Ibotta App Reviews

Ibotta App
Based on 19 Reviews
Website:www.Ibotta.com
Review It

About Ibotta App

The Ibotta app is a new application available for both iOS and Android which they describe as a “fun and easy way to earn $20 or more each time you go shopping,” and puts a twist on a common coupon applications.

Unlike most savings and coupon applications, which just send you general coupons available to everyone, the Ibotta app tries to make the shopping, savings, and general consumer experience more personalized.

How Ibotta works is relatively simple. Before you go shopping, click on your Ibotta app and choose the products you intend to buy during your next shopping trip. Once you have selected an item, you will be asked to complete some tasks; the more tasks you complete, the more you can earn.

Ibotta says their goal is to give consumers a chance not only for savings but also to interact with the brands they purchase. This is where the tasks come in. Instead of straight forward coupons, you take part in a series of fun, game like interactions.

You are providing information to brands and retailers, and with this information the app can offer you further savings that are specifically personalized to your likes and needs.

You can then buy your items at any one of 35 nationwide retailers in your area – they also promise that new stores are being added all the time to expand their network to better serve you.

After you finalize your purchase, the rules say you must take a photo of your receipt and verify that you purchased the item by uploading that photo to your app. After your purchase has been verified, usually within 24 hours, you can choose to get real money in your PayPal account or have your earnings donated to any school in America.

You can also invite friends to join Ibotta with your referral link. You will earn $1 for every friend or family who registers for the app from your invitation.

If you have any experience with this application, please leave your Ibotta reviews below.

19 ‘Ibotta App’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Very Unclear Instructions

Reviewed By Susan Potter on August 7, 2016

Heard about ibotta and decided to give it a try. At first, it seemed fun and easy. Set everything up, got notice about my $10 bonus for signing up, just purchase something and verify it and it would give me my bonus. Well, made a purchase at Hannaford (my local grocery store) and went to verify it, and it asked for my myHannaford card. I had no idea they even had a card, they don't advertise it, exactly the opposite. And there is no way to verify the purchase unless you have a card. Brainstorm that I can probably go to Hannaford's website and sign up for one; do that, get number, enter it, THEN it tells me I need to give the number at the checkout at time of purchase to get the rebate! None of this information was available UNTIL you've already made your purchase, thereby ensuring you have to buy product twice to get the rebate. I smell scam.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 08, 2016

I am having a hard time getting my money back from them. They have sent me two emails with the same link which tries to load a virus, my virus protector both times and stopped it. but now I am getting no response, very unhappy with them, I smell scam too!!

Your Comment
1 Review

Rip Off App

Reviewed By deb haynes on April 5, 2016

I read about IBOTTA on Facebook and decided to try it out. Downloading the app was easy and the instructions were straight forward.
Two days ago I wend grocery shopping and decided to use the app for rebates on bread, milk and eggs - all of which were on my shopping list and I was shopping at a listed store. When I returned home I scanned the items as requested by the app and took a picture of the receipt. All items were accepted.
Today I received an email stating that my account had been deactivated because of fraud. From what I understand I am being deactivated for taking a picture of the same receipt. Well, duh..I bought the items at the same time, so they would be on the same receipt. No where in the instructions does it say that you have to have a separate receipt for each item purchased. Plus you are going to spend more time sorting out your groceries and paying for each item separately - not worth the money they say they will pay you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Gotten Worse

Reviewed By Jana on February 5, 2016

I have been using Ibotta for a few years now. They have made a lot of changes lately and not all of them good. Did a lot of shopping during the holidays at online stores like Macy's & Under Armor. I still have $30 that I have not received. They have extended the time to wait for these rebates to be processed to 52 days. I even sent an inquiry and they responded that they were still being processed but that I am only allowed one Macy's rebate because you can only redeem it once then you have to wait until that one is credited before using it again. I responded to them that I had already received the rebate before using it again and never heard back from them. Have read several online reviews that it is a scam and they are committing fraud. Funny, they are quick to pull the plug on me when I accidentally submitted a receipt twice last year, but they get away with taking their time on my $30 in rebates. I may cash out and stop using it once I FINALLY receive my $30.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 10, 2016

They stole 143 dollars from me, deactivated my account, accused me of fraud and wont return my emails.

