Bill Poulos Reviews

About Bill Poulos

Bill Poulos of ProfitsRun.com is an experienced trader and investment educator. As a retired automotive executive, who holds a bachelor’s degree in Industrial Engineering and a Master’s degree in Business Administration with a major in Finance, he’s relied on his background to help build his own company and help thousands of traders.

What separates Bill Poulos from most other 'how-to gurus' is that he began as a trader and has learned the hard lessons himself, developing the discipline necessary to be profitable on a sustained basis.  In his 30+ years of trading experience, Bill has developed dozens of trading systems and methods. He prides himself on providing honest and realistic trading education, and is known for the continuous support and follow-up he offers his students.

The first advice Bill provides is that anyone who's not well educated concerning stocks, options, or Forex should not even think about trading them. It all begins with education. One of the best things that Bill does for his students is offer a slew of free trading materials to build their educational foundation.

Related Articles

37 ‘Bill Poulos’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
1 Review

Watch the videos, don't buy the product

Reviewed By Graham on March 1, 2015

I got involved with Poulos years ago with Forex Nitty-gritty. I was just starting in forex so it was useful for me and affordable. Later bought Portfolio Prophet which spits out recommended trades in ETFs. I couldn't make it turn a profit but let it run past the 60 days so no re-fund. So when I bought Market Mastery I knew what to do - I recorded every trade it recommended for 60 days and, guess what, complete dead loss, even without broker commissions. Also, his software was claiming better results than you could actually get - sell at the open at the mid-price after a gap? Forget it! The re-fund procedure however was painless - cost me a bit in postage and exchange rates but otherwise got my money back.

I often go and watch his latest pitches just in case there's something there which I can use in my own trading, but it's easy to spot downright lies - example trades which don't meet his trading rules. Somehow, my questions about those never get published in the comments. Then he's always batting on about being an independent trader and dissing robots, then selling systems which have become more and more automated over the years and charging you to renew it annually. Independent??

No, Bill sounds the part and produces good-looking videos and software but it's all basically snake-oil. It's a shame other traders that I've more respect for (eg Steve Bigalow) seem to promote him.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Scam, scam and more scam

Reviewed By Wes on February 17, 2015

Really need to have this place shut down by the FTC. It is the purest scam, they overcharge you and then you can forget getting it back. The receipt does not exist because they want no record of what you bought or how much you paid for it. There is no customer service for the customer, only there to defend the service. Horrible is the best description for this place. STAY AWAY, DO NOT DO IT! You have been warned!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

Honest and does what he says

Reviewed By Ezio Asquini on June 25, 2014

My experience with Bill Poulos and Profits Run has been nothing but positive.

I've tried most of Bill's programs and only asked for a refund on one because I didn't have time to use it. He honored my refund request promptly.

I like Bill because he is honest in his teachings. Sure, his marketing is strong but he always tells the truth and says upfront you will not win every trade. He also tries to discourage you from trading if you don't have the money. That's important.

Trading is risky and I like that Bill focuses on limiting risk with all his programs.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
1 Review

That was long & boring

Reviewed By Curls on March 15, 2014

I clicked a link to his website to view his video. Predictably it has no fastforward, pause, or pictures. It's just the words streaming by as he reads -- which he could simply put into a document, you could skip in a few seconds!

So finally he gives 5 secrets of why people lose money. To make money trading (not investing):
1) Use precision pinpoint trades, not trades over weeks or months.
2) You can short the market too. It's not riskier than being long. (Which isn't true -- since over long time periods the market goes up, though a particular company made go to zero. But shorting isn't as risky as people think.)
3) Ignore the gurus.
4) Spend 20 mins a day placing your trades. No need to sit and watch the ticks go by.

That's it. Well, maybe I missed something because I kept muting it and doing other things. I'd unmute every few seconds to see if he'd stop talking about all the irrelevant sales pitches about spending time with family, and how disappointing it is to lose when trading...along enough to say something useful.

So if you were wondering... now you know and don't have to watch the video. I'm certainly not buying something from someone who at the onset has a product so weak he has to waste tons of my time selling to me, instead of getting to the point and having the valuable product do the selling for him.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Tony In Ind
December 19, 2014

"Curls!" You're an idiot! I'm Not telling everyone else this because it's obvious to anyone reading your review. I'm just telling you. You should really be careful about expressing yourself to large groups of people in the future. No one knows who you are here but you probably have a big mouth in person too, and it's really annoying to the rest of the world to see a person who is so stupid, attempt to take a position of knowledge about something they know nothing about.

