CDI College Reviews

CDI College
Based on 33 Reviews
Review It

About CDI College

CDI College is system of institutions located throughout the provinces of Canada, which claim to be educational and professional training facilities that prepare people for a future in the workplace.

CDI College is a for-profit university, which is a type of post-secondary learning institution that has been multiplying over the last few years. According to CDI College’s website, recent press releases promoting their school, and Wikipedia page, they offer a wide variety of diploma programs and have over twenty different locations that prospective students may attend.

When choosing an institution of higher learning, one of the important things you should look for is “accreditation,” the process by which a third party evaluates the educational program and makes sure that it meets pre-determined standards. In both the United States and Canada, this third party must be approved by the government's Educational Department.

Being a Canadian school, in order for CDI College to have accreditation, they must adhere to specific guidelines set out by each individual province where their campuses are located.

Unfortunately, as the attendance rates of for-profit universities have risen there have been reports  that some for-profit colleges and universities have mislead their prospective students into believing they are fully accredited.

The reality then turns out to be that only some of their diploma programs meet standards for accreditation while others do not, or sometimes the schools claim accreditation from a third party which is not sanctioned by the country's Educational Department.

Thankfully, it is possible to conduct your own research to determine whether or not a collegiate program is considered accredited. By going to the website of the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada, you can choose the province in which you are planning to attend school, and from there discover which schools and programs are accredited, and which are not.

Since many companies will not acknowledge or accept your degree or training certificate from an unaccredited program, making sure that you are attending an accredited program is necessary to protect the time, money, and effort that you invest into obtaining a college diploma.

If you have any experience with this school or their programs, please leave your CDI College reviews below.

Related Articles

33 ‘CDI College’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Extremely dissappointed and angry

Reviewed By Sarah Bond on March 1, 2015

I attended the CDI in Edmonton City Center back in 2013-2014, My teachers were all good and I enjoyed going, What has really made me think badly about it is their collection practices. I recently have been going through my school papers and noticed a letter from them saying I owed $606.66 as of Feb/14. I graduated in Mar/14 . So it took me 7 months to get a job in my field as most places don't recognize CDI as a good place to go so you actually have to prove yourself, well suddenly i am getting calls from a collection agency saying I owe the school $2300.00 for unpaid dues? funny.... how is it possible I owed $606.00. when i haven't been there surely interest is not that high. I also find it funny how the same program at a different college is also 10,000 cheaper half my classes at CDI were useless in my field I took the Medical office administration. Plus the amount of staff change over in the administration area was crazy multiple people were fired for reasons they would not say I am starting to think it was the mishandles off money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Excellent!! Not a bad thing to say about CDI

Reviewed By Megan Wadham on February 5, 2015, Langley, British Columbia

I have almost completed my program (HCA), just my practicum to go. The best decision I could have made was to go here.
I have finished at the top of my class and I owe it all to my teacher, Sanjay. His knowledge and way of teaching was encouraging and inspiring. He encouraged us to ask questions and was happy to answer them, even repeatedly. His numerous years as a nurse allowed us to understand the situations that we would encounter in our field and how to handle them.
The rest of the staff on campus were great. They were friendly and helpful. Any questions or concerns that I had were dealt with immediately.
I would recommend CDI to anyone and everyone!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

hca from cdi surrey campus donna

Reviewed By Donna Collins on February 5, 2015, Surrey, British Columbia

I had a amazing experience I worked hard and had awesome support from my teachers and college was very helpful in the application and with student loan process. This college has made it possible for me to have a career and instructors helped us and taught us everything to help us be successful in the field. I'm glad I choose CDI college and I would recommend anyone who wants go back to school to come to this college.they also teach you one course at a time so the pace is good. I want to thank Sanjay HCA instructor for helping me believe in my self and for being a great instructor and giving me all the skills I need for this Health care assistant career.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

CDI helped me change my life....And give me a lifelong career

Reviewed By Nicole Larose on February 5, 2015, New Westminster, British Columbia

From the moment I came into CDI surrey campus I felt excited to learn and felt supported to do so. Sanjay was my instructor for the Health Care Assistant Program and he was extremely thorough and structured throughout the duration of the program. He pushed for excellence and the theory and practical lessons were taught in a way that was educational and fun. I would like to thank Sanjay for believing in my potential before I knew I had it and the CDI staff for making it easy to enrol in the program. I am considering going into the PN program in the next five years and I will return to CDI for this.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Why I'm thrilled with my Surrey CDI physiotherapist / occupational assistant experience...

