Carleton Sheets Reviews

Carleton Sheets
Based on 19 Reviews
Review It

About Carleton Sheets

Carleton Sheets has grown to be a popular late night infomercial Guru. His investment strategies focus on no money down real estate, and for the past 20 years he has claimed that he can teach anyone how to buy and sell property with this method.

He offers his courses on the web and on TV and has sold millions of copies.  His product line features investment information on buying foreclosed porperties, property management, and general real esstate investment.

Related Articles

19 ‘Carleton Sheets’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
Guest

Great Information

Reviewed By Carmen Muniz on March 25, 2013, Vineland, NJ

The course will work for those who know how to use.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Earnestine C on August 24, 2012, Texas

I believe the reviews that place him on a pedestal are fakes. Carlton Sheets should be on American Greed. Money is the motivating factor. Do you think he started this to help you (Step into Reality) Everybody you meet want something from you.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Truth
March 03, 2013

The guy is a front man for the PEI in which lies and defrauds the general public daily. The PRES is the ex boss from fingerhut, the home of junk sold on payments.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Bill Bell on March 18, 2012, REVERE MASS

I bought Carletons course several years ago. I have had many flips where I made money. Made $50,000 on a $100 deposit once.He tells the truth but it is not as easy as he claims. But I have done some great deals

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By sal on August 31, 2011, massachusetts

My father who is a teacher of a high school here in Mass. Bought this product ages ago and swears by it and also recommends it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By kyawpaine on July 7, 2011, New York

If anybody has the Confidential Conversation CD #7 Multi-unit properties"" I would like to listen to this disk. If anybody out there can help me with this disk i would be very grateful.I had this disk, but it is damaged. The disk will not play on my CD player. Thank you for the help."

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Mike
March 03, 2013

SCAM GALORE AND AROUND NO MORE !

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By imps4343 on March 8, 2011, NY

Well , purchased this course in the late 1990's, before the market fell also. First of all i live in the state of NY, not FL. NOOOOO one wanted to give me a seller finished deal. First of all u had the broker. Most properties had one. They would advise the home owner not to do it. Then u had the lawyers, dont know about FL, but in Ny u have to hire an attorney. Most sellers need the money to buy something else. I'm shocked carlton has not been shut down by the feds.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Dave Taylor on January 8, 2011, Florida

I purchased Sheets course in 2001, applied some of his principles till present (2011). I also used some of my own common sense which enable me to apply certain strategies that worked for my market, and as years progressed had to adjust strategies in the ever changing market conditions. I have never lost money on a real estate. But I

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Kevin Medved on November 6, 2010, Atlanta

My wife and I bought Carlton's course because we wanted to invest in real estate. We watched the 8 hour tape two hours a night for 4 days. That Sunday morning we went through the paper, and found an ad that looked like the ones Carlton said to look for. We called, and the seller had three properties for sale. We got in the car and looked at them. We came back home, called the seller, and made an offer on two of the three. He agreed, and we used Carlton's contract to write it up and faxed it to the seller. He faxed it back, signed. So, within a week of receiving the course, we got two properties under contract, no money down. We closed within a month. We fixed them up and had them rented at a positive cash flow within a month of closing.

Was it hard work? Yes. Was it worth it? Yes. Was the Course worth it? Absolutely.

Obviously, we did not spend 30 days
eading and looking over all the materials"". We watched one tape, actually we skipped over the motivation chapters... we were already motivated, and got the idea of what to do, and then, just did it.

Let me repeat, within one week of receiving the course, my wife and I got two properties under contract no money down, using Carlton's system.

A couple of months later, we got two triplexes under contract, no money down.

Since that time, we've probably purchased 30 houses. Don't say it can't be done."

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Real Estate Investor
April 16, 2013

I have been a RE Investor for 11 years, and those opportunities you referenced must be special to your area, because everywhere I have been, and I have traveled extensively, your comments ring as pure tripe. You might get some person who is down on their luck and can't unload an overpriced structure on the general public to go for your creative financing, but who wants an overpriced house that can't be sold? I have bought and looked over Mr. Sheets entire program. It is manure.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Christian on October 12, 2010, New York

It's the typical scenario. Not everyone is able to run their own business. Plain and simple. This is a course that teaches techniques and then those techniques need to be USED in real life. The people who are being targeted on late night TV are not only undereducated but they only know what's like to work for someone else. They do not have the discipline or the depth of understanding to make a deal or find a deal. The same laziness that got them in the rut they are in now is what will cause them to fail with this. You still have to WORK HARD. Over 80% of the people who purchase this program never even read it. That's the problem. People think they are going to get rich by just paying $9.95 for something they saw on TV. You have to work 100 times harder when working for yourself. The truth is that getting some 9-5 job is the EASY way in america. Carlton should be more selective about who buys his course but of course if he did that he would not make nearly as much money. It's the ignorant lazy excuse makers who label something a scam because they can't make any money because they don't DO anything.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Carroll
December 27, 2012

Well put. Not everyone is an entrepreneur, and not everyone is willing to put the blood, sweat and tears into carrying a plan to fruition. Even if you bought the course and didn't make any money, you have to admit that theoretically it is possible to earn a really decent living at this. Look at D. Trump. he does the same stuff and wins consistently.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By enigman on August 23, 2010, somewhere

of course you can buy houses with no money down when the economy is booming and there are no rules! but thats ancient history now, and who"" is going to pay a premium for real estate now that it drops a few percent a month? this ""course"" is now ""irrelevant"" and in fact always was."