Your Comment
1 Review

I love IBOTTA

Reviewed By Lisa on February 3, 2016

I joined in December, and it is one of the best thing I have ever done. I scroll through list pertaining to that store. Pull out my coupons and review the weekly ad.Then I just watch all my savings at the register and my Paypal account.. Usually if I don't have a coupon I have a rebate. IBOTTA also allows you to make list ahead of time. And for every person you refer you receive 5 dollars and that they receive 10 dollars. Now that could be a promotal thing but it works for me. So yes, I love IBOTTA. My only problem is the Dollar Tree, usually most of the items list are not in the store or don't qualify for the rebate. So I don't shop there.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Garbage waste of time

Reviewed By Steve Winter on December 19, 2015

Only works some of the time but is a big waste of time. You might get some money but you will be buying overpriced products and half the time the brands they advertise are not even present in the store.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Be aware before you join!!!

Reviewed By betty lin on December 14, 2015

I was attracted by the idea, convenient, no messy papers. It is the execution of the idea is not great and the company is not customer oriented.

The Reality---

1. it is not "coupon", it is "rebate". Unlike coupon you scan it, you get your money right away. It requires submission and keep track (especially on the top of that ibotta is not a trustworthy company, you can find more review at BBB that they try very hard for you to cash out.)

2. very limited variety of rebate items, most of them I never use, especially a lot of them are alcohol related.

3. On the top of very limited rebate items, they also have restriction of retailer you can use.

Unfortunately, this can only serve as supplement for me and will not replace my coupon.

After test drive for one year, compare the effort and and amount I (will) earn, the ROI is too low. Once I finally reach $20 and receive my payout, I will stop. I can only hope that I can got my pay-out as smooth as possible, and cancel my account as easy as possible, since I just read about a lot of issues to get pay and cancel account.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

works for me

Reviewed By lin p on September 20, 2015

I’ve been using ibotta for just a week or two and I have over $7 already. It takes a few minutes to pick your offers before you shop, but if you willing to spend a small amount of time it can definetely save you money. One of the things I think is really cool is that they give offers on items that never have coupons anywhere else like produce, milk, bread, and offers that are good on any brand like shredded cheese or chips and it doesn’t even matter what brand you buy!

There are also teamwork bonuses where you get free dollars when you pass certain amounts. Right now I don’t have many team members so if you haven’t joined ibotta yet please use my link and we can work together towards the bonuses…so far I can get the first few alone but I need more teammates to reach the highest level.

Also you can use ibotta at the same time as paper coupons so its a bonus on top of what you are already saving!! And I forgot to mention, for stores with loyalty cards you just enter your loyalty # and it is automaticaly submitted for you so there’s no need to submitt receipts for grocery stores!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Ben Dover
September 24, 2015

Wait until you try to "cash out". It constantly says down for repair and now has removed all cash earned. It is a total scam. Nobody should use this

lin p
September 29, 2015

O wow that's terrible! Have you tried gift cards? I just cashed out to a $10 Walmart Giftcard today and used it at the store this afternoon. Maybe higher amounts are a problem or there is something with your phone but it did just work for $10 in a Walmart giftcard and the card worked at checkout.

betty lin
December 14, 2015

What's their phone#?

January 13, 2016

"items that never have coupons anywhere else like produce, milk, bread, and offers that are good on any brand like shredded cheese or chips and it doesn’t even matter what brand you buy!"

I noticed that they offer this for beginners to get your attention that they really can save you money. But within time I found that this stuff appears less in your offers and if it does the rebate amount is smaller.

Your Comment
1 Review

Everything works EXCEPT Cash Out

Reviewed By Ben Dover on September 9, 2015

I downloaded the app and it isn't terribly hard to figure out. Verified the items and got the approval for receipt. All fine. Now when it comes to actually getting paid, all that happens is a notice on the site saying "working on the site". Seems everything works that makes them money but nothing works where they pay money.