Reviewed By Brent Ellis on January 22, 2015

My college experience at Surrey CDI has been a positive one. I am happy that I received a comprehensive, affordable, quality education. My teachers kept the learning curve challenging, fun and memorable, and the skills practical. I found all of CDI's instructors to be capable, helpful, professional, and had real world, hands on experience in the areas that they were teaching. My classmates made learning awesome. I found the administrative staff friendly and very capable in their various capacities. I now have a rewarding job as an occupational therapist assistant because CDI college gave me the skills that my employer was looking for. Thanks CDI! I highly recommend CDI to anyone who values a quality education.

Brent Ellis. OTA

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Dennis Lero Paredes
January 30, 2015

Hi Brent, I am also looking to get into a PTA/OTA program soon. However, I am not familiar with the PTA / OTA program at CDI Surrey. Should I hold out until I can get into the one at Vancouver Community College or Capilano University? Your advice would be much appreciated.

January 30, 2015

Hey Dennis, all three are worth considering, but Surrey CDI sure met my expectations for excellence.

For you, perhaps factor in the cost of commuting, how much competition there is for available seats in each program, what your current schedule is and the start date of a particular program, how much available time will you have to study, will you have to work full time and attend school full time, will you have time to do any volunteer work?

Everyone's situation is a bit different. I originally checked out Cap U but missed the enrolment date. It would have been a longer cummute and the bridge toll is there too. CDI was a good fit for me in every way. The CDI instructors were awesome. Surrey CDI got me where I wanted to be....

No matter where you go, be sure and invest enough time in studying and remember to volunteer somewhere that relates to your future line of work as an OTA / PTA. Good luck!

Your Comment
1 Review

just terrible

Reviewed By George on January 21, 2015

If you are seriously thinking about it, I urge you to read this, though it may be long.

1 star because I couldn't rate it any lower. This is pertaining to the Richmond, British Columbia campus.

I was going through some stuff in my life and started to research various options. I have been wanting to enter a trade for a while and I came across their Construction Electrician Foundations course. I had a couple of meetings with their advisers, Artika and later Mae. Honestly, they were nice and seemed helpful, though I'm sure they were just trying to sell me the program and get on with it. Well they succeeded because I signed up for it. I was actually excited for it.

I should have read all their reviews before hand because from the moment I signed up and paid the $250 application fee (there are top tier universities with lower application fees), things started to be a hassle.

First thing was payment. I ended up having to give them $6,077 (50% of tuition) in cash because they would not accept my credit card and cheques took weeks to clear through them. That was fine though, it got done.

From then on, it took me making a call every day and about a weeks time to get a letter of enrollment and proof that I had actually been signed up for the program, something I assumed to be instant after payment.

I signed up around November 15th, 2014, for a course starting on January 19th, 2015. On January 15th I received a text message from Mae (the adviser) letting me know that the program was delayed until January 26th. Not a big deal I thought. Two days later, I get another text message almost congratulating me because they have decided to take off $2,000 from our class' tuition. Why? Well because they program would not only be delayed another week until February 2nd, but that the times would be changed from the original 1-6 PM to 5-10 PM.

Two days before my program was supposed to start I get a text message telling me that all the scheduling and planning that I've prepared for the next 7 months of my life are now irrelevant, but I get $2,000 for 'my troubles'.

Turns out those times wouldn't work. Long story short, they seemed to be trying to accommodate me (by now I've actually gone in to sit down with them because I found the whole texting a bit unprofessional) but to no avail. I ended up deciding to drop out of the program after they agreed to refund my $6,077 (everything I paid minus the $250 application fee, which at the time I was not willing to argue with these people over.)

As soon as I get there to sign my "cancellation" papers I was smart enough to ask about my refund. I told them I would not sign anything until I got my money back, since the letter they tried to get me to sign was me acknowledging that I had received my refund. They told me it would be about 4 weeks to get my refund. I was not having it so I sat down with the finances guy, Raymond, and had him call the headquarters (in Toronto I believe) and expedite the process. I gave him until Friday under threat of making this a legal matter. We'll see how that goes.