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Carroll
December 27, 2012

Yes, but there are still people who are don't wanters-probably more than in boom times. Therefore, if you do the work, you can still make a profit. Carleton's principles don't just work during a boom.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Terrie on August 22, 2010, New Jersey

I purchased this course in 1996 after watching the infomercial for about four years. Read all the material and I was still lost. I tried to break it down piece by piece and I was not having any success. Flash foward to 2006--ten years later. I ordered the course again. Big mistake!!! First of all, 30mdays is not enough time to learn that this system does not work. The second time I ordered the course, I began receiving phone calls from coaches to wanting me to enroll in courses which would cost me at least $2,000 or $3,000. Why would I invest this much money if the $300.00 infomercial course did not work. What really works is Carleton Sheets being able to grab your attention late at night when you are worried about finances and he knows that anyone that is having bad financial problems will follow any mirage in the desert. Don't waste your money. You will make more money selling apples on the street than you will from this course.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Real Estate Investor
April 16, 2013

If you want to get involved in genuine Real Estate deals become a REALTOR. You earn commission, which is actually a price drop on every purchase. Take Mike Ferry's course (which is a proven commodity), put in the long hours and do your farming. You will start off slow, but as time goes along you will get better and better at it. That's when you start pulling down big money and cashing 40K checks twice a month sometimes. If RE Investing was easy, everyone would be doing it. It takes knowledge, experience, an iron will, a little ruthlessness and a cold attitude to make it big in RE. Carleton Sheets provides none of that and he is just a get rich quick gimmick.

A "REAL" Estate Investor
May 09, 2013

I would dispute this approach for the simple reason that if it were THAT easy, most Realtors(TM) would also be real estate investors...and 99% of them aren't. You build far more wealth by ownership than you would simply through doing transactions, which is how Realtors(TM) get paid.

Over the last two decades, both on the financing side and the investing side, I still know of very, very few Realtors(TM) that are property investors, speculators or traders. Judging by the average commissions earned by Realtors(TM) per year, it doesn't make sense for them NOT to earn more $$$ by venturing into real estate itself.

As far as Sheets is concerned, I would tell anyone to buy his courses at the same place I found them...steeply discounted on eBay or, better yet, in second hand stores in the book section. His mentoring course I got for free from a colleague who was fed up with no results. The market has a way of discounting crap that no intrinsic worth in a hurry, which is why the materials produced by the LeGrands, Graziosis, Montelongos and Kiyosakis end up in a discount store.

Each "guru" like Sheets may have a few good ideas, but most of their strategies are fruitless at best. Still, there are plenty of real estate books out there by competent investors that end up at discount stores, and I make it a point to read every one of them. You cannot be penalized for having too much knowledge, only the lack of will to take risk (which, unfortunately, is hammered into people in academia and the so-called Low Information Voters who have no ambition and want the government to take care of them).

My success in real estate has not been a get rich quick one like so many of the gurus would want you to believe. They, like their broker brethren (real estate, stocks, what have you) are tinged with a upside bias (they don't know what a bear market means and cannot function in that mindset) so they cannot comprehend the idea of cash flow and the importance of reducing debt rather than overleveraging it. I purchased properties strictly as an additional long term income producing asset, and NOT with appreciation or flips in mind. That's probably why I am weathering the 2006-14 bear market so well.

Real estate investing is NOT for everyone, and a No Money Down strategy is rarely the best option, particularly if you are conservative and averse to having to potentially feed a negative cash flow scenario for a number of years. In a deleveraging economic environment, you cannot expect rents to increase so you should not expect inflation to rescue you like Sheets and the other gurus seem to believe.

m.g.m not a desk hugger
September 26, 2013

WOW!! you should pat yourself on the back more often...

