- Home - - Work at Home Reviews - - Contact -
 

MENU

Disciple's Cross Reviews

Legit or Scam?

 

Disciples Cross is a work at home opportunity developed by pastor John Raymond.  Through this business you will be compensated for assembling the Christian cross and selling it back to the company for a profit.

The way it works is you send in for a starter kit costing $70 which includes an instructional video and enough materials to put together 25 Disciples Crosses.  Once you get going you will be ordering supplies separately based on what kind of color crosses you want to make.

With any Christian based business opportunity it's important to be cautious and do your research.  It's sad to say that many times scammers use Christianity as a way to conceal the true nature of their business and use it as a tool to gain the public's trust.

Disciples Cross is a legitimate company but there are some complaints dealing with the buy back program. Some crosses were failing inspection and people were losing money on shipping and supply fees.

This is a fairly common complaint with many work at home assembly jobs. If you're careful and follow the instructions closely you can reduce your rejection rate.

The other option is to avoid the buy back program all together and focus on marketing and selling the crosses on your own.  This can be done on a local level for instance, at your church, community events, local shops or on a grander scale such as eBay or through your own website.

If you're at Reviewopedia.com because you're looking for a way to make money online then check out our article "7 Ways to Make Money Online" - methods that anyone can use to earn an income from home.

 

 

Would you like to add your review for
Disciples Cross?
If so, click here
 
Share This!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints for 'Disciples Cross'

 

Average Rating is 3.17 out of 5 based on 36 reviews.

Phillip Lake   Brandon, MS

6:31pm on August 31st, 2014 

I purchased the kit, made my first 25, had largest portion of them returned, I was shown my mistakes. I decided to take the option of selling them for myself. I am doing well at selling; people really like the crosses. My quality of work is good, but it gets better with each cross. The nails ARE hard to bend if you have problems with your hands. You can buy the nails pre-bent (recommend). I have displays in various places and work with store retailers on profit sharing. I charge $10 per cross. You will not get rich on this but it is more of a mission and I do make some good part-time money to go along with the SS check. IT WORKS IF YOU WORK IT and don't cheat people. It really helps to carry crosses with you and give them away at times. I know several missionarys that give them away to the people on their mission fields. It is a CHRISTIAN thing my friends and I let God tell me what to do, and He never lets me down.

Susan   Michigan

7:28pm on March 12th, 2014 

I have been making Disciples Crosses for about 8 years now. I have never used the buy back program because I have so much interest in my community. I purchase my supplies wholesale. If you are willing to do the work, follow the instructions- you will make money in your community. I have been very pleased with my initial investment because it has paid for itself many times over.


Julie   California

11:42am on December 10th, 2013 

I had an experience similar to Mary Alice from Houston. I ordered a starter kit, received it promptly, then sent in 10 crosses. All were rejected, although they said my work "showed potential." I ordered supplies and made 50 more crosses. I sent them in October 2013 and have heard nothing back--no rejects, no check, nothing. I left a message and sent them an email and have heard NOTHING. Needless to say I don't trust the company anymore and won't give them any more money.

JimBob   SE Texas

3:06pm on September 30th, 2013

Try PreBentNails and avoid the hassles of substandard nails...

sal   maryland

12:01pm on April 29th, 2013 

I have not sold one back to the Disciple's Cross folks. To date, I have made over 700 since December 2012 and i have sold over 500. It has opened a whole new ministry for me and folks are responding extremely favorably - i sell them at 3 different churches now and also in a Hallmark store - I will be in trade shows and flea markets this summer and anticipate needing help to fill all the orders. It is what you make of this, just like anything else, you will NOT be an expert at it instantly - i had to make 40 - 50 before i became any good at all

Csaba   Pittsburgh, PA

12:16pm on February 19th, 2013 

Making these crosses will not pay your mortgage, perhaps your car payments. Surely, we all need extra cash, and years ago I also started to sell the ones I made on my own. (The buy back program not worth it at all.) But when I started to give them away, I saw a far greater impact of God in my life. Nowadays, I make them and give them away. I supply these crosses to a ministry for their overseas missionary trips.