15 minutes after I left I get a call from a lady whom I never had the 'pleasure' of meeting. She tells me that she will be calling the Canadian immigration services to let them know I would not be attending and that I would lose my visas. To me it sounded like a threat, so I told her she could do whatever she wanted, once I get my refund. Turns out I no longer require a Visa to begin with so it didn't bother me, but it is something to watch out for from these people for any international that might sadly come across this college.

TL:DR - CID sucks, they are a hassle to deal with and they are everything but professional. Wish I had read these reviews before I made my choice, now I'm dealing with the consequences. STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

George

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 22, 2015

I would value advice from students who actually attended the school, and not just from someone who had admission difficulties and apparently never even set foot in a class at CDI.... Just saying.....

Your Comment
1 Review

Suck

Reviewed By sharon on November 2, 2014

This school has received a full federal loan for a 10 month program my daughter dropped out of after 2 months.They dont return calls, they dont help and they should lose their accreditation from the gov't!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

The state of hypocrisy

Reviewed By MoneyStold on July 26, 2014

The do care more about the staff than the students. Everything's is lead by their image and see by yourself how perfect CDI College pretend to be in their phony students comments, "At CDI my instructor help me a lot and took a great deal of time for me, my classroom mate were so funny and it was great to be at CDI College" etc, etc, etc.

The fact is that they do seems to care as long as you pay them, but once the money is in the bank, some of the peoples are out of there. This is a company lead by money. They pretend to be the ones who are right while the student are always wrong as long as they say what they want hear. .

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

HELP ME PLEASE

Reviewed By cydney on July 9, 2014

I just enrolled in the pharmacy assistant program for sept at the Edmonton campus. After reading all of these reviews I am very very scared. The school called me to tell me that my loan was approved. Does anyone know if it is too late for me to back out? I unfortunately did sign my enrollment papers :( Thanks

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
July 16, 2014

Hi my wife is in the same situation, were you able to find out if we can still back out of the loan and/or enrollment? please let me know thanks

Your Comment
1 Review

I'm worried!

Reviewed By aworriedwife on February 26, 2014

My husband started the Networking/Systems program over a week ago. From what he's told me, his 4 hours of class time per day consists of him self-teaching while the instructor teaches students for a slightly different program. I was very suspicious of the whole $20,000 tuition from the start (a 1 year college diploma at a public college costs way less than even half of that!) and after reading the reviews on here, I am still feeling uneasy. I have been to two different public colleges in the past 12 years and have found that the curriculum/value of what I learned was high quality. From what I understand from his experiences so far, the first course is all about the basics of Windows 7 and how to navigate the Windows program. I don't know about you all, but I knew the basics of Windows programs since I was very young. I just feel that what he will be taught is not worth the money. The reps seemed to have brainwashed my husband into thinking that he'll get a great job after graduation and that if he keeps his marks high, he can qualify for part of tuition reimbursed in the form of an award or bursary. has anyone on here actually got money back from doing well in any programs at CDI? Please reply.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 10, 2014

As a former CDI Instructor I can verify that much of the "teaching" in the Networking and Computer courses is self-Tuaght with instructors mostly marking papers and occasionally helping he students. YOu can get the same results by self study and writing industry certification exams would hold more clout then a CDI degree.

Your Comment
Guest

I wish I had found this site first! CDI ripped me off!

Reviewed By Paige on November 21, 2013, Ajax, ON

I began investigating the addiction/community service worker course at CDI in Ajax,decided to put it off for a while and Geoffrey the salesman from said "college" pursued me with many promises of future employment opportunities. I had explained to him several times that I wanted to work in a treatment centre and be an addictions worker, he reassured me as did the placement officer that my diploma would get me the job I wanted. Thank God I started looking for placement opportunities after only 1 month. I called every drug/ alcohol treatment centre across Toronto and not ONE of them will recognize this diploma... Please Please take my advise and speak with the companies that you want to work for first before giving CDI any of your $
Good luck , oh and btw my "teacher" is an underemployed social worker who has absolutely no knowledge regarding drug addiction , relied on students for information , and admitted to taking this job as he couldn't find any other!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
May 02, 2014

CDI College is one of those inferior instituations passing itself off as a REAL SCHOOL/ The good instructors are usually fired, inferior instructors are hired at a lower pay rate.....and no one seems to be the wiser.