December 22, 2014

Tony - Your post makes no sense. You claim I'm this or that... yet NO place do you add ANYTHING to make sense out of that statement. For instance, WHAT offended you here? All knowledge I've gained from your post is, lol, that you are good at stringing together insulting phrases without including an ounce of actual thought or content.

You really don't realize how rude and idiotic you come through as? Oh well. Get this. Your comment only impressed on my -- your intolerance for other humans.

This seller's video is screaming frustrated lack of content -- by the fact that it took nearly an hour of vague sales pitch to get to any content. That's by definition on of the flags to watch out for when buying things.

Your Comment
Guest

Glad I read reviewopedia

Reviewed By John Lockman on September 19, 2013, White Salmon, Wa

I found a lot of plugs for Bill Poulos MarketMastery program, however they were thinly veiled as objective reviews. I finally happened to surf into Reviewpedia and was confronted with scores of negative reviews. I was about to get sucked into one of his deadline offers but have decided against it --knowing that even if he did give a refund which he clearly does not, that I would still get tons of scamail. I recommend that anyone interested in the Bill Poulos program read the reviews here and then subscribe at your own peril. FTR I am not a plugger for reviewpedia-- read the reviews for yourself.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Profits Run

Reviewed By DD on July 21, 2013, San Mateo, CA

I bought the system and was not happy with it's performance. The big red flag was when Bill started sending me all kinds of other offers. If this one was so good, why would he send me others?

I do not recommend buying anything from Bill Poulos. He makes his money selling programs instead of being a serious trader.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 17 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
John Lockman
September 19, 2013

Thank you. that is the first objective review I have read. It seems Mr Poulos has hamstrung the internet flooding, it with many plugs appearing as objective reviews. I agree if the system stands on its own why would he bombard you with further offers?

Your Comment
Guest

Total scam and good luck getting money back

Reviewed By Andrew Johnson on July 14, 2013, Buffalo, NY

I tried the instant option course; it’s intended to profit from vertical spreads using the expiration of weekly options. However the cases he shows are usually not tradable, often they will show a trade that will supposedly net a certain credit, but in fact the real trades are not even close to this amount. An example they showed a call spreads for GMCR with a credit of .25 the actual trade shows a credit of .05, the same week they had a credit spread on BMY to net .08, the actual trade was .02. So I decided to cancel and ask for my money back. Supposedly if you cancel within 30 days you receive a full refund. Good luck with that. I first tried cancelling my course and asking for a refund via e-mail. After several attempts I was received an e-mail to call they director of client relations at 248-397-4204. When I called that number it says you have reached Dave … the voice mail then says the mail box is full and hangs up. After trying the phone several times, I sent some threatening emails, finally I received an e-mail saying I had to complete and RMA see attached link, but there was no attached link. Since then I have been unable to get this supposed link, or find a person to talk too, and course now I am past the 30 days.
So RUN, do not sign up for these courses

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
John Lockman
September 19, 2013

This is good to know and it nice to know that people are finally shedding light on the this hoax.

March 16, 2014

I read a lot of reviews about people not getting their money back. All that's needed is 2 emails, any reply (if any) and then just initiate a charge back through your credit card company. Credit card companies are usually a bit better than Paypal. Do not use a debit card to initiate a transaction with any of these online programs. If credit card companies get enough charge backs on a particular company they simply stop processing for that merchant. Your credit card company is very effective at fighting these frustrating battles for you. Plus, you get your money back when you initiate the charge. It's up to the merchant at that point to prove the charge is valid. You've got your money back, they're out the amount plus the fee of the charge back. Just make sure you don't do this too often; it really needs to be legit.