And for the sake of a trade secret: if you accidentally scratch the wire, just color it over with permanent marker. Make sure to do that before you dip it in the clear coat.

God bless!

Calyton   Kansas

2:17pm on January 27th, 2012 

I joined awhile back ago and only went with the company for a few months. Started on my own and buying my own supplies. This was when the contract allowed you to buy your own supplies from any where. three years after I have did this on and off with no real profit Pastor John Raymond sued me and 20+ others for patent infringement and the RICO act. A few years after he dropped the charges for not have any legit reason or evidence to sue the people that he did. Now a few that got sued is counter suing and found out that he lied to the courts about his profits and the legit of the patent for the cross he makes. By law if the item is in public circulation for over a year it is public domain and no one can claim it. His web site is still misinforming the public and to my belief the company and Pastor John Raymond is still breaking the law. The crosses are a beautiful thing and can be made by any one the problem is not the crosses it is the man behind the company.

Anonymous   Ohio

7:58am on October 26th, 2011 

My husband and I have been very pleased with Disciples Cross service and quality of supplies. We have made a good amount of profit by selling the crosses at his bands merchandise table. We can barely keep up with the demand we have for crosses, so we don't bother with the buy back program. Bending the nails is a challenge, but gets much easier with experience. This is not a get rich quick scheme or a way to be able to fully support yourself by working at home. But it is a great hobby to make some extra cash if you have a good place to sell them.

Jackie   okla

1:05pm on November 6th, 2010

just ordered the kit. They may be strict but they expect only the best. Wouldn't you want to sell the best? I'm very excited. I want to make the best so people will want more. God bless n good luck.

A. Pichea   Indiana

11:59am on July 28th, 2010 

I didn't have much success with the buyback program, but selling them to friends, co-workers, and online proved to be more profitable than attempting to sell them back to the company would have been. It's not a "get-rich-quick" program - you actually have to put the time and effort in to making a quality product and then marketing your product. I use it as a part-time supplemental income.

Steve C   Greeley, CO

5:16am on August 18th, 2009 

I started making Disciple's Crosses over 2 yrs ago and have been very happy with not only the company, but the response I get from the recipients of my work. Although I have made some money with the crosses, I see the work and the ability to distribute the symbol of my faith more as a witness and a comfort than an income. The income for me really supplements the ability to make more crosses!

Delton H.   Tennessee

9:37pm on June 18th, 2009 

I ordered the Disciples Cross A while back, Don't remember how long it's been. When I received the kit I tried to watch the instructional video but there wasn't anything on the video. I email them explaining it to them and ask for a good video. I never heard from them. After a couple of weeks I emailed them again asking for another video and since it was a Church affiliated program I offered to pay for the video. Waited, still nothing. Tried to call put never got an answer. I would defiantly say it's a Scam.

Rev. Artee C.   Rochester, New York

9:04pm on May 13th, 2009 

My comments for all concerned and feel slighted is, after inquires to States Attorney is this, if you believe you want and deserve a refund for your starters kit investment, a class action grievance can result in the refunding of your money. E-mail me at acalabrese8@rochester.rr.com and if their really are that many that qualifies for enough complainants there is legal recourse that can be taken. Otherwise, it may be an excellent idea, in this one instance, to keep your opinion to yourself, if, in fact, that's all it really is, your own opinion. If not, and there are really a herd of lagit ranglers out there, like I said, e-mail me at, acalabrese8@rochester.rr.com and all in due time can amount to what could be worth your-while. God Bless, Rev. Artee C.