TAKE MY WORD FOR IT......AVOID CDI COLLEGE...ESPECIALLY THE SCARBOROUGH CAMPUS...IT IS A COMPLETE JOKE.

\HOW DO I KNOW....35 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE IN THE PRIVATE CAREER COLLEGE BUSINESS.

Your Comment
Guest

Knowledgeable Student Pissed Off

Reviewed By Alexander on November 14, 2013, Victoria, B.C.

I've been a full-time student for six years, and graduated into the media/communications field, which unfortunately has little job security and a lot of transition. I'm more interested in maintaining full-time, steady employment, so enrolled at CDI to get a one-off piece of paper to help get my foot in the door with employers like real estate companies, government agencies, and the like.

After signing up and paying the 15% (thanks student loans) I'm sitting in a classroom with a teacher (professor is far too generous a term) that pronounces "indictable" as in-dick-table, not "in-dite-able". Tip of the iceberg. She walks in 5-10 minutes late for class consistently (if this was a regular occurance in "the real world" the person being paid to show up would be canned). We are failed when we can't take dictation, even though she doesn't speak English at all well, it's not a native language for her (ordinarily I find nothing wrong with a difficulty with ESL challenges, but in a course where accuracy and understanding are paramount, and the ENTIRE CLASS fails for such a difficulty , it's inexcusable.

I voiced these concerns and was basically told by the administration tough luck, despite well-reasoned arguments, and received a thinly veiled accusation of discrimination.

I'm withdrawing this afternoon, and urge people thinking of attending CDI in Victoria, B.C., to instead go to Camosun College if they offer a similar program (which they will). My years at that college were the best in my life, and they had the best teachers one could ask for.

I'm lucky because I have fall-back employment and contracts which I love. I feel for the 18 and 19-year old classmates with little to no professional work experience that wander into a law office pronouncing it "in-dick-table." They don't stand a chance.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Innocent Bystander
November 19, 2013

"in-dick-table."

Yikes.

I was actually thinking about attending CDI as I am looking to switch gears career wise, but holy shit, am I glad I did some research about this place.

I live in Victoria, so thanks for the honesty about the Victoria CDI "campus".

November 14, 2014

Do enroll at Camosun! I almost made the mistake of getting into CDI, but did some research and saw that it is a massive scam. Since they wanted 20K for a diploma program or some other nonsense, I realized I could earn a bachelors at that price. Glad I sidestepped that landmine.

Your Comment
Guest

It depends on what program you take

Reviewed By Krish on November 12, 2013

At CDI I think it depends on what program you take.
I took up a program in Cardiology Technology,completed the program
Did the board exams and I now work for a hospital in Ontario.
As they promised I didn't have to pay the whole loan.
I am happy that I took up a career with CDI.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

CDI LOL

Reviewed By Math on November 3, 2013, RED DEER

THE CDI COLLEGE IN EDMONTON IS A SCAM PLS DONT ATTEND

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

WORST SCHOOL INN CANADA (BEWARE OF IT)

Reviewed By Sweety on October 26, 2013, Calgary, Alberta

I was lured to this school with a promise of job placement.....nothing they
said was true...I finished the school for some years now but no job, I was heart broken to see CDI college graduates doing survival jobs to make ends meet after paying so much in school to get a diploma that worth nothing....
How can a developed country like Canada allow this kind of scam called school to operate in Canada, rubbing meanly immigrants their hard earned money and subjecting them to student loan they had to buy through their nose?

Its so sad!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Kirsten
February 03, 2014

Please don't attend this school. I took the medical office admin. program at CDI city centre in Calgary. The admissions rep (really just a sales rep) made great promises about how at least 75% of students find employment after graduation, and about all the services the school provides after graduation. I had read the bad reviews before going into my admissions interview, and was assured by the admissions rep that most of the bad reviews were written by students who hadn't put the work in, had bad attendance, etc etc. I have to admit, he was good at his job, I never questioned his reasoning.

I enjoyed the program, enjoyed the instructors, and had a good time. After my course work was finished, all of the promises that had been made about my practicum placement at a hospital turned out to be untrue. I was left high and dry and sat at home for two months waiting to get my practicum. All emlpoyers I approached said they didn't want to take on a student from CDI. Finally, I ended up doing a practicum with a (crooked) doctor that was friends with a staff member at CDI. I graduated with honors, multiple awards of academic excellence, and a perfect attendance award. When I tried to pick up my diploma, and CPR ceritificate I was jerked around, it took almost a month get them, and I had to physically go down to the school and demand them. When I got there, I found out that the education mananger, the campus director, an employment service rep and a handful of instructors and other admin. staff had been let go, and thats why I hadn't been able to get my diploma and other paperwork. I was promised that I would hear from employment service staff regularly as they were going to help me find a job. To date, I have gotten exactly one phone call and one email from someone, all of my phone calls and emails have gone unanswered.