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Robert Phillips on July 22, 2009, Harrisburg

I even saw the tv at night when he was on I thought he was 4 real but in the long run hes fake I bought the same program and plus went on to the coaching program to better myself and career I only learned about reo but other then that the coaching I paid $2000 for it which I sold my new car for the $2000 because I thought I could get my money back from real estate not so to me yes he is fake he should give everyone who didn't like it and didn't grow from it there money back but I think he is too much in love with himself to do that thank you everyone and god bless

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Bob Davis on May 18, 2009, Liberal Kansas

I bought this course years ago 30 day money back free no exceptions.......However after 30 days my money was not refunded and when I called to inquire why it had not I was told the never received the return....I had called and gotten the return number and everything but I did not require someone to sign when returned and that gave the Carlton Cheats Company an out....OK so you got to cheat me out of $300.00 I did learn something from this Carlton Cheats anyone he can that is how he makes his money!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Nick Bert on April 21, 2009, Irrelevant

I just felt morally obligated to speak up here. My dad bought his course when I was 18, and I looked through it. I then purchased my first home with no money down, and even received $1000 cash back at closing that I used to buy new carpet before we moved in.

Before you listen to these naysayers please realize that what they are saying is that THEY couldn’t do it. It does not mean you can’t.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Real Estate Investor
April 16, 2013

Sure you can do that, but it is with FHA/RECD financing. It has nothing to do with Carleton Sheets. Five years ago, you could get zero down financing if you could fog up a mirror. Those days are GONE ! If you paid your closing costs, then you sure didn't buy a house with nothing down, unless you obtained a promissary note from the owner with owner financing.. A $1000.00 carpet allowance doesn't cut it.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Aaron on April 4, 2009, California

Tyrone, Baltimore....your posting is stupid, who doesn't know about unsecured credit cards to rebuild your flow of cash, credit. This is common knowledge! Come again...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By riso, a on December 19, 2008, west palm beach

I purchased Carleton's program back in 1994 and have purchased 4 houses by using his
o money down"" methods. Although the course is very basic, there are some good ideas on building credit; various types of offers and different types of loan structuring. It sure has worked for us. We started with no credit and one of us had a bankruptcy. We now have over $260,000 of CCard lines in addition to the home purchases. It took some effort, but it worked."

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Real Estate Investor
April 16, 2013

I bet you don't have 260K in credit cards available to you now. I'll go on a limb and say that you have probably been foreclosed on and have probably filed Bankruptcy again.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Yetta Bell on August 19, 2008, Los Angeles

I have heard about your realestate marketing program for the longest of times and I would like to advertise for you so other people can hear about it. My fabulous paper is called The Los Angeles City Beat and it circulates throughout a mighty big area. Our readers are 18-46 and these are the people you want to get interested in your program. Many of our readers are looking for the non traditional ways of making money and or looking to make some extra money and they will call you for further information and investments in your program(buying th program, tapes, lecters etc...) We have lots of cost effective ways of advertising both in our paper and on the internet. For an Black and white ad like the one you have it would only cost you $1200 a week. that is a great bargain. If you wanted to do 1/2, it would be $600 and $250 for a quarter page ad. We also have specials for out Back Beat color page on which you can place a business card or a 6-9 liner ad. Color is free on the Back Beat page and the business card page is $61 a week and the large liner ad is $55 a week. So depending on what you want to do, we can make the ad very cost effective. My number is 323-938-1700 ext 217. Give me a call back.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By V. OLIVER on March 19, 2008, GRAND BAY, AL.

I spent three thousand dollars on his course four years ago. It took about four days to realize that the course was anything but No Money Down. The staff for Carlton began asking me about credit cards, savings, lines of credit and even if there are relatives or friends you can borrow money from to float a No Money Down"" buy. Along with the materials and the phone interviews, it gelled that there is no ""No Money Down"" strategy, it just appears that way. I purchased this course when I lived in Florida well before the market fell. When you factor servicing the debt, monthly insurance (before the insurance companies saw their oportunity to screw the hell out of the home owners after Katrina), property taxes and maintenance cost, there is no way to buy a positive cash flow house. Real estate had gone through the roof, but Carlton glosses over that and says that if you're not making a profit from the start, you don't know what you are doing. I grew up in Florida and remember the cost of real estate in the Seventies, when Carlton began his real estate investing. You could make a positive cash flow from properties then, but in 2004, no way. Real estate increased in value from the Seventies ten fold; incomes increased five fold. Florida is the land of low paying jobs; always has been and always will be I suppose. In short- do not throw your money away and if you must, send it to me."

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Tyrone on March 4, 2008, Baltimore

Actually Carleton Sheet's program does work. I bought his course back in 95 and I still use the same techniques to this day. Back then I had bad credit too. It's pretty easy to build a credit line if you think createive like he said. For example, I took $5,000 out on a HELOC, I used the money to credit a credit line on a secure creidt card. Once I was granted the $5,000 credit line, I payed on time for one year. The credit card company unsecured my money and returned to to me for paying on time. So instead of paying of my HELOC, I repeated the process and applied for another secured credit card and got another $5,000 credit card line. I now have now have 5 credit cards unsecured with a $60,000 limit. I use my credit lines as bridge financing on Hard Money when I need to act quick on a property. Carletons's course has always been meant to be basic. Only experience and creativity will fill in the rest.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review