Gigwalk.com Reviews

Gigwalk.com
Based on 14 Reviews
Website:www.Gigwalk.com
Review It

About Gigwalk.com

Whatever the circumstance may be, companies can find the help they need right from a phone or computer. Gigwalk allows its members to request gigs for small tasks to contracted work. These encompass any services ranging from audits to photography, the sky is the limit. This is an, on-demand, readily available workforce comprised of over 50,000 individuals across all 50 states.

Businesses can connect with people through Gigwalk to get the help they need by simply posting a gig opportunity when the need for help arises. The Gigwalk mobile application, available on iPhone, Android or the Blackberry, makes it easy request gigs from anywhere at any time. Any company who posts a gig must provide a fully detailed description of the work that needs to be completed, a due date, the gig location and the price of the job.

To become a gig provider, also known as a Gig Walker, and start earning extra cash you must setup an account profile. The profile should accurately and thoroughly describe your skills, educational background and work experience to be considered and accepted for gigs. The more you have to offer the gig requesters, the more opportunities you will have. You can browse gigs through the network and apply for the ones that you want. You must also go to the location of the gig in order to be accepted, this policy of the program was implemented so everyone has a chance to make money; one person cannot take all of the posted gigs.

If you receive good reviews on completed work, you will slowly build up your profile and increase your exposure. Gig Walkers can earn “Street Cred” points for good reviews and by doing “pro-bono” tasks to create an image of reliability. With more “Street Cred” points you are able to access higher levels of achievement to unlock a succession of higher paying gigs.

The amount of money per gig can pay anywhere from $3.00-$90.00, some have even been more than $100.00. Gigwalk requesters and Gigwalk providers must have a PayPal account to pay for the work and to receive payment for completing the work. Payment is required upfront for all requests. The money is distributed to all of the parties involved in the transaction. Gigwalk takes a percentage of the payment for their services; in addition, fees for PayPal are also deducted. Once the Gig Walker has completed a job they will be paid after a review on their quality of work has been posted by that gig requester.

The great thing about this service is that it is bringing jobs back into the local work force. With the high unemployment rate, and the need for an immediate local workforce, it is a great temporary fix that benefits everyone. Whether unemployed or employed, there are opportunities to make money; you can take on as many gigs as you want to. This is a nice flexible work option for both the Gig Requesters and the Gig Walkers.

Related Articles

14 ‘Gigwalk.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Gig Walk is a Scam...

Reviewed By Jeremy Teitelbaum on February 11, 2015

Gigwalk is notorious for refusing to pay people. There are hundreds of stories all over the web of people who submitted their gig's and had them rejected. Myself included.

I did a gig and provided the images exactly as was requested. However after they were submitted the client changed their mind and wanted more detailed pictures. The client only gave me 24 hours to submit about 150 more images and was very vague in their instructions. I asked the client directly for more time and was granted an extra 24 hours.

However, despite this, gig walk cancelled my gigs (keep in mind these were completed) and refused to pay me. I tried to contact them, but they do not give gig walkers a phone number to reach customer service. You can only use the email on their website. They didn't get back to me for two days then shuffled me around to other departments. The result is I worked 6 hours for gig walk and was supposed to be paid $60 and I got nothing.

This same thing happened to a bunch of other gig walkers on the similar gigs. We are currently pursuing a class action lawsuit against the company. If you have been screwed by gig walk please contact us.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

gigwalk

Reviewed By gene  on March 29, 2014, ct

I conducted 2 photo shoots for a lays potato chip display and submitted them on the 2 consecutive days and I was paid within 12 hours. I think the concept is being missed, for the amount of money paid I don't think it is prudent to go out of your way to do them, I located gigs in the area I'm in at the time, or group a few of them together.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Sounds Like Mystery Shopping

Reviewed By Joe So on February 6, 2014, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Yeah it sounds alot like the mystery shopping emails I get. Unless I can land a certain amount of gigs per day,and they're not already snatched up,it really isn't worth the few dollars. I need a steady paycheck at this point in life.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

No Gigwalkers here

Reviewed By Bobbi Ownes on January 1, 2014

Everyone is complaining about this company. Did you keep a copy of all your gigs? Believe me they have receive payment for the jobs you've completed. Gigwalk don't respond to anyone questions but their clients, not even paypal. I filed a complaint with Google Play concerning Gigwalk and their app for not paying. The concept is great but very bad people. Here is the account's manger name joanne@gigwalk.com, payment@gigwalk.com, ariel@gigwalk.com

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 09, 2014

Was that suppose to be in English? If your reviews read like this one, I can see your problem.