So, now my HUGE student loan (that CDI applied for on my behalf) has entered repayment. My loan is just shy of 21,000 dollars, I have been told by multiple employers that if I were to go get the same diploma from SAIT or bow valley, they would gladly hire me, but they are very leary of hiring CDI graduates.

Please don't assume the bad reviews are from lazy, slacker students. I went to class every single day, I never failed an exam or assignment. I worked extremely hard and graduated with an over-all average of 94%. CDI does not give a crap about you. They want your money, and they will not help you after graduation.

January 22, 2015

The college does not guarantee anyone a job. They were helpful with my practicun placement, and gave me the skills employers were looking for. I got a job that fits my CDI traning. The school is reputable. They are reasonable. Why would one expect CDI to babysit a student while they are out on their own competing in the job market? Try having realistic expectations when you start your job search. Remember volunteer work in your field helps you gain experience, and it looks real good on your resume.

Your Comment
Guest

What a bloody waste of time, energy and most of all money!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed By Another sucker on October 17, 2013, Edmonton, AB

Hello,

I attended CDI college west (WHAT A JOKE). I was told that if I kept good grades half of my student loan would be forgiven...LIE!...None of the teachers are certified, you cant get a quality job after graduation. You probably have a better chance of getting a career with a diploma from the school of hard knocks. Before anyone jumps on this post about applying yourself and all the bull, please know that I graduated with full honors! Do not go to this school go to NAIT, Grant MacEwan or the U of A. Don't be another sucker like me!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

CDI is amazing

Reviewed By mike on October 1, 2013, calgary alberta

Ok all of you are complaining cause you guys are close minded people. I graduated two years ago in calgary and was able to to find a job working at the head office of scotiabank. Maybe if u worked hard enough you would find a job.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Dont go there

Reviewed By David on September 30, 2013, Quebec city

sorry my first language is french so ill do my best !!!!

im studying in informatic accounting

Dont go to cdi college evrybody who attempt to the class will PASS !!!!! im on facebook evryday.. i dont listen ... and i pass

to push my luck further i have wrote a big wtf in a "bilan" wich is like the summary of some accountive s***t , in my final exam !! and i tstill got 72% in my examen !!!

they never clean up the school i have put on the ground purposly chip crumps a month ago and they are still there !!!!

the classes temperature is always upper then 28 degree

the teacher are nice but they make evry body pass

all your module will be evaluate like this

30% first exam
25 team project
40% final exam
5% participation

u will need more then 50% AT URE FINAL EXAM and 60% total to pass ure module but ....

guess what ..(again we did it on purpose to test)

i had 14/30 in my first exam 46%
i had 21/40 in my final exam 51.2%

i did nothing in the team work and my partner did nothing too !!!

we had 23/25 ... 92%

and since i show up in most of my class they gave me 4/5

so 14+21+23+4=62% !!! i pass

dont go to cdi coll├Ęge you will just waste 11 800 $ and you will not have a good job at the end .... you will probably work at h&r block as a consoller !!! 14-16$ an hour ....

dont go to cdi college !!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Great education and experience

Reviewed By DH on August 31, 2013, Edmonton

I attended CDI and loved the experience. Part of graduating is taking ones own initiative - pound the payment harder than a Hooker and you'll get a.

Attitude is everything. Think it sucks and it will suck. Work hard at being a success and you'll be one.

But yeah - CDI was a great experience.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

BULLSHI$

Reviewed By FU$% CDI Right Up there AS%!!! on August 19, 2013, missisaugga

I hope someone shuts this school down!! un qualified teachers!! shitty placements!! and lots of unhappy students!! its a joke! Rodney the maneger at the cdi college campus is allways on vacation they say!! but really its because he is in court because everyone wants to take them to court to get there money back!! stay away from these low life money hungry leaches! theres no education going on there!! just people who lie n decete....i hope the all die from rectile bleeding!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review