Your Comment
Guest

Thoughts on Bill Poulos

Reviewed By Charles Woodrow on July 11, 2013, San Francisco

I purchased a course from Bill once years ago. The trading method wasn't right for me, he refunded my money with no problem when I returned it. Bill and his son Greg offer very good support and follow up[ instruction on the one course of his I still have, I receive numerous follow up emails with the most recent examples of market action and trading opportunities.
My general take on Bill is that his instruction and techniques get better as he devises new ways to pull money from the market. (I have the Forex Profit Multiplier)
One thing I will mention is that trading is not easy...at first. There is a learning curve that must take place. When I say that Bill's teaching gets better over the years, I am addressing this issue primarily. Depending on one's base-line of market and trading knowledge. I have studied a whole gamut of markets and have purchased many books over the years. My conclusion is that the markets are fluid and one CAN make money with a proven methodology and a total immersion into the learning time and effort absolutely required.
Bill gives you a base-line to begin with. You may find yourself tweaking whichever "Profits Run" course you decide on as you gain experience. I stress; these markets are fluid. And you as a trader must be fluid as well.
Paul Tudor Jones of the Tudor fund never stops searching for new ways to squeeze money out of the vast array of markets he trades.
Bill Poulos has always been a straight shooter as far as I am concerned. Granted, he makes a lot of money selling his trading courses and software. There is no sin that. He does trade and as far as I know, he trades profitably.

If you decide to purchase one of his courses, be sure it a "good fit" for your psychological make up.
At this stage of my trading, I am interested in his new course on options income. This is a style of trading which is a good fit for my demeanor. This is trading credit spreads on options in which one puts on monthly option spreads in which you collect the premium at the beginning of the monthly option cycle (Options expire on the third Friday of every month, so that is when you would be selling options for the next month). Sounds simple and easy, but one needs to learn how to adjust the trades when an adverse market move takes place.
I have books on spreads and have purchased two courses, neither were satisfactory in teaching the most important part of credit spreads, namely; The Adjustments. I think Bill's course will cover that, though I cannot make a real judgement until I see the course.

So, I'll give Bill five stars based upon the two transactions I have had with him over the years. As I have previously stated, he has always been a straight shooter with me. Charles W.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 12 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

scam

Reviewed By Insighter on June 29, 2013

I purchased the Forex Accelerator. I have followed trade "alerts" for years now. The "methodology" is ridiculous. There are far more losers than winners. Once in a while a winner comes along but it is so rare that it seems more chance than anything. Maybe the occasional winner wipes out the losers. I don't know. But I can't throw money away like this. I did ask why Bill doesn't post any sort of track record and got a vague answer at best. I would say the system is based on throwing darts and hoping one sticks long enough to wipe out the losers. Definitely not a "trading strategy". BTW, I personally use basic technical analysis methods which FAR outshine this hunk of junk.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
John Lockman
September 19, 2013

A red flag always goes up when they fail to divulge the past track record and of course no one can produce results that will merit a purchase. In fact any any hedge fund that reports a yield with too low a Sharpe ratio will raise a red flag and become investigated by the Futures Dealers watchgroup supported by the DOJ . I know this because I was a victim of such a Hedge fund scam.

Bill is keen to report the "shooting fish in a barrel" returns recently of his stock picking program because the market has been on fire so of course his performance looks good.

Your Comment
Guest

Dishonest Business Practice

Reviewed By Never Again on June 12, 2013

A few months ago, I agreed to pay about 5 bucks to sample the newsletter and have access to whatever free "bonus" reports were included. My understanding was that this was a one time, no obligation agreement, but now they have automatically chaged my credit card for an additional 97 bucks for an entire years subscription. Since I had not authorized this, I called to question the charge. To put it briefly, I got nowhere. They must be desparate, because they would not even consider refunding my money and insisted that I agreed to the additional charge in the orginal order, unless I had called to cancel. If one has this much trouble over a mere newletter, I hate to think what it would be like to use their more costly tools and services. IMHO, there are better financial newsletters and services out there - don't waste your time here.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 23 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Bill is a very good tv news reader

Reviewed By yabng on June 12, 2013, uk

I have followed educations for years, and think that he is a very good news reader rather than a good trader. He read his stuff very clear and quick.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
John Lockman
September 19, 2013

You want new subscribe to the WSJ for crying out loud.

Your Comment
Guest

Stay away !!!