I am guessing they are out of cash and so just stick this sign up to avoid the real issue.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Ben Dover
September 24, 2015

Well as an update, now my cash earned not longer appears. What a scam. Cash out doesn't work and when they grow tired of hearing about that they just remove everyone's cash earned. Total waste of time!

lin p
September 29, 2015

That's sucks, can you get someone live on the phone? $10 Giftcard worked for me. Also looks like my link got deleted but I really need a few friends, if the site owner doesn't mind could you leave my link up for a while? I need a few people on my team, thanks allot! You get $1 free if you sign up through this link, register first then it will download. https://ibotta.com/r/rabqxmg

December 14, 2015

What's their phone#?

Your Comment
1 Review

scam and no live person

Reviewed By Tracy Hutchins on June 11, 2015

I have been trying resolve cash out to PayPal and they typed in wrong email address. Told me via email contact PayPal. They could send me an email to the correct email but not post payment correctly. Only way of communication is email and not phone.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Elaine
August 20, 2015

I have not been able to cash out. I requested a Walmart card and was told I'd receive a confirmation email, which never happened. I hit resend email over and over and still have not received confirmation

Ben Dover
September 09, 2015

Cash out doesn't seem to work lol. Every time I click on it a message comes up that they are working on the site to make it better.

My guess is that the "company" is out of cash and just trying to keep making money through advertising until they get caught.

Looks like a total scam

Ben Dover
September 24, 2015

Tracy, After a month of trying to cash out and getting a notice that it is down for repair to make the site better.........they removed all the cash earned.

It is a total scam

December 14, 2015

Yes, they hide behind the email so that it is easy to ignore the complain.
Their app is not well thought out at all, I had an issue recently, and they discover I have two accounts that I didn't even realize at beginning. What happen is after I switch the phone, the app ask me to log in. I just choose Facebook log in thinking if that's wrong the app will say something... Since the app just accept my log in, I didn't aware of another account was been created and I start using the app again... Until when I contact them about one rebate status, they claim I got two accounts and deactivate one account without return any earned rebates to me. It is stealing!!! I tried to contact them, they just ignore to resolve the issue, and say have a nice day. If they are trying to be sarcasm, they did it! How can I have a nice day the way they response to issues!?!?

Your Comment
1 Review

I hate it

Reviewed By Angela Addonizio on May 25, 2015

It is a huge waste of time. The app is flawed. the coupons take forever to load. the videos drain the battery. once you set up your shopping spree... the store you've chosen based on the coupons being offered, the bands are no longer being carried, and or the app doesn't recognize the barcode provided. flawed flawed flawed

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 16, 2015

If you take the time to go through the coupons at home on Wi-Fi it works perfectly. I don't think it takes that long at all but in the store there is often worse cell service and that's when it can get slow. Just go through at home and activate anything you might want, you don't have to buy it if you don't want to once you get to the store. Also the videos are only 30 seconds I don't think that drains your battery that much, you may want to look to constant fb updates,GPS or Bluetooth to fix that. Also I can usually find everything I want in the store if it's not being offered that would be the stores fault but at the supermarket chains I don't seem to have a problem with that, also never had a problem with barcodes and you can even verify one in the store if your not sure if it counts. I earned $11.75 on my trip today. I don't have many team members though and you have to build your own team so if any one is new to the app and hasn't downloaded yet you can use my link, you will get a free $1 in your account if you redeem atleast one (0.25 or more) rebate within 2 weeks. I need more people on my team, so if you do we can help each other & thanks allot!

Your Comment
1 Review

I use it all the time!