Your Comment
Guest

Fool's errand

Reviewed By p. leroy on September 10, 2013, Bel Air, Maryland

I just received my first assignment, to photograph some bags of potatoes at Wegman's. The product wasn't there, and according to the produce manager and customer service, they had never seen anything like it. I reported this to Gigwalk, and I received an email from them stating that they had decided to take me off the assignment. What? I don't even understand what that means, especially since the assignment is still posted. So, including travel time, I spent 45 minutes for nothing.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
p. leroy
September 12, 2013

I contacted Gigwalk about this situation, and they were surprisingly nice about rectifying the problem. I guess I should have given them a chance before I started spouting off about them. Sorry Gigwalk.

Jeff M
November 05, 2013

I have had the same problem with Gigwalk. I signed up for a gig, went there, they were closed. I logged in and left a comment indicating that I took all exterior pictures but couldn't take interior pic's until the next day because they were closed. No feedback from them just a notice saying I was removed from the gig. They do this all the time. Very unresponsive to communications but very quick to just kick you off your gigs. Further, in my area there are very few gigs. I signed up for three, completed 1, could not complete the second as mentioned and the third was 15 miles from my location. I left a message saying I would complete on the next day...Booted off the Gig. For $5? They can keep it.

February 06, 2014

Sounds like the kind of luck I usually have;

Your Comment
Guest

Yep SCAM

Reviewed By Lisa on September 8, 2013, Indiana

I signed up for a gig to take a photo of a new appliance and the sales receipt. I was told my photos were not clear enough so I took more and sent them in. A couple days later I was told I did not follow directions and I was not paid. I thought, well maybe I didn't...
Then a month later I get junk mail wanting to sell me insurance and the appliance I did the gig on. Yep, scam.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Annonymous
September 11, 2013

I've been having problems getting paid for a gig I did. I heard other people say that they were great and even have some close friends that got paid by them, however I've been going round and round with them about a $100.00 gig I performed. I will not do anything for them again.

January 01, 2014

who did you work for, check your emails. Maybe I can help you get your money

Your Comment
Guest

Not Worth The Time

Reviewed By Gene on August 13, 2013, Oakland, CA

I liked the concept, so I downloaded the app. When I saw the gigs that were available and what they were asking for, I was very disappointed.

I wouldn't mind going to a nearby business and snapping a few photos. But the instructions typically asked for things like "we want 8 Amazing photos, with useful comments", with very specific requirements about how the photos should be taken and submitted. Easily 30-60 minutes of work, not including transportation to the location. And all for $5, which you might not get if they are not satisfied with your work? No thank you!

If the company were to actually hire someone to do this, they would have to pay 5-10 times what they are offering here. So this is the worst of all worlds: it pays typically less than minimum page for work that requires more skill and uncertainty than most minimum wage jobs. And there is no upside. Put in a full day doing this and you might make $50. Booyah! You'd do better to stand on the street with a cup in your hand.

In short, this is a new tool for exploiting the poor and desperate. PLEASE avoid.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
CJS
November 15, 2013

Never accept singular assignments I tend to group them in a minimum of 6 in a small area. This will allow me to get there and walk to the gigs and post all 6 in about an hour.

Your Comment
Guest

Not sure its worth it!

Reviewed By Honest User on May 31, 2013, East Coast

I have performed a few gigs for gigwalk and even though they pay fast, the work is a bit tedious for the amount of pay. I have a couple of apps on my iphone that I use to make extra money and I must say that even though the money is real, the tasks are time consuming and more complicated than it should be. Procede with caution, there are better paying apps available.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 09, 2014

What do you recommend?

Your Comment
Guest

Not Bad

Reviewed By Rob on March 18, 2013, Visalia, Ca

I have done a about five of them. On one of them I was asked to go back twice. Not worth $5 to go back. Not only that they don't pay for Pay Pal fees, you do.

They do pay you pretty quick I must say. If you talk to a manager to let them know what you're doing they will let you. When you do a panoma make sure it is near perfect.

Not worth traveling a few miles just to earn $5. If you are in the area where needed then do it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 8 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
bob
April 01, 2013

I was just told on the gigwalk facebook page that they pay the paypal fee, that the gigwalker gets the entire posted amount.

comment
November 22, 2013

Don't you believe it!