Reviewed By jake on May 7, 2013, Oceanside NY

Poulos is a crook. His program is very shallow to say the 'best' ! Big money up front ... NO refunds.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 23 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By logic on January 14, 2013, USA

this guy's economic doomsday-ism isn't based in reality whatsoever.

yes, treasuries are lower than inflation, why?, because credit markets favor the US' AA+ (former AAA, thanks a lot tea party)over the debt of other countries. Yes the fed is buying a lot of bonds. QE 1, 2 and 3 are giving the banks that money a very low rate, thus encouraging them to lend more to small businesses. Hyperinflation isn't coming. You don't get inflation in an economy as large as ours until you are at full employment and we are far from that."Default is inevitable," The U.S. has plenty of investors trying to buy its debt, and we finally are starting to cut our addiction to low taxes.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
mcass1
February 18, 2013

Have you been out of the country for awhile... maybe living under a rock?!?!?!?!
Whether or not you like Poulos & what he has to say, the logic of his arguments, supported by FACTS - NOT opinions - is not only compelling, but irrefutable.
And you blame the tea party people for the rampant overspending by the fed. gov't and their addiction to deficit spending?!?!?!?!?!?! C'mon, man..... c'mon.
You can whistle past the graveyard all you want, but the coming "monetary readjustments" are already starting to rear their ugly heads. Why can't you see this? Any student of global monetary policy can see this, why can't you?!?!?!
There are none so blind as those who will not (or can't) see.....
The future will tell the story. Meanwhile stay where you are; the rest of us will profit at your expense

John Lockman
September 19, 2013

How can you have read all the comments here and still beleive in Mr Poulos scam?

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Logic on January 2, 2013, Australia

If you observe nearly all his videos carefully .... you will notice that he admits poor results in the fact that he says " His students keep returning "

Think about it ...
If his software did what he claimed then why would students RETURN to him?

if indeed his students do return then that is probably the general lack of the average IQ of most of them being shown and nothing else.

If you cant keep your money in your own hands now then .. yeah :)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 23 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Dave on December 7, 2012, Canberra Australia

I cannot get rid of the spam that continues to choke my email after years of asking Bill and his associates to stop. I think Bill really needs to consider people may not always be in a position to happily accept his relentless correspondence without any means of unsubscribing.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 20 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Ed on December 5, 2012, Usa

This guy. Sounds so familiar to the YES attitude audiobook. I would be very careful. Hey Bill, where is that info you promised at the beginning of your 45 minute video? Oh yea fork over 40 bucks after making me listen to 30 minutes? A joke Bill. Really. Government trying to steal my money? And you too? Wow.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Charlie C on March 17, 2012, Florida

NITTY GRITTY TRADING COURSE

I purchased the Poulos "Nitty Gritty Stock Trading Course" for $45. What could I loose- only $45 so I gave it a try. In the course, he spent a lot of time explaining how it worked with a number of examples under different market conditions both on the long and short side.

You need Worden's TC2000 software to use it for scanning the market. I have TC2000 Platinum V-12 with intra-day charting and scanning capabilities. I plugged in his Scan PCFs (Personal Criteria Formulas) into the program. It scanned the market in mili-seconds for stocks meeting the PCF criteria.

He recommended a maximum of 2% risk/trade. This rule and can be found in "A Trader's Money Management System" by Bennett A. McDowell (John Wiley and Sons, 2008) with references from Balsara and Chande on money management methods.

I found the 2% rule to be much too high risk for me so I cut it back by a factor 8-10 or 0.2 to 0.25% max risk per trade if stopped out. This risk level was much more tolerable. If I put on 8 trades, they totaled a maximum 2% risk for all 8, not just one trade. It was like a personal mutual fund.

This worked out since the market was hot in the beginning of 2012 and the scan found many set ups. I loaded up 8-10 trades at a time. Most worked out fine following his rule: take 1/2 off at target, move up stop to break-even, and raise trailing stops on the other half until stopped out. This maximized gains and cut risk to zero. The idea was to work with the House's money, not yours.

Then came the day when the market had a severe down turn. About 5 or 6 stopped out, but the total loss less than 2%. Since that was the predicted risk, I wasn't bothered or lost sleep over it. I took the risk and it happened. But, some still dropped further. I lost less, but some also recovered to higher highs- darn.

I can't blame myself for following my own rule. By and large, it kept me out of trouble and still in the game.

However, I discovered some problems with the Nitty Gritty method as it came "out of the box". I had to twink it to make it work for me.

The buy signal is triggered by any new high over the last three days low as set by the "Nitty Gritty" PCF. A high rising candlestick tail can trigger the buy even if the stock immediately pulls back. This can be a fooler.