Rev. Artee C.   Rochester, New York

6:13pm on May 9th, 2009 

For all of us concerned: There is a solution and an answer for all the above over-due and out-dated questions asked, inquiries made, problems encountered, curiosities unsatisfied along with, "GOD'S WILL NEEDING TO BE VERIFIED," etc., etc., from the gauge size of the wire, 20 gauge, to even the very same company they, Disciple's Cross, buys their wires, neck cord by the spool, even their manufactured horseshoe nails, 250 in a box. Yes! with even the solutions for getting an excellent price on pre-bent nails to exact specifications, guaranteed! There's even a special tool along with methods to follow that may be useful for preventing the marring, scarring, scratching and damaging of the color coated copper wire done by the metal pliers I substitute with one of my plastic tools that may definitely also help you tuck tightly and neatly into positions the wiring that may be off-centered too much in one direction as opposed to the other making it slanted.

My name is Rev. Artee C., retired with my 71 year old wife, Etta C. whose e-mail address is, acalabrese8@rochester.rr.com. So, Feel Free to e-mail us at any time for answers, suggestions and/or solutions with other valuable information you can guarantee yourself will enable you to make the Disciple's Cross that will meet your specified standards. It's all what requires more space, volume and the time we are not being alloted for here and now.

May The Good Lord Bless You And Yours Now And Forever More; Amen!

Steve   Leominster, MA

10:59pm on May 8th, 2009 

I found this to be a good program. They are strict about the quality but every cross was marked with a reason as to why they did not except it. My second try at buyback was better as well as with my third try was better than the second. The ones they send back I sell at craft fairs and by word of mouth. I did better at making the tops once I bought the pliers from their website. I also only wrap 7 times on top and sides for one of the requirements is that the number of twists on the top must equal the # of twists on each side. I could not seem to get more than 7 on the sides.

ASHLEY   Location unknown

6:34pm on May 8th, 2009 

HA HA HA!

Julie   Kansas

12:36am on April 2nd, 2009 

I have been researching Disciples Cross and I noticed some of these entries here are kind of old but I was wondering if the reason why the buy back is strict is perhaps other than it's their cross, is to make people strike out on their own. I am an artist and not all my art are up to my standards, of course I want perfection, BUT I have sold a painting or other art project simply because that person liked it. Reading all these and elsewhere I think I will buy into this and sell on my own. I live in a very churchy town so there will be outlets.

Anonymous   Location unknown

2:31pm on March 26th, 2009

Has anyone ever bothered to call,and ask what the main reasons why the product is turned down and or rejected, mabye that would help, it seems it may have something to do. about the top of the crosses.

Mary Alice   Houston, Tx.

6:33pm on March 4th, 2009 

I ordered the Disciple's Cross Kit several years ago and made the Crosses, and also ordered 1 pre-made Cross already made by them. You know how I know this company is a scam? When I submitted my 10 crosses to be inspected, I sent the 'perfect' Disciple Cross they made for inspection, and guess what- they rejected all of them (even the one they made) and said "you have potential". You can never ever make 'their' crosses good enough. I never did tell them (or 'bust them') on what I did- just to show proof they will reject any crosses (or most of them) when you send them in. I felt they were made as good as they make them and made them to their specifications. Anyone ever asks me about this Company I tell them to stay away from them do not waste your money. I hope they get closed down.

todd   nebraska

8:34pm on November 22nd, 2008 

i havent started this yet. just had heard about it and doing some research. im wondering how long it takes you pple to make one cross? the pastor said he makes them in 5 minutes. certainly he has much experience doing it, but i wonder what the average time per cross is once you get somewhat used to doing it? if you sell them on your own, what is the average price they sell for? excellent source of information here, thanks.


Page: -1-   2   

Your Name:

Your Location:

Product/Service Rating:

Your Review:

 

 

 

 

Learn to Make Money Online Using Our Guide


Popular New Articles

How to Make Money Taking Online Surveys
Essential Steps for a Successful Online Business
Hot Tips For Saving Money

Work at Home
Job Listings

Administrative Jobs
At Home Transcription
Customer Service Jobs
Data Entry Jobs
Home Accounting Jobs
Home Writing Jobs
Medical Transcription Jobs

Compensation Disclosure

Review Categories

» Business Opportunities
» Business Gurus
» Data Entry Jobs
» eBay Programs
» Internet Marketing
» Investment
» Motivational
» Network Marketing
» Paid Online Surveys
» Real Estate