFORMATION WAS NOT IN THE REPORT. They wanted extra to "upgrade" my "membership." I paid by Paypal, and I'm going to make darned sure Paypal doesn't pay them for another month.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Bait and Switch

Reviewed By John Beargrass on December 23, 2014

Instant background is a bait and switch site. Their website is misleading. I signed up for 3 months for 59.0 and they wanted more money for anything other than basic information you can get free on Google. I called to cancel and was told I could not cancel. I was told later in the conversation that they would refund 50% and cancel the service. I was told even later in the conversation that they would contact Pay Pal and cancel with no charge. All of this happened within one hour. These people are not honest and will scam you if you allow it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Never Signed Up

Reviewed By Elisabeth Anne on October 28, 2014

I saw an ad for it and decided to search myself and after it kept loading new pages to try and convince me it had a report, I got off. I never gave them any of my credit card information either. They are criminals to people.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Seemed legit at first.

Reviewed By Myr Ochiltree on August 25, 2014

Now, I didn't completely go through the motions, due to being cautious with my new bank account, and all of that stuff. But I did notice how you had to click a LOT of links in order to get to the report, and that made me uneasy. Don't try it. It reeks of failure.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review