Poulos considers the possibility of pull backs after the buy by setting the stop to an acceptable range to let the price cycle down then up again without hitting it. He even adds a 0.05% of price buffer under the low for added protection. The stop is considered to be the point of no return.

However, in some cases the stock pulls back and just hits the stop set at the low + buffer. I found his 0.05% of price buffer insufficient so I increased it to 0.1%. That added slightly more risk but prevented a good many stop outs.

A second tweak was stop management. Poulos said to leave the stop as originally set until the first target was hit, then raise to break even. I found this unacceptable. With a choppy market, some stocks rose about 50% between the buy and target prices so it was best to raise the stop up to resistance on the 30 or 60 min intra-day chart, which ever looked showed the best visual trend pattern. The goal was to take off risk as quickly as possible.

This worked fine. Even with a few premature stop outs, there were small gains, but not losses.

Also, he only discussed "price stops", not "time stops". I found that if the trade didn't move in the right direction after a few days and dropped back near the initial stop or languished in a range, it was best to get out with a slight loss before being stopped out at a lower price. I had to use some judgement with the method and adjust trading accordingly as market conditions changed.

In summary, the Poulos "Nitty Gritty" method is a hands-on, manual, very conservative approach to stock trading. Risk control is the first consideration. However, the method must be adjusted for market conditions and personal risk tolerance. Personal judgement MUST be involved and you should not follow the method blindly out of the box.

I feel the program is worthwhile only if you are willing to try it and make the necessary adjustments to fit your expectations and risk tolerance. It just provides sound, conservative guidelines to trading. However, it isn't written in stone. The price is right and worth it.

For that reason, I would stay away from his expensive "Market Mastery" and other software that does the work for you. He may have good, conservative trading ideas, but I believe they have to be used with common sense and old fashioned hands-on, manual experience. Trading is not easy and there is a lot to learn about it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 48 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
les
January 19, 2013

great detailed and objective review.

Mark
February 18, 2013

I can't help but think that this review was written by someone who has a vested interest in promoting the product.

One of the big come-ons for the product is that it makes you 'independent' If you are depending on a product for your decision making, by my definition that is the opposite of being independent.

oed
April 23, 2013

Not necessarily. If the software provides the most likely candidates, that alone saves a lot of bussy-work. Judgement is what makes one independent.

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By barf on November 30, 2011, germany

bs nothing more

marketing by exaggeration and honoring himself as honest

systems are nothing special. repackaged in thousand forms. available everywhere. very limited use.

you will not learn to trade with that one

but you can help him get rich quick so go ahead and give him your money you don't need it anyway

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 14 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By Chris P on October 7, 2011, Vancouver BC

I think Poulos is a big scam. There is no support, one never gets any replies to emails. Using his Forex Profit Accelerator I lost money. Very few positive trades. I even paid for one on one tuition which was useless. This was provided via Poulos by the Beacon Learning Group, "Learning" what a joke. This also provided access to their resource Centre. When I contacted them for some advice the person I spoke to didn't have a clue on the FPA and couldn't help me much on Forex.

The only thing I get from Poulos is continuous emails, which clog up my inbox, trying to sell products even though I have unsubscribed from their mailing list. Whats even worse is that other Forex Traders also try and sell you Poulos' junk. My advice stay away from him or throw your money down the drain.
Tom I hope this helps you decide.

P.S I unfortunately paid more for the course than he is now selling it for. When I asked for a refund as it was useless I was told they don't give refunds!!! So much for money back guarantee.
There are a lot of free indicators out there which I have foung much more helfull.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 19 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Peter v
March 24, 2013

I've been using FPA since 2009 and have had a different experience with their student support. They have always answered my emails, even as recently as a couple of weeks ago. Different people have different experiences.

However, I too had a negative experience with the Beacon Learning Group. They didn't live up to their promises at all, and I'm still trying to figure out how one year of coaching translates into 9 one-on-one sessions!

Your Comment
Guest

Reviewed By John on August 2, 2011, US

I bought the FIE Trade Alert software. I have more loosing trade almost 80 % when I use this software. I have sent back the course material and ask for the refund, no response from profits run. Please Stay away. It is a well planned scam.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 16 People Found This Review Helpful
No Comments Yet
Your Comment

Leave a Review