Your Comment
Guest

Not Bad At All

Reviewed By Luke GigWalker on February 21, 2013, Atlanta, GA

Did 7 and got paid for 5. They literally pay within 24 hours to your paypal account not bad. The photosynth is difficult to use at times but you do get better over time, the key is to move and let the photos stitch itself. Easy $25 for 2 hours worth of work = $12.50/hr walking around town. The key here is to select a set of locations next to one another.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Annonymous
September 11, 2013

No they don't pay within 24 hours. I did a $125.00 gig for them early this week. I did not receive any money at all from them and have been given the run around about this issue. I don't like doing 4 hours of warehouse work and not getting paid. I'll give them another 7 days but if that money is not in my account by then I will have to turn them over to the BBB for scamming people.

January 09, 2014

What was the task assigned for $125.00, if you don't mind me asking. Were you being accurate on your true zip code?

Your Comment
Guest

Good after doing first 5 gigs

Reviewed By Gary on January 11, 2013, Orlando

No sour grapes here. On the first day I did 2, which were places I already were going to. The managers came to greet me, all positive feelings. Got paid within 18 hours.

On the second day I did 3 more, again, met the manages, all good vibes from everyone. Some even straighten things up to make photo prettier. Got paid within 18 hours.

On good advantage is that I can deduct all my mileage. So if I'm going somewhere for personal reasons, that is not tax deductible, I can throw a Gigwalk near the destination, and then it becomes a business trip, and now tax deductible.

Software on iPhone is amazing and so simple. No brainer. Takes about 20 minutes to make $5

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 13 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Mike
March 22, 2013

personal trips are not tax deductible even if you stop to take a picture of a store, main portion of driving isnt business related just happened to be there

Larry
March 27, 2013

If you document the trip as business and have the gig documentation for evidence, deducting expenses is no problem.

Annonymous
September 11, 2013

I am having problems getting them to pay me. I don't like doing 4 hours of warehouse work and not getting the $125.00 promised to me. They keep saying that it's in pay out mode. Been saying that for days and that PayPal is having problems. Funny how other people are getting payments to me through PayPal and not them.

January 01, 2014

who did you work for? look through your emails

Your Comment
Guest

Bullsh*t

Reviewed By Ryan on November 18, 2012, California

I took the time to do two different locations perfectly only to be told I took a photo at an angle, so I will not be getting paid. Scammed me into taking free photos for them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 19 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Tried it. Feel we are being cheated

Reviewed By Renee on November 16, 2012, Los Angeles

They make this sound simple. Actually you are goin into people's businesses taking pictures, doing panoramas and hopin that no one asks you to leave. The amount of time and pictures they want you to take is TOO MUCH! $5 is minuscule compared to what they are being paid for our work. Not to mention the gas, and time we have to give. If you're looking for extra cash this is not it. They are taking advantage of people's circumstances. I'd rather get paid $5 dollars an hour than five dollars to go to different locations and hope that after I submit my work it'll be accepted.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 19 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
gates
November 19, 2012

Then! what you are going to do is! to apply more gigs! because the more the merrier!

Brandon
January 03, 2013

as a gigwalker i can relate to your anger with Bing, all their gigs are BS i only got piad for 2 out of at least 15 i tried, but keep your eye out there are gigs for big bucks that are simple tasks, ipoll is a scam to me, its taken over two months and i still have pending rewards, f these guys right here.

Your Comment
Guest

SCAM artists!

Reviewed By Greg on August 9, 2012, Seattle, WA

These folks are scam artists. Do not provide them your demographic information!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Charlie
August 09, 2012

I like Gigwalk when I get easy opportunities! Being in between jobs has not been easy and I really enjoy doing the missions for some of the other guys. My favorite newbie is iPoll. I have it on my iPhone and my wife on her android.

Just yesterday, I got to do some really cool things for the Olympics at a local restaurant! Last week I went on a secret mission into a Target store and snapped a picture of a yoplait yogurt. The company is pretty good about catching cheaters so be careful!

All in all I have made $480 on iPoll and $64 on Gigwalk.

A couple others that I downloaded and am starting to use lately; check rewards and shop kick! No missions, just discounts, no real cash rewards either.

Renee
November 16, 2012

We're being paid scraps. And have to use our gas and time just to get paid $5, IF....IF they accept your work! The gigs that pay more and require info from stores you will NOT get selected to do! FRAUD!

gates
November 19, 2012

Then! what you are going to do is! to apply more gigs! because the more the merrier!

jobs
March 22, 2013

actually he is correct they are very shady in their business practices have fun with all the gigs wasting your time they will cheat you

Your Comment

Leave a Review