ChristianMingle.com Reviews

ChristianMingle.com
Based on 54 Reviews
Review It

Related Articles

54 ‘ChristianMingle.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

They Have Many Fake Profiles/Scams

Reviewed By Debi on July 21, 2014

I have been a member for some time, although sometimes being away for weeks.

What I have noticed is that they have too many fake profiles. I cannot understand why Christian Mingle does not do a better job. After all this year they had a member taken for $300,000 from a scam. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/01/17/internet-dating-scam_n_4619758.html

It is easy for them to catch many of the scam fake profiles. For example, if the person is using an IP address from Nigeria or other countries where the scam artists tend to congregate, they should do more research before posting their profile.

They do not do any IP research before posting.

As for me I have been contacted by countless scam artists on this website. I think they target people with more education as I have a Ph.D. level education. Of course most of them are widowers, with flowery language, etc.

I have turned in countless profiles as possible fakes. When I call in to report them, customer agent confirms that the profile I question sounds like a scam. (I won't publish a list of things that are red flags as I will not help the fraudsters avoid detection.)

Why do they only seem to do their investigations when a customer flags a fake? This is how their customers get robbed not just of their monies, but their time and for some, their heart.

I have gone to another website, www.pof.com. There you can contact people for free and they don't seem to have the level of fraudsters that Christian Mingle has. I have already met two legitimate people from there.

I think that anyone that uses this website that markets itself to Christians (or any website with Christian focused marketing) that these sites, from the onset, are more vulnerable because Christians are generally trusting (maybe too trusting).

So don't waste your money on ChristianMingle.com. You can use secular websites (Match.com or pof.com) and just indicate that you are looking for a Christian.

In writing this, for the record I have not lost money to the scammers. Instead of I have been "defrauded" of too much time weeding through the fakes.

Also you might want to put in your profile you never loan money to anyone.. If a male has to borrow money from you, then they are not dating or marriage material.

Hope this helps someone.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
September 07, 2014

I agree with you as I have also met someone who I found was full of red flags. The initial letters he sent to my personal email were written with much intelligence. These wee long, loving, romantic letters which I responded to in a similar way. In one of my long letters, I mentioned that I was not ready to retire and am not financially stable to do so, when voila, his response was written later and was much shorter and not as intelligible as the former once.

We got to chat, and to talk on the phone. His voice was so muffled, I could not discern a word he says. And it sounded like a whole different person from my first initial love letters.

All the red flags prompted me to chech out "dating scams" and behold, those long letters he wrote were verbatim from a scam source.

Further research prompted me to report the matter to IC3, and had to report it to CM.

I did not lose money, but my emotion was tagged in so many different ways. I thought I met my ideal man. If there is anything I learned from this experience that I'd like to share is this: always trust your instincts. If it feels too good to be true, then let your mind analyze the details. Conflict within is a good indication that something is not right.

Your Comment
1 Review

Good

Reviewed By Karen Lienhop Patterson on May 31, 2014

Christian Mingle is just as good as any of the other sites out there. They cannot help the fact that half the people on the site are just looking for no strings sex, scammers or cons. So are half the people on any other site. The ultimate responsibility is on the PERSON THAT SIGNS UP!! Glean through the idiots to find the one solid gold person you can date. You're going to find the idiots on ANY SITE. At least Christian Mingle attempts to keep it clean and above board.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Don't waste your time or your money

Reviewed By Anonymous on October 30, 2013, Manitoba, Canada

Most of the emails you'll get won't be from people in your local area; they'll be from people hundreds and thousands of miles away from you, many asking you in their first email to you to contact them at their own personal email address on yahoo, hotmail or gmail.

Secondly, many people locally are either still married, are looking for no strings attached sex. You'd think that you'd find higher quality people on Christian Mingle, and many genuine Christians on Christian Mingle, as it's a Christian dating website, but that's not the case.

And, when you do contact Christian Mingle to tell them about scam artists on their website, and express your desire to discontinue your membership with them, they tell you that they're not responsible, and suggest to you that you need to do your own background searches on every person you meet online to keep yourself safe. Then they tell you to go read their success story pages.

Don't let the "Christian" part of Christian Mingle fool you. It's no different than Plenty of Fish. The only reason Christians are signing up on Christian Mingle is because of their PR. They put a ton of ads on TV and place them in several Christian publications to persuade you to sign up. Don't fall for it. Save your money.

When God wants you to meet someone at the right time, it'll happen. Offline. God is bigger than any dating website!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 13 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
guitarick@gmail.com
November 04, 2013

when I used Christian Mingle, I had already tried Match.com, and EHarmony. and low and behold, every time that had a "match" for me, it was someone I had already been "matched" with from another on-line dating site, same picture, same profile and it even said which site they were actually from. this led me to believe that: 1) Christian Mingle had no DATA BASE of their own; and 2) as such, they were actually the worst scammers of the bunch!! OF COURSE- all of them try desperately to cheat you out of your money by refusing to let you cancel your accounts, and the only way I was able to do so was by disputing the charges with my credit card company. unfortunately, most people do not realize that this option even exists, so end up getting screwed royally by these frauds, and cheats. of course, once the credit card company tells them that there will be no payments, and they will not make any of the prior payments either, how quickly the companies stop providing their "services" and stop even trying to bill you! this is but one of the many benefits that credit cards offer you that cash, nor paypal can touch.