Reviewed By Chris Bender on May 24, 2015

I use Ibotta all the time. I decide what I want before I go to the store. You can delete things from the list that you are probably not going to buy. That takes some time so I just ignore those. My husband and I have tried a few new things from the list. He even has it on his phone. Now with the 'buy any brand' coupons we can save even more. I also have the Savings Catcher to save more. I don't let my amount add up in the Ibotta account to too much before I send the money to my Venmo account. Don't use PayPal anymore. Had some issues. But you get the savings sometimes within minutes up to a day later. As soon as you have $10 you can transfer it. It is not a hard app to use. Just wish I could get some more teammates so I could save more money!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

I LOVE IBOTTA

Reviewed By Skye Sharpe on May 19, 2015

I earned 200.00 within two months everyone should have this it is so worth taking up space on my phone I now have 339.00 in my account and I started March I know ur probably thinking oh this is a scam it's not download the app trust me it's the BEST!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
betty lin
December 14, 2015

Did you use the online shopping only? The items are ranging from few cents to couple dollars, how can you get 200 in two months, especially most of the high dollars items are alcohol related?

If you use online shopping only, there's other program offer better service and more trustworthy than ibotta.

April 19, 2016

Skye, have you tried to cash out your credit? I hear this is where the problem is.

Your Comment
1 Review

Its a Fraud AAP

Reviewed By Hamad on January 26, 2015

This aap is totally a fraud .when ever you get high balance in your account they DeActivate your account and at the end you get nothing . i collect $270 in my account in 5 months and then they deactivate my account and now i have nothing .so this aap is just a crap,fraud and wastage of time and energy .

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
May 25, 2015

i agree...
It is a time suck app. that doesn't accept any of the "any brand" items...
the videos don't load. it is a huge waste of time and bogus app

Your Comment
1 Review

Susan

Reviewed By Susan Tibbils Buck on January 18, 2015, Lawrence, Kansas

I have earned over $100 in less than 3 months. I signed up at the end of October when a friend told me about it. It certainly saves time to go through the offers at home. I also use coupons and if there is a coupon for an item and a rebate from Ibotta for the same items it ends up being a fantastic way to save because you can use your coupon at the store and then get the additional rebate from Ibotta. Every now and then I have an issue getting my receipt to scan correctly but usually only when I have a really long receipt and need to take multiple pictures to get the entire receipt scanned. All in all it is a good way for me to save money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Cathy Bendetti Yutko
January 25, 2015

How did you save $100 in 3 months? I've looked through all the rebates and there's hardly any products and what they do have, I wouldn't buy anyway.

December 14, 2015

Agree with Cathy!!!

Your Comment
1 Review

A Total Waste of Time

Reviewed By Laura Mett on January 4, 2015

This program has too many flaws to make it successful. Too many steps and then taking a pic of your receipt to "verify." Why not join a person's grocery card to your program and have it verified w/o enabling the user? I was asked by a friend to join this but I see no advantage. It took nearly 45 minutes to go thru your coupons, go thru that for my purchases, take several pictures of my receipt (to prove to you that i am trustworthy), only to find out 18 hours later that my picture was denied. All that for what was presumed $.50? My time is much more valuable than $.75/hr.

Sorry but this program is too flawed to recommend it. Fix it and I'll be back.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

I can't figure out how to use ibotta.

Reviewed By Cathy Bendetti Yutko on January 3, 2015, Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania

I need to take an ibotta class. I downloaded the app and tried using it at WalMart. I tried to follow the directions, selected the available products, scanned the bar codes and nothing showed up. It said I had to do a survey on the one product but there was no link. I became very frustrated.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Laura Mett
January 04, 2015

It's awful. You have to go on their website and click and then unlock (multi step process) to get things "eligible" for a refund. Then you need to scan all your items that "match" what you are "eligible" for. (bored yet?)... Then, take a pic of your receipt. If it's long you need to take several pictures which then they need to verify (they do not trust you, one bit). Only to find out they reject your receipt photos. This took me 45 minutes and then 18 hours to get rejected. All for $.50. My time is worth more than $.75/hr. Too many flaws to be successful. They should partner with retailers and you scan your courtesy card and they download the discounts they have off of what you purchase. (????) Why didn't they think of that? Not good. FAIL

January 25, 2015

I think I figured out how to use ibotta and I actually have $2.00 saved. You need to save at least $10.00 to redeem a gift card or have the money put into paypal. But I think it will take me forever to save money. There are very few grocery products to get redemptions on, and most of them I haven't heard of and wouldn't buy. One of the commentators said she earned $100 in three months. I don't know how that is possible.