Your Comment
Guest

scam artist

Reviewed By krystal bedgood on October 6, 2013, north augusta sc

I have three encounters with men who tried to scam me out of hundreds of dollars . watch out for the guy who's betraying to be widowed because his wife died who he called his angel stacey and he sends you all this poetry he will tell you he was born in maryland but grew up in italy .This is a bold faced lie the same man takes on different idenities using different pictures but the story is the same he has a daughter who is living with her grandma in another country he is not for real only someone using someone else's picture and he will take all your money and you wont even know who he really is . this guy went by the name alexander bill and then steve wolz and finally david adam all one man .thankfully god reveals all truth watch out ladies do not give these men any money he will ask you to send him the money but he will send it right back......WATCH OUT............

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Gods Match For You
November 29, 2013

Did you really think that this dating site was legit? Did you believe that the owners of the site really talk to god and he talks back to them? People are so gullible when it comes to god. What were you people thinkin' anyway?

Your Comment
Guest

Worst Experience

Reviewed By rtaylor on August 21, 2013, Denver

I was very disappointed in the manner that the men presented themselves on this site. They are deceitful. I had multiple instances that were something you would never except to happen when dealing with a so call Christian data base. One being dating a guy for one month and he is pressuring you to have sex then his ex girlfriend who isn’t even 21 and is 10 years younger than him show up 2 months pregnant. These are the type of men I came across multiple times. These are not good faith Christian men. Then dealing with the website itself was a night mare. I have done dating sites before so I made sure I had unchecked the automatic billing the day I signed up with Christian Mingle. 3 months later there is a charge on my account. I am still trying to get it removed from my bank account but neither Christian Mingle or the Bank is working with me. I didn’t have a email that was supposably sent to me but I combed through all my emails and it was never to be found so I have no proof. Christian Mingles answer to me is you get 3 months free but it is not free I PAID FOR IT because of a glitch on their website. This is how all sites make their money by screwing over their customers. I am biting the bullet and accepting that I had to forfeit $57.92 for a service that I wasn’t satisfied with in the first place and a service that I didn’t want as long as people are aware of the awful customer service that Christian Mingle has as well the prowling men on this site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 21 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
PsychosMingle
September 07, 2013

I know someone who was on ChristianMingle. I did not meet him from that site, and I dated him for a bit over 2 months. I am not scorned. I am simply sharing my experience with someone who was on that site, hopefully  to get them to understand some of the people that are on that site and how some hide behind a site with "Christian" in the name.He was charming, witty, put forth all of his positive attributes. He told me he had been single, was previously married, and he had children.  We met thru a site called bpm. We corresponded for a month prior to talking on the phone.  We agreed to meet and long story short, there was chemistry,  but I was reserved and wanted to take things slow. I asked him about his marriage and he was kind of evasive about it. Well he had been married and divorced 4 times. I still agreed to be open to continuing to get to know him, when I should've run the other way. After a month, he wanted me to move in with him, offered me a key, I told him that we needed to take things slow,  we weren't ready.  Now he did tell me he had been single and he mentioned all of the reasons why he broke off his last relationship.  The truth was he dumped her for me and I had no idea. He was controlling,  argumentative,  and pushy. He wanted me with him all the time. He would do drive bys past my mother's home to see if I was there,  he would blow up my phone. This was all after 2 months. He was a pathological liar. He had lied on the ex, her and I ended up talking and the picture that he painted of her being this nasty, disgusting,  dirty woman who only cared about herself was all lies. It I s how I found out that he dumped her to be with me. I had no idea at all. I'm not sure what was up with that exes self-esteem,  but she had shared with me that was the 2nd time he had dumped her and they had met from Christian mingle. She shared with me that she was still in love with him and that she told him not to have sex with me and he told her he wouldn't.  I laughed and told her that was a complete lie, because the man had offered me a key, introduced me to his mom (I didn't expect it, he sprung it on me), and explained to her that I no longer wanted to be with him.Their situation (the relationship with that last ex-girlfriend) violent, according to what the last ex-wife said.  Also he had a record of assault for beating that last ex-wife while she was 4 months pregnant.  I'm sharing all of this to say, don't get fooled into believing that just because a site has "Christian" in it, will mean that the people on there don't have a ton of issues, maybe more than the average dating site. Be careful,  be cautious, because you could meet a man like him, or a female with extremely low self-esteem. Good luck.

Mikey
September 13, 2013

ChristianMingle.com is not so Christian. I have spam from them many times a day. This is supposed to be illegal.
Dating someone on ChristianMingle.com is like them telling you to trust them because they are Christian. When you hear that, you need to run and fast.

R Curtis, Union Pier, Mi. USA
November 06, 2013

Re: Your Review of Christian Mingle is correct except that not all of the Guys are prowling. I tried to correspond with a pretty face and profile called God Values and God my lifeline. She sent me about nine smiles. CM obstructs E mails and said they did not receive my photo. I sent it twice. One of her smiles came at 4:52 AM so what do you think? Are they just trying to scam an older guy? (61). so I answered their Q and A page and told them about a real lifeline scenario, I hope they get the point; They're not very Christian minded at all.

R.Curtis POBox 117 Union Pier,mi 49129
November 06, 2013

R. Curtis, again, I objected to Christian Mingle's terms of use, and cancelled subscription, accordingly. Hope this helps out.

Sue Them
November 29, 2013

I think some of you people that have been scammed by CM should get together and file a class action lawsuit. Just the fact that they are misrepresenting themselves would be a good start. How would they know who is god's match for you. I'm not even a christian and I don't believe in god so I saw through them from the gitgo. May The Force Be With You.

Just how do you think they are supposed to keep the prowling men off the site?? Name specifics. Those are chances you take on ANY site. It's up to you to be smart.

Your Comment

Leave a Review