Your Comment
3 Reviews

IBOTTA RIPPED ME OFF

Reviewed By Stephanie Martin on June 24, 2014, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Plain and simple, they stole from me. I was a new customer and I photocopy my receipts and upload them so they don't get lost. I had no idea that sending them a picture of the uploaded copy was against the rules. They closed my account out owing me $25 and won't respond to my e-mails. The receipts were NOT altered in any way. I'm contacting the retailers as well because I know they will turn my information in.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Terry
February 02, 2015

I opened my ibotta account in October and earned $24.50. I tried for two months to "purchase" two $10 gift cards, however I never receive the email with the instructions so that I can actually get the gift cards. I e-mailed them 3 times and after several weeks I finally received a reply that said
It appears you are not receiving our emails, please use a different email address. What?!?!?! I received that reply? I have received other emails, just not the ones to redeem my gift cards. The money is gone from my account and my profile shows that I "purchased the two $10 gift cards, so I can't "cash out" again. I personally think ibotta is a scam.

February 02, 2015

They're a total scam. They don't even report to the manufacturers when they take away someone's rewards. They just keep them. It's stealing.

Your Comment
Guest

It's fantastic

Reviewed By Trixi on July 15, 2013, Orange County, CA

I've used ebates for about a year now, and love it. So when I saw a few in app advertisements for ibotta, I figured "why not?". It seemed to be the same type of concept...get a little bit of cash back for buying the stuff you were already going to buy. But that was just the tip of the iceberg! With the store extras and bonuses, I'm essentially saving 25-50% on my groceries and household items! It's fantastic! I've told everyone I know about ibotta, probably a couple of times...& I'm going to keep telling them!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Bethany
March 21, 2014

I've been using it for about a week. It is very easy, but when I went to cash out, it said it got sent to my paypal account but I never received it!

Stephanie Martin
June 24, 2014

They are liars! They closed my account owing me $25 and haven't paid me.

January 04, 2015

I could not understand why they would want someone to take so much time for $.25 for a coupon. They did lie when they said it's the same time to cut out a coupon to do their program. LIE. This is an awful program.

Your Comment
Guest

IBOTTA IS THE BEST!!

Reviewed By Sandy on April 22, 2013

I absolutely have fallen in love with this app and share it with all the ladies that do the grocery shopping and want to save some money. It is quick, easy and my money is there immediately! I only wish I had found this sooner.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Megan
July 12, 2013

I've really enjoyed using Ibotta, it's kind of addicting. If you buy a lot of groceries it can help you earn money.

Lisa
September 09, 2013

I just started using this 3 days ago and already had 42.50 deposited in my paypal account. All I did was get money for things I needed and bought. I love this app!!

Bridget
December 02, 2013

What info do you have to release in order to sign up for a PayPal account and Ibotta?

Laura Mett
January 04, 2015

They reject your receipt photos, you have to go thru their coupons, then answer stupid questions just to unlock the savings and then scan your purchases, then scan your receipt. So many steps only to get rejected? No way.... not worth it. My time is much more valuable than going through 5 steps for $.25. I doubt this will work. Too many flaws.

January 17, 2015

scroll through the grocery items BEFORE you go shopping and only unlock those you plan to buy anyway -- come on this week there are milk, eggs, orange juice, bread -- who doesn't use those things? no brand, any brand. you were going to buy them anyway! so my store has evic milk today 2.57 a gallon, ibotta has a$1 rebate on a gallon of milk....my gallon of milk cost 1.57 -- did i have to snap a photo of my milk and my receipt? yeah, sure, how hard is that? because you look before shopping, when you get home you know what you need to get upc photos of, not rocket science. just getting in the habit. combined with store sales/specials, regular coupons, and at walmart if you are using savings catcher (with bluebird doubler till mid february).....well worth it.

Your Comment

Leave a Review